If we do not hit our goal we will be forced to close the site.

Current status: https://keepboardsalive.com/

Annual subs are best for most impact. If you are still undecided on going Ad Free - you can also donate using the Paypal Donate option. All contribution helps. Thank you.

Presidential Election 2025

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 13,702 ✭✭✭✭Red Silurian

Absolutely if you don't see a benefit in voting for any of the candidates you should absolutely not vote

Assuming that the same number of people and their demographics will vote, yes. There's also the other 24% to be taken into account also though.

In the 2011 GE FG took 36% of the vote with Labour taking 19%. The 2011 presidential election pretty much flipped that on its head with Gay Mitchell taking just 6% of the vote a few months later with Mickey D famously taking the crown.

I do see where you are coming from though

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2, Paid Member Posts: 14,997 ✭✭✭✭josip

You can always spoil your vote. Just as valid as choosing one of the candidates.

(Dulpit beat me to it. With an eerily similar syntax…)

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 2,782 ✭✭✭liamtech

OK so there is a lot to unpack.

In terms of myself, i am in my 40s and have been interested in politics and current affairs all my life. A lifetime ago, i did a degree in IR, so international politics is a keen point of interest for me too. I have abandoned nearly all social media, because i just feel they have ceased being either useful or enjoyable.

My interest in the culture war, is more of a concern on my part. I feel like the political landscape abroad has become unstable, and often dangerous. I framed much of Steens campaign as being analagous to Irelands 'brexit moment' - Knowning what Steens views are on societal issues, she clearly began using the perceived culture war in Ireland, as a means to frame the debate. This tactic is straight out of the Brexit/Trump playbook, which i did find alarming. But my interest in culture war is frankly an abhorence for it, and the damage it has done to other countries. And a profound wish that it not manifest here in Ireland. Groups like Aontu, Gript, and the Iona Institute benefit from this time, because they get to recruit the disaffected and make this a culture war based campaign. An 'insurgency' against the political establishment, which is a very useful distraction from their own actual policy positions. Which, in my view, are abhorent. Useful aides to this campaign in the form of Gripts 'Defund the RTE' are also clearly copied and pasted from across the Irish Sea - and yes, i find it alarming that many do not seem to clock this!

In terms of Evelyn Beatrice Hall - i agree, but honestly i have not attempted to silence anyone. And neither has the Irish Political system. Steen had her chance to get nominated under the current system, and she failed. It was not unfair, or discriminatory - it was political, and she lost. If she and her supporters chose to, they can set up a political party and run on a manifesto of reform. Quite honestly i hope they do, as i hate the one foot in, one out, nature of the modern 'Political Lobby Group' phenomena. While i would never vote for a single candidate they nominate, i would certainly be against any attempt to stop them from running. That would be my version of Beatrice Hall's statement.

I dont think we are a million miles away from one another, and we could certainly discuss, debate and sometimes spar over political issues. And i would be happy to, either here, or elsewhere on boards, or by DM!

What i will say is this. On two occasions you have been very condescending, in telling me to relax, and deep breaths. You have also questioned whether i understood the meaning of the words i use. Please try and play the ball, not the man. Ad hominem moves are a very poor indication of where a chat/debate could go. Frankly i would be inclined to just agree to disagree if a conversation continued on that line. I dont find it intriguing, nor am i annoyed. Point of fact, Ad Hominem, is a boring move to me.

No offence intended, happy to hear back or not - its up to you

Sic semper tyrannis - thus always to Tyrants

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 407 ✭✭quartz1

very uninspiring choices and an insult to the electorate . i don’t hold any strong political view but they all share the blame on this one .

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 1,782 ✭✭✭paddyisreal

• Moderators, Category Moderators, Arts Moderators, Computer Games Moderators, Entertainment Moderators Posts: 31,025 CMod ✭✭✭✭johnny_ultimate

I do have to chuckle at the numerous articles noting it's the smallest field of candidates since 1990 / in 35 years.

I mean, that's not wrong, but given there's been a grand total of three presidential elections since then, it's not exactly the biggest sample size either. 1997 was the first presidential election with more than three candidates, even!

7 or 14 years are bloody long terms, after all - I've been able to vote for 20 years and have voted in a total of two presidential elections.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2, Paid Member Posts: 12,627 ✭✭✭✭Cluedo Monopoly

• Site Banned Posts: 4,164 ✭✭✭Oíche Na Gaoithe Móire

Gavin on Drivetime. He repeated he'll be a positive president. And host talks on homelessness.

He sounds terrible. Sarah McInerney even went easy on him.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 59,631 ✭✭✭✭walshb

I really don’t like passing remarks on appearance, but CC needs to smarten up big time. Very poorly presented!

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 78,246 ✭✭✭✭FrancieBrady

Two soft interviews so far.

Somebody needs to ask Gavin whose fault is it the President needs to be holding a forum on homelessness or housing etc. and watch as he trips himself up.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 31,823 ✭✭✭✭breezy1985

I bet it ostly won't sway their vote for the definitely Fianna Fail candidate.

Connolly isn't the Labour or Sinn Fein candidate. It's not a party win like Gavin would be regardless of how he was picked.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 21,075 ✭✭✭✭gormdubhgorm

Not since he did his 14 years. Given Higgins thought he would only do 7 years. Enjoyed it and did 7 more, but was really struggling to walk along the red carpet in Croke Park recently. He did well to make the 14!

Guff about stuff, and stuff about guff.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 358 ✭✭rdser

He was terrible again. If FFG are banking on the GAA link or the link to Clare. ...goodnight Irene

Tougher interview for Heather.

Getting pinned into a corner on FG performance in government.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 4,753 ✭✭✭MFPM

Kevin Cunningham political expert on RTE said the majority of the undecided are from Munster. Basically because there is no Munster candidate.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 18,581 ✭✭✭✭Loafing Oaf

Someone on reddit who seemed to know Gavin was saying a few days ago people would be taken aback how much he would struggle speaking off the cuff…

If Connolly is eliminated first I think it's more likely to benefit Gavin than Humphrey's, in part the GAA thing and in part because FF are generally seen as to the left of FG. I'd be shocked if HH transferred significantly better than Gavin from CC.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2, Paid Member Posts: 2,366 ✭✭✭Cyclingtourist

You are missing something, a Presidential vote isn't a general election where often the voters will have met the candidate and local issues and secondly national ones will predominate.

Think beauty contest where how will yer wan/fella look at Buck house.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 20,809 ✭✭✭✭Brendan Bendar

Regarding the seven minute interviews on Drivetime I would question why the same presenter didn’t interview all three? . That should be surely a no brainer.

Connolly interviewed by. O’hEadhra : Let waffle on not answering the questions asked.

Gavin interviewed by McInerney: Deer in the headlights, not a good performance

HH interviewed by McInerney: Most relaxed of the three and most experienced but not a convincing performance.

What are the ‘learnings’ to use the word of the current folk.

When the debates come Gavin will struggle big time, it’s between the other two with HH getting the nod.

That’s based on stuff up to today……thirty more days to go.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 31,823 ✭✭✭✭breezy1985

Connolly saying there should be a debate on the nomination process and saying its very difficult to get nominated.

Said she didn't have time to nominate Steen which is kinda fence sitting.

There wasn’t any offence intended. But you just sounded very worried this morning. And said things like “slander” twice. People normally do that when agitated, I find. Telling another poster “stay strong”. .Agitated sounding, unduly worried, that is what I meant by the deep breath etc

Just on the term itself “slander” it is an old term it basically meant spoken word is used to defame. Not the written word that would have been called libel.
    So that is a contradiction in itself. But it is further complicated that the defamation act 2009 removed the terms “libel” and “slander”. Instead just using the word “defamed”.

In order to be defamed your reputation has to be lowered unjustly in the eyes of reasonable members of society.

https://www.irishstatutebook.ie/eli/2009/act/31/enacted/en/print#sec2

Which is why I found your worry about being slandered a bit over the top. And was basically saying - take it easy.

Personally I think we are extremely lucky to have the political system we have. Parties more often than not, having to work in coalition . Leading to more middle of the road governance.
    We have a non-executive President who does not have great power in one role, like other jurisdictions. And not only that, if either of us were inclined we could try and secure nominations for President if we so desired.

All in all compared to alternative jurisdictions, I think Ireland is grand in terms of its structure of governance, separation of powers etc.

No matter who is elected President in a month or so. I will take pride in the country that since independence and the subsequent creation of the 1937 constitution, Irish (ROI) society has developed within that framework. With no real edginess or angst to the extent that other jurisdictions have.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 26,751 ✭✭✭✭Larbre34

Its highly disingenuous, is what it is.

The answer should be, 'I'm an independent candidate backed by left wing parties, the only campaign I'm interested in is my own'

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 3,765 ✭✭✭Bishop of hope

Good to see you giving an opinion at least, not just a smart quip. I didn't hear any of the interviews this evening, but from what I've seen of Gavin so far, speaking isn't his strong point.

She couldn't sign when asked very late as she had already signed her own, was what she said.

You can only sign one nomination.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 3,765 ✭✭✭Bishop of hope

Sometimes I think she isn't playing with a full deck.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 6,941 ✭✭✭Charles Babbage

She could have said that Ireland builds more houses per capita than almost anywhere else in Europe, but were are chasing our tails because of high immigration. But she won't, and journalists and those that are ranting about housing won't either.

But a President does not make these policies, that is not their job, and they should be assessed on their ability to do the job.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 59,631 ✭✭✭✭walshb

actually, no. She’s campaigning for the Irish presidency. And should be much smarter and better turned out..

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 21,640 ✭✭✭✭Strazdas

It's fairly obvious already. He's very stiff and monotone, not at all a natural in front of the microphone.