If we do not hit our goal we will be forced to close the site.

Current status: https://keepboardsalive.com/

Annual subs are best for most impact. If you are still undecided on going Ad Free - you can also donate using the Paypal Donate option. All contribution helps. Thank you.

Presidential Election 2025

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 142 ✭✭Pat734

Hoping Steen gets the nomination and a pity for democracy that G Sheridan didn't succeed with his. Very very difficult to call this with 3 in the race, no way will the FF and FG electorate go along with the party line. Gavin very wooden and hasn't impressed along with a huge no of FF'lers not wanting him on the ticket but M Martin wouldn't listen. Humphries husbands past OO history, whether we like it or not is a massive hindrance to her, never mind the fact that he doesn't want the Áras as his home. A few weeks ago she had no intention of running, wanted time with family, etc. It'll come back to haunt her. C Connelly is a clever lady, may not always say what the media are telling us is right, or wrong, but the electorate will decide on that. No way will she be the 1st eliminated and FF, FG, have only themselves to blame for that. Also, people want to give both Gov parties a root up the rear end. Right now it's there for C Connolly to win this particular election. If Steen gets the go ahead all bets are out the window

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 17,662 ✭✭✭✭Galwayguy35

Better than talking up a bunch of murdering terrorists.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 2,443 ✭✭✭Economics101

NO, but I don't want the bar lowered in a way which will produce a large number of candidates probably of dubious quality.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 2,561 ✭✭✭combat14

so we have 1 SF, 1 FF, 1 FG and zero independents hardly much choice for the electorate

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 2,792 ✭✭✭liamtech

Wandering on here trying to find out whether there is any word RE Maria Steen. Several news outlets stating she has either 17 or 18 nominations.

I wish there were independent candidates. But i truely dont want Maria Steen to be on the ballot. Its a shame that none of the other indos managed to get the support of councils, but it was obviously pre-ordaned by the larger parties. Which does seem unfair.

For me though, having a member of the Iona institute run for president, is simply a bridge too far. I would question what sort of constitutional issues could come up were she to refuse to sign something into law, given her 'sincerely held religious beliefs'. I have read enough about the iona instute, its funding which has been all but proven as coming from christian right wing organizations with links to Russia

I suspect she wouldnt win, but even the mere chance is not worth taking. Interested to see what happens, but even if she merely got on the ballot, here votes could be very useful to conservative and Christian-Right adjacent parties, who seek to undermine the progress that has been made in this country.

But it is a shame that the election is only being fought between 3 candidates, and with Catherine Connolly and the Hamas gaff, it will probably be a FFG victory. Its unfortunate

Sic semper tyrannis - thus always to Tyrants

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 21,640 ✭✭✭✭Strazdas

Three is way too low. It will be a disgrace if the county councils and Oireachtas fail to nominate a single candidate outside of what the main Dáil parties want.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 14,831 ✭✭✭✭dulpit

Why is it a disgrace? The makeup of the councils largely mirrors the makeup of the dail…

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 18,585 ✭✭✭✭Loafing Oaf

Here's John McGuirk's latest take

Not sure I'm allowed to speculate on the identity of that perfidious fellow so I'll refrain…

There is an independent. Her name is Catherine Connolly and she was the first to properly get nominated. She is being supported by SF as well as labour, soc Dems, Greens and solidarity/PBP.

The council route was specifically designed to allow extra candidates join the field and to bypass what the Oireachtas is doing. FF and FG are the main culprits here of course : someone nominating a candidate is not necessarily supporting them or approving of them. 31 county and city councils in Ireland and not a single candidate ends up on the ballot paper through their vote.

Where in the constitution does it say that the council route was designed to allow extra candidates join the field and why was it only first used in 1997 election?

When ever this neo christian right of Irish Politics have anything to say, its the same names. Mr John McGuirk, did he not promise to resign from public life if Dublin voted over 60% to repeal the 8th ammendment

Ronan Mullen was also on board no doubt - Im only ghosting this thread for the last few days, but it is appalling to see. I can understand the frustration at there being less candidates though - hoping the remaining independent TDs refrain from signing for her. Frankly she has gotten enough publicity already from this.

Wasnt surprised that Aontu backed her - its very dangerous to stand in the way of Peadar Toibin and a microphone.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2, Paid Member Posts: 8,312 ✭✭✭MrMusician18

What are people afraid of if she runs? If her opinions are as unpopular as we are led to believe then why stop her wasting at least half a million euro on a doomed campaign?

The council route was clearly introduced to broaden out the field of candidates. Using proportional representation to decide a contest where there are only three runners is more than a bit bonkers.

• It gives her a huge platform during the campaign, and she is an able debater. Considering her organization is the closest thing we have to the Christian Right in this country, i think that is bad for the country
    • She will receive support from outside the country, as is common place for certain world leaders who wish to see Ireland be dragged further into the culture war.
    • She could cause issues if this country decided to legislate for euthanasia, as her, 'sincerely held religious beliefs' could prevent her from signing on these issues
    • The chance of her winning, would bolster the Iona institute - should also point out, FYI, 'institute', is not a protected term in Ireland.
    • Posts like the one below, send a farage adjacent shiver down my spine
    WhatsApp Image 2025-09-24 at 00.04.12_fdd93522.jpg

We have watched America nearly tare itself to pieces, and Britain become politically unstable thanks to Trump, and Brexit. Sorry but we dont need that. RTE is value for money, we have free speech, and immigration can be debated in public, by politicians and citizens alike. We dont need to contaminate the aras with this

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 26,760 ✭✭✭✭Larbre34

You'd swear by the way you're going on that the Councils and the Oireachtas are separate to the main parties! They ARE the feckin main parties.

FF, FG, SF, Lab, SDs, Greens, PBP all have a candidate! There are only 21 seats in the Dáil that AREN'T those parties ffs

And between them they have 722 out of 949 Council seats.

The narrative that some people are trying to spin, mostly on Twitter, that Steen being shut out of a nomination is somehow undemocratic, is beyond farcical.

It is the very ESSENCE of democracy.

I agree completely.

It wont matter though, if she doesnt get on the ballot, Gript, Aontu, Sen Mullen, et al, will all complain about this for the next few years.

I for one, look at the political instability in the US, and Britain, and dont want it coming to this country. But the above would all benefit from a shake up, because they are losing ground.

You are correct in my opinion. The system exists, and if she fails to get the nod, that is unfortunate, but it is democracy.

If people dont like it, they can vote with their feet for parties that campaign to change it. And have another go in 7/14 years time

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 26,760 ✭✭✭✭Larbre34

Indeed they can.

But my question would be, if this democratic deficit so bothered them, why haven't they banded together to try and change it in the 14 years just gone, that is, since the last time there was a properly contested election?

The rules of the Oireachtas say nothing about parties being obliged to block other candidates being added to the ballot paper by forbidding their TDs, senators and councillors from nominating another candidate. The council route was clearly intended to allow extra candidates be added to the ballot outside of the regular Oireachtas process, 'not' to be totally blocked off and preventing any other candidates from running in the election.

Given that none out of Gavin, Humphreys or Connolly came through the council route, the main parties had a bit of a cheek to effectively instruct the councils not to nominate any other candidate.

My honest opinion @Larbre34 is that the goal of this campaign has been publicity. If she gets on the ballot, she gets to campaign for the next 4 odd weeks. She gets to lend credibility to her regressive views, and boost the iona institute and its supporters. Aontu would welcome some extra exposure, as simply having Toibin driving from studio to studio attacking everything to his left, is not gaining traction.

If she doesnt get on the ballot, they get to complain during the campaign that they didnt get a fair chance, etc - and its the same net result, publicity and coverage.

As to changing the rules, i dont really think it matters. 'Some' People will fall into the trap of thinking this is all very unfair, and she is being silenced. Mark my words, we will be seeing a lot of McGuirk, Mullen, Steen, et al - no one is being silenced. This is simply the way the cards fell this time. SF decided to back Connolly, which may have been a mistake. As did Labour and the SocDems. The Green(s) cant afford to get involved. Thats why we have a 3 horse race. Maybe next time we will have more.

Again im just hoping that there is no last minute road to damascus shift by any remaining TDs. Il accept having to listen to these people complain for the next four weeks. Once they have ZERO chance of actually winning.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2, Paid Member Posts: 8,312 ✭✭✭MrMusician18

You didn't answer my question. All the things the Iona institute stand for are deeply unpopular and will not get popular backing. A Steen type candidate running on an Iona platform would get trounced.

The only reason someone might actually oppose her running is that they actually think she could do well enough, if not win. In that way opponents would rather see people that would back her be effectively disenfranchised. That's not particularly democratic is it?

We can't be just in favour of democracy for the people we agree with.

But they can and do have the right to insist that their councillors follow the party line.You call it cheek, i call it politics. I think there may have been some fear that certain other characters (one of whom may or may not be failed MMA fighter) might have slipped there way on via that route. Im aware said character bowed out, and was never a real contender, but honestly - its politics 101. There is nothing to gain for FF or FG by allowing more contenders in. C'est la vie

Really hoping im not jinxing it, and Steens campaign is over. Were it anyone else i would probably be a bit more sympathetic to your reasoning.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 12,316 ✭✭✭✭Rjd2

Its 17 for sure. She stated that on rte news. I assume one of the supposed 18 got cold feet or was never the lock that her supporters were suggesting.

She might pull of a miracle in the morning, but she probably left it a little to late to get into the race, some of the rejections tonight are not down to political differences, but would be more ego knowing that Steen is only approaching them as a last resort.

• But her views will get airtime. She will get coverage, and i for one dont want to see that happen
    • You say she would get trounced; A lot of people said the same thing about Brexit, and Trump. You have to factor the disaffected voter, who may lend a vote to steen just to 'screw with the syetem'
    • As another user stated very clearly - its not undemocratic. If she wants to get elected, have the Iona institute field candidates in the next election. Have them stop pretending they are anything other than a Christian pressure group with political aspirations. Field candidates, get elected, change laws - Its perfectly democratic. Crying foul of that now, is nonsensical

The Iona Institute is political - despite protestations to the contrary, and trying to behave as a charity - this is a PAC, here in ireland, which would seek to return us to our closed catholic past. And you know what, they have every right to aspire to that. So, team up with Aontu, and market themselves to the public as a Christian Right Political Party. If they get enough votes, they can do what they want. Change the laws in their favour.

Its entirely democractic - this is a democracy.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 12,316 ✭✭✭✭Rjd2

She would do quite well if nominated , she's a savvy media performer, good debater, and lets be honest she is easy on the eye. She also is someone people would find authentic compared to Jim and Heather who stand for SFA.

She will have lots of funding from overseas, Musk and his bot army might get involved, then when it comes to voters, numerous voting blocs to tap into, pro lifers, anti establishment types and while I don't think she is a racist herself nor would be the majority of her voters, who do you think the racists are going to vote for?

I don't have much of an issue with Aontu despite agreeing with them on SFA and would never call them far right, but its going to be Malachy Stenson, Gavin Pepper types doing just as much work on the ground as Peader sadly. She may in private curse them , but would she distance herself from them? Unlikely.

I don't think she would win if she gets on the ballot, but for all those people who say she has no chance let me have 50/1 if she gets to the magical 20 because its supposedly free money😀

So what if her views get airtime. They'll be found out for belonging to a different era. Do you actually think a majority could be persuaded to go back to a Catholic past? The only reason to fear her views is that if you think some people will agree with her. In any case, we are not going to be able to avoid confronting the issues of migration, gender and free speech since the approach to date from the political establishment is to pretend that these issues are actually all hunky dory - when the reality on the ground suggests there major disaffection especially in some communities.

While the rules of the nomination process are long standing and understood it is not democratic to deny a credible candidate from a place on the ballot paper. Rules can be used in ways that we're not their intended purpose. The bar to entry was set high to ensure candidates were credible not to gatekeep opponents.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 5,410 ✭✭✭RoyalCelt

Lowering it slightly won't flood the candidate list.

I genuinely dont think its worth the risk. Yes the majority wont vote to return to the past. But her platform, and that of a hypothetical Iona based political party in a subsequent general election, would campaign in the same way as the brexiteers, Reform, and trump.

• Anti establishment, looking for change
    • Appeals to something we have lost in our society
    • attacking the Radical Left and wokism
    • attacking 'elites'
    • immigration

All they have to do is observe and learn from other right wing groups who have succeeded elsewhere; and they have lots to look at in that regard. Large chunks of the US seemingly voted for Trump due to the border, and the perceived wokeness on the left. They didnt vote for the Christian Right, or Vaccine schepticism - but thats what they got in spades.

Getting on the ballot this time around is a dress rehearsal for these groups, to attempt to attain real political influence. Consider that she is on the ballot, and loses. Now these groups can examine her vote. What counties and constituencies did she do well in!? There are your targets in the next general, no constituency polling neccessary.

I think this neo christian right, banding together with anti-establishment anti immigration groups, it is coming down the tracks. I just think we can dodge a bullet this time, while also refusing to give them a foundation for a real election.

Im sorry if you think my attitude is undemocratic, truly it is not. Its political prudence, and a hope that we can avoid the mistakes we have seen in other juristictions.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 204 ✭✭geospatial

Fascinating how so many posters not just support the status quo, but believe it has to be protected and defended. Even if that means justifying keeping someone off a ballet just in case they might win, even though they also think they have no chance of winning. But let’s not take the risk, as (other) people are stupid and might vote in a direction other than the one I favor.

Is it any wonder populism —> far right is growing? Governments ignoring their constituents, half the constituents are happy with status quo so nothing will likely change due to electoral system, half the electorate get more and more pissed off, response is label them as deplorables, Nazis. Racists..

Societies ultimately get what they deserve.

I'm a lefty and I would love to see real change. I hate the FFG strangehold on the country.

But maria Steen and her block are not the answer. Genuinely I get what u are saying but its misdirected