Boards Golf Society 2025 (Captains Weekend) - Woodenbridge / Arklow Golf Club - 19th/20th September

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 1,183 ✭✭✭bobster453

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2, Paid Member Posts: 9,122 ✭✭✭spacecoyote

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 3,288 ✭✭✭benny79

I had the yearly chat with the almighty himself.. Don't worry lads the golfing gods will shine.. Really dont see wat the fuss is about.. 😁

• Moderators, Sports Moderators, Regional Abroad Moderators, Paid Member Posts: 2,694 Mod ✭✭✭✭TrueDub

I’m afraid I have to drop out of tomorrow’s round folks, I have a sick child here who needs to be minded. I hope it all goes well, see you next season.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 16,499 ✭✭✭✭Seve OB

image.png

results from today

post mortem to follow…….

Almost won gross….. beaten on count back by Alanm with 77

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 1,934 ✭✭✭Golfgraffix

that was a tough day. Serious rain for the last 6 holes and in the dark for the last two.

I’m new to wearing glasses playing golf and between rain drops and misting up I could see feck all 😂. Does anyone have any advice on playing in the rain with glasses.

Was tipping along nicely at 5 better than twos up to the 12th. But once that rain hit I was goosed.

Lovely course, a tonne of fun to play.

Had a good game with BigChap, he was fab on the back nine.

I’m guessing we are the 1st group in boards history to get around in 3 hours 40 !!! 😂

enjoy the night lads and get super pissed.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 4,843 ✭✭✭blue note

I picked up a McGregor pitching wedge on a par 3 (11 I think it was). And I forgot to hand it into the bar 🤦🏼

Does it belong to anyone here? If not I'll ring the club tomorrow.

Despite the inclement weather, despite leaving rain jacket at home and getting drenched, despite not being able to see the ball for the last two holes...that was great fun.

Played with @Kiith and @ClubGuy, both very nice young gentlemen even if they are playing off waaaayyyy too high handicaps.."Its just wrong" as i said numerous times to them😄.

Both can hit the ball some distance, tho it was nice to be able to slag off Clubguy when he was waiting for me to hit until i told him my ball was the one 20 yards closer to the green😃.

The craic was unreal, like on the hole where Clubguy found his way blocked by a tree and said he needed to fade it which he duly did.My response was a guy playing off 22 shouldnt even know the word fade, let alone know what it means and be able to execute it.😁

In fairness he played steady to turn with 15 and scored well on the back nine helped by two 4 pointers in succession.

I can see him scoring really well very soon.

@Kiith started like a train, parred the first 3 or 4 holes and continued strong to turn with 23, only for a few errant shots that caused him dearly he would have won.

Mind you he rode his luck too, quite a few times his ball took a Robbie Bounce off trees when it should have been gone.

For myself, played ok nothing spectacular " boring golf" as the lads called it, turned with 19, after 15 had 30 points decided i needed to zone in a bit and parred the last 3 for a steady 39.

Loved the course, nice walk, great views when the clouds lifted for a few minutes, good variety of holes, some a bit too short off the greens, the greens themselves were very good, a bit slow with the rain but overall a really enjoyable game.

See you all later, time for the leaba.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 221 ✭✭jarrieta

I was handed one of the boards signs by the bar staff, I will take it with me to Arklow.

Also did someone take by mistake a Nike umbrella? I left it downstairs beside the bench on the right of the entrance but wasn't there when I left the clubhouse.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 16,499 ✭✭✭✭Seve OB

Results up

Congrats to all winners

image.png

A few i took in Arklow in between looking for my lost balls.

20250920_180643.jpg 20250920_174759.jpg 20250920_174746.jpg 20250920_172030.jpg 20250920_171730.jpg 20250920_171707.jpg

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 4,843 ✭✭✭blue note

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 404 ✭✭Snackbox20

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2, Paid Member Posts: 22,953 ✭✭✭✭FixdePitchmark

Seasons Change

Well that was an epic few days. I’m not really playing golf these days – so the idea of facing two days of heavy rain was not something I was looking forward to. But the society is going a long time and I have built up some great friends and network from it. Boards' Golfers can be easy to please in reality. Give them a nice course at a good rate in good condition and you are away. But for some reason the Gods were harsh on us – a few unfortunate events – crazy constant rain – it was a mental battle.

But – with Morrissey on in the car very loud, to lighten the mood (lol) – You turn down a road you simply wouldn’t be on – up and down – deep and old forest into a valley . This country is simply stunning – this sport has some amazing places. You get to go on that journey with this society and it is as much part of it, as hitting the wet white or yellow ball off a wet face with a wet glove.

Whilst my preparation was reasonable – I had a few technical issue with a brolly – not a day for it. But another reality is I don’t play golf in the rain. But – it is wet it is. We got away and we seen some fantastic golf from boccy - you could clearly see why he was in the mix for GOTY – can hit lots of greens , get it close and with shots he is going to score heavy.

Space and Awec kept the energy high – we tried to stay positive as a group – but the heavy rain in last period with the light fading was a challenge. Some quick food after and much needed warmth and change of socks was lovely. The simple joys of life.

Whilst Woodenbridge isn’t long – it is such an enjoyable round in a stunning setting. I’d imagine many will return to see it properly. We Jumped in the Car off to Arklow and a pub quiz with the locals. Only with Boards do these odd things happen.

The logistics of a two course outing – a stay over can be rather complex. So fair play to the captain and all the room mates – who were so sound with food and drink and general cooperation and fun.

Just before we hit the bed I looked at the weather – and it had gone from perfect to another nightmare. That was again very unlucky. But you just got to get on with it.

There was great anticipation and a very tight push for Jug spots and GOTY. There was a seriousness to it all. But when we got to the first tee with a few last minute changes. Myself – Benny – ClubGuy and a post punk – decided to make the best of it and have fun – well most of it was just laughing at me talking crap.

I really like Arklow as a course and typically play well there – and I at last found a bit of golf on the front 9. There was some excellent golf from all – ClubGuy is going to be a serious player and Benny is on another evolution in his game – but something has clicked with Benny – a mindset , a routine , a free flow to his drive – a plan for his short game. He hit some of the best shots I have seen him hit – but it wasn’t just the shots , it was the aura.

I had a great front 9 of 2 over – but I think the energy levels fell off around 12 – food, sleep , a lack of general reps on a course. But thanks to a bit of Oxtail soup and ½ a sandwich from A post punk – I was back on track after a while. That was so sound to give a man your food – not knowing it would be another 8 hours before you eat again.

At times in Arklow , it looked like the rain might clear – but literally every time you took off your rain gear it would rain – soft ground on a links – is something I will struggle with. And did – but we still kept it going.

An interesting one (to jump back a bit) – ClubGuy who was playing great golf – called a foul on himself on the 7th hole when the ball moved – not entirely clear if he caused it. But for the integrity of the comp he called it. This ultimately cost him the outing and a place on Jug team. What a guy – what a sport.

Back to the back 9 – Benny was clearly flying it – I know him a long time and his ups and downs with this sport are truly an epic novel (and he has read them all) – is there anyone who loves this game more than him. The goodwill towards him and his journey to improve is what gives this society such an edge over any other out there.

I really like Arklow – a club I would join if near me – it is a links , it has variety and is a quick round. It is down to earth and by the sea. All the things I love in a golf club.

As we hit the hill – suddenly the clouds cleared – and it was a real cruel twist as we had basically 30 holes of rain over 2 days. It was lovely to finish in the dry and fading soft light.

Then some more drama when there was no grub – I do like the people at Arklow – but it is rather strange to take a booking of a large society – then no food at the inn when you come in.

Back to the apartment for an impromptu Pizza and presentation night. We somehow got there.

A bit of banter and much talk of 3 breakaway tours – I grew up in a large family with lots of big characters – you had to fight to get a word in – but with Benny in full flow – I felt I was back in that small kitchen for just once more again.

Fair play all the winner and to Bakerbhouy pulling it off – he puts serious work into his game – and is a big fan of the society.

There was much reflection after – I know I go on about this every year , but with the doubt about the future of Boards – there was a sense that we are at a point of inflection .

There are some great minds in the background of the society – so will be interesting what happens next – could it be an end or an opportunity.

Thanks again to the Captain – it is not an easy job. Fair pay to Seve and committee keeping all moving. Thanks to ClubNet again – so class to just have an email with your tee time.

See all at the Jug – appreciate the pick – and despite rumours , I did not bribe him for a pick.

Hopefully catch rest at some point. Unless you go to Benny’s breakaway tour.

Post edited by FixdePitchmark on

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 3,893 ✭✭✭boccy23

So another year of golf with Boards GS comes to an end. And in keeping with the rest of the year, we have a very eventful few days in the Garden of Ireland. Thanks to @Kiith and all the committee members for the organisation of the two courses, the accommodation and the final standings for the year in an efficient manner as always. Just a pity that the weather gods didn't comply with us. Special shout out to the man behind the numbers, @Seve OB, who did a stellar job under massive time pressure on Saturday night.

I knew going into the weekend that I had a chance on the GTOY but that I would need to improve a lot over my recent form to compete. If I had been offered a win and a 6th place before setting off, I would have bitten your hand off, and also assumed that would be enough. But a massive well done to @bakerbhoy on his win. He showed the most consistency over the full year and fully deserved the honours. As I said before and in his post match interview with @FixdePitchmark, his short game is a thing of beauty. All that practice does pay off.

On Friday in Woodenbridge, left home in the dry and was hopeful maybe the weather would avoid us. 'Twas not to be. Started raining and never let up. Went out into the drick with @awec, Fix and @spacecoyote. Was strange after a summer of hard and fast courses to be placing everywhere. But with the weather and the soft ground, it was probably a good call. Started ok with a good up and down par on the first but made a balls of the second in the trees. My golf lately has been a bit like that, all fur coat and no knickers. But before this weekend I had done some better practice on my iron play and short game and this cam to the fore in Woodenbridge.

The starting 5 holes are extremely tight and there was plenty of yells of "FORE" with Fix loving the echoes through the valley from roaring! We came through unscathed and off into the more picturesque parts of the course after the Index 1 6th. The Par 3 8th over the water is beautiful. I played a wedge which pitched about 2 feet from the hole, looked all over it from the tee for one of my most memorable shots in a while. The 9th was emblematic of my play for the day. Not the best drive over the pond into the trees on the left. Had a decent gap and back footed a 5-i which I creamed and came out like a rocket. Left me about 145 from the green but back far enough that the big tree didn't come into play. Flushed an 8-i which looked like it had a chance to go in from the fairway. Made the putt for a nice birdie.

Played sensible/good/lucky golf for most of the back 9. Driver was never best behaving, but some of my recovery shots were career best. I suppose being able to place did help from some of the areas I found myself. Made some extreme pars, thought I was OB on the 14th only to find my ball in a little enclave on the side of the fairway, par on the Par 5 after knocking my drive and thought I was doing ok. Came to the last and hit an ok drive a good 3-w to leave 147 yards to the green. Clipped a lifetime 8-i to 5 foot for a finishing birdie. I didn't keep track of my score, so when Awec handed it over with 43 points I was buzzing. My second ever win in Boards and a chance in the GTOY.

Fix, Space and Awec all played well at times, but probably didn't have my luck on the day to squeak out a better score. A soft, wet course doesn't play to Fixes strengths, but he had some superb 2 foot slices off the tee. Awec is an improving golfer and a few better club choices would result in a big score and we all know Space is a class striker. Unfortunately, the driver was playing well, but that mini-driver was a good substitute.

On to Saturday, and with everyone around, we had a good albeit long, build up before finally getting out at 2:40 with @bakerbhoy, @Seve OB and @weapon of grass destruction . People had mentioned the competition might lead to a quieter round, but far from it. Despite the rain, the GTOY or anything, we had a great round with plenty of chats and banter.

Didn't start great and the driver was still playing silly buggers. Got a 5 on 1st with a hack out of the rough so an ok start. On the second I hit a good hybrid 2nd over the mound which found the front bunker, unfortunately right up by the face. Clipped the lip on the way out, spun left and stopped. But with all the spin, took off again to roll back in! Made a 6 which was ok. Driver was still an issue but I plugged away. On the 5th, I found the 2nd fairway. Took a 5-w to the front of the green in 2. Seve played before me and got his chip thin. That made my mind up, if Seve was finding it hard to chip, then putter was the order of the day. Putted from off the green to 2 feet for par. Happy days!

Made a slight change to the length of my driver on the 6th tee and from then on, it behaved very well. Played some good golf in the conditions and made use of my shots. Had an excellent par on the 14th and was 2 over 2's at that point. Felt I had weathered the day well, and tried to knuckle down as I knew Bakerbhoy was also playing steady. Good drive on 15 left me 200 yards away. With the pond in front decided to play sensible and lay up. Duffed my 3rd into said same pond for a scratch. Livid! Worst drive of the back 9 came then on 16. Found it and hacked out to make a 6 for 2. So no harm done. Melted a decent drive down 17 and a decent 3-w to just in front of the green. But instead of sticking with the putter option, tried to chip and skulled it over the green. Was unlucky on 18 as well as my second ended in a very heavy heater lie which cost me a shot. So 2 1-pointers to finish which was a small bit disappointing. But when I saw lots of others struggled was actually quiet proud of my day.

Bakerbhoy and I matched each other completely on the day, 19 out, but he pipped me on back 6. As I said before, he is class and it showed again on the day. Both Seve and Weapons played well at times, but some bad luck and a few wayward drives cost. Seve was lethal from anything inside 12 feet on the greens and once Weapons went with the 3-w over his Driver, his scores improved.

With the messing around from Arklow, back to the houses for the usual post mortems and post round banter. Lots of talk and messing from Fix and @benny79 on LIV arrangements. Whatever happens, all I can say is I hope that Boards GS continues in some form with the same commitment to Golf, craic and characters in the coming year and years. It is too good to fail! Thanks again to everyone for an epic weekend. Thanks to my housemates and @charlieIRL and Bakerbhoy for the breakfast. See some of you for the retention of the Jug and others hopefully in February / March 2026.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 338 ✭✭tigerwood1

Chanced my arm thinking I could sneak a round of golf while on call. Half an hour into the journey, the phone rang — so much for that plan. Managed to sort it, though, and joined the lads on the 7th. To be fair, I opened with a tidy drive… not bad considering the warm-up was a mad dash instead of a bucket of balls.

A couple of duffs followed from the middle of the fairway, but overall I was happy with some quality shots — even nicked a two on the 10th. My biggest battle was keeping focus long enough to avoid scratches on the card.

Had to laugh on the 9th: hit one of my better drives to the middle of the fairway, then while chatting to Kev I pin-seeked the distance — 135 yards. Out came the 9-iron, and I sent one of my best swings of the day towering sky-high, dead on line. I even held the pose, waiting for the lads’ praise…🤣 only to see it sail into the bushes behind the green. Turns out I’d pin-seeked the bushes behind the green instead of the flag. For a moment I thought I’d flushed it like never before!

First time playing with Andrew — he’s got some real potential and hit plenty of quality shots. I’d played with Kevin a few years back, and he showed on Saturday that married life doesn’t have to affect your game😊. And Jonathan’s determination is something else; he never gives up and even made a cracking par on the tough 13th after a poor drive.

I’ve seen the course in better condition with fairways a bit ruff in parts, but to be fair the recent weather’s been harsh. Still, I do enjoy the mix of parkland and links holes.

Was hoping to grab a quick bite in the clubhouse, but work meant I couldn’t make it back to were the lads were staying.

P.S. I promise to clear my work commitments for next year’s Captains!😉

• Administrators Posts: 56,211 Admin ✭✭✭✭✭awec

Another great year comes to an end with a great captains weekend.

Starting with Woodenbridge, that's the first time I've played that course and it's a stunner. Will definitely be going back to play it in better weather. The start is a bit nuts with the first 5 holes all on top of each other, but after that it really opens up and is fantastic.

I played well at Woodenbridge, finished with 37 points which on most outings would have you in contention but the scoring on Friday was crazy good, I think my 37 points got me 9th or something! I played with @boccy23 who had an unbelievable round, was seeking pins from everywhere and ended up a well deserved winner. I've played with @FixdePitchmark a number of times and he always brings an entertaining round, Friday was no different even though his golf on the day wasn't his best. @spacecoyote was also with us who put in a round very similar to myself, on another day would have placed much higher.

On to Saturday at Arklow, another course I was playing for the first time. I started this round very well, turning with 19 points, unfortunately my form dipped later in the round, particularly when it started getting a bit more parkland with the trees. I only managed 13 points on the back 9, which left me with 32 overall so still respectable if nowhere near the prizes. My highlight at Arklow was the 2 I got on the short par 3, I think it's the 11th? Putted from off the green into the middle of the cup.

P.S. @Seve OB the Arklow scoreboard posted is missing my 2.

Went round Arklow with @kev_s88 , @Snackbox20 and @tigerwood1 who ended up being a bit late. Unfortunately Kev and snack box didn't have their best days out, I think maybe struggled a bit with the adjustment to links golf and links rough! Tiger put in a very respectable score for someone who missed 6 holes, and the highlight was his 2 with what must have been a 20+ foot putt up and across a hill on a huge green.

Both days of course were pretty wet, particularly Friday where it just rained non stop for the whole round. Thankfully there was no wind or it would have been miserable. I think my rain gear has just about dried out at this stage!

I've come down 9 shots in my WHS this season and been playing really well at my own club, but all season I have failed to show this form at a boards outing. I was pretty determined over the weekend Saturday to just put in decent scores. In the end, I'm happy with how I played even though it fell short of what I needed for my very long shot at making the jug.

Great pints and craic on both nights as usual. For those wondering, my car is still in Arklow, hoping to get good news on that today! Cheers to the lads who ferried me about, particularly @a post punk and @charlieIRL .

Congratulations to @tigerwood1 on his upcoming captaincy, a great pick and looking forward to seeing what courses you're going to take us to next year. And thanks again to outgoing captain @Kiith for a great year with the society, and to all the lads in the background who do a ton of work keeping this show on the road.

See yous in 2026.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 420 ✭✭Break80

Another year comes to an end apart from the season ending Ryder Jug.

Congratulations to all the team,it's a great experience, one you'll remember for a long time.

Weather was really against us for our golf, pity as Woodenbridge would have been a real test with run on the fairway and fast greens. Out of bounds in your mind on a lot drives. When you had a downhill putt you wouldn't fancy it on a dryer day. I enjoyed the course and company of Bakerboy (Goty) and Benny(Captains prize winner) and AlanM. Myself and Alan may have been the lucky charms for the lads golf the following day.

Arklow is a nice links style course with some real stand out par 3s. I started well enough but club slipping out of my hand despite wet gloves gave me some issues on the back 9.

Arklow left us down badly regarding the promise of food after the round which was poor form. Wet to the bone, no shower or the promised food might have put a downer on it but not for us.

Pizza and pints later with a great bunch of lads, even some late night dancing for the fellas with a bit of staying power made it a great night out as usual.

Welcome to our incoming Captain Tiger. Best of luck for your year ahead, you'll enjoy it.

Thanks to our outgoing Captain, well done.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 836 ✭✭✭bakerbhoy

Well , another Boards year nearly done and after a few days recovery and reflection, I will try make some sense of it all. From changing dates, venues, times it made for a strange year.

The weekend weather just put the cap on it. Winning GOTY is great and I feel good that I was able to play well enough to hold off the strong challenge from @boccy23 on the final day . While I have been complemented on my short game , it has been that short game which gave the success. My iron play this year goes with the condition of my back which for someone in their sixth decade is getting more and more restricted. I have what I call a functional skull with my irons . Getting older sucks!!!

So to Woodenbridge , a beautiful setting ,with the super tight opening six holes, humid wet day shorts ,two brollys and the company of @Alanm @benny79 and @Break80 we set off wondering would we get to finish with any daylight . @alanm couldn ’t buy a par early on and with only 1 shot and @benny from the darkside was banging drives out of sight and @break80 was as steady as I had ever seen and looked like he might actually do it this time . My own a mixture of good and the other. A few pars a chip in birdie turn with 17pts . The humid day and rain saw the boys ditch the rain tops and rely on the brolly for protection and into the back 9 the pace ahead started to slow and the fear of failing daylight loomed. @alanm had a storming 2 ND 9 with birdies and near birdies at nearly every hole. Benny and Break had a couple of poor holes which took them out of the prizes and I had a similar 9 to the front 17 pts 34pts in all . A contender for long drive on 18 which held. Nearly played @benny79 ’s ball on 18 which we had mistaken for mine in the fading light. My 34pts were nowhere in the shake up. @boccy23 had shot a fantastic 42pts and taken the win and top spot for GOTY , my total remained static. Behind now by 10..

Back at the farm Chalet 5 was craic central and @BigChap1759 was doing his thing . Sure what harm could a few cocktails do… Should have gone to town when I had the chance. Not the better for it ,Saturday morning and I was not alone…

Arklow beckoned and the day was cooler windy and raining which stayed with us until the last few holes. Playing in last group with GOTY contenders. @boccy23 @Seve OB and @weapon of grass destruction . Tougher conditions and course. Trailing @boccy23 by 10pts , I was aware that a upper top ten finish was needed and to better or equal him on the day to have a chance of overtaking him. And we had a very chatty relaxing round , weapon was his usual self, talking to himself if no one would listen. @Seve OB was drilling in the putts until someone mentioned it on 15th or so and he dually missed his first putt from 10 foot of the day. A few errand drives cost him the better finish. Weapon’s 3 wood was in form and he regularly outdrove us with it.

@boccy23 and I both finished with 34pts only separated by a split on the back 3 .. Very close.

Boccy was very generous and magnanimous in being overhauled at the death. A great companion and no mean golfer . In fact he was the most consistent scorer all season , just a quirk in the system pushing the result in my favour..

@bobster453 thoughts are with you and family on back of a more sobering conversation we had.

Big shout to @benny79 for his Captains Prize win . He was really happy about it.. Well done..

A great night split between No 5 and Maisie Kelly’s and a few who went further ,finished off the weekend in Arklow.

The Jug and the Reps await in Tulfarris , a course I have never played. Prepping for this will be vital..

Thanks to all the members. Captain @Kiith and committee for another great golfing season , some great memories and trips…

Best of luck to our incoming Captain @tigerwood1

Post edited by bakerbhoy on

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2, Paid Member Posts: 9,122 ✭✭✭spacecoyote

Another year done and dusted with the society. Not one without its ups and downs, but ultimately a successful end to the year. A lot of those downs being my standard of golf over the year which is probably the worst I've had in a long time.

But enough of my gripes with the standards of my golf this year (can hear those tiny violins going)

Woodenbridge had long been on my golf bucket list so was over the moon to see it on the course list this year. Unfortunately the weather gods wouldn't even listen to Benny and we got drowned like rats. Will need to keep it on Tyler list for a re-play at some point as its a stunning location.

I said to Fix early on...short course, soft greens, someone with a bit in the tank could bring in a big score today. And the table of scores for the day matched up to that prediction.

I decided to experiment with a mini-driver for the weekend, favouring position over power, and it mostly did the job. The primary issue was really figuring out tee-height. A couple of skied drives off the top of the face resulted over the weekend, including on the first tee.

I struggled for distance control in Woodenbridge. Must have just been one of those good iron striking days, as I ended up long of the greens multiple times...or maybe I suffered the same fate as Tiger and was zapping targets close behind the green.

Playing with Fix, Awec and Boccy, all put in solid rounds of golf.

Fix was superb off the tee and with the longer clubs, but wedge approaches put him in trouble too many times. Lack of golf took its toll there i think.

Awec continues to improve at a steady rate. Always had the makings of a better golfer than his handicap suggested. And hes now showing that improvement. A couple of loose tee shots, but generally steady game all round.

Boccy had a day, couple of birdies, some pars that should never have been on, but on the day just were. If he'd putted slightly better he probably could have pushed closer to 50 points on the day in all honesty.

20250919_155839.jpg 20250919_173643.jpg 20250919_180224.jpg

On to Friday evening and way too many whiskey cocktails expertly crafted by BigChap meant that I was in a very delicate state on Saturday morning.

I quite like Arklow as a golf club and generally the people there are welcoming and friendly. But for the 3rd time they've let our society down in relation to an outing (a cancelled Ryder Jug, arriving to a 14 hole course only open, and this weekend closing the kitchen before the society arrived back in after our rounds). Its a poor showing to leave around 30 people with no food options at around 7pm on a Saturday evening. Myself and Alanm swung into action. Organising an order of 13 pizzas, garlic breads, chips and dips on the fly wasn't on our duties for the weekend, but we weren't going to let people go hungry!!!

The day on the course was a pleasure with 3 old mates at this point, golfgraffix, alanm and CharlieIRL. Great craic despite the weather. I played a nice front 9. My short game was on fire, and I made some outrageous up & downs. Mixed them, unfortunately with a sloppy OB approach on the 4th, and a poor 3-putt on the 5th.

Back 9 started steady and ticked along till the 13th. Made the carry over the water, just short of the green, but got a god-awful bounce almost straight right, and we all watched on in horror as it trickled its way back down into the hazard.

Then on 14th, that same water hazard kicked me straight again while I was down. Knocked down my first drive of the day into it, on a hole with no stroke, resulting in my only scratch of the day. Had a putt for a point, but it wasn't to be.

3 back 9 3-putts were expensive and were the difference between a decent score and a very good score.

Such is life and onwards we move!

The other lads all had their moments on the day, alanm has added a new dimension to his game with his driver improvements. Yes, it has maybe brought in a bigger miss, but the gains are significant.

Golfgraffix, as always has a weird distance on his irons in particular. He delivers serious dynamic loft, its really impressive. He was absolutely wild off the tee, but made some exceptional recoveries, much to the chagrin of CharlieIRL. Hes also the only man I know who calls out hes about to make a long putt and then manages to pull it off (playing the odds as then lads said...you only remember the times when it actually comes off)

CharlieIRL had a tough day at the office. He mixes the spectacular with the disastrous in every round. When you see his best stuff you wonder how he can do the bad stuff 😆. Unfortunately injured his wrist about two thirds of the way round and finished his evenings golf early.

Congrats to the winners over the weekend. Great win by Boccy on Friday, super from Benny on Saturday, and an ultra consistent year of golf from Bakerbhoy to win GOTY.

Good luck in the jug lads, and good luck to Tiger in 2026 for Boards 15th anniversary season.

20250920_171803.jpg

A nice view of Golfgraffix lie in one of the bunkers, which he escaped with aplomb.

And one of Captains winner Benny looking sharp in his new cap

20250920_135509.jpg

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 321 ✭✭Sorbet

The end of my second season with BGS and thoroughly enjoyed it. In the end two second place finishes on countbacks and a top 5 was enough to get me a jug spot and I was really delighted with that. I had thought that the handicap would come tumbling this season after a good (for me) first counting round of the year but it wasn’t to be. Did knock 2 shots off from where I was at the end of last year so progress of a sort.
    So it was that I headed off to Captains weekend more in hope than expectation. AI had done the number crunching for me and I was certain that a single top 10 finish would see me home. That wasn’t to be either!
    Woodenbridge was a course I was really looking forward to playing and I had read about the congestion of the first four holes so wasn’t worried as I set off with @Concerned2 , @Seve OB and @kev_s88 all of whom I had played with before and really enjoyed their company. Bit of a trend has emerged this year on my Boards rounds and I had a great first hole. Decent drive followed by an approach to within about 6 feet and sank the putt for birdie. That was the highlight of the day for me closely followed by a GIR par 5 on the long last hole. The course didn’t disappoint even if in truth the bad weather, particularly near the end, did make it a challenge to enjoy the day as much as I could have. We were out in the second group and so light wasn’t a big concern for us. We pushed on at pace though conscious of those behind. @Seve OB played some lovely golf and I was sure that he’d be in contention with 37 points (I think). I also thought my 33 points would get me that valuable top 10 - how wrong was I on both counts. Some serious scoring meant no win for @Seve OB And only 19th place for me! Well done to @boccy23 and all those at the top of the results - I know the course was short and soft but in that weather I was really impressed with the scoring. @Concerned2 didn’t have his best stuff but was great company as usual. @kev_s88 like was protecting a Jug position and was disappointed when his golf didn’t get him over the line on day one but was off back home to Dublin for a proper sleep before ultimately earning his spot by Captains end.
    Shower and food followed by apartment 5 prinks (as my daughter calls them) and pints in the Old Ship the perfect way to end the day.

IMG_6872.jpeg

On to Arklow for Captains prize and I played in a three ball with @ThecHamp26and @briansmith54. The lads are close friends and I’d never played with either but really sound lads and never felt like a third wheel! Great company going around in the awful rain and even worse golf from me. Again started with a nice first hole. Poor drive right behind a mound. Unsighted for my second from 200 or so yards but put a hybrid onto the front of the green and had a 2’putt par. Not much else in the rest of the round to celebrate but still really enjoyed the day. It’s a lovely course and I hope to give it a second crack another day. Truth be told I can’t really recall how well the lads played but it was better than me although @briansmith54 had a few scratches on both 9s ending his challenge. As others have said disappointing not to have the club facilities for the prize giving and grub and tales of €4 to rent a towel leaves a bit of a bad taste. Particularly hard on those that weren’t staying for the night having to go back to our accommodation but was great to see those that did. Thanks to @spacecoyote and @Alanm for sorting the pizzas etc. well done to @benny79 on the win and to @bakerbhoy on GOTY and @boccy23 for running it close. Huge thanks to @Kiith for all the work this year, particularly the great courses and best of luck to @tigerwood1 on next years. I’ll be waiting with baited breath and refreshing my Boards golf page until we see the plan for next year - BGS is a highlight of the golfing year for me and I’ll look forward to seeing you all in February or March to do it all again.

In the words of Heath Ledger in the iconic role of the Joker, "and heeeeeeerre we go!" Apologies coming to the post mortems and reviews, but lettuce begin.

So comes to an end and adventurous and eventful year on the Boards Golf Society circuit, congratulations first and foremost to our incoming captain for 2026, Mr. @tigerwood1 , a stalwart of the group and I believe one of the OG's, looking forward to your year and to what courses we will step out onto next year. The very best of luck to you sir. A big thank you goes to the outgoing captain @Kiith , a very busy year for you at the helm, but overall it was a great year with a number of new courses ticked off and a really enjoyable captain's weekend.

This is one of the first outings that I didn't take any photos, well on the golf course, the only photo I contributed was the "ode to student living" a still life of aluminium and glass combined with some snips of cardboard, and highly refined Cuban 😁. House write up follows after.

So setting out for the captain's weekend on the Friday morning, my first stop was to finish preparation for the rain ahead and replace my nicked umbrella, bought 2 at my local golf shop (captain knows about the 2nd 😉) The 2nd and brolly broke on the Arklow course just before the 15th, (got a replacement yesterday, keep your receipts kids 👍👍👍)

Arriving at Woodenbridge, I was really looking forward to this one, stunning location, tight little course but I'm definitely going back in the good weather to play it. Paired up with @LinoRichie , @a post punk , and @spuddy, great company, chats, and tips distributed throughout the round, (thank you to you all) we were getting round well, I was very happy with an out of 20 points, but has been the case all year a combination of headfecking, missed putts, and wrong shot combos, came home with a respectful 36 points, congratulations to @boccy23 with a stunning 43 points. Don't know where it left me with my opportunities for the jug, but like CM Punk grasping for the brass ring, like when Sonic the hedgehog hits an enemy, diiinnnnnng, pooft gone.

So back to the car key courtyard (😉, @benny79 🤣🤣🤣🤣) The accommodation was actually top notch and brilliant housemates with @Break80 , @BigChap1759 , @FixdePitchmark , the house became purgatory or Camden cross, because it was the house to be, so being a domesticated good sensible human ( who are we really kidding) bed at 3am and prep for captains.

Captains day.

Up bright and early and domestication duties first, breakfast 2nd, I was enjoying my gloop (🤣🤣🤣🤣), the real breakfast was being made. (I miss the smell of drying golf equipment and golf gear with scorchio storage heaters, my car only has been de-aired yesterday)

So on to Arklow, all prepped after non-succession in getting a brolly prop, I had to purchase a golf bag rain condom, there was a little bit of confusion on the tee box with some golfers running late and unable to attend, the initial 4 ball became 3 and for the first time I was playing with both @awec and @kev_s88 , the new captain joined us on the 6th. @awec is a lovely steady golfer, a lot of times his irons and wedge play generated that lovely out of the middle crisp connection and he did very well on putting also, congratulations on that 2, great putt and class watching it drop from off the green. @kev_s88 is very steady too, a few holes and the change between the links and parkland, he would have come in with a higher 30+ score. Well played to you both and thanks a million for the chats and company, especially Kev keeping track of the united v Chelsea game. @tigerwood1 joined us at the 6th, but we imagined if he had teed from the 1st he would have rattled the top 3, he bombed his drives and he was putting from everywhere, scoring a great 2 as well on the day.

Dear brain, we need to have a serious reset in the off season and get a plan on stopping the crash when a shot or hole goes wrong, with the mixed up start in the first, it was the 1st of 3 lost balls, head was rattled and with a poor 27, it was in the words of the pin-pals, "goodbye trophy"

Massive thanks and gratitude for the fast acting taking by both @spacecoyote and @Alanm for organising the pizzas and sides, trés gusto 👌👌👌👌👌.

Back to the party house for a bit of ology's, technology, mixology, gastrology, and bolloxolgy 🤪🤪🤪🤪. A great night between there, Maisie's, and into the sunrise with beverages and best golf friends.

Congratulations to @bakerbhoy on a fantastic score to win the Golfer of the Year, (@boccy23, incredible display of sportsmanship on Saturday night 👌👌👌👌) @benny79 on taking home the true claret jug and winning captains.

Congratulations to everyone who qualified and got selected for the Jug, the very best of luck in Tulfarris in 2 weeks time, bring it home for a 3rd time lads.

To @Seve OB , @Golfgraffix , the work you put in each year with the admin and data entry and with John as the main engine of the society, your work is unsurpassable, along with the hardest and ultra reliable commitee, the society would not be where it is today, where it goes going forward, it will still always be boards, sure we all enjoy a snickers, but we know it's still a marathon.

Thank you everyone for a great year on the golf courses and for the mighty craic.

Boards GS 4 Eva ✌️✌️✌️✌️✌️

Here's to 2026

Plantbased20

P.s thank you to all the contributers of the still life and thank you to @Seve OB , my scout group held their annual flag day in Clonmel that weekend and the total of all the bottles and cans came to €12.55, which brought the total collected for the 2 days to over €4000.

🙏🙏🙏🙏🙏

Mile buichas

Well,,,well,,,well… I think im slightly back in the land of the living! What a weekend! I tried my best on the weather front but it's tough when you have about 15 negative lads going against you! 🤦‍♂️ They never learn and The almighty himself said Benny boy they obviously want it too rain 🤷‍♂️ & rain it did but I went against my better judgement & splashed out €40 on a unbella holder! Honestly one of my best golf purchases to date even though a bit of a rip off!.

Woodenbridge - had the pleasure of playing with 3 seasoned veterans @Alanm @Break80 & goty @bakerbhoy i can see how he won it as he was solid as a rock & really gets the ball out there off the Tee.. impressive.. Alan had a bad front 9 with nothing going his way but at his level 1 bad hole costs him.. and of course me & the other G break80 had are side hustle on which made for a very enjoyable round which we ended up drawing on the 18th.. so it was double or quits onto Arklow..

Arklow- have to say i really liked the course. I was told I played it before even though I didn't remember 1 hole🤦‍♂️ but funny enough I remembered the clubhouse. I was running late so had to rush to first Tee then I was meant by the lads with the I can't break 100 cap! 🤦‍♂️ so to say i was less then impressed 😂 but it's all in good jess… until I scratched the first 2 holes & i scrapped the hat into the bag out of anger & said right im going to show these fcukers! And That i did 😎 my game is there just have to go easy on myself and shut inner taughts up! 🤦‍♂️😂 but it helps when your playing with good company @FixdePitchmark @apostpunk & @ClubGuy

Onto the night.. I was shocked to win the captains to be honest as the lads had me distracted with the laughing its a petty we couldn't have the presentation in club house but really poor form from the Club again with the food and all.. but the night activities made up for it! with the break away tours and scouting for players 😂 you always know you had a good night when you have @FixdePitchmark telling you to go to bed at 4 in the morning! It's usually the other way round 😂

I love the Captains weekends away its great but also sad at the same time as the season is over! But from been no where to qualifying 8th for jug team by winning the Captains & the brucie bonus of winning the past captains trophy. As @apostpunk informed me on the first Tee that we hadn't played together in over 2 years 😮 Life certainly comes at you fast!

I now have 4 big Golfing trophies on the mandlepiece to the annoyance of the other half 😂 and The Presidents this weekend in Club 😁 can with good one more!

Cheers to everyone for a great year!

Incoming Captain @tigerwood1 about time!

P.S Special mention to @Break80 Thanks for putting my kids through college 😂💰

See you's in The Jug boys who haaa 💪

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 1,153 ✭✭✭shefellover93

First of all, thanks to @Kiith for all his hard work in putting everything together and @Seve OB and @Golfgraffix for their work behind the scenes. No small feat getting everything together and we got to play some superb courses.

My first year with the society and though I knew I was never going to be near a jug team, I really felt like I let myself down over the course of the year at various times.

Portmarnock was a write off but after that there were a few rounds I felt like I left behind, and Saturday at Arklow was another.

Played with @Kiith and @LinoRichie which was nice to have another unique pairing, and have managed to play with a good few in the society now.

Driver has improved massively in the last 6 weeks, but sadly the short game and a few poor iron shots were the problem, just didn't hit enough GIRs despite being in good positions, and while some of that was just sheer length (particularly playing into the wind), a lot of it was just bad club choice, or a case of the hooks.

Scratched far too many holes, and a lot of that was poor chipping and putting, which just ruined my scoring despite some reasonable play from tee to green. The run from 4-6 was a disaster.

Best holes were pars on 8 (good two putt), and 11. Hit a great tee shot on 13 as well and then three putted from fairly clos range which was demoralising.

I reckon if I had played that round earlier on in the year I'd have been happy enough, but expectations have risen and I just felt like I didn't do my game justice on the day.

Hope ye all had a good night on Saturday and congratulations to @bakerbhoy on his GOY win, there's some super golfers in the soc and I can't get over some of the scores people come in disappointed with, so to finish top of the pile is a fantastic achievement.

Enjoy the winter break lads and it was a pleasure taking part.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2, Paid Member Posts: 544 ✭✭✭a post punk

Great reviews here lads and hopefully a lot more to follow as the week wears on.As always the Captains is a bitter sweet weekend as you are eagerly awaiting the new courses you may not have played,the golf game as yet unplayed (so 36 points plus obviously) and the great company and social outlet Boards golf society is and will continue to be long into the future.But it also marks the end of the season and long wintering period.

Firstly thanks to @Kiith for bringing us to more new courses and with a few bumps along the road we had a great overall year.

Well done to all who made the jug team ,very well deserved #BoardsGolfSociety4Life.

Well done to @benny79 on winning the captains and past captains prize (super golf)

Massive well done to my regular "Just a fiver"contender in @bakerbhoy, I gave all those fivers back this year but absolutely delighted to see you get the big win with serious pressure from @boccy23 over the weekend,you are a serious competitor and personally would pay alot to copy and paste your short game to make a real golfer outta me!

Onto the weekend ,well it was Wet Wet Wet as we all know and I was well prepared but struggled for the finishing holes on Saturday.I actually thought i played very well in woodenbridge but when 32 points puts you in 20th…… it's a reality check as to the standard you need to make the jug team.I really liked the course ,the setting was sensational and i will return very soon hopefully to get the real experience.The greens on the day were extremely slow with the weather and although i was driving really well overall,I lost a ball middle of the fairway due to plugging on hole 5 and that really p"£$ed me off as it was a great 3wood drawn around to the shape of the hole!But thats golf…..I had a great group day 1 with @LinoRichie , @spuddy4711 and @Snackbox20 .

We had a goodnight of entertainment albeit late back to the accomadation ,I was better for it as I was fresh for day 2 and after a big fry up and a windswept car ride thanks to @LinoRichie the cobwebs were gone and ready for day 2.

Onto Arklow then and all morning was lovely and dry until driving to the golf course it started(jesus not again!!)its lucky i had a great group again in @benny79 , @FixdePitchmark , @ClubGuy.There was stellar driving on display at times and the master of links @FixdePitchmark this is where he comes into his own,he just sees the game different to others in my own opinion (now learning to play golf by hitting at a moving target may be the difference here) but its class to watch and always a pleasure to play with for his company and Oxtail Soup (weird but satisfying in the wind and rain). @ClubGuy has a great swing and massive power ,he will feature on the jug team and his handicap will tumble down in the next season if he keeps that ball striking up.We were neck and neck for driving distance (where i hit a decent one ) all day.The poor fella walked around with no umbrella for most of the round so fairplay for keeping going.Lastly @benny79 it had been 2 years but the improvement is massive ,really composed and hit some excellent penetrating drives and approaches,not surpising he won and excluding the start would have ran away with it.

I really didn't play as good as the day before myself and lost concentration and composure in the last 6 holes,I scratched 15 and 16 and that really killed me. the weather just got to me really and while i enjoyed the day and the great craic in the group i was very disappointed to finish with only 29 points.To cap things off there was no food at the inn and I was starving and really hangry so probably everyone listened to me moan until we actually got the food kindly organised by @alanm and @spacecoyote,thanks!

So the curtain falls on another golfing year where i have dropped 4-5 shots but unable to match the year of 2024 on boards.I look forward to 2026 with our incoming Captain @tigerwood1,I think he's a great character in the society and really looking forward to where he brings us on and off the golf course.

Talk Soon

PP

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 45 Richiemaloney

Well what a weekend from forecast of showers to nice , to RAIN RAIN 😓

First of all thanks to all that make boards work and@klith for some great courses this year ,my best result was second in Seapoint ,struggled with my game all year starting to light at the end of the tunnel

Woodenbridge a course i had heard so much about ,the setting is class even in the low cloud and rain ,had the pleasure of @Snackbox20 @spuddy4711 @a post punk ,great 4 ball slagging crack and some great golf at time between us all

Part 2 a shower a few cans ,left the lads to the cocktails and head to town for a few pint ,in the door and @Macker1 the fist person we see ,next up @FixdePitchmark helping the the 3 lovely girls with the table quiz,a few more pint a cream a bit of slagging ,taxi home and few to many whiskeys in app 5 thanks lads 😴

Day2 A little seedy ,in to town for the fry @a post punk let the roof down for the spin back clear head ,put on the wet gear and head for arklow

Playing with @Kiith@shefellover93 two lovely lads front nine mixed golf between us back nine @Kiith got going played some love golf ,i got wet and cold just couldn't get going ,pared the last felt like a bird after pulling my drive had to chip out ,got the text about the no food , so i head straight to the sauna 😲,im warm now ,tip down to supervalu for drink for the lads and a slice pan and ham for @charlieIRL great call ,App 5 again the crack was mighty ,then the prizes well done to all some great golf played all year

I have had the pleasure of playing with @bakerbhoy a lot this year what a competitor has a few of my five euros and @a post punk

Heres to next year ,best of luck @tigerwood1 can wait to see were heading 🤔

Lino

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 45 Richiemaloney

217F18F9-9CF5-4918-B6FD-2E167639CDBF.jpeg

sauna