Presidential Election.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 33,195 ✭✭✭✭blanch152

Because the strong conservative vote can't get enough people elected to councils, the Dail and the Seanad?

If she gets 20 Oireachtas members, fair play, that shows the support is there. If she doesn't, well, go off and get elected to the Dail or the Seanad and gather enough votes for the next time.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 16,291 ✭✭✭✭Thelonious Monk

I think the 4 independent ireland folks can get her over the line today, surely she's a cert with them?

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 7,573 ✭✭✭eightieschewbaccy

I'd actually say it's increasingly likely that Steen gets on the ballot. But it's worth pointing out that even Aontu had lots of members who do not want to give her a nomination...

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 4,874 ✭✭✭Dick phelan

So you think it's perfectly acceptable for Simon Harris to basically threaten any FG senator or counselor should they decide to facilitate anyone else on the ballot. There is absolutely no good reason to keep Maria Steen off the ballot, other than FF and FG thinking they should have a monopoly on who should be president

As I have said, if she gets the 20, fair play, well done to her, and she is on the ballot. I just don't buy the crying and whinging from her supporters that somehow it isn't fair. Get the TDs elected, get the Senators elected, get enough councillors elected, and you will get on the ballot.

I did think this morning she was still a couple short.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 79,470 ✭✭✭✭FrancieBrady

If she gets 20 Oireachtas members, fair play, that shows the support is there. 

No it doesn't.

She may well have more support to run if someone hadn't a threat hanging over them.

A candidate only needs support to run in the election from a CC, they are not asking for someone's vote in the election.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 19,485 ✭✭✭✭VinLieger

Because they didn't organise themselves in time to elect enough councilors or TDs and senators to get their candidate nominated?

There was both a Local election 15 months ago and a GE 10 months ago and everyone knew the presidential would be at some point in late 2025, Why was Maria Steen, Tobin et al not pushing candidates in either election last year specifically in an effort to get her or someone like her nominated this year?

The rules have been the same since the founding of the state, people complaining how they cant get their proffered nominee on the ballot 2 months before the election are akin to a kid turning up the morning of the leaving cert saying nobody told them they needed to study.

Sinn Fein have loads of spare TDs and Senators and councillors who are not signing nomination papers. They are not running their own candidate so aren't bound by party convention. How many of them have signed up for Steen?

If she has no support than what's the harm having her on the ballot, what are FF and FG afraid of? There is no good reason to keep her from running other than ridiculous party politics.

Well, yes. Fine Gael have their own candidate, as does Fianna Fail, they have a right to do that.

What is really strange is that Sinn Fein councillors weren't supporting her, even at a time when they didn't have a candidate, or since, when they were only supporting someone else. If there are questions about which party could have supported her, they lie there.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2, Paid Member Posts: 8,762 ✭✭✭plodder

“The opposite of 'good' is 'good intentions'”

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 79,470 ✭✭✭✭FrancieBrady

What makes you think SF are immune from criticism here blanch? Your bias?

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 1,518 ✭✭✭CPTM

You might not agree with Steen's views on life, and maybe you think she should have started sooner, but you can't deny that she’s giving everything to get on the ballot. Herself and Toibin are knocking on every door day and night.

Because SF and a hard left party. There's an awful lot of people who's views will have absolutely no representation on the ballot and that is very wrong imo.

What has that got to do with it? You can't criticise FF and FG who have their own candidate and a stake in the election and leave out SF who are standing idly by in the election. They have plenty of spare nominations.

Stop trying to put words in my mouth, despite vehemently disagreeing with her views I never have claimed that is a reason to keep her off the ballot.

The simple fact is she is yet to earn a position on the ballot by using the clear and plain rules that have existed for nearly 100 years now. If she gets the 20 nominations well done to her but she hasn't yet despite EVERYONE knowing the election was coming and what would be required to get nominated, yet herself, toibin, the rest of Iona, et al made no mention of it during either of the last 2 elections where if their claims about their support levels are true they should have easily been able to meet the requirements for a nomination if they had pushed this argument in those elections.

Then that is their fault for not electing enough TDs, Senators or Council members to get themselves a nomination. Nobody is "entitled" to a nomination and i find it hilarious so many are claiming to be worried and concerned about it NOW yet they didn't care or seem to think it was an issue when they had 2 chances last year to pre-empt this problem they are facing by electing enough people to get a nomination.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 12,594 ✭✭✭✭Oscar_Madison
    #MEGA MAKE EUROPE GREAT AGAIN

I’m probably more interested in hearing people’s views around her impact on the election if she does get on the ballot.

My own view is- a very narrow and specific voter support out there for her - she could very much take votes away from HH - and she’s the sort of candidate who’s voters will just pick her as #1 and won’t transfer to anyone else- thus further denying votes to HH.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2, Paid Member Posts: 41,042 ✭✭✭✭Hotblack Desiato

Yes.

They have a vote to choose their party's candidate (if Kelly hadn't pulled out) but now some of them want a second bite at the cherry?

If they're not happy to support their party's candidate they can and in fact should leave that party. When it suited them they were happy to use the support of that party to get themselves elected.

Supporting your candidate means not facilitating rival candidates. It's entirely up to the rival candidate to ensure they receive enough support to get nominated.

Steen is an absolutely dreadful candidate and the "I won't vote for her, but will nominate her" crowd are being thick as the wall. If they don't think she's good enough for them to vote for, they shouldn't be nominating her, simple as that.

Massive amount of wishful thinking on this thread, talk of her topping the poll is absolutely crazy.

Peter Casey only got 23% and that was a protest vote in an election where it was obvious Higgins was going to win easily, so there was no "cost" in voting for him, and no risk he'd actually win. Maybe like when Casey attacked travellers, Steen will see an opportunity in attacking immigrants? I expect a completely vile campaign from her, anyway.

I'm partial to your abracadabra
    I'm raptured by the joy of it all

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 18,783 ✭✭✭✭Loafing Oaf

If they don't transfer to HH after giving Steen first preference they were very unlikely to be voting for HH if Steen wasn't on the ballot.

Wouldn't be counting chickens yet. This is Gavan Reilly's latest tally with DHR also added to the Steen column

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 1,128 ✭✭✭harryharry25

I would have thought FG would want Steen on the ballot. You would imagine she would transfer to Heather more so than the other 2

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 12,594 ✭✭✭✭Oscar_Madison
    #MEGA MAKE EUROPE GREAT AGAIN

I kindof hear ya- but if these people are adamant to exercise their vote on the day - I would have said most would vote HH over the other two - but for those voters, it would be a hobsons choice certainly - I don’t see many of this voter demographic spoiling their vote - hence they’ll need to choose one

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 9,132 ✭✭✭Big Ears

Hold on, so what you're proposing is if the likes of Gareth Sheridan thinks "maybe I'll run for president in 18 months time", to do so they should start their own political party or political alliance and try and win a majority in at least 4 local councils or pick up 20 TD's in the general election that followed ?

Considering the President is neutral once elected and not supposed to get involved in Parliamentary politics (bar finding a bill unconstitutional etc), that seems an incredible effort.

I mean Fine Gael even looked for Jim Gavin to run for them during the European elections, and Heather Humphreys is only here due to Mairead McGuiness' poor health, so the expectation on an individual candidate to have more insight than the main political parties of the country to get support in local and general elections for the purpose of getting on the presidential ballot (as opposed to improving local and national politics) seems insane.

To be honest none of the candidates have done this, we've just got close to the time and some have realised they might have a shot, so have gone for it.

Yeah but if they're the type that's adamant about 'exercising their democratic right' they're also going to be the type that votes all the way down the ballot…

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2, Paid Member Posts: 573 ✭✭✭myfreespirit

Well, if you feel so strongly about the nomination process, as set out in Bunreacht na hÉireann, then you have the option of starting a campaign to change the constitutional arrangement for nominations.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 1,542 ✭✭✭floorpie

This isn't a new idea, it was strongly recommended from a citizens assembly to the government, that citizens should have a more direct say in the nomination process for presidential elections. The government responded to this to say that citizens already have a say via their elected representatives through local and national elections, but in any case it's clear that the public want the constitution to be changed around this.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 163 ✭✭BestWestern

How is it 'clear' that the public want the constitution to be changed?

The Last thing we need is 40 names on the list to be president? The work the councils do weeding out the egos and quacks should be applauded.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2, Paid Member Posts: 8,762 ✭✭✭plodder

The citizen's assemblies also recommended the last two failed referendums. They're no more a barometer of what the public want than what our elected representatives decide for us.

“The opposite of 'good' is 'good intentions'”

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 3,866 ✭✭✭Hoboo

All he’s done is draw negative attention to himself. A more seasoned campaigner would have dismissed any flak as it arrived, not draw everyone’s attention to it. Hurty words/false accusations. All the same in politics, it happens every day, and nobody holds a press conference.