If we do not hit our goal we will be forced to close the site.

Current status: https://keepboardsalive.com/

Annual subs are best for most impact. If you are still undecided on going Ad Free - you can also donate using the Paypal Donate option. All contribution helps. Thank you.

Second Captains Part II

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 61 ✭✭choosetheend

He said before that he'd like to write one. I think he mentioned it to Murphy and also talking to Miguel Delaney about his book.

He said he's amazed that people can find the time or something along those lines.

So I'm sure he'd like to do it but it's probably challenging with his weekly articles and his podcasting.

I'm sure you could write something great.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 2,774 ✭✭✭MyPeopleDrankTheSoup

the patreon comment section is spicy on yesterday's NFL pod with David Zirin. I didn't actually listen to the pod and won't BUT I'll give my opinion anyway….. I watch NFL and have for about 17 years (since the Helmetcatch) and never really thought about the political or moral implications of that, and don't think I will.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 5,015 ✭✭✭EltonJohn69

the yanks are welcome in Dublin, but if they are found on our streets without identification papers and/or a current visa then send them to Cloverhill for a couple of weeks until we can figure out what the hell they are actually up to. Then deport them.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 630 ✭✭✭Tucker.Tim

The Dubai to Yerevan hipster emailer was the most disturbing thing on the Monday podcast and Dour Dion was a guest on that one

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 3,976 ✭✭✭Brock Turnpike

Hi Elton. Have you a newsletter I could subscribe to?

Why are they still booking the Anfild PR rep?

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 161 ✭✭slumdogemillionaire

I am just thankful it is not that other Anfield Wrap contributor, Rory Smith who is just an utter gobshite. At least this Neil lad is half decent and balanced enoug

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2, Paid Member Posts: 8,625 ✭✭✭ongarite

After the start of today's podcast, I desperately want a Ken autobiography

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 962 ✭✭✭Salvation Tambourine

Ken does a show on The Anfield Wrap with Neil occasionally so they must get on. Personally, I really like listening to Neil on The Anfield Wrap so always enjoy him on Second Captains. I also really like Rory Smith…

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 943 ✭✭✭cheese sandwich

Ken is so self-aware and probably self-critical that I’d imagine he would think his stories aren’t good enough for a book.

Whereas Murph clearly thinks he is hilarious and fascinating and consequently has no difficulty waffling on about himself.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2, Paid Member Posts: 719 ✭✭✭Appletart Upsetter

I always find it hilarious that people complain about Neil Atkinson from the Anfield Wrap being so biased. He's from a bloody Liverpool focussed podcast/website. Of course he's biased.

That said, saying both goals for Atleti should have been ruled out was a bit much, even for me!

I complain about him being on as he's biased but also because the contributors from club specific pods/websites are typically the worst contributors they have.

Atkinson is by far the worst of them, but the others aren't good either.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2, Paid Member Posts: 719 ✭✭✭Appletart Upsetter

We get plenty of objective analysis from the usual journalists, Jonathan Wilson being the highlight for me, I'm okay with some fan stuff up and down just for a change.

That said, Neil Atkinson is the toughest listen. Though that Arsecast accent does go through me like hot diarrhoea.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2, Paid Member Posts: 1,178 ✭✭✭cunnifferous

Atkinson is so thin skinned and pompous (kinda reminds me of Gab Marcotti). It was kind of funny though today to listen to him dismiss Eoin and Ken's questions out of hand.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 12,904 ✭✭✭✭siblers

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 284 ✭✭joinme

Atkinson is an awful dose.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 1,758 ✭✭✭atilladehun

They definitely phrased their questions to get Atkinson to give his biggest reaction, which is something i think Atkinson did the last time Ken was on The Anfield wrap.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 3,278 ✭✭✭jones

I think there's an element of banter between Ken and Atkinson to by honest and we all know Ken loves a wind up but Atkinson can come across as smug in responses.

I'm a Liverpool supporter but in general I don't think it's a good idea having fervent "journalists" on to speak about their own clubs - it's like having a fan on, they are inherently going to be biased. I mean what do we get out of it? Same with the arsenal guy they have on occasionally.

Ps Rory Smith is a brilliant contributor he's up there with Wilson for me.

Don't get the Rory Smith hate at all. Seems to be because he has admitted to being a Liverpool fan.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 12,904 ✭✭✭✭siblers

Not sure if Mark Critchley supports Man Utd but he's excellent anytime he's on about Utd.

There is that other fella who covers Utd who sounds about 16 and for the life of me can'trememberhus name. He's not bad to be fair either

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 434 ✭✭Blud

Atkinson is painful. He is laughable, just too easy to dismiss.

Doesn't help having him on that Ken is also a massive Liverpool fan, he is clearly sarcastic in his wind ups - quoting Jason Cundy and the like today re Wirtz is a set up rather than a question.

Atkinson sounds like he hasn’t listened to an episode of Second Captains because he’s completely off-piste in tone, he’s so defensive that he reams off excuses for something before someone else can even vocalise the counterpoint.

If he does actually understand the tone of the show they’ve managed to find the only Liverpool person with zero percent Irish craic in them, which is an achievement but not great for listeners. Ken is clearly enjoying the wind-up at least.

As I said last season, if they’re going to have fan journalists on they should have the balls to go full duck or no dinner and get ArsenalFanTV on, at least it might be funny.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 41,096 ✭✭✭✭Xavi6

"Soft or…" 🤣

Laurie Whitwell? Himself and Critchley both cover United and sound young enough.

The thing with Atkinson is you just know he spent every season between Liverpool winning their last division one league title and their first PL title telling everyone Liverpool were the best team in the league and had the best players. Extremely thin skinned and constantly on the defensive whenever a question even hints at being critical of player/club.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 1,655 ✭✭✭Still Ill

'Virgil van Djik is one of nature's greatest living men'.. Could hear the lads sniggering in the background for that one.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 3,641 ✭✭✭The Davestator

If I want to listen to a biased fan podcast, I'll listen to a biased fan podcast. Can't understand why he would be asked on to SC.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 962 ✭✭✭Salvation Tambourine

He does seem to rub people up the wrong way when talking about Liverpool on Second Captains, however, he's very good at talking about football in general. He's very detailed and uses stats rather well.

His take on no side really being that good at attacking this season (mentioned during the chat on Thursday) was an idea himself and Rory Smith talked about on The Anfield Wrap. The xG of the players with the highest xG is way down from this season and there's some unusual names at the top of the list.

He's has his own opinions and is never shy about disagreeing without someone which is something I really enjoy about him. Funnily enough I find he's not challenged enough on The Anfield Wrap and a lot of people just go along with his theories and ideas.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 349 ✭✭505_

Bit strange today Ken mentioning Nick Woltemade scored the goal for Newcastle a few times last night, when it was Anthony Gordon who scored. Can easily get mixed up but said it more than once and mentioned he came off the bench to do it. He did come off the bench and Gordon started.

I mean what you’re describing him doing here is being a stereotypical and often-parodied Stats Man, which if reaming off xG is your thing are a dime a dozen on Twitter and elsewhere.

It’s not impressive in the least, particularly when the result of analysing those stats is saying something like Bournemouth have the only good attack in the EPL outside your own beloved Liverpool.

He’s been subtly ridiculed by the lads every time he’s been on, they absolutely see a lot of his value being in the unintended comedy he produces when prodded.