Presidential Election 2025

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2, Paid Member Posts: 3,575 ✭✭✭Cyclingtourist

I'm not a member of any party.

Is that 'forthcoming' enough?

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2, Paid Member Posts: 41,005 ✭✭✭✭Hotblack Desiato

This is pure nonsense Francie and yet again you succeed into leading the thread down a pointless rabbit hole.

It's clear that Keoghan does have an unexpected degree of influence, and it's perfectly right and proper to question the extent of that and how it came about.

There is no comparison at all between what I said and your attempt to smear another candidate without any evidence whatsoever.

I'm partial to your abracadabra
    I'm raptured by the joy of it all

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2, Paid Member Posts: 13,887 ✭✭✭✭Cluedo Monopoly

Not just the leader. The whole executive council I would imagine. The councillors have very little say in how FG is run and who is selected. Obviously the FG leadership did not allow an internal contest but if they did the councillors still have very little say in their electoral college voting system.

Under this electoral college system, every member in compliance with the two-year rule has a vote. The membership element of the college is worth 30% of the overall vote, the Councillors’ votes are worth 15% and the Parliamentary Party votes account for 55%.

What are they doing in the Hyacinth house?

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 14,700 ✭✭✭✭Red Silurian

If she is annoyed at her leader, and she absolutely has many valid reasons to be, why is she still in the party? Either put up or shut up, your party leader has made a request, deal with it

You might see Gareth Sheridan and Iona institute lady Maria… (surname escapes me at time of publication of this post) added to the ballot as well but it's unlikely either of them will gain any significant vote

Connolly probably the strongest with young people, who traditionally don't vote, a double edged sword in many ways. SF to make an announcement on Saturday which may throw Eoin O Broin or Pearse Doherty into a race. Either candidate will only be giving second preference votes to Connolly though

Have the Independent govt TDs, Lory, Healy-Raes etc, put their weight behind anybody?

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 79,468 ✭✭✭✭FrancieBrady

It's clear that Keoghan does have an unexpected degree of influence,

You presented zero evidence…ZERO just an outright 'smear' which I parodied, to point out.

I have no time for Keoghan BTW and wouldn't vote for Steen if she was the last candidate standing but I respect their right to lobby and convince and their right to stand if they can find support.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 18,783 ✭✭✭✭Loafing Oaf

Have the Independent govt TDs, Lory, Healy-Raes etc, put their weight behind anybody?

Independent Ministers Michael Healy-Rae, Noel Grealish and Seán Canney have expressed support for Fine Gael’s candidate Heather Humphreys.

Lowry also AFAIK

SF to make an announcement on Saturday which may throw Eoin O Broin or Pearse Doherty into a race. Either candidate will only be giving second preference votes to Connolly though

Don't think this is a given. She would likely outpoll O'Broin alright but I would make Doherty slight favourite between the two

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 33,195 ✭✭✭✭blanch152

I referred to how she looks and sounds. That is how she comes across.

I also reference the regal aura of Mary Robinson in contrast to show how she demonstrated charisma.

Connolly has none, that comes down to how she comes across as a person constantly whining and whinging.

Snide comments towards Jim Gavin are becoming par for the course. I wonder if that is a result of feedback from people on the ground.

The next opinion poll will be interesting.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2, Paid Member Posts: 13,887 ✭✭✭✭Cluedo Monopoly

You said "She looks and sounds nothing like a President". Can you explain it? Nothing at all about her looks is acceptable for the role? What does the constitution say about looks? How should one look exactly? Does Michael D Higgins have the correct look? Your much loved Israeli leader called him a leprechaun for example. You have been attacking Catherine Connolly's character, looks and sounds since Day 1.

But you're a Green voter right?

Apparently this is better:

Regal:  resembling, or fit for a monarch, especially in being magnificent or dignified.

Mary Robinson in a republic could also be described as 'remote, stiff and lofty'.

Thanks for the info

I don't see Connolly coming second place to any SF candidate, with maybe the exception of Gerry Adams. Anybody else SF put forward will just be a transfer vote for her. I'm reminded of the time that Martin McGuinness ousted Sean Gallagher's dodgy dealings and Mickey D actually got the keys to the Áras, not the candidate that ousted him.

Something similar might happen if SF put a candidate forward, they'll target JG or HH and bring them down but do absolutely no favours for themselves and one of the other 2 will swim to victory

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 27,801 ✭✭✭✭Larbre34

No, it isn't. Its just the first time you've noticed.

Yes, resembling a Head of State, using the appropriate descriptor for one type of Head of State. You understand my point well.

Connolly looks and sounds anything else except that. To be fair, neither of the other two candidates are up there with Robinson, but they are a long way ahead of Connolly in the gravitas and charisma stakes necessary to do the job.

You have an old fashioned, outdated view, given the two successful full term (Robinson lasted one term) Presidents since Robinson.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 21,882 ✭✭✭✭Water John

Ah remember Mary Robinson reinvented herself when running for the job, according to P. Flynn.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 18,783 ✭✭✭✭Loafing Oaf

if SF put a candidate forward, they'll target JG or HH and bring them down

Eoin O'Broin has already spurned one potentially fruitful line of attack on the latter, not sure if this is official party line

A surprise defender of Humphreys was Sinn Féin’s senior TD Eoin Ó Broin, who said there was a need to “accept” that the Orange Order is an “important cultural institution” for Unionists and many Protestants.

“Heather is an Ulster Protestant – I would have been surprised if she hadn’t attended marches,” Ó Broin told Anton Savage on Newstalk this morning.

That said, HH would definitely be an easier target in general terms than JG. Whitmore of Soc Dems on VM1 last night wasn't particularly concerned about the Orange Order stuff either but was very much focused on HH's record in government. IIRC Gavin's name wasn't mentioned once across the program and to me this flags how tricky it will be for the opposition and indeed interviewers/presenters to address his candidacy. How do you attack/interrogate a candidate with no political track record of his own?

Very shallow thinking. I asked a few questions above on the "looks nothing like a president". Please respond. Is it the clothing? Perhaps a makeover?

I can tell you one thing. Mary Robinson has the height of respect for Catherine Connolly.

@blanch152 Please comment on the looks and sounds in this Dail speech. I cant fault it myself but I have never been called a misogynist in my entire life. Take your time to dissect it.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 21,580 ✭✭✭✭gormdubhgorm

And there I was thinking Connolly reminded me a bit of Robinson. Both have long necks! 🙄

Guff about stuff, and stuff about guff.

SF have an interesting position now. They can still do damage to the FFG candidates and help CC to the Áras and now they also have the opportunity to back CC and potentially take a slice of the winners pie

I've personally always felt that the office of presidency is something the people reward to a candidate they feel has done justice to them over the years. For Dubliners that might be Jim Gavin but outside of Dublin he will be seen as FF.

For Landlords, property developers, bankers, big business owners and other such elitists they probably see HH, through FG, as having helped them the most, but that FF would have helped over the years also, so either of the FFG candidates would be their first and 2nd preferences

Then you have the rest of society, the young, the working man, the person down on their luck and falling faster down because of FFG policies, the people on hospital waiting lists, the people who have lost loved ones to UHL. If they all came out to vote Connolly would win on the first count but unfortunately very few of them express their right to vote

I really really hope they do not run Doherty. He would try and shout himself to the Aras.

• Site Banned Posts: 4,164 ✭✭✭Oíche Na Gaoithe Móire

HH coming across as opportunistic to me. How do you jump so easily from her background to in favour of a United Ireland? Saul on the road to Damascus stuff.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 3,997 ✭✭✭Bishop of hope

HH is a Republican, resident in Co Monaghan. A UI wouldn't change much for her.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 21,580 ✭✭✭✭gormdubhgorm

That is a great point about Gavin. Opponents questioning Gavin would have some job attacking Gavin if they don’t know his broder political views. Also Gavin is a master at not taking a “strong”. Position on anything unless he sees-

1) It is the populist view

or

2) He can reach broad consensus / compromise

As that is exactly what he did when he was involved in the process of changing the rules of Gaelic football. Strenuously testing the new rules, finding the nub of the issues with the old rules. Many nationwide media interviews, consulting people from all backgrounds within the organisation.

That is what I think impressed FF Gavin saying things like “We have taken that criticism on board…” during the testing. To me Gavin is a Dublin version of former Taoiseach Jack Lynch. Because he so softly spoken, and who on the face of it seems very passive but beneath lurks a steely determination. How do you live debate against a person like that?

With extreme difficulty ! think, as the opponent can come across as overbearing if they are not careful. The optics wouldn’t look good, and Jim Gavin has no “political gaffs” simply because he was never in politics before so how do you attack that?

The other two candidates Connolly and Humphreys will no doubt snipe at each other politically. Leaving Gavin looking like the magnanimous Statesman. While he says little of note.

As others have said it leaves SF in a quandary for a number of reasons. You would think FG are SF’s more natural opponent. But Humphreys is an Ulster woman who covers both sides of the tricolour SF wave at the slightest opportunity. SF can’t really attack Gavin as for reasons you already stated. Doherty tried it but came across as mean spirited and insincere.

SF in theory are supposed to support Connolly, but the impression (unsaid directly and reading between the lines as usual with SF) they don’t back Connolly fully.

A sudden SF candidate palatable to the ROI voter, beyond the usual SF supporter base, is going to be hard for them to find. Presumably a female candidate would be preferable. But is the broader ROi electorate going to like O’Neill as much as MLM? A comprehensive defeat with few transfers in a Presidential election harms the SF “brand”.

Guff about stuff, and stuff about guff.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 13,440 ✭✭✭✭expectationlost

I think the Jim Gavin's Dublin GAA media bans should be made more of…

Post edited by expectationlost on

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2, Paid Member Posts: 18,124 ✭✭✭✭cj maxx

I take it HH is Heather Humpfries ?

I think Mary McAleese also had the gravitas and charisma suitable for the job, both of which are completely absent from Connolly's persona.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 1,885 ✭✭✭Downlinz

I'm sure it'll come up during the campaign.

As I recall the notorious thug Diarmuid Connolly assaulted a linesman during a game and Jim Gavin took exception to the RTE panel calling it for what it was so refused to engage in interviews and banned all of his players from doing so in a presumable effort to pressure media outlets to cover them favourably in future if they want engagement.

Changing your tune I see. Did you watch the video? Please answer my question about the "looks" required. Or run away from your statement.