Manchester United Thread 25/26 - Teamtalk/Transfers/Gossip Mod Note in OP 26.09.24

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 2,607 ✭✭✭kerplun k

I don’t see it as AM being ultra-defensive for the sake of it. I think he’s trying to build patterns of play first and then layer the strker in properly, rather than rushing it.

Sesko’s will benefit from slotting into a side that has a shape and rhythm, his time will come.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 48,940 ✭✭✭✭Mitch Connor

patterns of play that don't involve a striker?

So he can't slot into the patterns they have built. Seskp changes the shape and the rythm by being the running threat and focal point Cunha isn't, and Zirkzee isn't.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 2,647 ✭✭✭All_in_Flynn

Jesus lads will you's actually relax about Sesko. He will be the number 9 soon if not this weekend. Given he was cramping badly in league cup then it's fair to say he wasn't at the fitness levels needed yet and he's been given time to get up to speed.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 48,940 ✭✭✭✭Mitch Connor

We see players cramp all the time.

They don't require a break from playing the next few matches.

He started pre-season early july. Player in two RBL matches. Did 2 days of individual training during the transfer and has been training 'properly' at United since a month ago. Has come off the bench in 3 PL games, played 2 international matches. Arrived back early this week to get stuck into training again.

If he isn't fit at this point, he never will be ,

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 12,226 ✭✭✭✭DrPhilG

Would ye calm down?

Sooooooo angry if Maz starts.

Sack the boss if he doesn't start Sesko.

Relax.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 3,441 ✭✭✭The Big Easy

I don't think there's any point getting upset about Sesko not starting until it actually happens.

I don't think it will actually happen though. He's just played 180 minutes of international football and our two starting 10s are out. He has to play and I imagine he will.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 577 ✭✭✭Seattle

I really doubt Sesko will start.

Zirkzee came on instead of him when Cunha came off v Burnley, and Zirkzee has been on the training pitch the last two weeks whereas Sesko has been with Slovenia. I think given Sesko's lack of impact on the team so far, Amorim would definitely have wanted to work with him on the training pitch over the international break in order to consider starting him v City. Unless he feels he has to for tactical reasons, Sesko won't start.

Imo it's either going to be Mbuemo as the CF with Bruno and Amad as the 10s, or Zirkzee as the CF with Bruno and Mbuemo as the 10s (and Amad wingback).

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 1,471 ✭✭✭FrankN1

What are people thinking in terms of result? Hard to predict

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2, Paid Member Posts: 8,374 ✭✭✭El Gato De Negocios

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 11,263 ✭✭✭✭billyhead

City have so many injuries and are shite. A draw for me.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 1,258 ✭✭✭talla10

Haaland is coming away after scoring 5 and assisting two in his last match. The first game after Internationals can be hard to predict. Cunha, Mount and Dalot all confirmed to miss Sundays match.

I'd take a draw all day long-City also have injuries and have been in poor form so they will be looking for a big win against us. Take a point here and hope for all three

Absolutely, a draw would be good.

I've heard people call this a "must win game" for both teams. I get the logic, United have Chelsea next so could quite possibly be sitting with 4 points from 5 games soon.

But on the other hand our only real poor league result so far was Fulham. We were expected to lose to Arsenal, and we were expected to beat Burnley. At the start of the season we wouldn't have held much hope of taking much from City and Chelsea so even if we lose both, it's not unexpected.

So in that sense, United shouldn't feel under too much pressure. If Burnley hadn't conceded that pen and we'd ended up drawing, then the pressure would be higher. As it stands though, despite City's recent woes and current injuries, they are the bookies favourites. So a draw away would be a very good result for us, but they're also in prime position to be upset if we can get a good start.

City though, are very much under pressure and it is a must win. 4 points after 4 games for us would be poor but not unexpected given our fixtures and ongoing drama. 3 from 4 for them would be major crisis time.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 4,008 ✭✭✭AidoEirE

Mbeumbo MotM with a goal and assist. 2-1 utd.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 3,271 ✭✭✭kowloonkev

Is there stats on Amad producing more from wing back than playing more advanced. I would like to see that, or is it just your opinion?

I think MDL is not very good, not commanding, not a leader. I think he is just average at everything and I think Maguire offers more.

I don't know what's going on with Mainoo. If he's confident and the manager thinks he's the right guy then fine. But from what I've seen I think I'd rather start Zirkzee because I like the way he sees the game, I like his range of passing especially on the counter and think he's better at getting around the park. Mainoo I honestly haven't figured him out apart from he scores important goals occasionally. I don't understand his way of playing. He seems more reactionary to whatever is going on. I'd rather take the gamble on Zirkzee first and then have Mainoo on the bench.

I've explained I want as many players who are confident and comfortable in their roles as possible.

By the way I forgot that Maz is fit again so maybe I would play him on the right and Dalot on the left to get Dorgu out of the team.

Simon Harris is monitoring the situation...

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2, Paid Member Posts: 17,267 ✭✭✭✭Nalz

Amad scored more last season from wb

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 578 ✭✭✭twinex

Did anyone hear that Utd were in talks to play a bunch of midweek friendlies in the UAE to offset the lack of European games. (Mirror via Reddit)

Is this not utter bonkers?

Post edited by twinex on

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 11,263 ✭✭✭✭billyhead

The suits are only motivated by money so I'm not surprised.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 578 ✭✭✭twinex

And there was a whole thing about there will be more training ground time, less injuries, more recovery.

Now that looks like PR fluff to soften the sting of no European games.

Why wouldn't they?

It'll still end up being far less games compared to being in the Champions League, Europa or Conference. Plus the club will have control over the timing and they'll be friendlies (so won't be too intense + can be used to prepare for PL games). Obviously an extra revenue stream too.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 5,269 ✭✭✭paulbok

Not surprised at all, I suspected this may happen. AC Milan, Sevilla, Real Sociedad and RB Leipzig other notable absentees from Europe this year could also be lined up for money spinning friendlies in the middle east, or indeed the US.

UEFA/FIFA need to nip this idea in the bud, or you'll end up with clubs having lucrative friendlies all the time whether they're in European competition or not.

Big clubs could easily expand their squads to 40+ players to accommodate these games which would be a huge money spinner.

I'm surprised friendlies are allowed during the season as it is.

You're right in a way but this is the kind of mindset why football has no soul anymore.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 7,602 ✭✭✭SteM

Wait, do we want to improve our balance sheet so we can buy players we need or not? We miss out on Europe then the money has to come from somewhere.

Players cost a lot of money and I'd imagine it wouldn't take many of them to wipe out any profits from overseas friendlies. It wouldn't work to just buy and field cheap players either because that won't sell tickets. You need to bring at least a few of your best players. Also if you are involved in European competition, there are just too many games and too much traveling to realistically fit it in. I think it's just a side thing that suits big clubs with a global following who have gaps in their season schedule (which isn't typical). Not something to be concerned about with setting precedents etc.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2, Paid Member Posts: 16,170 ✭✭✭✭loyatemu

If our players are getting injured from unnecessary extra matches thousands of km away then we won't get back into Europe.

Put your money where yer mouth is... Subscribe and Save Boards!

https://subscriptions.boards.ie/

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 7,602 ✭✭✭SteM

They'd be friendlies, the usual huge amount of changes at half time would lessen the chance of injuries. Warm weather games with some training there might actually help cut down on some muscle injuries over winter.

Sad fact is we need money coming in to replace European money and we need a few more games to give players minutes the pitch, going out of the league cup didn't help on that front.

I'll say again this is why football has no soul and the selfishness is sickening. Sure, maybe this season it suits United to go on a travelling circus. Our fans will no doubt support the enterprise but if it was any other club...

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2, Paid Member Posts: 1,289 ✭✭✭Manc-Red_

I imagine this will be the last time this Keeper will start for us unless the new lad gets injured.

We’ll need to score 3 to win v City because that keeper guarantee's them a couple because of the clown-like errors he’ll commit.

Better Born Lucky Than Rich.