If we do not hit our goal we will be forced to close the site.

Current status: https://keepboardsalive.com/

Annual subs are best for most impact. If you are still undecided on going Ad Free - you can also donate using the Paypal Donate option. All contribution helps. Thank you.

Presidential Election 2025

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 25,679 ✭✭✭✭Kermit.de.frog

SF better take note of that SINDO poll this weekend. Only 3% think stance on Gaza is important.

The message is start talking about Ireland.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2, Paid Member Posts: 2,442 ✭✭✭Cyclingtourist

Doherty (SF) and 'a FF spokesperson' had a 'war of words'. Perfectly correct characterisation.

I wouldn't even agree 'Doherty got upset' he did his usual 'I'm shocked' performance. SF should nominate him for 'best actor' not PoI.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 1,967 ✭✭✭George White

What, SF want Kwasi as President?

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 21,138 ✭✭✭✭gormdubhgorm

I heard there was some sort of Gavin controversy “comments on Gaza”. Threw on RTE News channel (which repeats the news) . After sitting through Eurovision, American Politics Uk Politics.
    Finally got to the bit where Micheal Leehane explained Gavin’s comments re Gaza and what they were in response to.

Basically nothing to see here. And it was Doherty painting Gavin as the out of touch Military Man. I assume aimed at any of the SF support base in Dublin?

When hearing the full story, I thought that was a bit sleeveen like by Doherty, and very click bait ish by RTE.

Guff about stuff, and stuff about guff.

When I visualised Doherty saying the comments he was shouting and waving a piece of paper which may or may not have anything on it. Was I far wrong?

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 78,505 ✭✭✭✭FrancieBrady

Gavin Reilly tweeting that Declan Ganley, Maria Steen and Nick Delahunty are 3 of the 4 candidates(according to Tóibín himself) giving submissions to the Peadar Tóibín led group of Oireachtas members today. No mention of who the 4th person is.

“Corporate Speak” goes a.long way in politics though. Sound like you are saying something when you are saying nothing. Gavin will be exceptionally hard to trip up in a live debate. As he smiles to the camera softly spoken, and doesn’t hammer the opponent but speaks vaguely about inclusion for all.

As Dublin manager managing arguably the strongest football team in the history of the GAA. It became a running joke that Jim would say prematch against even the weakest opponent. “XYZ are a proud football county, they will be well prepared and we are expecting a tough game”

Gavin is/was known for his research and meticulous attention to detail as a manager.

He was involved in the major changes in football rules last year. Constantly looking for consensus, advice, discussion, testing rules etc. There was lots of media interviews. It was obviously in that latter role that we impressed MM.

I remember saying to a Dublin GAA supporter then “Jayus Gavin should be in politics, sounded impressive never flustered” The fella said back to me “He would be too clever for that!”

And here we are now he is running for President.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 13,112 ✭✭✭✭expectationlost

DB commented its probably Aubrey McCarthy as he'd also be there as a Senator…

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 74,266 ✭✭✭✭L1011

He claimed that he was dropping out unless a party was willing to nominate him. He may have decided that this ridiculous charade is a party as it's lead by Aontu.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 13,761 ✭✭✭✭Red Silurian

A good idea by Toibín by all accounts. I'd assume the 11 Oireachtas members are, Independent Ireland (3) Aontú (3) Ronan Mullen, Ger Craughwell, Sharon Keoghan and the 2 Healy-Raes so no prizes for guessing that they'll be backing Maria Steen

I'm not convinced Pearse Doherty is trying to throw his hat in the ring but whoever SF back, I still say it's probably going to be Connolly, will welcome any and all bad news about Jim Gavin

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 18,629 ✭✭✭✭Loafing Oaf

No AFAIK II are not part of the gang of 11

The objective is that the winning candidate should emerge with the support of 11 parliamentarians.

However, Independent Ireland, which has declined to take part in the caucus, has also pledged its four votes…That would leave the winning candidate in the caucus on an effective fifteen votes, and attention would then turn to figures such as Michael McDowell, Gerard Craughwell, and a number of Government-aligned independent TDs.

Keoghans two lackies will be there I'm sure, could also see Marian Harkin in it.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 33,451 ✭✭✭✭AndrewJRenko

I'd sat the 4th might be someone slightly more moderate than the other three.

Atilla the Hun maybe.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2, Paid Member Posts: 2,442 ✭✭✭Cyclingtourist

MM now joining in the 'war of words'.

"Taoiseach Micheál Martin has defended Jim Gavin's comments on Gaza while accusing Sinn Féin of an "appalling distortion"."

Taoiseach defends Gavin's Gaza comments amid SF criticism

• Site Banned Posts: 4,164 ✭✭✭Oíche Na Gaoithe Móire

But that sort of soft speaking and non offensive approach can come across as incredibly boring.

Jim the bland man, nice respectful guy who makes no major errors probably won't win him the election. He'll have to show us a side or two we didn't really know about. A bit of humour and wit might be needed on occasion. I'm not saying he hasn't the later qualities but he's too conditioned in the manager who gives the opposition no ammunition persona.

I'd say it will be Maria Steen then if the 11 don't include II.

Alan Kelly has also said he won't be signing Connolly's nomination form so he's another that they could target

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 59,645 ✭✭✭✭walshb

what poxy country are we living in? Sick to back teeth these clowns jabbering on about Palestine and pretending these foreign conflicts affect us. I’ll definitely be voting for Gavin now. SF and Connolly should eff off to Gaza and stand for election there.

Post edited by walshb on

There is zero chance he'd sign a form for any of those mentioned as looking for it; or realistically anyone Aontu would support

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 8,375 ✭✭✭jmcc

He may not nominate Connolly and will not back another candidate. If Connolly loses, I think that Labour might be having a few leadership discussions.

Regards…jmcc

As things stand I think there's a strong chance Heather Humphries will beat Connolly to 2nd place, that's just based on there being more FG than left voters in this country. I think Jim will be the first to go

Of course I famously said a year ago that Donald Trump doesn't stand a chance going up against an inanimate carbon rod, let alone a strong willed woman, so you could very rightly ask what the f**k do I know?

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 13,112 ✭✭✭✭expectationlost

Problem is there is no published list of who in the Oireachtas nominates candidates it just says Oireachtas Members

Of the three, Steen might be the one they would choose. If she makes it to the ballot paper, That will upset some people. It could also shift the dynamics of the election in that she, not Connolly (and with no SF candidate) could become the anti-government protest vote candidate. That does not mean that she would win.

Regards…jmcc

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 9,018 ✭✭✭realdanbreen

If they're auditioning in front of Peader it might be best to say, "will we start with a decade of the Rosary lads! "

I think if Steen got the nomination Connolly would be seen as being more anti-Steen in the debates than Humphries or Gavin. In a roundabout way I think having Steen as a candidate would help Connolly's campaign quite a lot.

That has to be a consideration for undecided independent candidates who might be somewhat left-leaning or even moderate

She is a weak candidate and, like Kamala Harris, a replacement for a much better candidate. The spin from FG seems to be trying to present her as a bit of a character. I'm not sure that after 14 years of Higgins that the electorate wants another "character" in the Aras.

Connolly seems to be a bit like a nun in demeanour. Gavin is a managerial type who had been previously approached to run for FG.

The turnout is going to be important in this election. The last thing that FF and FG want is the election turning into a protest against the government. And SF has yet to make its move.

Regards…jmcc

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 1,877 ✭✭✭Downlinz

It's not a good look that Micheál feels he needs to interject on this, can Jim Gavin not respond to the criticism himself?

Seems like a clickbait story. People seem to be wating for SF to make its move and the media has to fill space and dead air. At tis rate, RTE will probably have its presenters interviewing other presenters to find out what they all think. When TV journos are waiting for something to happen, they normally interview other journos.At the moment, the election is in the "wating for something to happen" phase.

Regards…jmcc

I assume her time as justice and social protection ministers will be well scrutinised but otherwise she's not what I would call a weak candidate. This is before the debates start of course so let's wait and see

I expect Gavin to come across as a strong leader given his time in charge of Dublin football and in the defence forces but I don't know if his demeanor will click with the wider public

There could be a few cat fights between Connolly and Steen on the TV screens and the stronger of the 2 will be noted by voters

I don’t think that side is in Gavin he is very taciturn by nature. And tries his best to be inoffensive at all times. I suppose it is the combination of his military training, and personality.
    And if the other candidates slip up in debates it will reflect well on him. No doubt he will play on his public servant to the state “for all” line.

I am still reluctant to vote for him though as the celebrity candidate trick annoys me . Feels like he is been pushed foward to the electorate.

So far I am leaning towards Connolly, but haven’t thought about an option two.

Hopefully, the debates can make it more definitive for me.

The last contested Presidential election I went McGuinness 1, Higgins 2. Thinking it would do more for peace on the Island of Ireland rather than any party political reasons.