Presidential Election.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2, Paid Member Posts: 3,586 ✭✭✭Cyclingtourist

The figure of around 2% for traditional religious values is no doubt based on Aontú support but that's a faulty measure as it's a small party rather like PBP centred on one strong personality.

This is different, it's a national poll where people vote on who they like or by elimination on who they don't like. The country becomes one big constituency with independents and single candidates from parties. Beyond not wanting some head case who will embarrass the electorate don't feel much is really at stake. An attractive character with personality can always excel in such a race. Just look at 2018.

Anyway it seems the real pundits think the chances of Steen and the rest of the motley crew have of getting nominated are remote.

All eyes on SF.

He was not impressive. The nice guy routine is only going to get him so far imo and he had nothing of note to say. Obvious rehearsed answers to expected questions. In his earlier interview martin stepped into help him out. As a calre person he won't be getting a vote on the basis his parents are from here. Who cares?

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 13,464 ✭✭✭✭expectationlost

No its based on poll from last week that said Maria Steen would get 3% in a presidential election.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 23,990 ✭✭✭✭mickdw

Gavin was shocking in earlier clip I've seen with M Martin. I thought he was fine on news there now. He doesn't need to do anything ground breaking, just not got stumped by a question and smile for the cameras.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 18,784 ✭✭✭✭Loafing Oaf

Similar pitch came close to working for Sean Gallagher?

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2, Paid Member Posts: 3,586 ✭✭✭Cyclingtourist

LOL

She hasn't even a nomination and she's on 3%, if she's as personable as they say then she could be on 15% with six weeks of media exposure.

Anyway as I said, the smart money says none of these guys are getting the nomination.

All eyes on SF.

Her prospective voters already know who she is.

Fine Gael approached him to be an MEP, he said he didn't see himself as politician serving in Europe, McCullough should have asked what he would have said had FG approached to him to be the President?

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 7,584 ✭✭✭eightieschewbaccy

Just provided the public ignore the positions that most of the electorate disagree with...

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 4,337 ✭✭✭Montage of Feck

I'm holding out for a hero 'til the morning light

🙈🙉🙊

• Moderators, Entertainment Moderators, Paid Member Posts: 11,498 Mod ✭✭✭✭squonk

Maybe but the point was still made. Doesn’t actually want to do actual work but is happy to sit in the Aras earning 300K+ and a few social events, free VIP access to the all irelavd and cut a few ribbons. Actually perusing bills he has to sign would be work. He won’t be doing much of that. Being an MEP might actually be work and involve adopting a position. So we’ve basically a good time boy cardboard cutout.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 2,713 ✭✭✭Jack Daw

Surely a president with no strong political opinions is actually what we need.

We've had 14 years of Michael D spouting off on everything and going on solo runs about things only far leftists really cared about (like his trip to central america and his lionizing of Fidel Castro).

Someone who does and says nothing would be a welcome change.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 3,536 ✭✭✭TinyMuffin

McGregor had a good day in Monaghan. Lots of interest from people not old enough to vote.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 22,289 ✭✭✭✭kneemos

Having some political experience is a definite advantage in they would know how things work. Higgins is an embarrassment in fairness.

• Site Banned Posts: 4,164 ✭✭✭Oíche Na Gaoithe Móire

Jim Gavin interviewed by David McCullagh, someone I think would make a fine president. Too late for this one but in 7 years time.

All eyes on SF.

You can't accuse Higgins of lacking 'political experience'.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 92,394 ✭✭✭✭JP Liz V1

JG wants rid of the triple lock, is this his first mention of this view? I suppose he has not spoke until nomination secured , honestly he don't come across well imho

I was hoping BK would get the FF majority backing

BK made his point and whether intentionally or not damaged MM.

Gavin came over as Mr. Nice Guy on RTE News interview.

Wonder how long he can keep it up?

• Moderators, Entertainment Moderators, Paid Member Posts: 11,498 Mod ✭✭✭✭squonk

MM deserves to be damaged. If Jim Gavin had come out on 6-1 looking like a super savvy heavyweight operator it’d be one thing but it looks now like MM burned a lot of political capital on a bit of a lightweight spoofer. You’d have to wonder just why. MM should have ran himself. He’d walk it and there’s not really any depth in the field by comparison. He’s 65 now. He’d be 79 after 2 terms. What the hell he’s thinking with Gavin I’ll never know.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 22,369 ✭✭✭✭Tony EH

The choice was Bertie or Jim Gavin. You don't need to be Columbo to see why they opted for Gavin.

Equally as waffly and shallow interview on VM just now. Not sure what FF see in this fella apart from the dub gaa link..?

I don’t see why it has to be. Sure it’d kick off a leadership contest now but would he care? He owes Bertie and the party nothing at this stage. Big downside if he loses but I couldn’t see that happening. He has a lot of cross party good will

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 22,289 ✭✭✭✭kneemos

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 22,369 ✭✭✭✭Tony EH

It's a "downside" if Gavin loses? I'm not sure what you mean here.

Look, nobody really cares who the President is. Wankers may get upset by what Higgins says, but in reality there's few who cares about the position or who's in it.

I don't really see any downside here, especially with regards to a functionary position that really makes no waves in the grand scheme of things.

If, on the other hand, you mean that if Martin ran and lost there's a downside, well I'm not really sure what you're on about here either. I don't think MM has any intentions of running for President. I think he enjoys the leadership of the party too much.

Not buying that. Like gets thrown at SF, martin has had 7 years to find someone and he comes up with this fella..who is basically a nice guy with a dub gaa following and no substance at all..a celebrity candidate and not an A listed either going by his few very brief interviews today. Parachuted in by MMM. He'll flounder badly in debates unless he's hiding some massive qualities today.

Id vote for CC ahead of this lad, at least she speaks well and has a bit of a presence about her. Gavin seems to have the personality of a plank....which to be fair most GAA managers are similar. Few key phrases, few soundbytes and good management skills. Not sure where management skills are going to feature in a presidency. There's No-one really to manage...the staff in the Aras

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 8,638 ✭✭✭jmcc

This could highlight a potential flaw in the panel based approach to polling. A presidential election may have voters who do not ordinarily vote in GEs.

Regards…jmcc

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 12,195 ✭✭✭✭anewme

Disgusted at the Heather Humpries interference in the animal cruelty case.

Thank God for whistle-blowers.

Yeah, maybe MM is happy being leader for now. He might have plans post leadership which is fair enough.

Tge role of president might be perfunctory in part but it’s more than that. I think when push comes to shove, people do think about that. The president has a role in signing bills into law. You do want somebody with competency there. Without this aspect I’d agree, you can get any old bluffer to show up, cut a ribbon and give a speech but there is much more to the role.