General Arcade & Retro Chat' Special Championship Edition

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 189 ✭✭tonyotonyo

These boards blur the line between bootleg and legit.

Bootleg usually means a circuit board made from scratch with less quality components and sometimes "shortcuts", usually in the audio sections where sound effects and even music can be left out, generally manufactured in the likes of China and Korea.

So this willow, it's all real hardware that capcom used, so it's quality. These cps1 games consist of 3 boards stacked on top of each other, A board (bottom), B board (middle), and C board (smaller one on top).

Often times the bigger legit manufacturers like capcom and Sega would end up with surplus stock of any one game (typical would be sf2 world warrior), then they'd take them in and reprogram them for newer games, that's how you end up with some games having different labels (very typical with Sega model 2 stuff).

So, even capcom would convert their own boards.

In this case, someone has converted it themselves, so the only thing not legit, so to speak, is that the roms were reprogrammed. 100% accurate willow

There, I think that's a quick enough answer :)

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 1,966 ✭✭✭unky chop chop

Ahhh yeah get ya ..original boards just chips changed . So it's not bootleg but a conversion I suppose 👍

First time I bothered to click on this.

Absolute joke . Putting a counter up for days remaining and funds received to date and almost threatening it will close otherwise .it's like a terrorist demanding money and showing a ticking bomb igniter strapped to dynamite

Show me some more lovely counters and bar charts where the money will go exactly and reasons What does happen when they close it .. they walk away with the money raised ? Sorry we only got 90 G's . See ya later

They can go to feck

Screenshot_2025-09-07-09-24-55-53_40deb401b9ffe8e1df2f1cc5ba480b12.jpg

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 8,268 ✭✭✭Inviere

Boards died with the move to Vanilla in reality. The communities I knew, all fell off a cliff around that time. As it stands, it's a shell of itself needing six figures a year to remain on life support. It's over, be it this year or next. The only way it'll survive is if its sold, and that doesn't appear to be likely given the existing debt. If there was a fundraiser to raise capital to support a move away from Vanilla, and onto something more sustainable & something that works correctly, I'd be far more likely to have donated to that.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 189 ✭✭tonyotonyo

There is a man near the border of Dublin, and I think we should not compete and end up raising the price, all versus the foreign dealer.

Meet me at the spire, dressed all in blue, midnight tonight.

Or just send me a pm, let's see about a deal :p

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 4,051 ✭✭✭Mr.Saturn

It's bad enough Vanilla killed off so much but it is baffling these dead communities haven't been shuffled off into an archive to clear things up as would happen in the past. The main games forum has like 6-7 dead subforums at the top of the page before you even scroll down to see there's some life left here.

Granted, the Discord appears to have wound back the clock on the A&R side of things, it's like 10 years ago in terms of the amount of activity — fair play again to you and Steve X2 taking the initiative on it.

Post edited by Mr.Saturn on

• Moderators, Category Moderators, Computer Games Moderators Posts: 55,024 CMod ✭✭✭✭Retr0gamer

The games forum was dying well before vanilla.

Basically for years we would have requests for a console forums and the entire games forum community would reject them as they would dilute discussion. Like it was always a massive backlash.

Then the admins decided they wanted to make boards appear bigger than it was and created console forums. Everyone complained, we were told tough. I was even threatened to have my moderator status revoked if I started a boycott of them.

Lo and behold discussion became diluted, and an amazingly active community started hemorrhaging users.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 22 OutRunner

https://m.youtube.com/watch?v=-xLLgnT0vhM

Yeah , fighting games forum died a death well before that ..and it was very active

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 37,915 ✭✭✭✭o1s1n
    Master of the Universe

Was a real shame about that one, seemed like they were always meeting up for games.

Any idea what happened?

Ywah I was in stasis for a good few years on boards . Came back and was gone.

Gave Doom a shout who was the mod and was always the grandaddy ,who organized a load of things and always pushed rhe forum forward .he said everyone just migrated to discord.

It's extremely axtivr on discord nowadays . I joined but these young fellas has all manners of things on it , flairs , threads within threads.just convoluted.

As then I was banned for saying Juri in St6 looks like a Tinker !!! The word was offence supposedly .

The mod was this young lad I've played in meet up tournaments before and made him genuinely cry after I beat him in a SFV4 meet up tournament as I was dancing around during the game and not taking it seriously !!!!Just a young snow flake

@Retr0gamer may rember him..dark onion

Role assignments was another one.

Hence my initial distaste down discord when I heard the retro forum doe here on discord

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 4,051 ✭✭✭Mr.Saturn

At least we know where the FGC landed, the Pokemon forum was super active (even had its own podcast) with meet-ups and the like, then just scattered to the wind. Hell, I've not seen nor heard from Banjo in years despite them being the objectively best poster that's ever existed on a forum anywhere.

• Moderators, Category Moderators, Computer Games Moderators Posts: 55,024 CMod ✭✭✭✭Retr0gamer

I do remember dark onion, thought he was sound enough.

Was talking to Doom a while ago and he was saying SF5 being so awful was killing the community. Glad to see it's doing well again. Had a lot of fun back then but I just couldn't dedicate myself to fighting games solely so was never really competitive.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 37,915 ✭✭✭✭o1s1n
    Master of the Universe

A good friend of mine who goes by K.O.Kiki on here used to attend a few of those meetups. Generally whips my arse any time we're playing Street Fighter 2 games when he's over. 😂

Ahh yeah I know him ..lovely chap he came to me gaff and soldered xbox pad hacks for my astro cab for sfiv. Id batter him every time in SF. He will know me ..ask him about my lethal rush down ken 😬

Yeah SFV5 ruined it. I never got involved and came back from the dead for sf6 to find the forum dead

He was in the Irish FG community from the start. I remember he knew all the fighting game theory and how to play. Sound as a pound.

Yeah knew his frame data and such malarkey like the back of his hand.

One of the good uns

Tell him I said allo anyway Oisin. A genuine soul

Did you have any run ins with Chunkis living off that Street Fighter Alpha 3 major tournament win? He didn't seem like a bad guy but seemed to antagonise a lot of people with his top tier whoring.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 8 SKAINER

Totally agree on SF5 – it really did a lot of damage. Thankfully SF6 seems to have brought some fresh energy back, and people are more motivated to play again.

I did yeah ...he owns my astro city now !!

I didnt mind him but he seemed to get knocked a lot of people's wicks..don't know reasons

I just remember one meet up where someone got very drunk then put in an amazing performance against him as vega who would be hanging out in the low mid tier against his s tier sagat and almost beat him. A lot of hurt feelings and abuse shouted at him. I don't think he even said a word or gloated 🤣

Probably ken. He played a mean vega ..himself and trev where twins and played in the scene. And myself and a-trax where twins also

Yep that's who it was. I think it was just the drinks and it was grand afterwards but I wish I had popcorn, especially when I was out in the first round with my Ryu that couldn't even FADC.

The best player was a young northy called cobblecog . Lovely lad always smiling . He decimated everyone and played on a pad . He won the tournament for trip to play in Evo in vegas .

I did alright in that, got to losers finals .

Looking at it now I was a noob. Was first tournament I think

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 1,869 ✭✭✭Relikk

It's just as bad as SFV. Same dev team, even. I honestly don't know what people see in it.

Ahh ridiculous to compare it to sf5. Waaay better ..faster .tactics where back in play like a finely tuned game of chess. Not a patch on SFVI though. That was the Pinnacle of street fighter , many might argue third strike though