If we do not hit our goal we will be forced to close the site.

Current status: https://keepboardsalive.com/

Annual subs are best for most impact. If you are still undecided on going Ad Free - you can also donate using the Paypal Donate option. All contribution helps. Thank you.

Presidential Election 2025

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 33,451 ✭✭✭✭AndrewJRenko

'Halting'? I'm paraphrasing, but Whitmore said something like 'No one who knows Catherine or who has listened to Catherine would think that there's the slightest chance that she would give any support to a regime like Assad'.

What more could she have said?

There's nothing anti-democratic about Steen's failure to reach the criteria. If she had any real interest in the post, she could have run for the Dail or Seanad or the Council and worked with Aontu to build up a critical mass of support. But she didn't.

She's playing the McGregor game - Oh woe is me, the bad system is bad, because I couldn't make the cut.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 159 ✭✭Pat734

You may well be correct. I just hope Jim has no skeletons in the cupboard. If he has?

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 78,599 ✭✭✭✭FrancieBrady

There is a fair old whiff off this.

There is growing anger within the party over Taoiseach Micheál Martin’s handling of the presidential election process.

One TD told the Irish Examiner that the party was being asked to support Mr Gavin without having met him. Many others did not speak to him for the first time until recent days.

“People are afraid of Micheál Martin, that is the reality,” one politician said.“There is a lot of anger within the party and membership about how it’s all being done.”

'I want a competition, not a coronation': Anger within Fianna Fáil over election process

Former minister Mary Hanafin, who was considering a run herself, expressed disappointment at how the process was handled. She said she learned of the leadership’s support for Gavin via newspapers and wished she had received a personal call from Micheál Martin—“A phone call would have made a difference.”

'A phone call would've made a difference': Mary Hanafin no longer seeking FF nomination for presidency

Fianna Fáil TD Pádraig O’Sullivan (Cork North Central) was especially vocal, describing the leadership’s handling of the process as “a debacle” and “a circus.” He criticized the leadership for allowing an information vacuum to develop and for key figures endorsing Jim Gavin before the process had formally begun. O’Sullivan emphasized that the contest lacked fairness and transparency.

Cork Fianna Fáil TD: Party’s handling of presidential candidate selection process a ‘circus’

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 3,805 ✭✭✭Bishop of hope

Imagine, a potential candidate, (in her own mind leastways) and a fellow Corkman of Kelleher, disgruntled! They're speaking publicly, freely, does that sound like a dictatorship to you? Kelleher and Gavin go in to a secret ballot. Secret, not a show of hands, the winner takes the nomination. I'd say there's plenty in FF would have made different choices than the two named even. But it's an open battle, a free vote.

Shinner supporters have a lot to learn about democracy yet, a lot, but tabloid points and headlines, they're strong on that end alright, as long as its the finger pointing elsewhere.

And just to add, if it causes ruffles in FF and there is disgruntlement with the leader and its felt he made a mistake and should pay for it, that will be dealt with democratically as well.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 33,195 ✭✭✭✭blanch152

An open democratic process with people commenting publicly on it. Perfectly normal.

Now the only people who might find it strange or think there is a whiff off it are those who favour a silent dictatorship behind closed doors. Now what party might that be?

does that sound like a dictatorship to you?

Yes. Seems to me Martin has behaved in a dictatorial way. Sorry about that.
    You are having to squint sideways to avoid addressing that point, not me.

Ah here, this is complete nonsense.

There is a free and open vote, the Oireachtas members of FF will decide democratically who their candidate will be.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 3,805 ✭✭✭Bishop of hope

He acted like a leader, like it or not, he pushed for his opinion to be approved, if its not then surely serious questions on that will be asked. If it is its because they either accepted Martin's advice or supported the candidate because they feel he's their best chance of winning.

• Moderators, Politics Moderators, Social & Fun Moderators, Sports Moderators Posts: 17,287 Mod ✭✭✭✭Quin_Dub

And if/when SF announce their candidate without any information regarding how they came to that decision will that be dictatorial or will you just accept that a democratic process that no one outside the inner sanctum was allowed to see occured?

Hi, you have current members of FF complaining they knew nothing of Gavin's anointment until they read it in the newspapers. Others talking of 'fear' of the leader.
    If you wish to live in denial that what happened here was an attempted dictatorial coronation, work away.

I hold to my view of it.

If it was an attempted dictatorial coronation (and I don't agree it was in case you twist my words again), it didn't work because the democratic checks and balances within Fianna Fail prevented that. Surely that is a good thing?

Any news on how the democratic process within Sinn Fein to select a candidate is going?

If it was an attempted dictatorial coronation (and I don't agree it was in case you twist my words again), it didn't work because the democratic checks and balances within Fianna Fail prevented that. Surely that is a good thing?

I don't agree. Because of Martin's pre-emptive move in secret a lot of damage has been done to the chances of the other candidate.

Are you saying that the leader of a political party shouldn't have a role in selecting their candidate for President?

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 8,410 ✭✭✭jmcc

I thing that Martin said that the presidency doesn't belong to a single political party or words to that effect. The reality is that the current system leads to the almost monopolisation of the presidency by the largest parties and the councillors can effectively act as gatekeepers.

A multi-round system would have a longer campaign and more interest from the media and the voters. That could help increase the turnout on presidential elections. The turnout in 2018 was only 43.9% and that was down 12% on 2011. That lack of voter engagement is a serious problem. It creates issues where a president can be elected with the support of only 25% or so of the electorate. Is that a characteristic of, to use the words of one potential candidate, a banana republic?

Regards…jmcc

Thre is a route to the Presidency for everyone.

The likes of McGregor and Steen can form a political party, campaign in Dail, Seanad and Council elections to get enough candidates elected so that they can have a run for the Presidency. That is how democracy works, why would you change democracy?

Political parties have every right to do as they please. They are beholden to their membership, nobody else. You don't like how things are done - the door is over there.

I am commenting on what happened in FF. Seems to me, looking in, that Martin's behaviour has the whiff of a dictatorial move. It wasn't 'open' to the membership what he was doing, at least some senior members were pressured into supporting that candidate according to reports and it looked for all the world like a coronation until one spanner was thrown in the works, leading commentators to say Martin had shot himself in the foot and orchestrated a vote on his leadership.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 13,766 ✭✭✭✭Red Silurian

MM the dictator? That's a good one. He's probably one of the weakest coward of a leader out there

If Bertie wants to run, as a FF member, he has every right to join Billy Kelliher and Jim Gavin in the race. He won't though because he knows nobody actually wants him in the party anymore, let alone in the áras!

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2, Paid Member Posts: 39,694 ✭✭✭✭Hotblack Desiato

There have always been disgruntled FF backbenchers sniping at the leadership in the media. The media love this of course and big it up at every opportunity. There must have been 20 leadership heaves predicted against Martin by now…

It's not a party with an oath of omerta, unlike some.

Stay for a week

in sunny Donaghmede

with me

Maybe they should have? Because the look of what is going on is not good.

Perhaps it was a bit convoluted. In simpler terms, target the constitutionality of some related legislation which would then force a referendum. The referendum, if passed, is what would amend the constitution. Isn't that something to do with popular sovereignty?

Believe it or not, there have been constitutional challenges in the past. The constitution is considered a "living document" and there have been amendments. Without these successful constituional challenges, the constitution would have remained unchanged since when it was drafted.

Regards…jmcc

Do the party rules and procedures give the leader a role?

Ahern can provide a focus for the anti-Martin sentiment in FF. That's dangerous for Martin. Ahern's comments a few days ago on RTE were quite sharp. The problem for Martin is that Ahern knows where the bodies were buried. That "we were all in it together" quote, in that context, is quite ominous. Ahern had approached FF management to run as the FF candidate last December and never got a prompt reply. It could get very nasty for Martin and Ahern might have a lot more support in FF than people expect.

Regards…jmcc

• Moderators, Sports Moderators, Paid Member Posts: 31,466 Mod ✭✭✭✭Podge_irl

What "related" legislation? It would need to be legislation that goes against the Constitution and there is no indication any such thing exists. And nothing forces a referendum.

This is a bizarre and fundamentally incorrect interpretation of how our Constitution gets changed. The genesis of referendums is generally public support, or Oireachtas priorities. It rarely has anything to do with Constitutional challenges and even then only circuitously.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 21,155 ✭✭✭✭gormdubhgorm

What amused me about the article was that Ahern ruled out running as an independent as if it would be a betrayal of FF. As if he has some sort of unspoken code or omertà, for “the party”.

I thought it was only SFeiners who thought like that.

Guff about stuff, and stuff about guff.

They? I didn't realise that I had become an organisation. Perhaps if you read what I wrote carefully, you would see the words "and a referendum". A successful referendum amends the constitution.

Regards…jmcc

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 19,330 ✭✭✭✭VinLieger

Thats not how it ever works we don't change the constitution to fit legislation, legislation must adhere to the constitution otherwise it is deemed unconstitutional.

We might change the constitution via referendum and then build new legislation around the changes but your way is arsebackwards and not how it ever would or should be done.

Im well aware the constitution is a living document but you dont seem to understand the fundamentals of how changes are made to that document, all your ideas are based in a fantasy land

Popular sovereignty…. what in the ever living fvck are you on about? We already have one of the most representative democracies thanks to PR/STV, and ever nominee for president passes through a filter of those we have already elected so the argument that it is unrepresentative is just based on people who arent happy their ideal candidate cannot get nominated.

Personally I don't want to vote for any one of the people nominated or who are looking to be nominated, but does that mean i think the system needs changing? No, its just a duff year of candidates, the party picks are bland as fvck and the rest of the loopers and morons don't actually understand the job and think its something akin to the american presidential role. Will any of the party picks be as exceptional as MDH? No but they will do for a stint.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 19,330 ✭✭✭✭VinLieger

No im pretty sure you haven't a clue what you are talking about because a referendum is not triggered by challenging the constitution for being unconstitutional which is what you were suggesting.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 14,887 ✭✭✭✭dulpit

I think that's a mad take. Micheál Martin has been party leader since 2011. He has moulded the FF PP to suit his needs since he's taken over. He got them to do confidence and supply, he got them to go in with FG. He has seen off any challenger for the leadership with ease. If he wants to stay leader for another 5 years I don't see how anybody would depose him.

You can say you don't like Martin, that's fine. But to think he's a weak leader is being wilfully obtuse.

Without Kelleher, FF would have had a coronation of Gavin as the FF candidate. The fact that there is now a selection contest is a challenge to Martin's leadership.

Regards…jmcc