Presidential Election.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 3,518 ✭✭✭Blut2

Alan Kelly showing hes part of the much diminished sensible side of Labour today:

"Labour’s Alan Kelly criticises party’s decision to back Independent Catherine Connolly in race for the Áras. Kelly’s refusal to back former Labour councillor risks causing difficulties for Connolly and Labour Party leader Ivana Bacik

Mr Kelly said: “I’m not sure what Catherine Connolly did to deserve our support ... I respect everybody’s views in the party, but I was against this.”
    However, he said there is a large cohort within the Labour Party with the same view as him.

Mr Kelly was critical of Ms Connolly’s views on international relations, mentioning Syria, Russia and the EU, as well as her association with former Independent TD and MEP Mick Wallace.

Another “fundamental” issue, he said, was Ms Connolly’s support for Gemma O’Doherty in her bid to run for the presidency in 2018, especially in light of views Ms O’Doherty expressed about vaccines at the time. At the time she felt Ms O’Doherty was a “better option” than Michael D Higgins, who has been an “exceptional” president, Mr Kelly said.

“I don’t think it’s possible for many people in the Labour Party in all conscience, with self-respect, to support a presidential candidate who seven years ago thought Gemma Doherty was worth nominating against him.”"

https://www.irishtimes.com/politics/2025/08/27/labours-alan-kelly-criticises-partys-decision-to-back-independent-catherine-connolly-in-race-for-the-aras/

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 60,147 ✭✭✭✭walshb

I’ll be voting anyone but Connolly. When you have a shower like Daly, Wallace, PBP and social democrats and Gemma Doherty as your backers, ya can go and do one!!!!!

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 92,394 ✭✭✭✭JP Liz V1

If I heard correct Jim Gavin could be the FF candidate, the former footballer manager

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2, Paid Member Posts: 23,192 ✭✭✭✭Ash.J.Williams

Anyone but a government candidate and mcgregor

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 1,912 ✭✭✭kala85

When will the election take place and when will the date for the election be set

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 727 ✭✭✭poppers

not set yet but Roumored to be 23rd Oct

https://www.independent.ie/irish-news/politics/presidential-election-expected-to-take-place-just-over-two-weeks-after-budget/a79481610.html

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 33,423 ✭✭✭✭breezy1985

I don't know who this Jim Gavin is that Fianna Fail are talking about running but it's definitely not the former Dublin manager.

The bald Fianna Fail guy i keep seeing in photos and the cap wearing GAA guy look nothing alike.

• Moderators, Entertainment Moderators, Paid Member Posts: 11,494 Mod ✭✭✭✭squonk

Bertie hasn’t gone away you now! He’s still making soundings. Very entitled man.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 22,289 ✭✭✭✭kneemos

Can you imagine the TV debate if Berty ran?

Carnage.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2, Paid Member Posts: 19,195 ✭✭✭✭elperello

Will the real Jim Gavin please stand up 🙂

Jim Gavin to seek Fianna Fáil presidential nomination as ministers rally behind him https://share.google/IN5kueFRgc86GHMCT

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 1,117 ✭✭✭StormForce13

A dud candidate - so much for MM being a cute hoor. When this lame 'stroke' fails, as it assuredly will, is Micheál in trouble?

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2, Paid Member Posts: 19,195 ✭✭✭✭elperello

Barring something catastrophic I can't see him being in any danger up until the handover to FG in November 2027.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 1,912 ✭✭✭kala85

When will

When does the date have to be announced?

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 1,555 ✭✭✭spakman

Jim Gavin has all the charisma of a wet sock.

He couldn't even bring himself to smile when Dublin won their all-irelands ffs

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2, Paid Member Posts: 41,042 ✭✭✭✭Hotblack Desiato

In a word, no.

SF seem fond of running no-hopers for the sake of having a candidate. We'll see.

I'm partial to your abracadabra
    I'm raptured by the joy of it all

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 12,601 ✭✭✭✭Oscar_Madison
    #MEGA MAKE EUROPE GREAT AGAIN

I’d love if he did run as it would be TV gold but…- but why would you pit yourself through that? I imagine it will be similar to this 2018 interview- things haven’t changed in a lot of people’s minds since even then

https://www.thejournal.ie/bertie-ahern-cuts-interview-short-3970516-Apr2018/

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 18,784 ✭✭✭✭Loafing Oaf

Nobody can say this for sure; we've never really had a candidate like him. He could flop like you say or he could sweep all before him…

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 92,394 ✭✭✭✭JP Liz V1

I thought Éamon Ó Cuív might throw his name in

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 5,716 ✭✭✭skimpydoo

I read somewhere that he is interested in running.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 22,289 ✭✭✭✭kneemos

• Moderators, Entertainment Moderators, Paid Member Posts: 11,494 Mod ✭✭✭✭squonk

Jim Gavin seems like a cynical entry to me. Hope that the million or so people living in Dublin will recognise the name and vote for him and that the GAA heads elsewhere will vote for one of their own. I’m not a GAA person so FF might as well be proposing Mr Potato Head right now for all I know of him. He certainly hasn’t been very visible and I’m inclined to think there’s more to being President and debating than there is to getting a few young lads training and running around a field. Certainly it’s an entirely different skill set. I wouldn’t put Michael D in charge of a kids GAA match even but he makes a great president.

I'm sure Jim Gavin is a nice guy but a gaa pedigree and Aer corps stuff does not a president make. Couldn't give a cobblers how many all Ireland's he won tbh..

this is purely martin looking for someone he thinks will be popular particularly in Dublin. For a taoiseach/party that throw out the populism tag at will, this is pretty laughable.

Billy kelliher..seems to have a massive ego if he thinks he's going to be president.

Ive no idea who ill vote for, it's very slim pickings but FFG can jog on at this stage.

. “I wouldn’t put Michael D in charge of a kids GAA match even but he makes a great president.”

While it’s debatable just how “great” Mickey D really has been (personally I’d have preferred that he bow out after his first term- I think he’s grown quite stale second time around but wasn’t at all a bad president)- you’re right- some people just aren’t presidential material and Jim Gavin is one such person in my view.

Looking at Bertie on the news last night, his new presidential looking suit does nothing for him -ill fitting and his hair untidy - it looks as though his PR people just threw it on him as he was rushing out the door 🤪

Previously on this thread I said I’d consider voting Bertie (cue the abuse 😀)- but having heard him last night, he’s not coming across well - he still sounds old school politics in a world that has radically changed - yes he certainly did “some good” for Ireland and NI- but I think his time has past - had he met with more approval from the Irish people, and didn’t have this “history” of the economy tanking , his reaction to that and his personal money dealings, he’d certainly be a great president -but he’s one or two presidential elections too late -he looks older than his 73 years- he represents a different time, and mostly the bad aspects of that time -there’s just too much baggage there .

But if he gets on the ticket, he will get a fair percentage of votes relative to most other candidates -not sure though he’ll get enough to pass the finish line

Surely FF could find a decent candidate amongst their own ranks? The obvious is Bertie but not a runner but they must have some retired benchers who would be worth a punt. That being said I can’t think of any. I do think MM would wipe the floor were he to run. He cane across as the best leader at the last election debates. I suppose the problem fur FF is that MM has been leader so long there are no really credible ex leaders around to tabs up the baton.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 976 ✭✭✭thejuggler

if Michael Flatley gets enough backing to get on the ballot paper he may be an interesting candidate.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 18,784 ✭✭✭✭Loafing Oaf

But if he gets on the ticket, 

Not gonna happen. Martin has an effective veto and he's dead against. Looks like it's either Gavin or Kelleher for FF at this stage

If Bertie wasn’t inherently smug and had been a decently upright man putting his effort into making the country better I’d say he’d actually be a strong contender this time around. It’s not the case though. I don’t want to go back to the days of Bertie style politics and we’ve loved on so much I don’t want to be even reminded of it anyhow. As if his own dealings weren’t bad enough if I remember he plays the blame for his dodgy financial setup on his office secretary and I still remember seeing the lady going through hell. He couldn’t even own his own mistakes.

Could he go down the council vote route or is that essentially blocked off to him given that FF/FG/Labour have already essentially chosen their candidates or in the process of doing so?

Nail on head there-“Leaders”. And it’s not just FF- look at the rag tag bag of misfits we’ve had on the last number of ballot papers.
    Plenty of leaders in private industry alright but very few people in the public eye that you’d consider suitable.

There’s a sense of desperation about this current election- in the last one , Michael D was for me, “the best of a bad lot”- he wasn’t terrible but I’d have preferred someone new and more energetic.

MM would definitely wipe the floor but obviously he doesn’t see himself as moving to semi-retirement just yet- but maybe he should as the economy and world affairs will only get worse- why would you put that stress on yourself? Get out whilst the going is relatively OK, albeit with a heap of problems to sort.
    Personally I think he’s making a big mistake- if things go belly up in the economy- unemployment rising (which it’s starting to) etc etc- he won’t have the same popularity and good will as he has today