If we do not hit our goal we will be forced to close the site.

Current status: https://keepboardsalive.com/

Annual subs are best for most impact. If you are still undecided on going Ad Free - you can also donate using the Paypal Donate option. All contribution helps. Thank you.

Did you enjoy your school days?

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 6,889 ✭✭✭eightieschewbaccy

Hated secondary school. Experienced years of bullying which culminated in my leg being broken. School handled it terribly. In retrospect I realize I had undiagnosed autism too so took many years to process the trauma. The irony is the school prided itself on its lack of bullying.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 6,315 ✭✭✭Mister Vain

I left during 5th year as I couldn't hack it anymore. I was kept back a year in primary school so if I did TY I would have been 20 doing the leaving cert.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 12 SartreAndSocrates

I wish I'd left school at fifteen after finishing the LC. I would consider myself bright or at least above average intelligence, but school to me was always horrendously dull. Dull. Dull. Dull.

If it wasn't for the fact neither of my parents had finished secondary school I would've, but schools really do make you feel as though there's no alternative in life but getting 600 points in the LC and going to Trinity College Dublin. If you don't do that then you're an absolute failure in life.

Regardless, I never winded up going to university, instead I became a successful romance writer and now make 200k+ a year all the while working from home, travelling the world and not having a degree to my name. The only thing I regret was the endless hours spent wasted on studying and exams and all those years spent in school when, if I'd left and started at fifteen, I could've more independent in my life and started providing my elderly parents much earlier on in life. I could've seen more of the world earlier in life too, and the race against time between seeing that and spending time with my elderly parents.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 1,542 ✭✭✭daithi7

Sorry to be a bit pedantic, but

- "could have" instead of "could've"

• "could have more independence in my life" instead of "could've more independent in my life"
    • "Wound up" in place of "winded up"
    • And a little bit more punctuation wouldn't go astray either

You may indeed be a successful romance writer earning over 200k a year, as you so vehemently claim, but jeez if you do, you sure must have one good editor!?

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 12 SartreAndSocrates

Gods, I was writing this while also writing out another chapter in a lesbian fantasy romance story between Medusa and Athena from Greek myth. Don't be so hard on me!!!!!!

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 1,362 ✭✭✭waywill1966

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 147 ✭✭reactadabtc

I couldn't wait to get out. I hated it. I wasn't even bullied, I didn't have a good reason to hate it, I just didn't want to be there. Work and post school life is so much better.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 1,265 ✭✭✭Baybay

I had three different primary schools. Couldn’t believe I had to leave the first as I was happy there but my family was moving for work. The second wasn’t great. Was put into a more junior class to help me settle so got a little bit bored. It did however cement my life long love of reading. Things livened up though when the bullying started & was part of the reason for a move to a third school. All these years later, I still have one very good friend from the first school & two from the third.

I went to a very large, mixed secondary school. I’m sure I didn’t love every minute of it but that’s what it feels like looking back. I know I didn’t like every teacher or student & I’m sure they mustn’t have liked me either but they were happy times. Must have been - I was so young, I had no idea what to do with my LC so I repeated it. Sixth year was a lot of fun, hard work too but good friends & good craic. Great prep for college as a lot of the catch up work, in English for example where novels, plays & some poetry changed every year, was left up to those of us repeating to do ourselves.

• Moderators, Sports Moderators Posts: 4,997 Mod ✭✭✭✭Lost Ormond

Hated it was in 2 schools didn't do well in either bar a few subjects. Bullied a bit as well. Undiagnosed anxiety didn't help things either.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 753 ✭✭✭BaywatchHQ

I liked primary school but my memories of secondary school are mainly just memories of having a sick feeling in my stomach. The talk of schools going back actually triggers old feelings.

My problems were mainly down to undiagnosed autism and hitting puberty earlier than my peers which led to much bullying. I spent 7 years at secondary school, I had a few friends who eventually ditched me as I was too unpopular to be seen with. I spent the last 2 years spending my lunch hour alone. I encountered many evil bullies at school, it was a lot more sinister than just juvenile name calling. I seem to be a magnet for bullies in my adult life too hence why I developed into a misanthrope. My bullies all live successful fulfilling lives with romantic partners.

In regards to the academics, I went to a good school and was average IQ. I got above average grades but at this school they were seen as inferior. On exam results day they only invited the people who got higher grades into get photos for the newspaper and they got trophies on prize evening. That made a big impact on my already fragile state of mind as a 17 year old. It was an insight to how unfair life was especially given how I worked so hard that year. I achieved 10 GCSE's, all A and B grades and that was seen as inferior by that schools standards.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 15,628 ✭✭✭✭briany

Overall, yes. Lucky that I didn't have any major run-ins with bullies and things like that. The odd bit of hassle like someone sticking the leg out to trip you or shouting something from a distance, but those weren't the norm and frequent enough to give me some kind of complex about it. I know many weren't so fortunate, though…

I didn't like 5th year of secondary school too much, because it meant being taken out of the class I'd been in for the junior cycle and it was a lot of people I didn't really know, so that took some adjustment. Sixth year was a lot more fun. Simple stuff like going up to the music room at lunchtime to hang out with the friendly little crew who'd gather there to jam and chat. Good days.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2, Paid Member Posts: 17,286 ✭✭✭✭Goldengirl

Some of the memories here are really painful and sad to read but hopefully most seem to have overcome those early difficult days .

I had a mostly good journey ,with good friends, from early primary and secondary who are still in my life even though we all scattered to different countries and lives .

I was very clever from the start , reading before I started school and then everything I could get my hands on , and despite what some would think it was not always an advantage socially . From comments by some who inferred favouritism from teachers when I got top marks again, to the bullies who picked on who they perceived to be swots in early secondary . They tried to pick on me , but after a pretty messy fight with hairpulling and black eyes , (to them!)and then being hauled up in front of the head it was nipped in the bud . I had brothers at home and between dealing with them and their friends I knew how to throw a punch .

They steered well clear after that .

I found my feet socially from about 3rd year on but I had to learn to stop overthinking everything, which I still am guilty of doing to an extent now but I know how to deal with it . I used to lie awake into the wee hours going over conversations from that day and be even more tired and stressed the day after . My mother thought it was exams or I was sick or something, and I didn't want to worry her so pretended all was ok . None of my friends even knew I hid it so well . I have only told my family and friends indeed in recent years about what was social anxiety ,I know now .

I just went to library, read some books on anxiety and worked it out myself.

I spoke eventually about it with one male friend who had similar anxiety and we rationalised our fears and learned to laugh about them while listening to some very good music together and pushing ourselves to brave the social scene together . I married him a good few years later and we are still encouraging each other ❤️

So no , not the best years but some good times with it and I think outweighing the bad .

I was lucky in that I had a stable home life, well fed and looked after , with two parents who were both as liberal as was possible in the 70s in Catholic Ireland , but also sensitive enough to not probe too much, but be supportive .

This l

has helped me with my own children growing up , one of whom I know struggles with the same social anxiety . He has attended counselling and is aware of what he can do to help himself .

It has taught me that only you can make your life acceptable to you , not your parents , family , friends or teachers, but supports from these are invaluable . Of course some sort of counselling would have been a help but we did not even imagine such a thing when I was growing up .

Post edited by Goldengirl on

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2, Paid Member Posts: 281 ✭✭Mo Ghile Mear

Loved some parts of my schooldays and hated others, mainly down to the teacher /teachers I had in any particular year. I had nuns all the way from infants to LC and in fairness most of them were great women who looked after us and taught us really well. Like everywhere in life there were a few who shouldn't have been in the job.

Looking back on my secondary years in the 60's (including a spell in boarding school) brings back happy hazy memories of all the amazing music of the time, crushes on lads, cycling everywhere, great friendships, simple fun. I can barely remember the study part😂.

College was great… country girl in the big city when Dublin was a magic place compared to now. They were the best years of my life.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 1,484 ✭✭✭For Petes Sake

Primary school was great. Thoroughly enjoyed that.

Secondary school was a nightmare for the first couple of years. Was bullied relentlessly until about third year when a couple of people in my class thought enough was enough and did all they could to help me get through the days. Still best friends with them to this day. Behind my back they were keeping teachers updated because I refused to say anything.

Came to a head when I knocked seven layers of shite out of one of the f*ckers bullying me. Genuinely just snapped and let it all out. Those lads keeping teachers in the loop saved me from being suspended that day. The bullying wound down after they were all exposed and realised that I was capable to beating one of their own to a pulp. TY to Leaving Cert was a great time.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 17,745 ✭✭✭✭Galwayguy35

Hated it.

Most of the teachers were tossers and anyone who showed weakness was bullied by the other kids.

It toughened us up though so I suppose that was a positive.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 1 TattooedIRL

Posting this under a different user name but Ive been heer on boards for 20+ years.

Hated secondary school - constant bullying for years. I dealt with it by fighting back and it stopped around 3rd year but the worst was an incident with the actual headmaster who left me with black eyes, chipped tooth, bruised ribs, busted lip.

Anyway here goes and its even harder to put this in writing - October 1990 or 1991 - Im not sure of the exact date but it was Halloween week. I was in either 4th year or 5th year secondary school. School assembly -  In the school the headmaster who I wont name now used to stand in the centre of the room at 8.50 and all classes assembled for morning prayers - highly catholic school- school is closed down now.

Any way what happened was that someone threw a firework from behind me and it went off close to the head masters podium.He looked down and I must have looked guilty -  actually people still say that to me this day - I look guilty or have a guilty face when in reality I havent done anything wrong!!!

He jumps off his podium and literally attacked me like I was a punch bag.

I was repeatedly punched in the body, and in the face - multiple times at full force with a closed fist -  I had 2 burst lips , black eyes, chipped a tooth and multiple bruises on my ribs and stomach. 

It took weeks to get over the attack.To me it felt like it lasted for minutes even hours when in reality it was probably 30 seconds or so.Class mates say I received at least 20 punches but probably more  -  this headmaster was a former boxer so he knew how to hit and hit hard. 

Classmates also knew who threw the firework but wouldnt say anything as that was the way it was back then - we werent going to "rat" on someone else.

I was sent home repeating that he had got it wrong and it wasnt me - sent my dad up to the school and to this day I dont know what my dad said to him but he gave an apology and didnt hassle me for the next 2 years or so.

But the truth is that animals attack is still affecting me to this day - Im 50 now and I can remember that day like it was yesterday.

And that was 1990 or 1991 - well past when corporal punishment was made illegal. And well past the known abuse that took place in schools in the 70s and 80s.

I tried contacting the government body this year responsible for the inquiry into the abuse in schools but physical abuse has been left out of the inquiry that was announced in 2024.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2, Paid Member Posts: 24,697 ✭✭✭✭Sleepy

I've always loved learning so I found the academic side of school quite easy (aside from Irish, which I've always hated). By and large, I had decent teachers and I liked most of them. I definitely took against a few who were bullies or too jaded and just hanging on for their pension by the time I was sitting in front of them. Any that had an interest in doing their jobs and teaching us would have found me no trouble.

The other kids, however, were 90% dickheads. The raging testosterone of an all-boys school didn't suit me at all as someone who was useless at sport and generally more interested in history, science, reading etc. and was happier watching Star Trek: The Next Generation than following Manchester United or the GAA.

Having moved across the country at 14, half way through first year, I had a very different accent so combined with the lack of interest in sport, I was an easy target for bullies. The school I'd moved from, however, had much tougher bullies so the physical stuff stopped pretty quickly when it was clear I knew well enough how to stand my ground in a fight: even when you're losing, bullies lose all interest when you hurt them back. The verbal and emotional stuff continued of course. I was called a fagg*t or the like on a weekly basis despite the fact I'm straight.

In hindsight, I didn't help myself: I thought myself better than most of the kids in my year, and not just those that were bullying me: I did better academically than most, I was "higher minded" than them (and would frequently try to be smart/funny with a "I keep telling you, you're not my type" or the like when being "insulted" with homophobic sluts). I wasn't quick-witted enough to keep up with the verbal sparring and should have known better to just keep my head down…

Maybe a mixed-sex school would have worked out better for me, I don't know. It'd almost certainly have lead to me having a less distorted view of the female of the species at 18!

Post edited by Sleepy on

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 831 ✭✭✭Krazy gang

Similarly, I wanted to get out of school when I was there. But looking back, they were some great days, good laughs.

It wasn't all good, but all in all school days are some of the best days of your life. It's only when you're gone that you miss it. When you meet up with old class mates, talk inevitably turns to some of the craic and chaos you got up to.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 2,399 ✭✭✭Ozymandius2011

Primary school was sometimes fun. Secondary School not so. It was an all-boys school and very macho, and I was not macho. Some of the male teachers, including the Principal, also saw masculinity as "macho", and picked on me for being different. Also I am on the autism spectrum which was another point of difference. I was not diagnosed until after I left school. I was taken out of school because of the bullying and had home-tuition.

However in some ways it made me more resilient because I became somewhat desensitised to it. I learned to be restrained when someone is disagreeable to me. I learned not to take offence so easily. I think these days offense is taken too easily based on verbal disagreements or political speech. As someone in my 40s, I think today young people are growing up in a much more tolerant, liberal age in Ireland, where minorities are respected.

But I think that while this is good, it also means they are not as used to being offended, so that when they are, they are more sensitive to it than those of us who grew up in the 80s/90s. This is a double-edged sword. I think respect is important but so is resilience.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 2,652 ✭✭✭sonofenoch

Look back at it fondly for the most part now but didn't particularly enjoy it at the time, primary school mostly the De La Salle just was never a pleasant atmosphere ..don't recall ever having a problem with any bullying always seemed to pal around with the messers in a group that were probably the bullies, loved the sports GAA and football was always involved …I do remember those days of pulling a sickie the joy of not having to get up and go to school 😂

Have never kept in touch with anyone from school but often thought about what might have happened to many of them even those I wasn't friendly with

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 5,003 ✭✭✭RayCon

Didn't hate it, Didn't love it ……. just went. Got it over with. LC year coincided with Italia 90. Absolutely shocked I passed it. 😂

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 206 ✭✭Illusory

Loved it. High school during the Hippie era. Surprised I survived it.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 14,684 ✭✭✭✭The Nal

Loved it. Primary and secondary. Still friends with lots of people from school.

Always feel bad for people who didnt like it. Including some family members. It should be a great time in everyones life.

Hated college though. Hated it.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 1,542 ✭✭✭daithi7

Curious, when you loved school, why do you think you hated college so much?

It's so often the other way around with others....

I know. My missus included.

By the time I'd got to college I kinda knew I had a group of mates for life from school. Which I do. Was living at home so didnt live on campus or anything. Guess I would've liked that. But spent 6 years making a whole new group of friends and now Im basically an adult and off to do it again?

My college mates were sound so no issue there. Subject I studied was a load of bollix and a waste of 4 years really. Like loads of them - Sociology, "Arts", marketing, business management, communications - but you had to go to college we were all told. Kinda knew within a few weeks that it was a waste of time. Wasnt going to be a doctor or a solicitor.

So no bad experiences or anything. Just a load of meh.

• Moderators, Social & Fun Moderators, Paid Member Posts: 14,052 Mod ✭✭✭✭JupiterKid

It's very common for those who didn't have a great time in secondary school (myself included) to find college/university to be great, a fresh start after school making new and meaningful friends and able to well avoid any tossers/assholes.

Those who were popular in school, on the other hand, can often find third level very intimidating - going from being a big fish in a small pond to a small fish in a huge lake situation and most of their school pals in other colleges/working/emigrated.

Your old school friends are now scattered far and wide whilst you struggle to form new friendships in an unfamiliar new environment and feel isolated - I saw this myself in college with some of my classmates. Indeed, some just stuck to hanging out with their old school pals at the weekends and didn't really make any new good friends in college.

Always felt there was a touch of karma there…

Post edited by JupiterKid on

Found college quite transient. People moving course, dropping out, tranferring to different colleges etc.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 1,486 ✭✭✭OneEightSeven
    MEGA - Make Éire Great Again

I enjoyed school until I hit puberty at 11 and my face was destroyed with acne for 4 years. Ruined what little confidence I had and I wasn't big or tough enough to retaliate to any teasing I received. I don't think I kissed a girl for about 4 to 5 years. My face cleared up just before my 15th birthday and girls were no longer repulsed by me. Many of the teachers were strict and everyone hated our year head. He was a dickhead and his breath smelled like he literally ate human faeces for breakfast every morning. The girls would wonder what his wife found attractive in him. P.E. was shite, we would mostly play badminton, when we wanted to play football. In primary school, one of my teachers would organise a football or basketball tournament. If the weather was sunny in the afternoon, we might play rounders in the field.

Switched to a private, non-uniform school after the Junior Cert. The school's ethos was about making education fun and the teachers were much friendlier. The girls were much better looking and some would wear miniskirts, which would motivate me to go to school everyday. We played football every Thursday. The only downside was we couldn't study chemistry and woodworking in this school, so that limited how many subjects I could study.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 18 Ruairi C

I’d say the same school was grand at the time, some good memories and a few great teachers, but I wouldn’t be rushing back either. Looking back now I probably took parts of it too seriously as well, but I suppose that’s easy to say with hindsight.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 20,214 ✭✭✭✭jimgoose

I didn't have a terrible time of it by any means, but I found secondary school weird and didn't exactly enjoy it. I've always thought people who say schooldays are the best of your life must probably have pretty crappy lives.