Donald Trump the Megathread part II - Mod Warning updated in OP 12/2/26

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 6,191 ✭✭✭dogbert27

I really hope the Nobel committee can be responsible adults and not give in.

Trump is like a spoilt child demanding he get a lollipop and if he keeps the tantrum going long enough then the adults will give in to him just to shut him the fxxk up.

Trump like a spoilt brat will be happy he got the lollipop and brag about it with no self awareness that everyone around him thinks he's an axxhole.

• Moderators, Politics Moderators, Paid Member Posts: 45,538 Mod ✭✭✭✭Seth Brundle

Why would the Nobel committee give in?
    Were they to give him a peace prize, it would completely devalue it (and by extension all other Nobel prizes) meaning that this would be the last year it would be held where it would have any credibility or meaning.

The deranged President is just being deranged!

Help Keep Boards Alive. Support us by going ad free today. See here: https://subscriptions.boards.ie/ .

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2, Paid Member Posts: 31,311 ✭✭✭✭looksee

Everyone is already out for themselves and fcuk everything else, so if you don't live the same way, you are losing out.

I assume you are in Ireland? In which case, how do you come to the above conclusion? And how, exactly are you 'losing out'? What could you change about your lifestyle to achieve 'me me me' and what would it gain you?

Of course, since he is not going to win a Nobel prize, its all just petulant rhetoric.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 336 ✭✭somenergy

Election fraud?

Nah wait to late dictator already installed.

• Subscribers, Paid Member Posts: 44,928 ✭✭✭✭sydthebeat

https://www.facebook.com/share/v/1BJJZLDFUm/

When it is all laid out as succinctly as this, every single American should be out in force

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 7,697 ✭✭✭yagan

He'll award himself his own inaugural peace prize, it will be like an Oscar statue but in Trump's image.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 44,375 ✭✭✭✭ancapailldorcha

They can't. If they do, they'll just debase it like Suella Braverman did with the Cenotaph here in London.

He's acting like a spoiled brat. He only wants it because Obama won it.

The foreigner residing among you must be treated as your native-born. Love them as yourself, for you were foreigners in Egypt. I am the LORD your God.

Leviticus 19:34

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2, Paid Member Posts: 37,416 ✭✭✭✭Penn

He's also his own biggest roadblock in getting it, because his understanding of "peace" is "help the bigger side win by giving them what they want so the fighting ends, regardless of how many people die or lose their homeland in the process".

That's not peace.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 12,782 ✭✭✭✭Oscar_Madison
    #MEGA MAKE EUROPE GREAT AGAIN

Regardless of what he achieves elsewhere for the rest of his “reign”- he’s supported or enabled atrocities in both Ukraine and Gaza- it would be the end of the peace prize if they awarded him.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 14,341 ✭✭✭✭aloyisious

Going back over Trump's "working" relationship with Zelenskyy and how the Oval Office ambush possibly rebounded on Trump with the "valuable minerals" deal Trump was angling for with Zelenskyy going south, and looking at it closely, was it all a B/S play by Trump to distract and toy with Zelenskyy to the benefit of Putin?

Allegedly Trump was to provide security for Ukraine against Russia while the U.S would have access to the valuable minerals and metals without having boots on the ground as either workers or physical force security. All this disappeared like smoke in the wind when the Oval Office ambush made it clear to Zelenskyy and the watching world that Trump and Vance were not men of their words but persons ready to openly betray Ukraine and Zelenskyy.

It seems that with his not losing the plot with Putin over the "2 week and now 3 month delays" Putin is "forcing" him to go along with that Trump is playing something like his "on again - off again" tariffs B/S against every other country except Russia, that Trump is sticking it to his own country. Similarly he's at the same game with his saying Europe will do the heavy lifting against Russia on the military front - "we'll sell you everything you want in weapons and munitions and let you pass them on to Ukraine" - without so much as a blink.

Has Trump actually instructed the Pentagon to give Europe the weapons and munitions for onward move to Ukraine ASAP or is it more of Trump's "deal deal" routine to lie to the O/P and fail to provide the goods as stated. Listening to Zelenskyy the other day, when informed that the Pentagon had blocked for recent months the supply of missiles to Ukraine which had the range to reach into Russia, that no one had told him. Is there a supply chain in operation between U.S arms factories and U.S military air and sea real time supply routes to Europe at the moment getting the goods to Europe for transit to Ukraine in the here and now?

Trump and the Pentagon, as instructed by him, clearly are playing a double game of deceiving the U.S official allies (with a silent arms embargo) and giving Putin every opportunity he needs to destroy Ukraine and subsequently the U.S ally, NATO, by way of an alternative form of low intensity warfare (worry and stress out Ukraine's neighbours about being next on Putin's menu). The notion that Hegseth is putting one over/past Trump is implausible. With allies like Trump and Hegseth, who needs enemies?

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 16,601 ✭✭✭✭charlie14

Very interesting.

I know that opinion polls have become in recent years at times far removed from subsequent election results and that they are just a snapshot of a particular point in time, but those Iowa results appear to be reflecting the opinion polls.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2, Paid Member Posts: 1,484 ✭✭✭z80CPU
    Darth 8-bit

Utter gross makeover of The White House at Trumps behest. Manky.

https://youtu.be/8bOXE0EGWAk?si=9QmQIA-z3aHbsMfA

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 1,630 ✭✭✭ilkhanid

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 16,601 ✭✭✭✭charlie14

I know there has been a fair bit of criticism of the Democrates not going toe-to-toe with Trump and calling out his lies and what his policies will do too the U.S. The Democrates have adopted a laissez faire attitude on the basis of let him at it and it is so crazy it will all fall apart on its own. And I`m getting the impression that it may actually be working.

Politics in the U.S. has become so polarised with MAGA that no matter what the Democrates say at the moment MAGA and Trump will just flood the zone declaring it all nothing but lies. Democrates attempting to counteract that on a toe-to-toe basis will at present only lead too two factions shouting at each other, and like all such arguements result in people just zoning out with "they are as bad as each other". Leave just one party ranting and raving and people tend to pay closer examination to what they are saying and give it closer examination.

If the opinion polls and the Iowa election results posted here by @francois are anything to go by that tactic is working. Gavin Newsome posts are somewhat along the same lines. They drive the MAGA crowd nuts, but in doing so also highlight what he is saying in a humourous manner and can engage others who are not dyed in the wool MAGA to see just how preposterous Trump`s posts are.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2, Paid Member Posts: 4,231 ✭✭✭Field east

the sooner it is realised that the only countries/groups 100% supporting Ukr ie EU , Collision of the Willing and other likeminded nations the better and that The US is NOT one of them . Trump/US , since the outset have favoured Russia more than they did for Ukr. Since the SMO started. IMO Trump is favouring Ru in as much as he can get away with. By all means keep in contact with Trump and praise him at every opportunity so as to squeeze bits out of him for the benefit of Ukr and hope to embarrass him in not helping Russia.
    Trump has the power to end the SMO immediately with one phone cal. OK give Putin one week to move ALL troops back to the 2014 border and also get out of Crimeal

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 2,802 ✭✭✭randd1

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2, Paid Member Posts: 2,663 ✭✭✭XsApollo

exactly this, the democrats rebutting the lies and getting into shouting matches or debates with them will only embolden them and give them a common enemy.
    let them at it and let it fall apart on its own,

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 37,707 ✭✭✭✭o1s1n
    Master of the Universe

None of the canonical gospels mention Mary's age at all. Christian historicans speculate she was in the 14-16 age bracket based on customs of the time and how she's referred to as a 'virgin', which is most likely accurate.

So 'god' has no problem impregnating children, Eve slept with her sons which was all grand, Lott banged his daughters and then offered them to be raped by a load of angels, god wiped out humanity with a flood, including children babies…then we have scriptures like this:

Ezekiel 23:20:

There she lusted after her lovers, whose genitals were like those of donkeys and whose emission was like that of horses.

Yeah to be honest I can see where Trump gets his god emperor complex from.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 12,255 ✭✭✭✭For Forks Sake

Some very Russian-type antics those

Danish public broadcaster DR reported Wednesday that government and security sources which it didn’t name, as well as unidentified sources in Greenland and the U.S., believe that at least three Americans with connections to Trump have been carrying out covert influence operations in the territory.

One of those people allegedly compiled a list of U.S.-friendly Greenlanders, collected names of people opposed to Trump and got locals to point out cases that could be used to cast Denmark in a bad light in American media. Two others have tried to nurture contacts with politicians, businesspeople and locals, according to the report.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 1,018 ✭✭✭Detritus70

Used to be in Ireland, now in Germany.
    Germany is far from perfect and the AfD is riding very high in the polls.
    Also, just look at the UK with Brexit and the continuing success of Trump Light™ (Farage) and countries like Austria, Hungary, Holland, Italy, Finland, Slovakia, Croatia, the Czech Republic there is a rapid rise of far-right movements and a lot are getting into governments.
    There is a very large percentage of people who have chosen to feel victimised, hard done by, suppressed, robbed of their freedom and democracy (especially since COVID) and to address their grievances they have chosen to listen to whatever right-wing sh!thead promises them less work, more money, return to the Golden Age™, respect on the world stage and, most importantly of ALL, get rid of these damn "brown" people.
    If this is the new norm, I do not feel I owe these people anything at all.
    Putin in Russia is the blueprint and secret champion of all these movements and the US has been all his wet dreams come true.

This proves to me that a large percentage of people are selfish, racist, lazy, hateful creatures that just want to be Number 1 in the World without doing anything for it and they want people they despise to be bullied and victimised.
    For one tiny second it looks like there might be a shimmer of hope, but it wasn't to be.
    It has been made ok to be a right-wing piece of racist sh1t and people are buying into that idea like it's Crypto.
    Whatever tiny little bit of faith I had in humanity has long since left. And I am not optimistic about the future. The light at the end of the tunnel turned out to be a man with a flamethrower.

Fully Automated Luxury Gay Space Communism

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 1,788 ✭✭✭Glencarraig

We can only live in hope, probably a bit soon to put the champagne on ice.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2, Paid Member Posts: 31,311 ✭✭✭✭looksee

It has been made ok to be a right-wing piece of racist sh1t and people are buying into that idea like it's Crypto.

I don't entirely disagree with what you are saying, from Ireland it does seem to be overstated, but I agree it is there. Going back to your first post though you suggest that the solution is for you to also become a 'right-wing piece of racist ****', and this somehow will mean that you are not 'missing out'. Missing out on what? How will it help for you to join them?

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 1,018 ✭✭✭Detritus70

Oh no, that's not what I meant, I would never do that.
    I'm more thinking that I feel it's more OK to come to decisions don't take other people or the greater good into consideration. Become an opportunist, take advantage without consideration for others.
    They are doing the same and in fact are actively hoping that certain groups and minorities are harmed and disadvantaged.
    It is ok to exploit these people in any way, especially when it is done via their sh1tty beliefs.

We have had a fake taxi service that took bookings from people hoping to travel to far right demonstrations that never turned up.
    People have taken delivery of thousands of pamphlets with the promise of delivering them and dumped them.
    But the real grift is appearing to be on their side and asking for donations. There are many activists in Germany who are social media blowhards and are reaching massive audiences, some of which may even be real people instead of paid bots.

This may be what it boils down to, invent an online persona and become a right-winger, constantly whine about being shut down and victimised, ask for donations, spew hateful rhetoric and watch the cash roll in.
    Niklas Lotz (neverforgetniki) is an especially odious example.
    There should be easy cash in it.

Fully Automated Luxury Gay Space Communism

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 14,750 ✭✭✭✭Frank Bullitt

But…but, according to @MisterAnarchy Trump was obviously joking…

From the reports, it’s 3 individuals with very close ties to Trump who were trying to create a narrative to hurt the relationship between Greenland and Denmark.

It violates some international laws too. That should help with him getting that peace prize.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 1,630 ✭✭✭ilkhanid

I can't remember whether that particular lustful 'wan was Oholah or Oholibah but both the sisters were hot for Egyptians and Assyrians according to the prophet. I remember getting quite a start when, as a youngster, I came across that stuff in the OT. That was the beginning of my interest in the…."stranger" aspects of the Bible.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 7,656 ✭✭✭eightieschewbaccy

Some of RFK's odder views are set to go public next month apparently.. Revealing the causes of autism, no less. I'm sure some idiots are gonna lap it up though.

https://thehill.com/policy/healthcare/5471327-autism-epidemic-kennedy-trump/

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 7,617 ✭✭✭CelticRambler

Here's an interesting one. I've just received an e-mail from La Poste (French version of An Post) subject line "temporary suspension of deliveries to the USA"

According to the explanatory text, the US authorities have arranged things so that new customs duties on small packages must be paid before the package arrives on US territory, but they haven't allowed enough (i.e. any) time for the rest of the world's postal agencies to set up collection-and-remittance services.

So as of tomorrow 28th August and until further notice, La Poste will only accept letters or person-to-person gift packages valued at under 100USD for delivery to the States; if you want to send anything else, you have to jump through self-declaration hoops of your own choice and at your own expense.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 26,210 ✭✭✭✭Timberrrrrrrr

Jaysus lads this has really set him off, hopefully the blood pressure shoots up.

20250827_172357.jpg

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 22,533 ✭✭✭✭Tony EH

^

That's the President of the United States everyone.

Whinging like a 5 year old because some guy may be getting a contract extension.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2, Paid Member Posts: 37,416 ✭✭✭✭Penn

"Personality of an insecure child"

Jesus f*cking Christ....