Hello all! Please ensure that you are posting a new thread or question in the appropriate forum. The Feedback forum is overwhelmed with questions that are having to be moved elsewhere. If you need help to verify your account contact hello@boards.ie
If we do not hit our goal we will be forced to close the site.

Current status: https://keepboardsalive.com/

Annual subs are best for most impact. If you are still undecided on going Ad Free - you can also donate using the Paypal Donate option. All contribution helps. Thank you.

Random Golf Thoughts

1575859606163»

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 3,525 ✭✭✭big_drive

Ya it does. Only difference would be you don't get a bonus for a birdie on a hole where you've a shot, it's still just one + for the competition score. But it would count as a better gross score for the handicap purposes

It's not a format that I enjoy playing

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 1,109 ✭✭✭paulos53

V Par is a terrible format under WHS. Most players will pick up their ball if the best they can score is a nett bogey as it will be a loss. However WHS then counts the scratch as a nett double bogey.

If a club ever wanted to inflate everybody's handicaps for inter-club purposes then running V Par every week is a good way to do it.

Even if a player does finish out on every hole for handicap purposes the strategy in V Par is completely different to stableford or stroke. V Par allows players to take on reckless shots when chasing a net par

Post edited by paulos53 on

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 15,202 ✭✭✭✭callaway92

Dundrum (Tipp) closed down

Hotel, Bar, Restaurant, Golf Course

I will say, the golf course was insanely under priced. Always wondered how it could survive.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2, Paid Member Posts: 19,169 ✭✭✭✭Mantis Toboggan

Pure disaster what happened Dundrum, how they allowed it to go the way it did, pure sabotage

Free Palestine 🇵🇸

• Administrators Posts: 55,304 Admin ✭✭✭✭✭awec

Don't disagree at all. It's ok for a bit of variety but I wouldn't want to play it regularly.

My main gripe is it doesn't reward or punish enough. Like a net eagle is no different to a net birdie despite being significantly harder to achieve.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 4,659 ✭✭✭BoardsMember

Totally agree. I'm a streaky golfer, I can hit a few birdies in a round and turn things totally around. V Par you can't "catch up", it makes it really negative and just a bit dull.

• Moderators, Sports Moderators Posts: 18,335 Mod ✭✭✭✭slave1

An absolute disgrace, boycotted by lots of folk for their choices

My stuff on Adverts, mostly Tesla Pre Highland Model 3

Public Profile active ads for slave1

Never played it but heard good things. When is it closing?

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2, Paid Member Posts: 19,169 ✭✭✭✭Mantis Toboggan

Didn't realize it was closed immediately, that's rough on the members there

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 247 ✭✭soverybored1878

Terrible news.

Played it a few times when working down in Thurles, great course. 4, 5 and 6 are some of my favourite holes anywhere.

Colleague of mine has a house that backs onto it and himself and his wife are members. Just a massive shame.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 4,659 ✭✭✭BoardsMember

I want to get some clubs for my son, 17 years old. He's starting to show interest in golf, he's sporty and hits a decent ball. But he's time poor and has loads of sports already. Has anyone else gone down the route of second hand golf clubs? I just had a look at Adverts.ie and nothing jumped out at me. I'm near M50 in South Dublin, any golf shops that carry decent selection of 2nd hand clubs?

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 4,556 ✭✭✭VW 1

Really enjoyed the day out in Dundrum when the boards society played it a few years ago, thought it was a lovely track. What was the reason behind it shutting down?

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 13,977 ✭✭✭✭prawnsambo

From what it says in the Indo, they leased the accommodation block to a Spanish company that were to use it as an IPAS (International Protection Accommodation Service) centre and who'd got a contract from the government to run it. But they never paid the lease and the owners ran out of money.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 3,252 ✭✭✭benny79

You could also try clubs4cash or clubhouse golf they deliver but I wouldn't buy new. Set of game improvement irons on adverts or done deal. Oh there's The golf studio in celebridge driving range. They hav loads of second sets & you can try before you buy as well 👌

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 1,993 ✭✭✭coillcam

Jaysus, that whole thing is a clusterf**k. So there was a wrongly approved exemption in allowing the facilities to be used as an IPAS centre. Then the contract goes to a shady overseas company whose owners can't be identified. Ultimately the company makes no payment to the Hotel/club at all. This is absolute catnip for conspiracy grifters. Nobody can deny there is a massive level of political incompetence or corruption at play.

It's horrible for the employees and members. Such a shame.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 13,977 ✭✭✭✭prawnsambo

I know we like to blame politicians for all that ails us, but awarding IPAS contracts is not in the remit of politicians. Somebody in the department didn't do their due diligence. But even worse, they must have been alerted by the owners of the hotel when payment wasn't coming through, but of course that's too late.

Definitely a clusterfúck though. And of course there's no comeback for the owners. Hopefully somebody will take it off their hands and start running it again. I suspect the hotel isn't really a going concern if they were prepared to turn it into an IPAS.

Shame to see any course closing up. Especially hard for members

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 56,056 ✭✭✭✭Headshot

From someone who lives near Dundrum and often played at the course, it's a very sad day for the area but yes politicians are to blame for this along with the council and the biggest corrupt individual to ever grace Dundrum Mr Leo.

Jim O'Callaghan department of migration has alot to answer for. They were warned about legal uncertainties surrounding Dundrum House's ownership and the pending legal action by the Wenning family against Mr. Leo. Despite these warnings, the Department proceeded to issue an IPAS contract to a third-party operator, Utmasta Ltd., without conducting adequate due diligence.

Imagine giving a newly formed company with only 120 euro in the bank the IPAS contract.

They couldnt use the hotel as the IPAS center as it was uninhabitable, they were rumors they were going to close the course and transform it into a IPAS hub

As of now we're all worried because no one is looking after the course and we're hoping liquidator will let the ground keepers into at least keep the course in good condition while we hope will entice a new owner

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 290 ✭✭Salvadoor

I see the Brogan brothers of Dublin football fame were also stuck in with Mr Leo in a few of his companies, including the Wenning companies

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 1,993 ✭✭✭coillcam

The holding company of the hotel had the Brogan name, but new articles say that they had resigned as directors in 2017. Not sure about the other companies but perhaps you can see the directors in some reports.

"Mr Leo" appears to be Jeffrey Leo. A quick google should tell you all you need to know about his financial and business dealings. It makes me wonder who the Spanish company's directors are….

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 56,056 ✭✭✭✭Headshot

Here's a bit of a timeline of the Dundrum House closure from Liam Browne who has been brilliant in supporting Dundrum

Screenshot 2025-08-27 at 10.29.30.png

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 1,079 ✭✭✭bobster453

A Mallorca director, a disbarred US broker and a multi-million deal to house asylum-seekers in a Tipperary manor | Irish Independent https://m.independent.ie/irish-news/a-mallorca-director-a-disbarred-us-broker-and-a-multi-million-deal-to-house-asylum-seekers-in-a-tipperary-manor/a1578512248.html

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 1,079 ✭✭✭bobster453

Feck, cant read it unless you have a subscription..which i dont.

Smells to high heaven though.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 2,791 ✭✭✭ec18

hi, I'm looking at clubs near me that do flexi membership as I don't have the time to get full value out of being a full membership. The two I can find near me are Lisheen Springs and Slade Valley, I'm going to call around to them over the next few weeks but curious does anyone have any experience or opinion either way?