Cycling Ireland 2025 Road Season

• Moderators, Sports Moderators Posts: 26,718 Mod ✭✭✭✭CramCycle

Rug pulled out from under me as in laws have arranged a dinner but decided not to tell anyone until this week that it's actually Friday and not Saturday. My initial response of FFS, surely we don't have to go was not met with the support and backing I expected.

Hope they get the numbers.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 3,073 ✭✭✭Paddigol

The in laws? Depends what they're cooking I guess…

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 2,005 ✭✭✭wav1

Ya hope who gets the numbers the promoters or the in laws 🤔

I'm in support of the race, alas my DS tells me failure to attend the in laws will end my career, suddenly and abruptly.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 409 ✭✭this.lad

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 3,073 ✭✭✭Paddigol

I hope you at least threw a Marc Soler sized strop for the cameras

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 17,306 ✭✭✭✭dahat

If a whole pile of C3 riders could register for the Collins Christie next week to give us a stand-alone race that would be very much appreciated. As it stand on Eventmaster it will be a handicap race

I don't mind a handicap provided the Commisaire gives one that makes it a case where if you work together you have a chance. Happened in the Lucan GP a few years ago the Comms were so frightened of it not coming together they only gave a minute between groups, A1s caught A3s in a lap which makes me wary of them.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 5,285 ✭✭✭beggars_bush

Looks like races this weekend are struggling for numbers

C3 lads stayed away at a handicap race recently so yeah it can be done but it’s all about the kindness of the comms.

Last year at an event over 90km the A3 riders were given 3 mins over the combined A1/2 group. Post event I had a right at a comms over it in a not so friendly manner ( not my finest hour) .

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 409 ✭✭this.lad

It's peak holiday season, bank holiday weekend, Flradh and so on, not hugely surprising.

Bray Wheelers not having a C3 race on September 14th for the end of season bash is disappointing.

To be fair they announced that early on and it is free entry so hard to have a dig at them about it. Interesting to see will many riders who have enough points for C2 upgrade for the race

I didn’t know they announced it previously so I’ll take back criticism towards Bray.

On the upgrade point spoke to 3 lads today who will upgrade which is a bit annoying given the same lads can now.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 38 Strobing

Still disappointing there's no C3. They would get the numbers I think, calendar is patchy to say the least late in August/September. If the weather from the past years is anything to go by it's still acceptable to race in so more races would be nice.

Solid weekends racing in Navan, a super fast course with excellent surfaces all round.

Will make a weekend of these events again next season.

History says you possibly won't, and this year with a lot of C3s not moving up, I'd say the normal stabilisation of the ability has stopped which might put off some of the all year round riders.

Also their free entry model might not have the money to throw on another race, another ambulance, more moto riders, and so on.

Only concern I'd have for the Bray free entry is they will get massive online entries but a huge number of DNSs. Hopefully I am wrong, fair play either way. I'd have put a nominal fee in to stop it, but it might not happen.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 12 halfkenyan

This what I don't get. How come the calendar is so front loaded when there'd be better racing conditions until likely the end of September? Surely by pushing some National Grade events towards late August/early September, or (in the very unlikely chance) putting on another stage race at the same caliber of Ras Mumhan in late summer this would incentivise riders to compete in the latter half of the year.

Late late season racing rarely works , most lads are on the go since March through various races, leagues & events. There comes a stage when even the kindest of partners & families just have enough of the other half being away.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 5,285 ✭✭✭beggars_bush

Cycling Ireland will definitely have to look at more masters only races on the calendar.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 4,182 ✭✭✭Bambaata

Yeah and allow C1s, although I've now sought a downgrade. Assuming it's granted keep them c2/3 only 😂

Big field alright in Galway last night.

Each masters race has had a different format so maybe that something that could be looked at.

It’s bad enough racing C2 M40!

I could easily see C1 M40 being a rare rider next year .

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 9,969 ✭✭✭Macy0161

Couldn't make the rest of the series, but I'd need much better form to go again in the same format as Dungarvan tbh. What have the C2 numbers been like in the other races?

On a related note, is the change in age category on your birthday or is it season related?

I stand to be corrected but 16 C2 riders in Galway of which 14 in the M40 class that totalled 29 riders.

The normal open races for C3 are better races for me personally.

The logic for the series was:

This block of events come based off rider feedback around National Grade Events, where harder races have resulted in masters numbers dropping off. Organisers are keen to ensure every age group and every level of rider has a race they feel competitive in.

I certainly didn't feel competitive in Dungarvan, whereas I have in C3 races this year.

I agree & the gap between C2 M40 to C3 M40 is noticeable whereas the M50 seems to be balanced.

At one event recently i had a C1 M40 rider giving out about him his ineligibility which made me laugh.

Obviously me being right at the top of the age bracket probably didn't help either!

More on the Cycling Leinster Road Championships:

Two races at a minimum:

Senior and Junior, with a medal for top 3 in both plus an additional top 3 for C1, C2 and C3.

Other race is a M40 / M50 / M60 race handicap with a top 3 for the Leinster medals in all. There is also a top 3 Women and top 3 Women Junior in the second race.