Hello all! Please ensure that you are posting a new thread or question in the appropriate forum. The Feedback forum is overwhelmed with questions that are having to be moved elsewhere. If you need help to verify your account contact hello@boards.ie
If we do not hit our goal we will be forced to close the site.

Current status: https://keepboardsalive.com/

Annual subs are best for most impact. If you are still undecided on going Ad Free - you can also donate using the Paypal Donate option. All contribution helps. Thank you.

Important News!!

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 6,293 ✭✭✭eightieschewbaccy

It's a bit weird that you and a handful of others have specifically fixated on whether capaill is gonna subscribe or not. It's sort of none of your business. 😂

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2, Paid Member Posts: 19,040 ✭✭✭✭nullzero
    °°°°°

It's Germane in light of comments made about this platform on at least one other platform.

One of the biggest problems with boards is the seeming inability for people to be civil to one another.

When people in senior mod positions can't rise above it what's the hope for anyone else?

If you spend years winding people up and things get to the point where they are on boards currently you can expect people to ask you such a question in a polite manner.

Glazers Out!

No, I think most would agree that you and some others have had a long running grudge against a poster and are using this thread to target them. It's pretty childish and weird. I would go as far as saying that ye are a bit obsessed.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 405 ✭✭SharpCoder

I mean, anybody can ask a question freely, it's a discussion board after all, just as the recipient can choose freely whether or not to answer it. It doesn't have to be nefarious all the time.

°°°°°

I'm targeting nobody.

As previously stated the question was asked politely.

We're hearing about how awful everyone is and how modding is impossible bit if it was done evenly there'd be no issue.

There's a clear path to seeing the change the poster wants to see on the site, I look forward to them seeing how easy it could be.

Glazers Out!

You absolutely are, you just went on a rant about a specific poster because they're choosing for whatever reason to not subscribe. It's also not the first time that you've referenced them in the thread. I'm gonna leave you with your slight obsession with them cause there's no real point debating it, it's there for everyone to see. 😂

°°°°°

I didn't ask that question about subscribing.

Maybe get your facts straight before starting your own rant.

Post edited by nullzero on

Glazers Out!

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 795 ✭✭✭maik3n

Moving swiftly on from all the drama.

Hopefully boards survives but on the off chance that things go south, is there any way that we can download/backup our boards.ie data for archiving offline? Similar to the facebook extract thing here
    http://www.facebook.com/help/212802592074644/

We could obviously just screenshot our profile page and all of our posts/PMs individually but that would be a rather tedious and longwinded process. Is there any automated feature within the board software?

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2, Paid Member Posts: 11,458 ✭✭✭✭J Mysterio

Can I just say that the banner messaging has been silently killing me each time I see it... Surely it should read 'all contributions help' rather than 'all contribution helps'.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2, Paid Member Posts: 92,220 ✭✭✭✭JP Liz V1

Why are you answering something not directed at you, they can answer or ignore, tell me fcek off etc., what exactly has it got to do with you?

No matter what people tell you, words and ideas can change this World

• Moderators, Arts Moderators, Recreation & Hobbies Moderators, Social & Fun Moderators Posts: 79,078 Mod ✭✭✭✭New Home

Yeah, screenshooting your posts might be an option for you with your post count, but it'd take me another lifetime.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 25,721 ✭✭✭✭pjohnson

If everyone whining about moderation had to pay a €10 tax per post whining about moderation the site would be incredibly profitable.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2, Paid Member Posts: 92,220 ✭✭✭✭JP Liz V1

No matter what people tell you, words and ideas can change this World

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 8,754 ✭✭✭The Continental Op

Wake me up when it's all over.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 535 ✭✭✭waterfaerie

I'm finding this quite distressing. I don't post very much but I read boards every single day. Despite that, I only found out about this a few days ago when I saw the banner at the top of a thread I follow. I was shocked to see it's been ongoing for over a month. Where have the notifications been? I’ve literally been on here every day and not seen a thing. @Boards.ie: Mike a PM to all members wouldn’t be a bad idea (or even better, an email as well if that’s allowed?). Maybe lots of people don’t even know yet!

I think so many of us would be lost without boards. There's nothing else comparable. As someone who finds the world a bit difficult, boards has been like a sort of lifeline my whole adult life. It's so much more than just that, though. It feels like the end of the internet as we know it. Google have already stopped indexing so much information and it will only get worse. We're being fed what the big companies want us to see and soon that will be all we see. It's more important than ever to keep a place where ordinary Irish people can communicate.

I've read this whole thread and can see that there's a lack of trust there that's stopping people subscribing. However, I really think it's essential that we not let this go. I think it's more important than people realise and it's very worrying to see so many people ready to give up.

Even to those who don't like the management, would you really be happy for boards to be gone? Yes, the lack of reassurance from Odhran is worrying but he did keep the site going until now and we don’t know what goes on behind the scenes. And €50 (or €6!) is not very much to lose for the sake of not giving up hope. A year from now, would you miss €50 or would you miss boards?

I also think people should take what they read here with a pinch of salt. It seems like there are lots of posters with chips on their shoulders, returning from reddit or wherever else to post negativity like we’ll never reach 2000 subscribers etc. They want it to fail! 2000 subscribers is only unachievable if we let that sort of negative talk influence us. How many are not subscribing because they think the numbers won't be met? Every number counts. I think there would be easily 2000 people who would subscribe but lots will be swayed by the masses, so we can't let the naysayers be in the majority.

As for the people with genuine complaints about various issues, surely a boards with issues is better than no boards at all? I get the frustration and would love to see people's concerns about it being taken seriously by the management. However, maybe it's an issue that could be pushed more once the fundraising campaign is over. Maybe the focus should be on survival first. Think about what there is to lose here.

I'm hoping for something to be done to enable carrier billing as I have almost €200 of 3 credit that I would love to give to boards. It's been asked a lot already so, assuming they actually want our money, I'm hoping something will happen there. If not, it goes without saying I will be subscribing anyway but I'll wait a bit more in case that becomes an option.

I seriously think there are so many people who don't know about this. I've been telling everyone I know and it's the first they've heard of it. There must be enough of us here who care a lot, who can maybe get together and coordinate a plan and get the message out more. If we want boards to survive, I think as a community we could do a lot to support the management. There have also been a lot of ideas put forward already for fundraising etc. Maybe we could set up a volunteer group for those who want to help or would be good at coordinating those ideas and putting things in action?

@Boards.ie: Odhran I know you've said you won’t discuss a detailed plan until we pass this hurdle but would you at least be willing to commit to some sort of guaranteed timeframe that you’ll keep the site running for if you get enough subscribers? I think that might reassure some people who are on the fence.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 14,219 ✭✭✭✭Snake Plisken

Again you are answering for someone else( Now that is weird! We have politely asked why he is posting elsewhere slagging boards off its owner off and labelling all the issues with boards down the the "far right incels". And finishing with the line "I'm surprised it's lasted this long honestly" . So all we asked is if a senior moderator has supported the site and subscribed but based on comments elsewhere I have my doubts.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 25,451 ✭✭✭✭Kermit.de.frog

Every moderator should be a subscriber IMO. That way they have more of a vested interest in moderating properly.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2, Paid Member Posts: 8,661 ✭✭✭corkie

Just an update on the boards extension I created.

• I have update the script, 3 second delay on removing the overlay or displays if everything has been loaded if that happens sooner. Less visible bouncing.
    • Also works as a temp addon for firefox.

Tag me if your interest in the extension, only for paid boards members subs.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2, Paid Member Posts: 1,094 ✭✭✭Dan Steely

Except for New Home. He/She was born to mod. Winner of the Boards.ie Mod of the Year Award 11 years running.

Post edited by Dan Steely on

• Moderators, Arts Moderators, Recreation & Hobbies Moderators, Social & Fun Moderators Posts: 79,078 Mod ✭✭✭✭New Home

HAHAHAHAHAHAHA! HAHAHAHAHAHAHAHAHAHAHA! 🤣😂😁🤣

(yes, I really did laugh out loud. A tad too maniacally, perchance, but it's probably because of all the Coke. And Skittles)

Post edited by New Home on

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2, Paid Member Posts: 3,333 ✭✭✭Genghis

Fair play @corkie for doing this, and in general for being a balanced voice of reason in this thread.

I use Hermit to view Boards, Hermit packages a browser in an app and lets you custom name it etc: it basically works and feels like a 'Boards App' on my phone, which is a much nicer experience than 99 Chrome tabs. That said, I still get bouncing, and still see the notification you are hiding.

Anyway: it seems I can add custom scripts in Hermit and I'd love to give your code a go, happy to report how it works. Assuming I can manage it, of course.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 6,499 ✭✭✭championc

I believe the target is 2000 users ? If so, it's blatantly clear that that hasn't a hope in hell of being reached.

So what is Plan B, or maybe there is no Plan B ?

only for paid boards members subs

Us and them? You just lost any chance of boards getting a sub out of me.

No I didn't even want a copy of your extension and I've run Vanilla vanilla since it was forced on us.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 136 ✭✭reactadabtc

In fairness, Corkie isn't an employee of boards.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2, Paid Member Posts: 9,456 ✭✭✭Backstreet Moyes

It is absolutely nobodies business but it certainly makes a statement.

If a Cmod can't be bothered to pay a few quid to keep the place alive then it looks bad.

It makes it look like he doesn't think boards will hit the target and discourage people on the fence to not bother signing up.

I was not on the fence and happily signed up, if I was 50/50 now then I probably wouldn't bother.

You lead from the top and send a message and this is not a good look.

But probably not the best way to help save boards.

Except it's pretty clear that plenty of mods don't have confidence it'll hit the target. They've been as fecked over by the move over to vanilla and it's no secret so they really don't owe boards something. So singling out anyone is a bit odd.

Post edited by eightieschewbaccy on

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 2,702 ✭✭✭channelsurfer2

so i have reflected on subscribing and decided not just yet as i think there are some mods out there very trigger happy for the most inane reasons, which i wont go into here.

maybe i will change my mind in a few weeks but not convinced yet.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2, Paid Member Posts: 8,661 ✭✭✭corkie

As others replied I'm not an employee of boards. With the extension, I'm already threading on ideas that boards wouldn't want public. They don't want the notice removed for non paid members. And it would also be a means to strip out other content. That's why it is restricted to ad free paid members. That's why I haven't put out there publicly on GitHub and just sharing by chat.

Again threading on a very thin line with it.

Leave a Comment

Rich Text Editor. To edit a paragraph's style, hit tab to get to the paragraph menu. From there you will be able to pick one style. Nothing defaults to paragraph. An inline formatting menu will show up when you select text. Hit tab to get into that menu. Some elements, such as rich link embeds, images, loading indicators, and error messages may get inserted into the editor. You may navigate to these using the arrow keys inside of the editor and delete them with the delete or backspace key.