If we do not hit our goal we will be forced to close the site.

Current status: https://keepboardsalive.com/

Annual subs are best for most impact. If you are still undecided on going Ad Free - you can also donate using the Paypal Donate option. All contribution helps. Thank you.

Ryan Tubridy ; Has he paid back the Irish Tax Payer ?

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 2,420 ✭✭✭witchgirl26

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 1,899 ✭✭✭donspeekinglesh

Irish broadcaster Ryan Tubridy has repaid RTÉ a sum of €150,000 he received as part of a controversial payment deal made in 2020.

https://www.independent.ie/irish-news/ryan-tubridy-repays-150000-at-centre-of-rte-payments-scandal/a1829990172.html

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 287 ✭✭rdser

How long before Tubs is back on RTE…!

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 74,097 ✭✭✭✭L1011

Now Ryan, can you cover the seven or eight figures of licence income RTÉ have lost that can be blamed (accurately or not) on this scandal…

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 14,024 ✭✭✭✭TheValeyard

Looks like I picked the wrong week to quit sniffing glue

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 287 ✭✭rdser

Oh he' ll be back on air soon. ..no doubt. This probably being done before the announcement of the winter schedule for that very reason.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 4,872 ✭✭✭RoTelly

Well you have to congratulate Tubs on this payment. It will be interesting to see how things pan out, however we may feel. I think it puts an end to this part of the controversy.

______

Just one more thing .... when did they return that car

Yesterday

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 1,746 ✭✭✭tom23

best laugh I’ve had all day. thank you. I needed that.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 75 ✭✭Torcaill

….

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 2,132 ✭✭✭Cyclingtourist

"It does to my satisfaction as it explains why he didn't bring it up in his 'defence' in front of the Oireachtas."

Well he did, it was in number seven in his list of RTE untruths that he presented in his opening statement.

Meanwhile:

Quote below from the IT

Ryan Tubridy has announced he has paid RTÉ €150,000 in connection with controversial payments made to him that plunged the broadcaster into controversy and led to him leaving the station almost two years ago.

“Earlier today I made a payment of €150,000 to RTÉ,” Mr Tubridy said in a statement on Friday afternoon.

“I made this payment through my solicitor, without any discussions with RTÉ – or with anyone acting on their behalf – and without condition.”

The statement concluded with Mr Tubridy stressing he had “said on various occasions that I intended making this payment and I’m happy to have been able to do so today.”

Ryan Tubridy announces €150,000 payment to RTÉ after financial controversy – The Irish Times

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 35,184 ✭✭✭✭gmisk

The cynic in me thinks this is so RTE will throw some work his way....

I think he realises the grass isn't greener with gigs like the virgin radio one in the UK not exactly well paid by his own high standards...

I think his slot in RTE is up big time since he left.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 100 ✭✭Lando Griffins OTHER HALF

The fact that he said "I've said on various occasions that I intended making this payment and I’m happy to have been able to do so today.”, finalises the question of whether he should have. Despite some on here suggesting he had no obligation to do so, the git himself knew that to be untrue, if only morally.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 75 ✭✭Torcaill

Haters will always hate.

Nothing they hate more than to admit they were wrong.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 37,244 ✭✭✭✭odyssey06

No, that was to do with a report that the exit fee had been paid.
    Nothing to do with citing the €120,000 figure in relation to a 'defence' against having to pay back the €150,000.

And anyhow, contrary to the claims made on the thread implying that Tubridy shouldn't pay it back, that there was no mechanism by which he could pay it back, that the €120,000 somehow cancelled out the €150,000 etc

Seems like he had done what the majority wanted and paid it back.

"To follow knowledge like a sinking star..." (Tennyson's Ulysses)

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 2,060 ✭✭✭PeadarCo

He had no legal obligation to but obviously he felt he had a moral obligation to. Or put it another way he could never have been forced to hand back the money. It was always his choice.

Fair play to him, I don't think many people expected him to pay back the money once from a legal perspective he was in the clear. This thread is testament to that.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 92,394 ✭✭✭✭JP Liz V1

Who is next to pay back , Dee , Marty ?

What will this repayment be used on though

https://www.rte.ie/news/2025/0808/1527560-ryan-tubridy/

Yeah haters will always hate alright. Seems like some people are hating that Tubridy paid it back, given all the posts and arguments put forth trying to excuse him from doing so.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 4,098 ✭✭✭Montage of Feck

Ah damn it, Tubridy is no longer the scapegoat for inept public broadcasting. Who can we pilory now?

🙈🙉🙊

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 3,755 ✭✭✭Pauliedragon

At least that question is sorted.

https://www.rte.ie/news/2025/0808/1527560-ryan-tubridy/

So despite all the attempts to argue that the offer to repay was conditional… Tubridy's actions and words contradict that (assuming they are sincere):

"I made this payment through my solicitor, without any discussions with RTÉ - or with anyone acting on their behalf - and without condition.

"Nothing to do with citing the €120,000 figure in relation to a 'defence' against having to pay back the €150,000."

Yeah but what you said was that he didn't 'bring it up in his defence in front of the Oireactas'.

He did and I can supply a link to him saying it 'in his defence' during his opening statement.

"And anyhow, contrary to the claims made on the thread implying that Tubridy shouldn't pay it back"

Not something I ever suggested. I said it was his money and what he did with it was his business. I also said he might in the future and now he has.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 1,645 ✭✭✭Peter Dragon

There is zero reason to doubt his sincerity, he’s always been a man of the highest integrity and a world class broadcaster.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 1,645 ✭✭✭Peter Dragon

I am a little disappointed however that it took him over 2 years to repay the monies owed.

I suspect that it took that time to find a way to pay it back as some have suggested here that if would be impossible to do so. Clearly, where there’s a will there’s a way.

Bravo Ryan! I look forward to your return to our screens and national radio soon!

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 1,845 ✭✭✭cmac2009

Lots of sycophantic Turbidy fans still around. Remarkable given all that went on, but sure we have form in Ireland for that type of bizarre behaviour. Probably big Michael Lowry fans too 😂.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2, Paid Member Posts: 13,934 ✭✭✭✭machiavellianme

Huh? Paying back money that wasn't his should not be conflated with ability to perform at the level required. He is still entirely inept and incapable of striking a rapport with any interviewee on any topic outside of JFKs visit to Ireland and his own Irish celebrity bubble.

Save boards.ie by subscribing: https://subscriptions.boards.ie/

lol !

Not me, hasn't gone up or down in my estimation over the last thirty minutes.

Think I might go back over this thread though and quote a number of posts where the haters said he'd never do what he just announced he has done.

An utterly disingenuous post from start to finish.

That's not the question that was put to you.
    Where at the Oireachtas does he cite the €120,000 as a reason not to have to repay the €150,000?
    He doesn't and you know it.
    He brings it up for entirely separate 'defence'.

Your posts were offering up excuses as to why he didn't need to pay it back, and implying that anyone who was critical of Tubridy for not paying it back was a 'hater' (a pure drivel phrase used repeatedly in your posts when it was obvious even to you your excuses were going nowhere).

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 1,627 ✭✭✭hawley

Hopefully he'll be back on RTE pretty soon. Fair play to him for giving back the money. There was no legal requirement for him to return the money. You'd really have to admire him for what he has done since leaving RTE.

Communication was the greatest fatality

Well he belatedly did the right thing in paying back the money but there's no need for him at RTE… his much vaunted move with Q102 hasn't been a success audience wise. Those who have taken on his programmes at RTE are doing at least as well as he was.