Hello all! Please ensure that you are posting a new thread or question in the appropriate forum. The Feedback forum is overwhelmed with questions that are having to be moved elsewhere. If you need help to verify your account contact hello@boards.ie
If we do not hit our goal we will be forced to close the site.

Current status: https://keepboardsalive.com/

Annual subs are best for most impact. If you are still undecided on going Ad Free - you can also donate using the Paypal Donate option. All contribution helps. Thank you.

Manchester United Thread 25/26 - Teamtalk/Transfers/Gossip Mod Note in OP 26.09.24

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2, Paid Member Posts: 14,381 ✭✭✭✭JRant

They both need game time playing together to start building a partnership IMO. Chopping and changing the midfield every game isn't doing the players any favours. Ugarte didn't have his best game but he was good in the others and it's only preseason after all.

"Well, yeah, you know, that's just, like, your opinion, man"

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 1,943 ✭✭✭NITRO95

Every bit of news that has come out in the past 3 or 4 days has been quite clear, Utd have told Leipzig that we will bid the appropriate amount if Sesko chooses us. Nothing has changed. There's no faffing about, no drama. People are just getting drawn in by the noise surrounding Newcastle. If Sesko doesn't choose us then I'd expect we'll move on either Watkins or Vlahovic pretty quickly.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 2,602 ✭✭✭All_in_Flynn

Ugarte had one on Sunday night and he's increasingly looking like he won't survive long term at the club. He's defo a pressing trigger for teams now.

I would give him some leeway for Sunday though in so far as the pitch being awful played into Everton's hands and style. They could be much more aggressive in their pressing than they usually would but even accounting for the pitch he was poor.

Seems to be very few deep lying playmakers around but I think we will see someone signed in that position.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 2,493 ✭✭✭fatherted1969

Scrap Sesko and strengthen the midfield.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 19,067 ✭✭✭✭bucketybuck

Surely the problem is that pre-season looks a lot like last season, no?

The season starts next week, a season in which it is critical that the manager starts well.

And yet we still have the same gaping hole in midfield that was a huge problem last season. They still can't control the ball against anybody.

Start the season with the opposition yet again running through the middle of the pitch and all this ends very quickly.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2, Paid Member Posts: 14,381 ✭✭✭✭JRant

I just don't agree with that at all. We hold on to the ball much better since RA has arrived. Our biggest issue was the final third and already we've seen what the new additions to the team will bring there so I'm confident we will improve there.

Are teams really running through the middle of the pitch at us though? Ugarte and Bruno both made mistakes against Everton that led to the goals but that's not a system issue, that's players not being switched on and making daft decisions.

When has a team had 20+ shots on us since RA took over? That was happening every game under ETH and we were most certainly getting run through then.

"Well, yeah, you know, that's just, like, your opinion, man"

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 9,846 ✭✭✭johnnyryan89

The issue still being the appropriate amount is a lot of money to be spending on potential this summer. €90M is a lot of money when your midfield still parts like the red sea and if anything happens to Ugarte then it's Casemiro that comes in. And he runs like someone in slow motion.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 25,734 ✭✭✭✭pjohnson

If we pull out of Sesko then fine, but again what was the last week about when we could have been focusing on a midfielder.

"Promising" to bid for a week, doesn't seem like a great use of time regardless but especially not if its all for nothing.

A real lack of urgency in doing business remains a problem. You'd swear we were just putting the finishing touches on a fantastic squad this window rather than trying to overhaul the feckin thing.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 428 ✭✭kyleman

As it stands none of our 4 midfielders have stepped up to the plate.

Collyier is young with but very energetic but may be lacking in quality and Casemiro is the complete opposite.

Was hoping in pre season we would see a much improved Ugarte and Mainoo but neither are convincing as of now.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 2,493 ✭✭✭fatherted1969

Hojlund scored 10 goals in all competitions last season, are we going to ignore the midfield for a possible 8/10 extra ? Service will be much better to RH with the attacking additions we have made so far. Might be fair to assume his output will be much improved this season. Having players who can score is all well and good but we can't be overrun like last year. Is Kone ready for the step up ? Maybe RA is going to go with him

Really not sure what you're failing to understand with the Sesko 'bid'!?

There are 2 clubs competing for his signature. There are clearly things going on to try and get the deal done. There is zero point in getting into a bidding war. Newcastle are in a desperate position and hence why they are trying to force the issue.

There were people giving out about Mbuemo transfer too when it was clear there were things happening behind the scenes and low and behold when the transfer got done it transpired that there were numerous moving parts to the deal and hence the delay.

I'd imagine the Sesko deal is not one that is going to run and run. If I had to guess, a clearer picture will start to develop on it in the next day or two if not today.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 10,311 ✭✭✭✭FourFourRED

Kone didn’t play a minute of pre-season though so probably not.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 1,668 ✭✭✭DataDude

Just looking at goals underestimates how detrimental Hojlund was. He averaged 18 touches per game. He won 25% of his aerial duals and 35% of his ground duels. He averaged a tackle every 10 games and an interception every 20.

It’s not an exaggeration to say he was the worst player in the league to play so many minutes.

He was historically bad.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 11,956 ✭✭✭✭DrPhilG

Exactly. I was very critical of the Mbeumo saga but the Athletic article after it all ended was an eye opener. In reality we handled it pretty well.

The Sesko deal seems to be very well dealt with. United are calm, in contact with the player, and once he says he wants us, we'll submit an offer. If the player comes back and says he wants Newcastle, then we move on.

The freaking out by some in here because we're not kicking Leipzig's door in with 2 offers in 2 days like Newcastle are is hilarious.

Newcastle are in desperation mode because of the Isak situation. They're 2 weeks from the start of the season, likely to lose their star player and they've had a proper sh*t window.

Right then these long sagas aren't a problem for years. People happy with this window best not complain about a weak/understrength squad.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 2,832 ✭✭✭Acosta

He's barely ever at the right place, or making the correct run. It's like a right back being thrown up front. And he tires himself out early in games basically doing the wrong things. Either that or he's never fit enough. He doesn't have the instincts you need to be a successful striker. Arguably the worst transfer in the clubs history.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 9,846 ✭✭✭johnnyryan89

I'd rather us find a solution to CM and get a stop gap this summer for CF. Even if Sesko or Watkins don't come in we still need another CF and can't rely on Hojlund to be first choice.

Zirkzee is grand to change a game but wouldn't want to see him as first choice because he's not an out and out 9. Chido is way too inexperienced to be our only out and out 9 besides Hojlund.

Unless they gamble with Mbeumo at CF and leave Bruno at 10, and spend the big money on a CM. But would rather see Mbeumo or Amad at 10 than Bruno. Feel you'll find him back next to the two CMs trying to get on the ball if its not getting to him quickly enough.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 382 ✭✭Seattle

He scored 10 goals but look at the distribution. 5 of them came in a 4 game spell. And look at the competition/opposition he was scoring against.

Honestly he's been so bad, and no stat can really cover for him.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 7,246 ✭✭✭Iseedeadpixels

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 4,451 ✭✭✭Daroxtar

Sanchez, Sancho, Pogba...

3 epically bad transfers for various reasons.

Just found myself a victim of United's cost cutting!

Went to 3 games last few years, always booked a package with lounge access. Got you in a few hours early, decent seats, and a buffet meal in the lounge.

Buggers have now removed the buffet and just give you a voucher for a meal, drink and a snack on the concourse.

Onana surely up there for one of the worst aswell.

Thanks ETH.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 5,857 ✭✭✭Whatsisname

He's played ahead of one of the leagues best attacking midfielders for 2 years and still the 'service' argument resumes somehow.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 11,070 ✭✭✭✭billyhead

How long does it take him to make his mind up. If he's not 110 percent certain he wants to join us we should move on. Cunha and Mbuemo wanted to join us no matter what hence we had a free run at them.

What? There's been 1 'saga' this summer and there were reasons for it per my previous post.

Just seems like you're complaining for the sake of it.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 2,832 ✭✭✭Acosta

Sanchez was brutal, but up until that point had been outstanding for club and country. His attitude was a disgrace, and his form fell of a cliff after he arrived. And obviously the wages he was on caused major problems for a long time afterwards. Hard to argue with that considering, how it panned out, I guess. But I think most of us were delighted when he signed

The amount spent on Hojlund was ridiculous, after just a handful of goals over half a season with Atalanta.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 7,963 ✭✭✭54and56

I don't disagree with you at all but the club still needs to formally give the player permission to sign a contract with another club and the club who currently holds the players registration doesn't have to give permission to the player to speak with Club "B" just because Club B believes it has matched the terms offered by Club "A" to acquire the player.

Don't think it's that simple.

From what's being drip fed in the press, it seems like he would probably prefer us but I'd imagine there is a lot of money being thrown around.

I don't get this whole, if he doesn't 100% want us over Newcastle then we should move on. Newcastle are a viable option and can offer champions league football. Strikers are extremely rare and it seems like he has been identified as someone with huge scope. You don't just move on because he hasn't instantly said 'Utd or nobody' especially if there are very few viable alternatives for the position.

Every other club gets multiple deals done in the time it takes us to do one.

But its all good. We'll be set by deadline. No worries at all.