Hello all! Please ensure that you are posting a new thread or question in the appropriate forum. The Feedback forum is overwhelmed with questions that are having to be moved elsewhere. If you need help to verify your account contact hello@boards.ie
If we do not hit our goal we will be forced to close the site.

Current status: https://keepboardsalive.com/

Annual subs are best for most impact. If you are still undecided on going Ad Free - you can also donate using the Paypal Donate option. All contribution helps. Thank you.

Worst/Best Radio Ads rerun edition!

1565758596062»

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 792 ✭✭✭Breaston Plants

O positive. B Negative. O positive. B Negative. O positive. B Negative. O positive. B Negative. Delivered in the most monotone voice.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 405 ✭✭Mr.CoolGuy

Hilarious Allianz ad, the man locked himself out of the house while his wife was away for the weekend! God isn't he an awful eejit?!

Every second ad at the moment has the "god isn't he an awful eejit" gimmick, be it radio or tv. There is pretty much no other trope being used these days. Bonus points if the very very clever wife audibly rolls her eyes at her man child's mistake.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 792 ✭✭✭Breaston Plants

There is an advert running on Newstalk and Today fm. It's for " Go dating". Yer wan doing the voice over says it's fantastic because it's better than other " DaDing" apps because people on it have real " PhoDos". Christ

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 17,124 ✭✭✭✭whisky_galore

You couldn't possibly have the woman being the eejit, the feminists would burn the radio station down!

I forget what it was for, but an ad on FB, an image of a woman doing a quite ordinary thing most everyone does, loading a washing machine and the amount of people (mainly women) losing their minds over it was off the charts. OMG they're putting us back in aprons in the kitchen etc. I didn't see that level of ire directed at Vogue in her wee wifey/homemaker ads.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 15,170 ✭✭✭✭retalivity

Theres an ad playing for some podcast in the three arena by 2 scangers/howiyas, i honestly have no idea what half the ad is or who the guus are, whats the context etc. Its the most nasally over the top dub accent ive ever heard, near unintelligible.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 17,124 ✭✭✭✭whisky_galore

"Go Dayding"

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 186 ✭✭Mohat Mogeansai

sweet Jesus cutting toenails , that , like , todally forced awkward d4 style reeks of fakeness

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 3,128 ✭✭✭endofrainbow

Swords Pavillion, ate our fill again, begin again….

Vinne Byrne's - ever wish your cabinets were a deep bluuuuu or a sweet graaaaaay ?

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 883 ✭✭✭ifconfig

This is wrecking my head. There was an advert constantly running on RTE Radio 1 about some upcoming gig with some male singer songwriter. I remember his name being read out. I didn't like the sound of his songs but it still annoys me that I cannot remember the name of the artist. It played a few clips including one which had a lyric that sounded like "law-ba-law-bah-a-lahhh". Any idea who the artist was ? It was probably running ad nauseum last week at least.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 12,616 ✭✭✭✭thesandeman

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 883 ✭✭✭ifconfig

Turned out it was Tom Odell. Weird thing was that I tried listen back and couldn't find the advert on the listen back

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 405 ✭✭Mr.CoolGuy

"I'm not nagging"

You are nagging. Your message is being repeated every 15 minutes which is the definition of nagging. You were cast in this role because you have a stereotypically nagging voice. The whole point of your ad is to nag

• Moderators, Entertainment Moderators, Paid Member Posts: 11,285 Mod ✭✭✭✭squonk

AquaSana.. Fúck right off with your inclusion of a teams call ringtone in your ad. Aside from it being the chime of death most of the time I actually thought I’d inadvertently dialed a contact by accident on my phone on hearing it. There should be rules about including these sorts of sounds in ads.