Hello all! Please ensure that you are posting a new thread or question in the appropriate forum. The Feedback forum is overwhelmed with questions that are having to be moved elsewhere. If you need help to verify your account contact hello@boards.ie

If we do not hit our goal we will be forced to close the site.

Current status: https://keepboardsalive.com/

Annual subs are best for most impact. If you are still undecided on going Ad Free - you can also donate using the Paypal Donate option. All contribution helps. Thank you.

Buying a car, owner out of the country. Scam ?

• 01-08-2025 01:57PM
    Registered Users, Registered Users 2, Paid Member Posts: 19,174 ✭✭✭✭

IMG_7323.jpeg

So rang about a car on DD.
    Grand car, suit my daughter perfectly.

Chap is out of the country until end of the month but his mate is showing the car and has logbook, keys etc to show it.

It will be a cash sale, less than €5k, this is all her money so a big deal for her

If logbook matches vin, everything else is ok, cash for car swap.

Could I be missing a scam here ??

I checked online and it says transferred to motor dealer in July but no change of ownership, the chap is obviously a small dealer.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 1,347 ✭✭✭Schorpio

Has the guy admitted that he is a dealer? Lots of one-man-bands don't want to advertise that they are dealers as there could be recourse if things were to go wrong post-sale.

Also, guy is a dealer who is out of the country. His mate is showing the car. Cash sale. Presumably no receipt.

That would be more than enough red flags for me to keep walking.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2, Paid Member Posts: 19,174 ✭✭✭✭_Brian

only car he has for sale on DD, with 2 previous ads

His number isn’t on WhatsApp 🤔

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 19,086 ✭✭✭✭Del2005

So they have told you a few lies which you have already found out. It was sold to the trade and he's claiming he's selling for a friend, who must be in the trade for the trade sale. A 2nd hand dealer wouldn't get a mate to sell a car when they go on holidays.

Just walk away. It could be a legitimate sale but it's raising too many red flags to risk it for a cheap motor.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 9,970 ✭✭✭User1998

I had one of my mates sell a few cars for me while I was away travelling for a couple of months. None of the cars were registered in my mates name. As long as the logbook matches the car you are good to go IMO. Logbook name is pretty much irrelevant.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 6,034 ✭✭✭Buddy Bubs

I wouldnt advise to buy a car in that situation to be honest. Car may not belong to the seller, there could be any amount of shady practices going on.

1st August out of country until end of the month? Possible, but unlikely.

I sent a few messages there and eventually he said he took it as a trade in so he’s a small time dealer passing as a private seller.

He did try to let in he’d owned the car for a while and it was trouble free for him but that’s a crock of sh1t

I’ll keep looking.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2, Paid Member Posts: 17,685 ✭✭✭✭elperello

Good call.

If it was your own money maybe take a punt but when helping your daughter best to be cautious.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 2,996 ✭✭✭9935452

There are enough legitimate cars for sale best to avoid

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 5,993 ✭✭✭MojoMaker

Private flippers/"dealers" are the scourge of the 2nd hand car market.

I think it kind of depends on the source of the cars. I import over 90% of my cars, so its not like I’m taking a car off the market and reselling it for a higher price. I’m adding cars to the marke that weren’t previously available. Same with lads buying trade ins from auctions and local dealers. These are trade cars which wouldn’t have been accessible by the public anyway.

But there are a lot of lads who are constantly refreshing Donedeal buying from private sellers and flipping for a profit. I even notice it when I am trying to buy cars. Its mostly just part time dealers selling cars.

• Moderators, Arts Moderators, Recreation & Hobbies Moderators Posts: 11,139 Mod ✭✭✭✭Hellrazer

It sounds a bit dodgy but I'd be more concerned at why you are buying an astra?? What engine etc…some of them are absolute **** heaps.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 1,493 ✭✭✭BlakeS94

I bought my current car 4 years ago from a private seller with a sob story about his father that gave me the keys with dealer tags and a receipt 😂 it was cheap so I didn't ask questions

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 1,063 ✭✭✭mykrodot

It's not the same thing but I'm selling a Husqvarna motor mower for a friend of mine on Marketplace. He lives in the UK most of the and has a holiday home in Kerry where I live. He wants me to sell the mower cos he's away 10 months of the year and just needs it sold before the end of Summer.

So sometimes these one off sales are legit!

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 19,086 ✭✭✭✭Del2005

It's the trying to avoid the legal protection that you get from buying from a dealer that's the problem with people flipping cars, you are in the trade so should be standing over your product not pretending to be a private seller.

As for them buying up cars that wouldn't be available to the public. The only cars that aren't available to the public are the ones going to Authorized Vehicle End of Life facilities, every other car traded in is available to the public. All the part time trader does is remove the rights of the buyers by pretending to be a private seller. It's easy to make money when you are ignoring the law.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 3,926 ✭✭✭littlevillage

I buy and sell lots of yokes, cars, vans, machinery.

I find that you catch out a seller in a blatant lie, then it kinda ruins the whole transaction... because you are naturally suspicious of whether they might be telling other lies as well.

Probably better off to just walk away.

I usually sell cars in the €7k to €13k price range and I always price them at least €2k below dealers. I know consumer law states that this is a disguised business sale and I should be giving warranty etc etc but I think what I do is fair enough considering I sell the cars for a price that is in line with private sellers who obviously do not provide warranty.

I disagree that all cars are available to the public tho. Main dealers will not sell most of their trade ins to the public, a lot of smaller dealers will not sell their trade ins to the public either, car auctions are designed for the motor trade although they do allow private bidders. And for the likes of me importing cars these are new to the market and wouldn’t have been purchased by private buyers either

Personally I am happy to tell anyone that I sell cars. I have never lied to someone about that and feel like its much better to be honest from the start. Meet them at my home address, have all the cars registered to me etc etc