Hello all! Please ensure that you are posting a new thread or question in the appropriate forum. The Feedback forum is overwhelmed with questions that are having to be moved elsewhere. If you need help to verify your account contact hello@boards.ie
If we do not hit our goal we will be forced to close the site.

Current status: https://keepboardsalive.com/

Annual subs are best for most impact. If you are still undecided on going Ad Free - you can also donate using the Paypal Donate option. All contribution helps. Thank you.

Conor McGregor Megathread *Mod Warning in OP Updated 20th April*

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 3,694 ✭✭✭Hoboo

”keep looking” ?? I think she’s absolutely right and I’ve never once defended that scumbag.

She contradicted herself, end of.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 31,548 ✭✭✭✭Wanderer78

trauma thinking and behavior is not rational, there can be all sorts of backtracking and contradictions in it

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 10,162 ✭✭✭✭Oscar_Madison
    #MEGA MAKE EUROPE GREAT AGAIN

The “escalations” have been happening for years now- it’s his “normal” behaviour

Oh dear- so Larry will be paying his own costs-“apparently”- or is this just another manoeuvre

“You are out of your f**king mind if you think I am paying James Lawrence legal costs, folks. Who said I was paying his fees?"I said I didn’t know if I was, when the accuser’s barrister asked me on the stand, as I didn’t (who is paying his own fees I should have asked him at that time).”

Then he goes on to criticise his own legal team-I guess it beats having to reflect on how you find yourself in this position - just lay the blame elsewhere- sher who wouldn’t believe ya!

“McGregor’s online rant then went on to criticise his own legal team over the decision to withdraw two witnesses from the appeal after they came forward alleging they had new evidence from the night Ms Hand said she was raped by McGregor.“
    https://m.independent.ie/irish-news/courts/conor-mcgregor-says-he-wont-pay-friend-james-lawrences-legal-costs-over-nikita-hand-case-after-appeal-fails/a580950652.html

exactly! this becomes normalised over time, its very likely he was showing signs of abnormal behaviors in childhood, but nobody effectively reacted, so here we are!

again, prepare for escalation

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 254 ✭✭LastApacheInjun

I don't pity him in the slightest.

The fact is, the vast majority of violent criminals either a) suffered some kind of trauma as a child, or b) were born with a mental disorder. Some mental disorders are treatable, such as schizophrenia, ADHD and bipolar disorder. And they should be treated, for the good of society. Not because the people are vulnerable, but because their potential victims are vulnerable, and the potential to commit crime should be minimised.

Some of the effects of trauma can be treated, and should be treated, for the good of society.

Some mental disorders, such as narcissistic personality disorder, sociopathy and psychopathy are not treatable. In which case if those people commit crimes they should be removed from society for as long as possible.

Mr McGregor is unlikely to ever seek treatment as he has no insight into his own behaviour. That's very common. It will only be when he eventually is jailed, overdoses or suffers a full mental breakdown (whichever comes first) that treatment might be attempted. Of course if he was born with any of the untreatable disorders, none of it will do any good.

“She contradicted herself, end of.”

Who said suing the pr1cks who made your life hell or tried to, isn’t part of the healing process? I’d personally find it very healing I must say, finding justice for the perpetrators of my misery

dbt does seem to work reasonably well with personality disorders, but its extremely difficult to encourage people with such disorders into treatment, but bpd clients tend to interact best, with other cluster b's less likely to engage, i.e. npd's and aspd's.

our legal systems rarely effectively react to such critical problems, generally leading to escalation

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 31,682 ✭✭✭✭blanch152

Mad stuff, just read the article. Giving loads of ammunition to Nikita Hand. Retraumatising her.

Wouldn't be surprised if her lawyers seek an injunction restraining him from public comment on the case.

It so short sighted isn't it? I know the old-school train of thought is "put them in jail and it'll put them off doing another crime" when every statistic shows that doesn't work. I'm not saying people shouldn't be removed from society if they commit crimes. But they should be removed in order to protect society, while treatment for whatever underlying issue is attempted. If the person refuses treatment, then they stay in jail, simple as. And that treatment should extend beyond whatever jail term, making it compulsory to attend treatment or you'll be returned to jail.

Conor McGregor needs treatment. Not because he's vulnerable or to be pitied, but because he will continue to commit crimes and it will only get worse. Should he be in jail too? Sure. But what's the point of that if he reoffends the minute he gets out?

absolutely, he ll just keep getting worse and worse and worse, so more crimes it ll be so…..

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2, Paid Member Posts: 23,093 ✭✭✭✭2smiggy

can the DPP still take a criminal case against him for rape ? Perhaps they were a bit too cautious earlier on

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 306 ✭✭Ivor_Guddon

everybody else's fault but his own

we all have a friend like this or used to , he's just a high profile class A muppet

and i'm delighted for the downfall

of course his issues are his fault, but not entirely, we have failed to react to his needs, he should be in jail, but receiving effective help, but thats not gonna happen, so get ready for more crime

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2, Paid Member Posts: 19,041 ✭✭✭✭nullzero
    °°°°°

She's a victim of a scumbag but she doesn't come across brilliantly herself tbf. Probably not a person I'd want to have a conversation with never mind vote into the office of president.

Is there a silver lining down the line with all this? Maybe Mcgregor pisses off permanently to live elsewhere.

Glazers Out!

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 26,254 ✭✭✭✭Larbre34

A great day for the law, and for Nikita Hand.

With any luck, the DPP will be able to take cases of perjury and perverting the course of justice against all those mentioned to court, and secure convictions.

And also that Nikita Hand will secure very, very substantial damages from the rapist in this matter.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 31,682 ✭✭✭✭blanch152

Will her new claim for damages be heard by a jury or a judge?

I think defamation cases are only heard by a jury, other claims go before a judge. If I am right, and given what the current judges have said about this person, he is in a lot of trouble, could be the highest settlement ever, given the aggrevating factors.

• Moderators, Computer Games Moderators, Social & Fun Moderators Posts: 18,972 Mod ✭✭✭✭Kimbot

Sure during the trial didnt McGregor himself state that he was paying his Co-accused's legal fees. Its a record of court now so how on earth does he think he can back track on it hahahahahaha

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2, Paid Member Posts: 23,093 ✭✭✭✭2smiggy

hopefully she can get the money she should have got after the civil case now. mcgregor seems to be digging a hole from himself, thinking he is untouchable, by gragging her back before the courts.

Again I think the DPP should reconsider filing rape charges. With the arson attack on his pub, and how this trial has gone, maybe it is dawning on him that he is not particularly liked.

Actually, that's a good point. He definitely said that he was paying Lawrence's legal fees in the course of his testimony. If he's saying now that he never had any intention of paying Lawrence's fees then he has admitted to lying on the stand. Another perjury. This just gets better and better. People should encourage him to post more on X - the more nooses he ties for himself, the more entertaining this all is.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 19,170 ✭✭✭✭VinLieger

She hasn't in any way contradicted herself, you just wish she had for some bizarre reason

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 2,316 ✭✭✭Large bottle small glass

The decision on Lawrence's costs is unusual and it's legalese speak for "fcuk ye scrotes".

I like the immediate aggressive stance to protect her name. Discovery of phone records, banking records and the like is going to be fun.

Sworn affidavits and then withdrawing, they are going to be forced into court after all.

There'll be a bit to go in this yet.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 1,285 ✭✭✭ellejay

• Moderators, Category Moderators, Arts Moderators, Sports Moderators, Paid Member Posts: 53,838 CMod ✭✭✭✭magicbastarder

can he appeal to the supreme court? he's got deep pockets.

i suspect a conviction for perjury might injure his chances there though.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 2,316 ✭✭✭Large bottle small glass

If he wants to keep building his lawyers pension pot he can.

He'll have to defend defamation proceedings soon enough it seems.

Ching ching

If evidence emerges that would indicate a reasonable chance of a guilty verdict, then yes, the DPP can proceed with such cases - they can decline to proceed for many reasons - but to start with they need clear evidence. There is no time limit imposed on the DPP in such cases - the case can be resubmitted and examined again also .

“Wouldn't be surprised if her lawyers seek an injunction restraining him from public comment on the case.”

Why? The more he posts the better for her in the legal system would be my view- cue “oh my phone was hacked yer honour 😀”

Only on extremely limited circumstances from a legal perspective and/or if it’s shown to be “in the public interest” - now on that note it would be just delightful if the Supreme Court ruled in favour of Nikita - an even more important court 😀

But it’s very unlikely an appeal to the Supreme Court would be successful in the first place - I would bet next months salary it will be shot down pronto by the courts

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2, Paid Member Posts: 6,981 ✭✭✭jj880

Jaysus he's posting some drivel on X. Someone take his phone ffs.

>>> BOARDS IS IN TROUBLE - SUBSCRIPTIONS NEEDED <<<

Info 👉️ Important News!!

Progress 👉 https://keepboardsalive.com/

Subscribe 👉️ https://subscriptions.boards.ie/