Hello all! Please ensure that you are posting a new thread or question in the appropriate forum. The Feedback forum is overwhelmed with questions that are having to be moved elsewhere. If you need help to verify your account contact hello@boards.ie
If we do not hit our goal we will be forced to close the site.

Current status: https://keepboardsalive.com/

Annual subs are best for most impact. If you are still undecided on going Ad Free - you can also donate using the Paypal Donate option. All contribution helps. Thank you.

Manchester United Thread 25/26 - Teamtalk/Transfers/Gossip Mod Note in OP 26.09.24

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 1,943 ✭✭✭NITRO95

Don't you know if you arent a starter at a top 10 club in a top 5 league by age 18 then you're shite and not worth the effort.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 25,729 ✭✭✭✭pjohnson

Harry Kanes loan spell at Norwich proved he wasn't going to make it........hang on.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 3,526 ✭✭✭fergiesfolly

Garnacho undoubtedly has the talent but needs a massive attitude adjustment.

If Garnacho was to come back into the squad, I'd want a written agreement on his future behaviour. I'd expect Harry, Licha, Shaw and Casemiro etc to sit him down and explain how things are going to be. Mouth shut, head down and work your arse off. Any hint of a leak and you're toast. And then do it again in front of the entire squad.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 10,308 ✭✭✭✭FourFourRED

Sky Sports PL channel is showing 30 mins of the Bournemouth game last night at 9:30 if anyone fancies seeing more than the highlights on YouTube (which were great btw, some impressive moments).

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 2,473 ✭✭✭mcburns07

The fact that those 4 are the "voices of reason" shows where the club is at…..

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 9,843 ✭✭✭johnnyryan89

Damn someone needs to warn Brighton they may have wasted £30M on a 18yr old kid they bought from Greece who wasn't even an established starter for his team.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 56,021 ✭✭✭✭Headshot

Seen these on the BBC gossip page

B Leipzig are among several clubs looking at Rasmus Hojlund and Manchester United could use the 22-year-old Denmark striker as part of a swap deal to sign Slovenian forward Benjamin Sesko, 22, from the Bundesliga side. (Athletic - subscription required, external)

Manchester United outcast Jadon Sancho is ready to accept a 50% pay cut as the 25-year-old England winger eyes a return to Bundesliga side Borussia Dortmund. (Bild - in German, external)

Chelsea are expected to make an offer for Manchester United's Alejandro Garnacho, 21, before the transfer window shuts and have no concerns over his character after a series of background checks on the Argentina winger. (Telegraph - subscription required, external)

Did they get the Sancho gossip from Waterford Whispers News

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 19,716 ✭✭✭✭y0ssar1an22

main thoughts from watching the min highlights:

there was some nice 1 touch passing so thats good, shows more cohesion.

dorgu cross for rasmus goal was his right foot - i tought 1 footed so be good to see more of that.

mount looked sharp, but need a full season out of him to see what he might actually offer.

midfield is an issue: RA needs to figure out his midfield pairing cos it aint working. few instances of bournemouth bearing down on the defence (1 lead to them hitting the crossbar). casemiro cant run and needs to be on the bench for vast majority of next season.

the above could be affected by the defence not pushing up. they need to be braver. playing out from the back is still an apparent struggle. hopefully once RA settles on 2 CM's this may help.

defensive set pieces: they should have scored at the back post from a corner, and should have scored from another corner. need to work on this.

attacking set pieces: de ligt should have scored from a corner, a goal from a quick free + nearly a goal from bruno not shooting from a free (mount chance) so thats all encouraging.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 2,493 ✭✭✭fatherted1969

How does Mount, Bruno, Amad, Mbeono, Cunha all fit in the team, all similar 10 type players ? Thats without Zirkzee and Hoyland even

Apologies for spelling

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 11,070 ✭✭✭✭billyhead

Bruno in CM, Amad RWB and the other 2 will be behind the striker as No 10s.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 4,946 ✭✭✭Bleating Lamb

Watched the 30 min highlights on Sky,main positives were Dorgu was very positive on his side,Yoro has definitely beefed up physically over the Summer,Amad came infield at times to get on the ball in more space,Mount was very busy and put in some decent corners.

Main negatives were Dalot was beaten up a stick several times,allowing dangerous crosses into the box,so nothing has changed there,Casemiro and Bruno are not going to survive in a 2 if playing together in midfield,were badly exposed several times.Although he did score Hoijlund was up to his old tricks of backing into defenders,continuously failing to hold up the ball or play a pass to a runner.

It’s sad to say and it won’t happen but I’d start the Season with Heaton in goal.He made several good saves again in this game and the players seemed confident with him behind them.

Heaton is by a distance the most assured keeper we have. Its a pleasant surprise not feeling every opposition shot will be an automatic goal.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 22,111 ✭✭✭✭PARlance

Unless Harry can perform a brain transplant, you're living in a lot of hope there.

He should have been kicked out of the club when he posted that picture of himself in a villa jersey.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 4,201 ✭✭✭Jofspring

He pretty much has been.

If what the players on the tour are saying is true and a good team spirit and moral is building with improved performances to go with it then any of the players being re-integrated would be madness.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2, Paid Member Posts: 1,102 ✭✭✭Technophobe

It's absolutely bullshit that they can get away with this crap whilst still being paid ..or shoe on the other foot, what about the club deciding not to pay him whilst he is "nursing" an injury.. imagine the outcry..

Way too much power on player's side now

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2, Paid Member Posts: 1,102 ✭✭✭Technophobe

That's the least of our worries.. They are 4 seriously experienced players.. Doesn't highlight anything really..I would be happy for them to tell him what to do

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 3,845 ✭✭✭AidoEirE

I laughed when you said "head down and work your arse off" and included Shaw. The man has missed more games than he played probably.

"Be injured all season for this club, get close to recovery and suddenly houdini fit for the euros for 1 game".

Its okay though because he got injured again as the new season started.

Shaw should have no say in anything about United, cause he isn't a united type of character at all.

Actions have spoken louder than words with him.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 2,397 ✭✭✭Quags

Palhinha heading to Spurs for loan with €30m option next summer

Licha, Zirkzee, and Onana all back in light training.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 19,716 ✭✭✭✭y0ssar1an22

a sort of non-update from romano. if i was in the brains trust, i would stress to garnacho he can wait all he wants, but we will not sell for cheap on the last day. we can easily swallow the cost of your wages so dont need to sell you. if you want to play in the WC next summer maybe be a bit more proactive.

Alejandro Garnacho, keen on joining Chelsea.

It was his priority in January and he’s still keen on the move this summer.

Chelsea considering to bid later this month for Garnacho as said for weeks… and he’s waiting for Chelsea as priority despite bids from abroad.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 2,397 ✭✭✭Quags

I am certain he gets paid from interactions on X because he will post a nothing update and then retweet it for more interactions.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 2,657 ✭✭✭Cotts72

They think if they wait we will get desperate and sell for cheaper. If that's the case let him rot in the reserves till January

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 1,943 ✭✭✭NITRO95

Every update from Romano is a non-update. He's never the first source for news, he just posts ASAP after someone else breaks the news and then sticks a Here We Go on an old speculative tweet. He's grand for catching up on news and rumours at the end of the day but I'd never go to Romano looking for first run news. Ornstein, Whitwell, Plettenberg, The Athletic, The Guardian would be the best around for actual news IMO.

All these ITKs, Goal.com etc aren't worth even talking about generally.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 3,035 ✭✭✭kowloonkev

Utterly ridiculous comparisons. Those players made upward moves at every stage.

Chido has been involved in the first team at United for 6 months and played a good few games. He'd learn absolutely nothing going to the Swiss league. It wouldn't improve him or prepare him for PL football in any way.

It's just such a stupid idea even our HR wouldn't do it

Simon Harris is monitoring the situation...

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 10,308 ✭✭✭✭FourFourRED

Do we think there is a possibility that Newcastle sell Isak to Liverpool and then make a deal with Leipzig for Sesko that we can’t match? I know the player appears to prefer United and can’t be forced to sign for Newcastle but could it play out that way is my worry.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 3,035 ✭✭✭kowloonkev

He plays for a club owned by Saudi's, has a three year contract, and would like to play in a World Cup next year. I think Newcastle hold all the cards here and if we sign Sesko then if I'm Newcastle I'm looking for £175m. I mean he is a top player in fairness.

Simon Harris is monitoring the situation...

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 2,493 ✭✭✭fatherted1969

Not sure how reliable Harwood is these days, i dont venture into twitter much.

If utd are serious about Sesko then they're under pressure to wrap it up before Isak starts a chain of transfers

I expect this to be done a lot quicker than the others if theres substance to it

https://x.com/RossHarwood_/status/1951237810054217969?t=uMPoSn8upNKbcsFO1jZRrw&s=19

If Sesko refuses a Newcastle contract waiting for us then Newcastle can't do a thing.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 7,963 ✭✭✭54and56

They can offer him an improved contract and keep upping the €'s until he decides Newcastle is the ideal destination to fulfil his footballing ambition after all 😉