Hello all! Please ensure that you are posting a new thread or question in the appropriate forum. The Feedback forum is overwhelmed with questions that are having to be moved elsewhere. If you need help to verify your account contact hello@boards.ie
If we do not hit our goal we will be forced to close the site.

Current status: https://keepboardsalive.com/

Annual subs are best for most impact. If you are still undecided on going Ad Free - you can also donate using the Paypal Donate option. All contribution helps. Thank you.

Nurse suspended for objecting to a male doctor in changing room

• Moderators, Sports Moderators, Paid Member Posts: 30,385 Mod ✭✭✭✭Podge_irl

Riley Gaines is a filthy, grifting liar to be honest. It's just completely beside the point.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 1,259 ✭✭✭Mr.Wemmick

Muddy the waters and muddy the thinking. Same old, same old..

This isn’t about trans dress-whatever-way-you-like argument. No one cares until it becomes a threat to the legal right to have single sex safe space as is the law of the land that has recently been clarified by the SC. This is and always was about Women and their rights under the law.

The legal point stands. Character assassination only comes into play because the legal defence has nothing.

You hate the subjective mindset because that is how you project it. This is the law. It is clear. There is only one side. Objective - it has nowt to do with the personal.

Example: Mr Smith’s car is written off in an accident through no fault of his own. The law is clear, witnesses documented, insurance company in agreement. Straightforward, done deal..

..but hang on Mr Smith is a casual racist, texts have been uncovered.. why should he get a pay out, doesn’t deserve it.. insulted the other driver after the accident..

Cue: wring hands at the divisive mindset.

The fault lies not in the division, but the lack of critical thinking in society as a whole. Tabloid thinking will wreck your brain.

““Half the world is composed of people who have something to say and can't, and the other half who have nothing to say and keep on saying it.” - Robert Frost

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 3,778 ✭✭✭Hamsterchops

So I said Maybe you'd like to tell us what side of the fence you are on regarding Dr Upton's true nature, as a human being.Is he male or is she female? and which toilets and nurses changing rooms should he/she be using.

And you said …..

"See, the point is that my opinion doesn't really matter. or shouldn't."

Well I think it does matter. Surely society is built on acknowledging the sexes as Male & Female, so that we can shower, disrobe, change clothes or go to the loo behind a door that is marked with male🚹️ or female🚺️

Girls & women through that door, and men through other door with urinals, (other options/icons are available), but in this case, Sandie Peggie went through the door marked women, and Dr Upton was in there … Does it matter?

You also question Ms Peggie's character, and maybe she is racist? maybe she is homophobic, maybe she is an old trollop? She may be, I don't know? But the Big issue here is …. do female nurses including nurse Peggie have the right to use their own changing room, showers etc to themselves, without men being present? That is the issue in this Tribunal + the ideological question of whether or not you believe Dr Upton has changed sex & become a biogical woman?

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 7,892 ✭✭✭Former Former Former

Example: Mr Smith’s car is written off in an accident through no fault of his own. The law is clear, witnesses documented, insurance company in agreement. Straightforward, done deal..

..but hang on Mr Smith is a casual racist, texts have been uncovered.. why should he get a pay out, doesn’t deserve it.. insulted the other driver after the accident..

Well that's sort of bizarre because Mr Smith's racism has nothing to do with his driving ability.

If Mr Smith's car is written off, and it later emerges that he's had five other claims and sued the council for a fall on the footpath, then we might look at it differently. He might spend his evenings volunteering at the homeless shelter and his weekends rescuing mistreated donkeys, it's irrelevant to the question of his claims history.

By the same token, if someone is openly transphobic, homophobic and racist, then it is very relevant to how they might interact with someone who is different to them. Knowing what we know about how Peggie talks about other human beings makes it (to me) far more believable that she was less than respectful and professional in the course of this incident.

Someone laughing at thousands of dead Pakistanis is a very, very odd choice of role model but here we are.

Back to my original point, the thread title is deliberately misleading because she was not suspended for objecting to a man/woman using the women's changing rooms.

You lose the argument off the bat..

Proven: S. Peggie’s 30 year work professional work record is unblemished.

What’s left is gossip, hearsay, character assignation to muddy the fact that legally she has won. I don’t argue with idiotic subjective arguments that make zero sense.

““Half the world is composed of people who have something to say and can't, and the other half who have nothing to say and keep on saying it.” - Robert Frost

See, now it's you who's muddying the waters, I didn't make any comment on her ability as a nurse. Her take on people who are different doesn't mean she's not a capable nurse.

It's exactly like your "Mr Smith" analogy. If Peggie got into a car crash tomorrow, we wouldn't link it to her transphobia or racism, so you're kind of proving my point.

Still waiting for one of you to say that comparing drowning Pakistanis to a bowl of Coco Pops was wrong, btw. Not quite sure how that fits with this hybrid of Mother Teresa and Florence Nightingale, so enlighten me.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 854 ✭✭✭greyday

There is ample evidence to suggest we would not know of allegations against the nurses character if she had not been confronted by a biological male in female changing rooms, the straw that broke the camels back comes to mind where she may have flipped due to the stress of being confronted by the biological male, she may also have become extreme in her views after talking to management who seemed to belittle her concerns about biological males using female dressing rooms, I would think given the circumstances that it was pretty traumatic for the nurse.

If we take the entirety of the evidence we have seen so far, it would suggest the NHS Fife and the Doctor conjured up some sort of fraudulent evidence to bolster their case.

I totally understand why you don’t get it. Your own understanding is so muddled you can’t reason it through to make logical sense.

It then becomes someone else’s fault.. the thread title is all wrong, the mindset wrong.. enlighten me someone coz I’m frustrated and that’s wrong..

Gossip based tit for tat arguing is a weak place to begin to understand anything.

It’s legally clear and was from the get go.

Very interesting points sent to me from a friend earlier and as I’ve not read any of the info related to this evidence.. thought I’d share:

“The claims of the evidence of how racist she is are a few bad taste mostly reposted by her rather than written by her, out of 6000 PAGES of private messages with “friends”, jokes at which the person now doing the complaining also laughed. Moreover there were other equally if not more racist and homophobic conversations in those 6000 pages, in which SP did not take part. Lindsey N’s “explanation” was that this was probably because SP was travelling to/from work at the time and didn’t see them.

And then there are the comments that LN made herself, about Drag for instance, not to mention that she posted identifying information about a real life patient on that same chat group.

If SP’s character is to be judged on the basis of about 4 jokes over a period of seven years, what does that say about all the others and about LN? And if she was such a racist, why did LN continue to go on holiday with her for seven years, in fact up until this all happened? She’s admitted to wanting SP struck off for her disrespectful opinions, so what about her own disrespect when posting in the group about an identifiable patient?”

What a nasty bag of cats these ex-friends are. It really is very bizarre.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 18,414 ✭✭✭✭A Dub in Glasgo

Yes, that is all documented through the KC cross examination of the testimony of those who are brought in to carry out the smear. The juicy bits are then relayed by the media and others to perpetuate the smear. This then gets some of the right on folk excited that they have a way of saying 'whatabout this'

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2, Paid Member Posts: 8,101 ✭✭✭plodder

You're entitled to your opinion obviously. I searched for any links to why she might be called a grifter or a liar and this is the best I could find. She has certainly hardened her attitudes (like many others). And she is working full time as an activist, but it would be a bit rich to criticise her for earning a living from it, when activists on the other side are doing the same, in some cases funded by the taxpayer. Of course, she is full on MAGA and a Trump supporter, which fuels a lot of the hate too.

https://www.assignedmedia.org/breaking-news/riley-gaines-changed-her-story-about-lia-thomas

“Fanaticism is always a sign of repressed doubt” - Carl Jung

• Moderators, Science, Health & Environment Moderators Posts: 18,385 Mod ✭✭✭✭CatFromHue

It is wrong to say that.

Like I said yesterday it's the management and the Doctor who are acting like Enoch Burke as whatsapp messages and private conversation's that have nothing to do with the case have nothing to do with the case.

The case is should a male have access to a women's changing room when we know the women don't want that. Also we already know the answer to this from the Supreme Court clarification about women's spaces earlier this year. That clarification stated that a women's space is for women. Just like Enoch Burke the management and the Doctor are ignoring this and doing a character assassination instead.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 1,815 ✭✭✭George White

https://www.scotsman.com/news/politics/nhs-fife-employment-tribunal-recap-the-latest-in-the-sandie-peggie-and-dr-beth-upton-case-5244152?page=2

Christ.

From this Scotsman article reporting on Peggie's racism and homophobia.

"We are now discussing Ms Peggie's reaction to a close family member coming out as gay.

Ms Nicoll said: "Sandie has a close family member who came out as gay and Sandie was devastated about this.

"She was really unhappy about this and came to me and asked me how I coped with having two close family members who were gay.

"She wanted an in-depth conversation about it but it was a short and sweet reply, I said 'I love my relatives and I want them to be their true selves and it's actually not that difficult'."

Ms Nicoll added:"I thought she was possibly homophobic in the way she was devastated like it was the worst thing that had ever happened to her, and to use the word 'cope' to deal with it.

"I feel I haven't had to cope with anything, it just is what it is. I also feel she possibly didn't highlight her true feelings to me because she knew I had relatives that were gay."

NHS Fife's lawyer asks Ms Nicoll what she thinks Ms Peggie's "true feelings" are. Ms Nicoll said: "She's homophobic. She loves her daughter and I hope she is dealing with it better."

It is incredible how they are trying to hide all this. Do you really want this person on your side? Because the pro-trans side definitely don't want Stephen Ireland (and he was clearly always a self-promoting egotist who most in the LGBT community had no idea even existed, especially when more queer people were likely to think he was the footballer with multiple dead nans).

Like the way they seem

This is not about sides, this is about an employment tribunal against NHS Fife and Dr Upton regarding sexual harassment, belief discrimination and victimisation under the Equality Act 2010. The facts of the case stand on their own merits irrespective of how much a gobshite the nurse is.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 2,047 ✭✭✭Jack Daw

So basically the only thing backing up your argument about an employment tribunal are some comments about something that has nothing to do with the case by some bitchy former friends of hers.

I don't think asking for guidance on how to deal with a close relative being gay is really that big a deal, believe it or not 99% of people do not want their children to be gay if they had a choiuce in the matter between them being gay or not being gay.

I’m very shocked by the way SP had to prove she had a menstrual flood episode which required urgent attention while at work. Upton however complete with male genitalia doesn’t have to prove anything.. this is about the abuse and debasement of a nurse and a woman. She is being annihilated on every level. How dare she think she can stand up for herself and demand her rights? She’s not even a perfect women, but one full of faults and has said horrible things!

As far as the worrying erasing and butchering of language specifying biological females and their bodies, it gets worse each day. It really is horrible and shocking that this continues to go unchecked. I read the official word ‘Mangina’ yesterday for the first time.

This is a quote from the human’s rights council, having trouble linking the document.. ohchr.org

“There has been a concerted international push to delink the definition of men and women from their biological sex and erase the legal category of “women”. Such efforts have undermined the practical achievement of equality between men and women.”

image.jpeg

In a nutshell, should Dr Upton have been recognised as female by his employers, thereby giving him full authorisation to be in the female nurses changing room.

Sadie Peggie may well have outdated vile opinions and attitudes? but should a biological man have been authorised by the Hospital to be in the ladies.

That's what the tribunal was about.

Is Upton male or female, and should he have been in the women's changing room, that's the question.

All the the sideshow about Sandie Peggie being an awful old cow are immeterial, as they are not relevant to the question at hand re Dr Upton.

• Moderators, Science, Health & Environment Moderators Posts: 18,385 Mod ✭✭✭✭CatFromHue

Some of the stuff she said, or was claimed she said, was stupid but people regularly say stupid stuff in private Whatsapp/Facebook groups.

The phrase the punishment is the process is fitting here as the very selective quotes, the entire group chats weren't examined just a couple messages were cherry picked by the NHS team, have nothing to with the case. They're just a part of a hatchet job done by the NHS as they've been clearly found to be incompetent.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 10,185 ✭✭✭✭volchitsa

Right, cos you'd never catch doctors, still less medical students, sharing dodgy jokes in private, whilst remaining totally professional on duty. Would you?

And it's not about wanting her on anyone's side.

This is exactly what happens to rape victims: character assassination of the victim as the abuser's defence for his crime. "She's a b1tch so she deserves it."

It isn't even proven in this case - several of the comments attributed to her have not been proven at all, and others were merely reposted by her. Over a period of seven years, this is the worst they can find - and one of the two who provided the evidence against her has been guilty of worse in that very same Whatsapp chat, so what does that say about her true reasons for trying to smear Sandie Peggie?

For example, about this:

Ms Nicoll said: "Sandie has a close family member who came out as gay and Sandie was devastated about this.

Mrs Peggie's daughter, the one who is gay, says her mother has been nothing but supportive to her. So why would you take what a woman who has a personal grudge against Sandie Peggie has to say about her as gospel, over what her own daughter, the woman the claim is being made about, says?

But more importantly: just like a rape victim, it doesn't matter how nice, or how unpleasant, she seems to be. Her legal rights do not depend on her being a nice person.

I'd have thought everybody understood that by now.

IMO what this is really about is not even a serious attempt by the defence lawyer to win the case by discrediting Nurse Peggie. It's actually about terrifying other women by showing them what will happen to them if they decide to speak up.

Post edited by volchitsa on

"If a woman cannot stand in a public space and say, without fear of consequences, that men cannot be women, then women have no rights at all." Helen Joyce

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 667 ✭✭✭BP_RS3813

Thats an issue nowadays not just with regards to this case but in general. People don't know how to compartmentalise/ignore irrelvant details.

Sadie Peggie could be a racist, homophobic conspiracy nutjob who believes 9/11 was an inside job. All of this has no bearing on this case whatsoever.

You should be able to ignore irrelevant details but unfortunatly most people can't nowadays.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 42,586 ✭✭✭✭Boggles

Some of the stuff she said, or was claimed she said, was stupid but people regularly say stupid stuff in private Whatsapp/Facebook groups.

Making fun as 1000s of people as they being killed in a natural disaster including over 500 children is not just "stupid", it's vile.

Whether her bigotry and racism will have any bearing on the result of the tribunal God knows, but transphobes sure pick strange heroes.

Why would her views on that have any bearing on the employment tribunal which is looking at sexual harassment, belief discrimination and victimisation under the Equality Act 2010?

This is an internet forum not a tribunal.

The fact that she is an openly hateful person is pertinent to the post I responded to.

If that is alright with you?

I used the word vile too in post #78 but it doesn't detract from the issue at large. An analogy might be a rape victim who is rumoured to be cruel to her kids, dishing out corporal punishment and starving them too (according to one witness), but should these claims against the victim have any bearing on the prosecution of the rapist? or should he be let off because the victim is rumored to be a vile person who (might be) cruel to her kids?

sexual harassment, belief discrimination and victimisation under the Equality Act 2010?

Genuine request here - where did you read that? All I've seen is that she's claiming harassment.

Sex Matters website and Wikipedia

https://sex-matters.org/case-briefings/sandie-peggie-v-nhs-fife-and-beth-upton/

https://en.wikipedia.org/wiki/Peggie_v_NHS_Fife

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 14,696 ✭✭✭✭Potential-Monke

A nurse has some dark humour... someone will tell me the sky is blue next!

Epic whataboutery. Fair play to you.

This isn't very complicated and hardly new, hateful racist bigot manufactured outrage, plays the victim in the hope to become a martyr with like minded bigots.

Do you not find it all very boring?

"God knows"? You're not serious? How could her (alleged) bigotry and racism possibly have any bearing on the outcome of an employment tribunal about whether her legal employment rights have been denied her? Do only nice people get employment rights??

Also, it's irrelevant to the case, but I say "alleged" because the allegation is based on a few cherry-picked comments from seven YEARS of a private Whatsapp group which contains worse than what she is accused of saying, and a number of unproven conversations much of which she denies. Moreover even the woman doing the accusing has herself posted dodgy comments about drag and homosexuals on the chat. She also went with her on holiday for seven years despite claiming to find her bigotry unbearable. This bigotry apparently only because a problem after she was suspended for complaining about Beth Upton being in the women's changing rooms. Not a single complaint about it for 30 years.

So I wonder why you seem to suggest it might even potentially have any bearing on the outcome. It can't - it's only being used to smear her character. Just the way a rape victim can expect to have her character attacked by the defence: "pour encourager les autres" (or rather, "not": to let other women know what to expect if they object to being sexually harassed in their changing rooms by someone who has uttered the magic words "I am a laydee".

"If a woman cannot stand in a public space and say, without fear of consequences, that men cannot be women, then women have no rights at all." Helen Joyce

Are you claiming she got herself suspended in some sort of faux outrage victim-play??