Tour de France 2025 **spoilers**

• Moderators, Recreation & Hobbies Moderators Posts: 23,150 Mod ✭✭✭✭Brian?

phenomenal win by Wout. What a legend.

they/them/theirs

The more you can increase fear of drugs and crime, welfare mothers, immigrants and aliens, the more you control all of the people.

Noam Chomsky

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 60,140 ✭✭✭✭walshb

How did Jonas give up minutes to Pogacar today?

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 2,759 ✭✭✭at1withmyself

That's a tad unfair on Jonas, the stage suited his team mates more and 2 of them raced for the win, one of which took the win. I get he's not as exciting as Podge but without him imagine how boring the Tour would be!!

• Moderators, Sports Moderators, Paid Member Posts: 32,765 Mod ✭✭✭✭Podge_irl

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 3,569 ✭✭✭Girly Gal

Totally agree regarding Pog and Vingegaard, Pog enjoyed himself was the main reason the breakaway got away and that the stage was so exciting, but, Vingegaard just rolled home, he really is a joyless rider to watch, had nothing to lose, could have helped his teammates- I know Wout won, but, Vingegaard could have helped, repay his teammates.

Not sure Pog will do many more tours, really seemed to take a huge toll on him, more than previous years. He just didn't have the legs today when Wout went, which is understandable.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2, Paid Member Posts: 15,575 ✭✭✭✭retalivity

Injuries aside, Pog will do the tour every year til 2030 at least, money/sponsors will dictate it

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 8,191 ✭✭✭patrickc

Well done to Ben 9th in the GC

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2, Paid Member Posts: 42,675 ✭✭✭✭eagle eye

It wouldn't have been any bit less exciting without him.

• Moderators, Recreation & Hobbies Moderators Posts: 23,150 Mod ✭✭✭✭Brian?

Thanks for the chat lads, not that I was that involved. Congrats to my mate, Elon who won the league. My wife and son both finished higher than me, again.

But I will be back to win the Vuelta!!!!

IMG_9560.png

they/them/theirs

The more you can increase fear of drugs and crime, welfare mothers, immigrants and aliens, the more you control all of the people.

Noam Chomsky

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 9,972 ✭✭✭Macy0161

Take out Jonas' 2 bad days*, it could've been a much more interesting race, as there wasn't that much between them. We'll never know whether Pog was just being cranky in the final week, or whether he was genuinely suffering, as ultimately he didn't have to do too much. He didn't launch at times full on Pog would've. Wasn't much "joy" from him third week anyway.

*obviously GC riders can't afford bad days, but I wouldn't be that surprised if they tried something new nutrition or supplement wise. Thomas effectively lost a Giro as they decided to try bicarb the day of the final TT.

He was working when I was watching - he was at the front controlling one of the laps of the champs. It was a classics stage and one of the stars of the classics, who also rides GC went for it. Rog stopped to put on his jacket he was that unarsed with the stage.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 33,409 ✭✭✭✭breezy1985

I think if Jonas didn't have those bad days Pog would have just blitzed him on one of the mountains. Every time they came to the finish Pog just went around him for fun

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 11,174 ✭✭✭✭Dodge

we’ll never know about ifs or buts. All we know is the favourite coming in won easily enough.

Overall I enjoyed it. I was worried Pog would end up with 10 stage wins at one point but happy to see breaks win most of the big stages. Obviously Ben’s success helped.

Loved the last day too. Seems all the riders did too. Wonder if they would have if GC wasn’t neutralised but again, we may never know

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 6,961 ✭✭✭EagererBeaver

Did JV really have what might be classically called a bad day other than the first TT? Pog was just better. He never cracked on a climb and lost time the way Pog did on la Loze two years ago. Of his losing margin, 3 minutes of it came from Hautacam and the mountain TT, both of which he was well clear of third place.

Perhaps, but having a kick at the finish isn't the same as having the energy to go from way down the mountain. Sure Jonas outkicked Pog on La Plagne?

Only going on what Jonas said really. His (and most of the teams) TT was well below par, and whatever about Pog being a level above (which he is), I'm not sure Hautacam is that reflective of the difference. I think cranky third week Pog gives Visma and others something to think about anyway. The Visma tactic of making the entire race hard seemed to have some effect, even if not enough.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 563 ✭✭✭lissard

The third week reminded me of several recent third weeks in the Giro - the GC guys are on the limit and the parcours is scary so they are forced to race conservatively. They are human and it shouldn't be a surprise - it's cycling not playstation. Really enjoyed yesterday - great stage, was holding my breath any time they went around those wet corners. Also really enjoyed the Ventoux stage.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 3,077 ✭✭✭Paddigol

I'd agree with all of that.

I think a lot of people are being a bit tough on Vingo, for all sorts of reasons (not 100% coming into the Tour, team not quite at the level of UAE's for maybe the first time, up against one of the all-time greats). Playstation comment is quite apt - if only it was as easy to just decide to attack when you happen to have been trying to hold Pog's wheel for km after km up a mountain on the Tour. What I found noticable this year compared to previous years (and it seems to be getting worse each year) is the lack of any real contenders for GC overall. Vingo was pretty much the only one coming into it with a chance, and nobody else made any attempt to step up. Yes, some great individual performances to achieve career-high placings, but compare it to ten years ago, even when Froomedog was hitching an armchair ride on the skytrain… you had the likes of Nibali, Contador, Quintana, Valverde, Porte, Yates, Dumoulin, Aru, Uran, Landa. Yes, few of them ever quite matched up to Froome or Contador, or would be considered all time GC greats, but when they were team leaders enough of them always stuck their heads above the parapets to have a go. Even Bernal has (for understandable reasons) dropped off the GC radar.

The last few years have simply been Visma -v- UAE. That's a lot of pressure on Vingo, where most of the other teams and riders have given up any pretence of challenging Pog for overall and seem to be reshaping themselves as stage hunting teams on sprint or classic-style stages. The days of TT specialists winning TT stages even seems to be disappearing where we now expect to see the top GC guys battling for the stage win.

If Visma had another team or two willing to try and take Pog/ UAE on, maybe we'd see more exciting stage racing.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 3,655 ✭✭✭gipi

Twice during post-race interviews yesterday, Pog seemed to suggest that he might not contest the Tour next year - just playing with the journos, or would he really walk away from the Tour?

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 1,144 ✭✭✭Raoul Duke

I'm claiming the title of "Best of those who didn't pick Ben Healy!"

Remco was there albeit with zero form who is 3rd best, but the others that aren't also on UAE/ Visma just avoid the big two? No more than the skybots, UAE and Visma just buy up the next best. Redbull going that road if they sign Remco, to go with Lipowitz (Rog about the retire the way he rode?)

But was it really always like this - dominant rider with transitional years between dominant rider? 80's an outlier mainly because of Hinaults knee and Lemonds brother in law!

I think that this is my main take away from this Tour (and the previous few as well - since Roglic could compete). All the young riders who were talked about 3/4 years ago are nowhere to be seen.

Riders who are between the ages of 26-30 in the GC standings (not including the top 2): 5. Felix Gall - will never podium; 10. Jordan Jegat - won't come close to top 5; 11. Ben O'Connor - finished as GC contender; 13. Narvaez - domestique etc.

Basically theres no one in their prime even remotely close to the podium.

Who was missing: Almeida - would have been there or thereabouts with Evenepoel for third. But he's a domestique. Del Toro - great promise, but will be a domestique in the Tour for the next few years. A fit Evenepoel - still young but will be able to be good enough for 3 weeks of the Tour? Am I missing anyone?

The good young riders from this Tour:

Lipowitz - 25 years old in September - is he just a podium/top 5 contender for the next few years? Has made good progress, but I don't see him passing out even Almeida

Onley - 23 years old in October - the most likely of this year's youngsters, but that's largely because he's the youngest. He'll be 27 when Pogacar is 31. But will be Pogacar's domestique by then?

The hoovering up of the good young cyclists by just a couple of teams is the main problem. If Almeida didn't crash out, then I think that Pogacar would have claimed a few more stages. So his absence leveled the playing field a bit. If Almeida was in a different team, then things would have been even more interesting. If Almeida was in the same team as Lipowitz, then small openings of opportunity are created for Vingegaard, rather than relying on his malfunctioning team. Unfortunately though, there's every chance that next year UAE could have Del Toro and Almeida in support of Pogacar.

Red Bull and Decathlon throwing money into the sport is currently the only chance of a good spread of talent. (I will never wish to see Ineos back near the top)

There probably has almost always been one dominant rider. Merckx > Hinault > Fignon > LeMond > Big Mig > Lance > Froome > Pog. With a few years between eras where you might get different riders throwing their had in the ring… LeMond/ Bertie/ Nibbles.

But it's more the lack of any real ambition/ effort to challenge that rider that seems to differentiate the Tour this year. And maybe that is just down to the sheer strength of Pog. It's a bit like in the peak Froome year where the Skytrain cruched everyone - they'd all be hanging on and you'd be shouting at them to attack - surely they must attack now!! But they were just ground down and more than anything seemed psychologically broken. Attack the train and you just have one of three or four Super Doms shut you down only for Froome to spin his way off into the distance when everyone had been worn down.

I just think an undue amount of the burden has fallen on Vingo's shoulders. Maybe I'm wrong, maybe we actually did have a pretty good run of it for the 10 years or so pre-Pog? Maybe this is what it was like in Indurain's time?

TLDR; stop being mean to poor Vingo, it's making me cry 😂

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 33,409 ✭✭✭✭breezy1985

Not sure Fignon makes that list. He is more like Vingo or Lemond really. In most individual sports I can think of a "golden era" is when you are lucky enough to get 2 greats together and it's actually pretty rare.

Lemond probably would've if not being shot in fairness. Coulda/ Shoulda won 85, won 86, missed 87 & 88, won 89, 90. Fignon is a very underrated rider and a personal favourite of mine*, but he also benefitted from Hinault's injuries, especially his first win.

Big Mig era way worse than this - Prologue, plus 2 long TT's where he took minutes in each and that was tour over. Plus a week of flat sprint stages, with the TT, before the mountains. It's actually a blessing we only had half hour highlights and chiappucci to shout for.

*8 seconds from a Giro/ Tour/ Monument treble in 89!

I wonder about all the regrets Visma might have at the end of this Tour. Sure they realise that they didn't have the strongest rider, but that's never a guarantee of victory. The third week showed that Pogacar isn't superman. Vingegaard looked better in the 3rd week (relative to Pogacar) than in the second week. With the benefit of hindsight, they would surely have done things differently.

Only they know for sure if Vingegaard was still strong at the end, but with how hard the Tour finished, maybe they could have saved the team a bit better for those last hard days? Maybe they could have worked with other teams - when Pogacar was isolated, somehow let Lipowitz, for example, go up the road and create more jeopardy for Pogacar. Evenepoel being shite didn't help him at all either.

As for people being mean to him, I agree. If we had a lovely graphic showing how close to death each rider is going up a climb, then we'd have bit more sympathy for them and their tactics. However, he does make it easy for the attackers. Wheel sucking when it's obvious that he's not hanging on for dear life. Yesterday, where he baled on the stage because he had his mind made up before the Tour that it was a "dangerous" route.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 2,353 ✭✭✭Mefistofelino

I think VLAB undercooked their riders. Neither Kuss nor Jorgensen were performing at the level their palmares would have you expect. And I don't know if the new "beefy" Vingo is a deliberate strategy or more a reflection of his badly-interrupted Spring.

Yeah LeMond let Hinault have it in '85. Literally everybody knew it. It certainly didn't hurt his popularity on France.

He was certainly a lot more dominant than Fignon with two world titles on top of his three wins.

Coming back after being shot was an incredible achievement.

He's one of my favourites of all time.

UAE haven't confirmed and Pog didn't say no when asked yesterday. He said he wants a week off and he'll decide then.

So how you or anybody you are taking information from has news that Pog himself doesn't even have is beyond me.

If he wasn't going to ride it he'd have said so yesterday.

He may not ride it but nobody,not even Pog, knows that yet. If he doesn't ride it the Information you are getting is still crap because right now Pog hasn't made a decision about it.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 3,569 ✭✭✭Girly Gal

Was there really any actual genuine contenders during the Team Sky years, we often had Sky 1 & 2, with basically processional stages where Sky completely controlled the stage with an iron fist, it was an absolute bore fest. Contador was passed his peak, and Quintana would always lose too much time in the TTs, only Nibali was of any threat and not a huge threat either.The Giro and Vuelta were a bit more competitive, especially if Froome wasn't involved, but, the Tour was a snoozefest, at least now Vingegaard is a genuine threat to Pogacar, even though it didn't pan out like that this year. There was still some great racing outside of the GC race, which we never really saw during the Team Sky years.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 164 ✭✭LLamachara

I used to wonder how I was ever satisfied with the half hour highlights and then remembered it was the Indurain years.

ITV had a nice compilation at the end of their last ever TDF highlights show last night, showing the tour over the years. They had some great archive packages throughout the tour this year.

Sad to see them go. End of an era.

(Pog actually said it might be his last tour too when ITV told him he was their last ever interview.)