Hello all! Please ensure that you are posting a new thread or question in the appropriate forum. The Feedback forum is overwhelmed with questions that are having to be moved elsewhere. If you need help to verify your account contact hello@boards.ie
If we do not hit our goal we will be forced to close the site.

Current status: https://keepboardsalive.com/

Annual subs are best for most impact. If you are still undecided on going Ad Free - you can also donate using the Paypal Donate option. All contribution helps. Thank you.

No quitten we're whelan onto chitchat 12.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 1,745 ✭✭✭Packrat

And so he should be the little prick of a small bully.

He wouldn't do it to someone 6'4 and built according.

Not to worry, he'll hopefully be patrolling the busy streets of Muff or Dunfanaghy soon.

“The Party told you to reject the evidence of your eyes and ears. It was their final, most essential command”

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 803 ✭✭✭lmk123

imagine what the prick would do if he had someone alone, I’d normally try to see things from the Guards side because they have a lot of s**t to deal with but he’s a dangerous bully and nothing else

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 1,442 ✭✭✭Tonynewholland

He tried to have a go at that young woman just after Danny. What a low life

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2, Paid Member Posts: 11,745 ✭✭✭✭Base price

We put the 50B (with the back hoe/arm draped over the hedge into the field) along the driveway to the yard beside the house so we/dogs can hear it if anyone tries to start it up and move it.

We had two factory fit bulls stolen twelve years ago and another attempt at stealing a pen of eight bulls five years ago.

IMO the best deterrent is a large vehicle blocking the driveway and alert dogs.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 611 ✭✭✭Butcher Boy

Don't worry Danny will put him in his place.He should be fired first thing tomorrow morning.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 119 ✭✭Farney Farmer

Get a boat trip to capri. I’m not one for sight seeing but even I thought it was class.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 9,969 ✭✭✭Birdnuts

A bit like Cork last week, I think they had it too easy in the SF against Meath😕

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 119 ✭✭Farney Farmer

Didn’t like the way Donegal didn’t finish the parade. Lack of respect in my opinion.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 1,745 ✭✭✭Packrat

Despite what I said (tongue firmly in cheek) about relocating him to Donegal, - there shouldnt and I would think won't be any retribution for this. Highlighting it is enough.

A good bollocking from his super about assaulting a member of parliament whilst in uniform should be enough punishment.

Danny comes out of it looking good, he (rightly) looks like a little bollix.

End of story.

“The Party told you to reject the evidence of your eyes and ears. It was their final, most essential command”

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 12,561 ✭✭✭✭Say my name

This was well recorded. The poor donegal player had one job.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 1,645 ✭✭✭cjpm

Jeez could you imagine spending 70 minutes trying to keep Clifford scoreless when he’s on song.

Clifford should run for president of ireland. He's been pushed around and likely called every name under the sun by defenders to get some reaction which he gives none. Only scores.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 192 ✭✭Diarmuid B

You’ve clearly never played corner back in your life or never marked the best player the game has ever seen! Mc Cole done very little wrong all game, marked the best player the game has ever seen..

No disgrace in that.

No point in being smart either.

Which the Donegal team tried to be in being different in not parading today. Like they are supposed to be men not drama queens.

Marty morrissey on the radio was even saying it was disrespectful. Which it was. It blew back big time in their faces in them trying to be special. The booing started then.

That cloud set the tone.

The best team won in every way.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2, Paid Member Posts: 1,533 ✭✭✭Tileman

completely disagree. I was at the match h. Donegal let the themselves down with the parade.
    was a disgrace. He wasn’t looking at the ball or the match at all. He was just interested in stopping Clifford by any means he never stopped for the first min badgering Clifford.
    and I’m at neutral . Just enjoy. Proper football

Post edited by Tileman on

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2, Paid Member Posts: 30,979 ✭✭✭✭whelan2

Donegal did that in the game against meath also. They weren't pulled up about it then. I don't think there's a rule to say the team has to complete the parade but there should be

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 4,362 ✭✭✭Kevhog1988

That Was his job. To man Mark clifford and tbh he did a good job.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 2,941 ✭✭✭50HX

Both teams should finish the parade

The bigger issue for me was 3 times the announcer had to ask for teams to line up for parade. Kerry lined up, he called the first, he called the 3nd time Donegal went into a huddle & eventually lined up after the 3rd call...joke

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 2,431 ✭✭✭awaywithyou

Said It to the lad next to me in croke park today that that was not a good sign from donegal to break away from parade... showed that they were unsettled..

We can say it now donegal beat 2 div 2 teams In quarter final and semi final and the last div 1 team they played before today was Tyrone who beat them and they were very lucky to get over Mayo.. so I'm not sure where the fawning over donegal was coning from....

And then we have jim mcguinness who has won one Sam Maguire against Mayo... a county every team has beaten in an all ire final... and Jim's players today not even one of them would chance a 2 pointer... Jim and donegal are going nowhere if he doesn't get his players hitting over the 2 pointers...

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2, Paid Member Posts: 30,979 ✭✭✭✭whelan2

When louth were playing Donegal they somehow managed to get lost on their way to the game. They rang and asked for kick off to be delayed to get a bit more time to warm up etc. The county board said yes but mc Guinness said no. Glad they lost yesterday.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2, Paid Member Posts: 2,388 ✭✭✭Castlekeeper

I thought the tactic failed miserably, McCole only won one ball that I recall? Thee art of man marking is to watch the ball simultaneously. Clifford took both of them out of the game as it suited, but joined in to score himself at his own discretion.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2, Paid Member Posts: 2,388 ✭✭✭Castlekeeper

Thanks for sharing,I actually thought that was one of the most pathetic and depressing 2 minutes of gaelic football I've ever watched.

The game is poor.

Media briefing at Turnberry

Reporter : President due you think there is a humanitarian crisis in Gaza?.

Trump : I don't know about that, those children do look hungry

At which point Starmer stepped & took over the narrative.

I didn't think it was possible to run out of words in the English language to describe Trump.

He's mentally not well

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 944 ✭✭✭Sacrolyte

He mentally seemed to do ok in his dealing with Ursula.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 4,362 ✭✭✭Kevhog1988

Are you mad. Clifford is a generational talent. Kerry had their tactics spot on yesterday and used cliffords accuracy to perfection. His pace and power for that 10 yard run is a joy to watch.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2, Paid Member Posts: 6,083 ✭✭✭roosterman71

What would be the best way to break this stuff up? Was well overgrown with grass mostly, that was sprayed but the kill wasn't fantastic. Scrapped some of the scraw off with a digger and am left with this now. It will eventually be a lawn.

2025-07-21 19.33.56.jpg

No, I don't think so anyway, it's more the preceding two minutes of non-competitive walking with the ball I found appalling, especially in a supposedly all action sport.

BTW I think David Clifford is the greatest ever gaelic footballer bar none, but neither your comment or that are relevant to my point.

On the specific score, the defender lost concentration at exactly the wrong moment, (despite having a hooter to remind him!), and allowed DC break easily on his inside shoulder, without even a shimmy or a dummy, got turned, putting himself completely out of the picture for even a challenge to the shot.

First training for a good defender should be handling calves or sheep! You'd be able for most lads after growing up with that.

Powerharrow or if the area is a bit bigger to get enough speed a discharrow. Followed by a landleveller. Can go with the harrow again for some areas that are high followed again by the leveller. Then sow seed, some 10.10.20. and roll.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 25 cleanfarmer2025

Had the fright of my life yesterday and still can't get it out of my head.

With the old man trying to get a fertilizer spreader onto the second tractor. Cab lever wouldn't work the valves enough to pull the top link. So he goes on about changing which pipe the hose is connected to but at this point the pressure is on the pipes so he switches off the tractor and goes fiddling with the valves from in behind the tractor.

He tells me get into the tractor and pull the level forward or back to release the pressure. I think he eventually gets one out or in and then says to me turn on the tractor.

The top link pulls in immediately. He roars something like pull the lever back pull the lever back, or something like that. I paniced. jesus christ I roared. I thought he was done. The feeling is one I couldn't describe, like the worst nightmare coming true.

After what was probably 5 seconds but felt like more he says don't panic, pull the lever back. It wouldn't do anything. Turn the tractor off he says.

I get out thinking he's trapped but comfortable but luckily he wasn't under any immediate crushing pressure, just in an awkward kind of stance on one leg with the other leg left over the arm. I was asking what do I do, thinking of maybe trying to knock the pin out of the hydraulic ram on the spreader. Wouldn't work he said. Ring the neighbour he said. He came and said to let the oil out of the ram. Old man did that then and got out.

Checked my watch later, my heart rate reached 156

Post edited by cleanfarmer2025 on

I think the broader point you are trying to make is the new rules have changed the game where at times it is now like basketball just on a bigger court with the working of play around the arc.

The upshot of the rule change is that it has brought skill back into the game...it'll take a long while for a lot of clubs & inter county teams to fully embrace this as they have been so brainwashed by defensive set ups that the key skillset of the change namely fielding & foot pass was never the priority focus for a lot of training.

Your last point about handling calves& sheep whilst maybe tongue in cheek would have been v relevant up to the rule change, not so now as man handling a player will result in the play being brought forward.

I have always said there is gym strength & natural work strength...two completely different things imo.