Hello all! Please ensure that you are posting a new thread or question in the appropriate forum. The Feedback forum is overwhelmed with questions that are having to be moved elsewhere. If you need help to verify your account contact hello@boards.ie
If we do not hit our goal we will be forced to close the site.

Current status: https://keepboardsalive.com/

Annual subs are best for most impact. If you are still undecided on going Ad Free - you can also donate using the Paypal Donate option. All contribution helps. Thank you.

Hulk Hogan RIP

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2, Paid Member Posts: 92,169 ✭✭✭✭JP Liz V1

Vince on Hulk

GwpGN3VWsAAGFLD.png

No matter what people tell you, words and ideas can change this World

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 5,562 ✭✭✭The White Wolf

There is no revisionism to be had. It's a fact that he started the first boom of professional wrestling, while lighting the match for the next one.

I'm sure whether it's through whatever form of sport or other entertainment you are following, there is an example of you being utterly hypocritical so be quiet.

What did Chelsea Green say that she got backlash to leave social media?

She is a hoot on social media

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 1,367 ✭✭✭OneEightSeven

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 8,232 ✭✭✭Jinglejangle69

He was number 1 supporter to number 1 culprit on Eipsteins list.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 15,194 ✭✭✭✭callaway92

Nsh. He was a scumbag and that’s allowed be said.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 6,676 ✭✭✭happyoutscan

None of us - not a one - would be wrestling fans if it wasn't for Hogan.

Failed human perhaps but a wrestling icon.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 1,495 ✭✭✭andy1249

There are no successful humans.

Everyone makes mistakes , the trouble today is that if you make a mistake , there are 8-10 pricks with cameras in their pockets who make sure you will never forget it.

Anonymity plays a big part in the type of comments being said on here , in the real world , you dont get many showing up at a funeral and roaring out that the deceased was a scumbag , thats because there will be at least 8-10 pricks there with cameras making sure you will never forget what you did.

All Social media is toxic because it is anonymous , if names and addresses were supplied , you wouldn't have half of the toxicity , if that.

The mans dead , people should have respect , no one , ever , was perfect.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 8 LadLearner

It's funny how Tony Khan and AEW made no statement on Hogan's passing, presumably because of very bad stuff he said in the past.

But they have no problem platforming convicted rapist Mike Tyson.

Also love how people talk about Hogan having a complicated legacy and those same people mark out for Stone Cold, a man who brutally beat up his wife.

Terrible words are worse than actions to some wrestling fans it seems.

Post edited by LadLearner on

I meant a written statement on social media like all the other major companies.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 164 ✭✭Apple Dumpling

Moving the goal posts for your own agenda to prove your own point more typical online bollix where no one can hold their hands up when they are wrong.

No, I originally said Tony Khan and AEW didn't make a statement. They were getting a lot of flak from fans for not releasing a statement, this was before the video from Collision that you shared. That's what I'm referring to. As far as I know they still haven't made any social media post in tribute to Hogan.

My point is, if Tony Khan is going to go public and ban Hogan from AEW for terrible things Hogan said, then he must be prepared to be called out for his hypocrisy when it comes to nailing his colours to a rapist like Mike Tyson.

Same goes for wrestling fans who called for Hogan's head after the 2015 racism scandal but continued to welcome Stone Cold Steve Austin with open arms.

I say all this, by the way, as a fan of Hulk Hogan, Mike Tyson, and Stone Cold Steve Austin. I just remain consistent in my belief that people can do very good and very terrible things. And that celebrities shouldn't be worshipped.

My point here is that it's very annoying listening to people talking about Hogan and his legacy with that tone as if , "gee, yes, it's complicated to say nice things about him" because of racist remarks he made. Yes, it's terrible what he said, but he didn't murder anyone. We're not talking about the career of Chris Benoit here for goodness sake.

What Stone Cold did is worse and he when he dies he'll get the hagiography treatment.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 2,265 ✭✭✭MOR316

It's startling that he's getting worse treatment than Benoit on social media platforms.

Hulk Hogan the character is flawless. We wouldn't be into wrestling without him. He's number one, no matter how much I love Stone Cold Steve Austin.

Terry Bollea is a prick. Always was.

Can seperate the two

It really comes down to what people are or are not willing to overlook/forgive about a person.

With Hogan, because of his negative reputation among fans (due to his self-serving backstage antics, his "That doesn't work for me, brother" stuff) people were always going to be less forgiving of him when he did something wrong.

Whereas Stone Cold was always beloved, so people are willing to overlook him beating up his wife.

As someone who knows the tragedy a drunk driver can cause, I'd be more inclined to think of someone like Jimmy Uso as a complete scumbag. To me, drink driving and woman beating are higher up the Benoitometer of legacy destruction than using reprehensible language.

But, as I said, people are willing to overlook certain things about a person they like, but will never afford that same privilege to someone they hate.

I guess the thing with Austin is, given his circumstances at the time and the fact he and Debra are still friends, might soften one's approach to it.

For me, it's unforgiveable. But I can put it to one side for the joys and feelings he gave me. Which is seriously wrong. Same with Ryan Giggs for United.

Again, seriously wrong from me and I'm a hypocrite for it

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 41,077 ✭✭✭✭PTH2009

Del Rio, Dynamite Kid, Fritz Von Erich to name a few we're/are absolute pieces of **** and imo Hulk Hogan was a little better of a person compared to all them

Vince Mcmahon and Ric Flair

• Moderators, Social & Fun Moderators, Society & Culture Moderators Posts: 31,103 Mod ✭✭✭✭Insect Overlord

Maybe part of the issue with Hogan was that he kept coming back expecting to be adored. Austin does his occasional WWE appearance but hasn't had any new controversies come out since the DA stuff, and doesn't seem to court as much mainstream media attention as Hogan either.

Like I said above, I guess the fact Austin takes accountability for it, owns it and is still friends with Debra makes him somewhat forgivable in many people's eyes

For me, it doesn't. But yet I still I love him for what he gave me. Which makes me a hypocrite. Putting your hands on a woman, as a man, is disgusting.

I guess for Hulk, he was a major piece of **** behind the scenes in the business doesn't help. Then again, aren't they all?

Vince is the worst of them. But he created this phenomenal thing that people around the world love. There's always going to be confliction in people's emotions.

Noel and Liam, Paul McCartney are absolute **** to their fans. Look at both their ticket prices. Yet, here we are, still loving their stuff

Nothing bad, all have been remembering him so don't see why backlash for her

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 15,377 ✭✭✭✭briany

Going back and watching a bit of his Hollywood Hogan stuff in WCW. I have to say that him swaggering out to Voodoo Child and playing air guitar on the big gold belt spray painted with 'NWO' is one of the coolest entrances in history.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 41,077 ✭✭✭✭PTH2009

It would of fell on its arse if Sting was the 3rd man

NWO Hogan was wrestling genius and the huge boost WCW needed at the time, how it fizzled out is a different story.

NWO Hogan in WWE was never live up to that

His cause of death has been confirmed as acute myocardial infarction (a heart attack) according to documents obtained by Page Six. The documents also noted, per the outlet, that he had a history of leukemia CLL, a type of cancer.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 5,466 ✭✭✭ShagNastii

Riiiiuuuight, the racist stuff and possibly the Trump stuff I can understand.

But people getting is a complete tizzy about his backstage politicking and c*ntyness is a bit OTT no?

"WHAT?!!!!! HOGAN WOULDN'T PUT SOMEBODY OVER??? HOGAN TALKED TOTAL BS AND LIES IN INTERVIEWS!!!!! HE FEINED INJURY AGAINST TAKER!!!!!!".

The is a place in hell for people who do that kinda stuff.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 14,220 ✭✭✭✭The Nal

Most of the people who had runs with Hogan never saw the likes of it again. Peak of their careers. Drawing crowds and money. Piper, Studd, Bundy, Orndorff, Andre, Macho, Warrior, Slaughter, Sid, Earthquake, DiBiase, Goldberg, Big Show. Made them all look loike megastars.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 5,562 ✭✭✭The White Wolf

They've all done it.

Stone Cold, Cena and Michaels/Hart all had their moments when on top when they didn't conduct themselves backstage as good as they could have.

I think the only difference between them and Hogan is that Hogan never really ever tried to defend himself, or improve his image around it.

• Moderators, Computer Games Moderators, Music Moderators, Regional Midlands Moderators Posts: 24,163 Mod ✭✭✭✭Angron

No, it won't. People aren't so willing to ignore him being a scumbag.

Also, exactly what good did he do anyways?

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 15,377 ✭✭✭✭briany

"Also, exactly what good did he do anyways?"

Jaysus. Classic internet.

https://hulkhoganhistory.weebly.com/make-a-wish-foundation.html

young Patrick Murray had Hepatocellular Carcinoma and the doctors did not give him much time . His wish was to meet Hulk Hogan thanks to Make-A-Wish that came true; The problem was Patrick was to sick to Travel. Hulk Hogan and the WWE would be visting Pittsburgh very soon. However Hogan was only going to be in for a short time before he had to travel to another city. Patrick would have to travel to meet him at the Civic Arena. He got to go back stage and meet Hulk Hogan, Bruno Samartino and many others. Hogan Pick him up an began talking to him. He looked Pat in the eyes and said "Don't die on me, Patrick I love you to much." Patrick fought hard and did go in to remission until 1997. He was going for his drivers permit and the doctors found that something was wrong. the discovered another form of cancer. He tried to fight it but this time it was not to happen. He died at the age of 20 on December 19, 1999

"Ackchually….It was a professional obligation…." Professional obligation or not, if you can give one kid like that an extra decade of life, you've certainly done some good in this world. It does not count for nothing. This is but one of at least 200 known make-a-wishes he did (according to that article, they didn't even keep records until the 90s). This is not to mention the innumerable fans he stopped to give time to and sign autographs for, which is not necessarily a professional obligation (and there are many stories of wrestlers at that level blowing fans off, i.e. Ric Flair). And his reputation among other wrestlers isn't as universally negative as the IWC likes to let on. There are those, like Bret Hart, who criticise him as conniving politicker, but on the other hand RVD recently tells a nice story about Hulk taking time to sit down with RVD's dad and show him how the electric stimulator for his spine worked as RVD's dad was planning on getting one as well.

This isn't to downplay the backstage politicking or, indeed, the racist comments. It is to say that he did some good things and did some bad things. He was an imperfect person who will leave a complicated legacy especially among those fans who are more in tune with the inner workings of the business.

Ahhh disagree with Piper, Randy and Andre tbf. Andre was an attraction by himself. Piper was soooo good. Austin before Stone Cold. Randy was incredibly popular