Hello all! Please ensure that you are posting a new thread or question in the appropriate forum. The Feedback forum is overwhelmed with questions that are having to be moved elsewhere. If you need help to verify your account contact hello@boards.ie
If we do not hit our goal we will be forced to close the site.

Current status: https://keepboardsalive.com/

Annual subs are best for most impact. If you are still undecided on going Ad Free - you can also donate using the Paypal Donate option. All contribution helps. Thank you.

Hulk Hogan RIP

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2, Paid Member Posts: 8,089 ✭✭✭El Gato De Negocios

Dead at 71 following a heart attack. Like him or loath him, probably the biggest wrestling star of all time.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 41,100 ✭✭✭✭PTH2009

Shocking news RIP Hulkster

Looking past all the issues and incidents of the recent past. The man changed the world of pro wrestling and it would not be what it is today

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 5,562 ✭✭✭The White Wolf

Whatever he's done and said, he deserves a monumental week of tributes. RIP Hulk.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 19,753 ✭✭✭✭paulie21

Ozzy and Hulk in the same week. A legend that moved wrestling into the mainstream arena. May he RIP

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2, Paid Member Posts: 92,178 ✭✭✭✭JP Liz V1

Wow it is true then

RIP

He was a pioneer, a icon, the first "celeb" wrestler, actor, loved his theme song, for sure changed the landscape

No matter what people tell you, words and ideas can change this World

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 13,451 ✭✭✭✭Frank Bullitt

I loved Hogan when I was a kid, he was the peak of wrestling when I was young.

This is pretty sad news, RIP.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 14,233 ✭✭✭✭The Nal

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 15,385 ✭✭✭✭briany

Hogan to the Grim Reaper: "Ohhhh. You got me, brother. You got me."

But, yeah, it's never news you expect to hear, somehow, yet inevitable. A challenging legacy he will leave. Possibly the greatest American wrestler of the modern era, or in the top 5. Had a lot of personal baggage backstage, though, so will be interesting if wrestling pundits double back on years worth of comments, or double down.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 5,867 ✭✭✭standardg60

WrestleMania and all the characters involved was the absolute highlight of my 10 year old life.

RIP Hulk.

• Moderators, Business & Finance Moderators, Social & Fun Moderators, Sports Moderators, Paid Member Posts: 57,740 Mod ✭✭✭✭Necro

Jaysus whatever about now, he was absolutely a cultural icon in the 80s and 90s and probably THE reason WrestleMania (and by extension the WWE) exists today.

By a mile the biggest name ever in wrestling

• Moderators, Category Moderators, Arts Moderators, Sports Moderators, Paid Member Posts: 53,809 CMod ✭✭✭✭magicbastarder

• Moderators, Business & Finance Moderators, Social & Fun Moderators, Sports Moderators, Paid Member Posts: 57,740 Mod ✭✭✭✭Necro

I think the next week will have a lot of tributes to his legacy, which is how it should be.

After that I'd be interested to see what comes out of the woodwork. The last decade or so he's been very problematic for anyone who employed him (and that's not even going into the backstage stuff back in the day) so it's a complicated one surely.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 11,248 ✭✭✭✭B.A._Baracus

Hulk hogan is dead?!

Wtf.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 30,348 ✭✭✭✭CastorTroy

RIP.

Though I know he was controversial lately, it's kinda sad knowing the reaction he got for his last ever WWE appearance.

Wonder how this will affect the new promotion.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 41,402 ✭✭✭✭Itssoeasy

RIP to the character Hulk hogan because even though I was never the biggest fan of his, I can acknowledge his massive impact of the business of pro wrestling.

Hulkamania will live forever.

What a pop.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 1,399 ✭✭✭black & white

Sorry to hear he’s gone, I thought he would have been older for some reason.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 18,460 ✭✭✭✭RobbingBandit

Wow I seen things in the past few days from different sites Hulk had been taken into hospital very hush hush, the man was iconic Macho Man Piper and Ultimate Warrior now have a fourth for a tag match.

that is awful to see him and Ozzy Osbourne gone in the same week

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2, Paid Member Posts: 92,178 ✭✭✭✭JP Liz V1

No matter what people tell you, words and ideas can change this World

• Moderators, Social & Fun Moderators, Society & Culture Moderators Posts: 31,105 Mod ✭✭✭✭Insect Overlord

If ever there was going to be a celebrity to upstage another famous entertainer's death, it would have to be Hogan! Two huge cultural icons gone in quick succession between himself and Ozzy. Two performers who will still be influencing their respective arts for generations to come.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 15,194 ✭✭✭✭callaway92

Hard to have sympathy here lads

He’s a complete scumbag factually. Can’t be doing all the revisionist nonsense of ‘ah sure he was one of the best wrestlers ever’

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 671 ✭✭✭jimmyendless

Just putting on my geo-politics hat for a second, I think Hulk Hogans death could be the opening Putin has been waiting for.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 31,082 ✭✭✭✭breezy1985

Hogan also the most successful of the people who followed Ozzy into the late career family reality show scene.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 56,005 ✭✭✭✭Headshot

Absolute shocked by the news

Without him WWF/WWE wouldn't have grown into the juggernaut but it all went downhill after that reality show and he's never recovered from it.

A deeply flawed individual but his WWF/WCW run is historical in wrestling

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 26,213 ✭✭✭✭Larbre34

Whatcha gonna do, when hypertrophic cardiomyopathy runs wild on YOU brother?!

1000037901.gif

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2, Paid Member Posts: 3 murdoc88

RIP Hulk,can't wait for the Jim Cornette podcast on this.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 7,260 ✭✭✭ebbsy

WM 6 - Biggest Wrestling match I have ever seen.

People forget that Hogan actually dragged a decent match out of Warrior.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 41,100 ✭✭✭✭PTH2009

Can't forget his theme which was a banger (didn't the guy who done that pass away this year too ?)

Will WWE pause SD storylines tomorrow night for a tribute show ?

Hard to believe Ric Flair would outlive him

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 1,194 ✭✭✭Officer999

His return to WWE in 2003 at No Way Out was so surreal for me at the time. Everyone knew who he was but when I started watching wrestling for the first time he wasn’t around. So to see him return was so amazing. Still think Rock Hogan at Wrestlemania that year is my favourite match.