Hello all! Please ensure that you are posting a new thread or question in the appropriate forum. The Feedback forum is overwhelmed with questions that are having to be moved elsewhere. If you need help to verify your account contact hello@boards.ie
If we do not hit our goal we will be forced to close the site.

Current status: https://keepboardsalive.com/

Annual subs are best for most impact. If you are still undecided on going Ad Free - you can also donate using the Paypal Donate option. All contribution helps. Thank you.

Cork GAA Discussion Thread

• Moderators, Category Moderators, Recreation & Hobbies Moderators, Sports Moderators, Paid Member Posts: 35,534 CMod ✭✭✭✭ShamoBuc

Nothing to do with the scoreline.

Apparently talk of substitutions kicked it off, which was mentioned several times already - i.e. Downey already on a yellow in particular as Tip were obviously going to need a few goals and would be lofting ball in upon him. That is not hard to fathom.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 18,613 ✭✭✭✭namloc1980

The old "half time bust up in the dressing room" story is pretty much a cliche in GAA circles at this stage. Usually followed by made up fiction on Whatsapp.

Having said that IF something remotely like that did happen then any players involved should never wear the Cork jersey again.

We've been hearing all year about the love in between players and management and they were doing it for Pat after the year he had. That they then decided to throw all that away when 6 points up and 35 minutes from winning the All Ireland is just ridiculous. But as I said any truth to it and none involved should be let near the jersey ever again.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2, Paid Member Posts: 34,992 ✭✭✭✭The_Kew_Tour

County Board and Management should react to this quickly if untrue. If we don't hear from them in coming days it's most likely true.

EVENFLOW

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 11 Noddy86

What are the CCB going to say? The baseless rumours on what's app about the Cork dressing room are untrue?

People need to be skeptical about all these tales. It's beyond easy to start one up and having it in motion within hours.

The players and management have enough crap to contend with now without dealing with heresy. The Cork scene is a circus and very little of that is down to the players / management. They need to close ranks on this shite and figure out what went wrong on the pitch and ensure it is rectified going forward.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 4,320 ✭✭✭lukin

I wouldn't discount the half-time bust-up story. Remember last year Downey was subbed off before half-time in the Munster championship game v Limerick after he got booked;

https://www.irishexaminer.com/sport/gaa/arid-41393215.html

Cahalane came on and Seamus Flanagan took him to the cleaners. We did win the game but maybe that was why the Glen Rovers contingent on the team opposed Downey being taken off.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2, Paid Member Posts: 34,992 ✭✭✭✭The_Kew_Tour

Yes.

I don't see benefits of leaving this just more legs

EVENFLOW

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 62 ✭✭banger01

Brolly may be a football analyst but he raises a good point, Donal Og states that the players 'won' the strike what does that mean? as a man that loves statistics himself let's take a look at what winning the strike means ……… this is our performance in all Irelands pre-strike and post-strike

From 1985 - 2005

From 2006- 2025

Cork

Clare

Tip

Limerick

Kilkenny

Galway

Wexford

Offaly

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 531 ✭✭✭Coolcormack1979

whether there was a row or not the simple facts are we would still have beat ye cause that softness in cork is still there for the whole country to see.the crap out of some cork fans at halftime like there winning by 6 and only hurled in 2nd gear etc,etc

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 15 Marsher555

Neutral here, but I watched the game again last night and have to say that Tipps second half performance, to a man, was totally awesome.

One point. Regardless of what might or might not have happened at half time, the incident with Hoggy and Shelley should be rewatched. I do not know if Hoggy goaded Shelley after the goal, but when Shelley took a grip of him, Hoggy looks absolutely terrified. Captain Maher eventually stepped in to calm things down, but most notably of all, not one Cork man came in assist Hoggy in anyway.

That may have been the precise point in time that, consciously or unconsciously, Tipp realised that they owned this Cork team.

People would just say they are lying. It wouldn't quell anything. Probably add more fuel if anything.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 11,801 ✭✭✭✭ACitizenErased

Got that whatsapp message last night, heard from a fairly decent source today that there is an element of truth to it - how much I do not know, but something definitely happened

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 2,707 ✭✭✭High bike

I know nothing abiut what happened over the week end apart from what im reading here but i got it from a very reliable source a couple of weeks ago that there was definately aggro between 2 players after the round robin game in Limerick.One of th names mentioned surprised me but the other definately did not and its not any of the names being mentioned here.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 2,316 ✭✭✭Large bottle small glass

Jesus it's elite level senior hurling with a group up to 40-50 in size when you count extended panel and back room team and mostly men.

I'd be very surprised in any such group if lads weren't having disagreements, the odd bust up etc. In shout stay and be kept indoors and the good of the team should come before your needs but there'll always be bumps in the road. In the course of 15 years playing senior club football I had more fights with club players than opposition; all sorted with a shake hands before leaving field and the reason for dispute acknowledged and sorted.

As Babs said after 1988 all Ireland final or semi loss rather glibly " if they are men they'll be back"

Do you think Cahill and Bevans had plain sailing from taking over team to last Sunday, or that things were always rosy for Kiley and Kinnerk in Limerick.

Too many people want this to be true and the cause; Cork fans looking for a reason for implosion and other counties looking for a laugh at your expense.

I think its very likely to be mostly bullsh1t

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 11,801 ✭✭✭✭ACitizenErased

6 points up in an all ireland final is not the time to be acting the big man really

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 3,177 ✭✭✭Sweet.Science

Management wanted to take Eoin Downey off . His brother And Horgan wouldn't allow it . Arguments between all then and Cork late out for the 2nd half .

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 2,499 ✭✭✭almostover

I can now confirm that the story is either BS or greatly exaggerated. I know someone who was at the after match banquet and is close friends with a starting player. He saw no animosity between the players at it and all players were present.

Case closed in my eyes.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 2,569 ✭✭✭Straight Talker

If some players on that panel think they're bigger than Cork hurling then they need to be dropped imo. You could say the 2003 to 2006 Cork team had it's egos as well but at least they had the all Ireland medals to back it up as such.

Cork 1990 All Ireland Senior Hurling and Football Champions

Oh for fecks sake argument or no argument that second half on Sunday was the biggest humiliation in the history of Cork players. Everyone involves needs to own it and face up to it, and even if they never do win a senior all Ireland they need to show a pair of balls next year and vow to never ever allow themselves to get humiliated like that ever again!

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 805 ✭✭✭lmk123

how can you confirm anything if you don’t know if it was BS or greatly exaggerated

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 3,612 ✭✭✭Field east

why should it be ‘game over when a player gets the red card. Tipp fought gamely when they played cork for almost the full 79 min. What about the 13 man Tipp minor team against Kilkenny and winning AI . What about the majority the 14 man Tipp seniors that beat KK in the simi this year . I am sure that there are lots of other examples out there. So why should it be any different for a county steeped in a hurling tradition and especially as a team that had two very recent successes in finals

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 21 The_Cobra

Was speaking to a member of the panel who was there, Confirmed it did kick off but wouldn't elaborate on specifics which isn't much but at least now know for a 100% fact something did happen…

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 5,133 ✭✭✭golfball37

Tomás O Sullivan is better than half that list imo

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 2,345 ✭✭✭Seadin

I'm disgusted with everyone involved witb the Cork Management and the players involved in the argument. Cork were playing OK first half 1-16 is a decent score in the first half. Why they couldn't keep the heads and push on for the win is beyond me. They have left every supporter in Cork down with those antics in dressing room and they be waiting a while before they get another shot of an All Ireland final appearance. Eoin and Robert Downey should never again play with Cork if they went against management and Hoggie just pack your bags and don't come back if your ego is bigger than the team. It would only happen a Cork team in an All Ireland final trying to chase history. F me.

There's this talk about the Cork and Limerick rivalry getting more nasty i don't agree with that though. When a team is winning for too long of course you want someone else to knock them off their perch. I've always seen Limerick as having one of the biggest and most passionate fanbases in hurling along with ourselves and Wexford, although Wexford haven't given their passionate supporters much to shout about in the last almost thirty years!

Cork going twenty one years without an all Ireland is a bigger issue than Hoggie not getting his all Ireland medal. The man has given great service to Cork hurling, but it looks like that story about him and the two Downeys putting their own personal agendas and club pride before the good of Cork in that dressing room at halftime, is starting to gather more and more legs at this stage. We're talking about the captain in Robert Downey and in Hoggies case the teams most experienced player as well. For god's sake you wouldn't see the likes of this at Duffy's circus!

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 3,176 ✭✭✭newhouse87

Ah lads will ye stop. Ye are believing a whatsapp. Few long time posters on proc forum have Confirmed from talking to players and people at the banquet it's all bull **** and was no argument. Supporters seem to be looking for a reason for Cork losing, ye are looking in the wrong place.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 2,345 ✭✭✭Seadin

I can accept that Tipp team were the better team on the day but are Tipp a 15 point better team than Cork? not a hope. There's never smoke without a fire so something happened inside the dressing room as Cork came out very late too. The truth always gets out. Time will tell.

Jesus christ as much as i'm a proud Cork person Dean Brosnan is talking some serious shite here!

https://www.irishexaminer.com/sport/gaa/arid-41675285.html

I think he means a All Ireland Final........

EVENFLOW