Hello all! Please ensure that you are posting a new thread or question in the appropriate forum. The Feedback forum is overwhelmed with questions that are having to be moved elsewhere. If you need help to verify your account contact hello@boards.ie
If we do not hit our goal we will be forced to close the site.

Current status: https://keepboardsalive.com/

Annual subs are best for most impact. If you are still undecided on going Ad Free - you can also donate using the Paypal Donate option. All contribution helps. Thank you.

Lions tour to Australia

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 2,789 ✭✭✭Ardillaun

FNP knocked us about in the collisions. With a bit more organization they could have won that. Osbourne was as good as any Lion which ain’t saying much.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 7,897 ✭✭✭Former Former Former

Doesn't sound good for either McCarthy or Hansen for Saturday.

I think Owen Farrell should displace M Smith, and given he can cover centre, it might allow Kinghorn onto the bench ahead of Aki. Then it's a question of whether Ringrose displaces Jones, but I think he won't.

While he has had a quiet tour (but was good yesterday), Ryan might be the beneficiary of McCarthy's injury. Assuming Chessum goes into the starting XV, then it's Ryan vs Cummings for the bench and it wouldn't be very Farrell-like to play a guy for 80 minutes, four days before a test, as Cummings did.

• Moderators, Sports Moderators, Paid Member Posts: 30,386 Mod ✭✭✭✭Podge_irl

Similarly though, I think Ringrose was on the bench because they were seriously considering him coming into the test squad.

• Subscribers, Paid Member Posts: 43,704 ✭✭✭✭sydthebeat

yeah agreed. those jones mistakes in the first test come across as Farrell non negotiables to me.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 7,897 ✭✭✭Former Former Former

Yeah, it's very possible. I don't think there's a wrong answer between Ringrose or Jones, or Aki vs Tuipolotu for that matter, but I think Tuipolotu did enough to keep his spot.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 403 ✭✭darkened_scrum

Real shame for McCarthy. Can never take away from him that he's a test Lion and he was selected on merit, but you never know if these things will come around again.

• Moderators, Arts Moderators Posts: 36,196 Mod ✭✭✭✭pickarooney

Would Ryan's two silly penalties in a minute not be similarly non-negotiable?

• Subscribers, Paid Member Posts: 43,704 ✭✭✭✭sydthebeat

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2, Paid Member Posts: 12,422 ✭✭✭✭AbusesToilets

In fairness, Curry did worse on Sat. He was just lucky in that O'Keefe is an abysmal ref.

Think Aki and Ringtone will be straight in to start. If Mack is out, then the temptation would be to have Kinghorn at 14. I'd say Osborne would be the best option for the 23 jersey, but I'd be stunned if he leapfrogged everyone, regardless of the merits.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 41,392 ✭✭✭✭eagle eye

As regards the centres it looks like it's Ringrose and Aki or Jones and Tuipulotu.

I don't think dropping one will happen.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 986 ✭✭✭CowboyTed

Rewatched the test game last night… Take outs… Keenan had a very solid game even the try conceded was excellent kick and take by Aussies… Lowe had a very good game except for the kick over dead and failing to score try with people outside (this was under a penalty and BIL scored two min later). McCarthy and Conan were excellent, huge work rate. Tom Curry had very high work rate but gave away two crucial penalties, one close to yellow. Majrio was missing from the games for long enough periods.. Genge and Porter gave up one scrum penalty each, scrum is going to be tough on Saturday…

The Scottish centres don’t pass generally. Sione is better than Jones but Jones is pretty terrible… I think he passed to 3-4 people all day… One bounced of the ground before Keenan picked up… He butchered a try opportunity in the first half with Gibson inside hime and failed to give it to Keenan outside him in very start of 2nd half. Jones had a really bad first half and generally just tackled well… Bundee saved a try (locking on the ball after Earls illegal trip) and and started to pass…

Freeman had a bad day, I say he struggled when he got a such a lack of ball… Must been very frustrated, great player that needs to be brought into the game more… Beirne was huge, best player on the park, the f*cker would rob his granny for a fiver…

I am even more Aki and Ringrose after watching the game again… Will Greenwood said Scot pair were having a great game at half time, that was wrong, Sione had a decent game but Hugh Jones did very little except butcher a try opportunity with Gibson-Park on his inside shoulder..

Lowe got crucified for not passing on his opportunity, but he at least was working with an advantage of a penalty. I will point out Itoje was held up 1 min later (with a penalty) and no one mentioned that in the punditry… Really have to turn off what they say because most of it is pretty crap…

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 19,040 ✭✭✭✭Clegg

I think the only changes Farrell makes to the starting 15 will be injury enforced ones. Continuity of selection is very important in team sports and it's something Farrell has based his successes with Ireland upon.

Ringrose has performed better than Jones across this tour, but once he was ruled out of the first test I think it made his chances of being selected to start the second test incredibly slim. Might well get the 23 jersey however.

In fairness… The Aussies won't be that rusty, won't have newbie out half, Skelton to join the pack…

That might get you 8 points, they won the second half… Farrell is thinking like they lost the first test…

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 1,206 ✭✭✭Hey_Ho_Lets_Go_3

British and Irish Lions: 15 Hugo Keenan, 14 Tommy Freeman, 13 Huw Jones, 12 Bundee Aki, 11 James Lowe, 10 Finn Russell, 9 Jamison Gibson-Park; 1 Andrew Porter, 2 Dan Sheehan, 3 Tadhg Furlong, 4 Maro Itoje (c), 5 Ollie Chessum, 6 Tadhg Beirne, 7 Tom Curry, 8 Jack Conan.

Replacements: 16 Ronan Kelleher, 17 Ellis Genge, 18 Will Stuart, 19 James Ryan, 20 Jac Morgan, 21 Alex Mitchell, 22 Owen Farrell, 23 Blair Kinghorn.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 6,387 ✭✭✭leakyboots

Surprised Porter got the nod, thought Genge did well the last day. Tuipulotu’s omission is due to a tight hamstring.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 3,190 ✭✭✭Bogwoppit

Ringrose had been selected but withdrew himself due to concussion symptoms.
    Absolutely gutted for him.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 711 ✭✭✭bingobango12

Joe McC, Sione, Ringrose, Hansen unavailable for selection.

Incredible that Ringrose called concussion symptoms on himself after being named to start. A wiser man than most I’d imagine and certainly me if I was in that position to start a Lions test.

Ringrose also self reported his concussion symptoms before the first test too. Have to imagine that's his tour over.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 4,154 ✭✭✭Brief_Lives

Australia: Wright, Jorgensen, Suaalii, Ikitau, Potter, Lynagh, Gordon; Slipper, Porecki, Alaalatoa, Frost, Skelton, Valetini, McReight, Wilson

Replacements: Pollard, Bell, Robertson, Williams, Gleeson, Tizzano, McDermott, Donaldson

British & Irish LIon: Keenan, Freeman, Jones, Aki, Lowe, Russell, Gibson-Park; Porter, Sheehan, Furlong, Itoje, Chessum, Beirne, Curry, Conan

Replacements: Kelleher, Genge, Stuart, Ryan, Morgan, Mitchell, Farrell, Kinghorn

Gutted but also pretty admirable. Can't imagine how difficult that would be to call.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2, Paid Member Posts: 4,200 ✭✭✭StevenToast

Ringrose is a smart man....he knows there is a life after rugby....

Farrell has gone full Gatland.....

He wanted 11 Irish starting if McCarthy was fit....probably wanted to start Hansen aswell...make that 12...

So only Itoje, Curry and Finn Russell are the non Irish actually wanted to start by Farrell when everyone is fit and healthy.

Post edited by StevenToast on

"SUBSCRIBE TO BOARDS YOU TIGHT CÙNT".....Plato 400 B.C

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 382 ✭✭roverjoyce

Ryan is very lucky, Cummings had outperformed him on tour

Kelleher lucky as well, George is better at set pieces

Lucky it probably won't matter as Oz are so mediocre

Lions will miss McCarthy's physicality on Saturday and potentially next week as well. At least he had the chance to show how good he is in the first test. Looks like Hansen is gone too.

Looks like a better Aus team but I can't believe they've gone with those halfbacks again.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 1,150 ✭✭✭TomsOnTheRoof

Can see the Lions scrum struggling. Especially with Skelton back to give them some added heft.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 38 shimmieandshake

I think the Porter/Genge switch is because Genge has been good and the bench wasn't last week - he'll give more leadership later in the game.

Worried about Aki/Jones. They haven't looked on a wavelength. And Aki isn't really an 80 minute man these days.

Should still win, and should be a better test match with Valentini and Skelton back.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 254 ✭✭letsbefair

Farrell on for Aki after 60. Feel for JDF, hope he gets a chance in 3rd test.

• Administrators Posts: 55,265 Admin ✭✭✭✭✭awec

Fair play to Garry Ringrose, it's likely he will never play for the Lions in a test due to his honesty, but he's a smart man to prioritise his long term wellbeing.

• Hosted Moderators Posts: 9,037 ✭✭✭fitz

Gutted for Ringrose, he's been the best center on tour. So unlucky, but exactly the kind of call you want players making for themselves.

Anyone watching the Classic Wallabies v British & Irish Legends match? Good craic!

https://www.youtube.com/live/IATtKTd4_j4?si=ebVdkPZr4K02vIq8