Hello all! Please ensure that you are posting a new thread or question in the appropriate forum. The Feedback forum is overwhelmed with questions that are having to be moved elsewhere. If you need help to verify your account contact hello@boards.ie
If we do not hit our goal we will be forced to close the site.

Current status: https://keepboardsalive.com/

Annual subs are best for most impact. If you are still undecided on going Ad Free - you can also donate using the Paypal Donate option. All contribution helps. Thank you.

Cold Case Review of Sophie Tuscan du Plantier murder to proceed

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 156 ✭✭Annascaul

The matter of spontaneous vs premeditated is at least one thing we could narrow down a bit. It would seem that the killer would have known that Sophie would have been alone.

The killer could quite potentially have had the premeditated plan to confront Sophie with something while not being seen not having any witnesses. This "something" must have been very important to the killer because not only did he want to be alone with Sophie he would have needed to wait quite some time for her to be in Ireland.

This doesn't mean that the initial plan for the killer was to actually kill, but just to plan a visit. This would again, imply either Daniel or most of the locals in Ireland and doesn't necessarily narrow the suspects. If Daniel would have had Sophie killed in France on French soil things would have been more difficult for him and the focus would have been on Daniel first, his affairs, his possible divorce, an insurance payout, etc…..

Sophie was always in the public eyes due to her work, and in private most likely with her son or with some lover like Bruno so it would even have been harder to get her alone. Also it was known that Sophie complained about the "life in public" working for Uni-France and valued the privacy and seclusion in Ireland. The only place Sophie would have been found alone and without witnesses with a considerable predictability would have been her cottage in Ireland.

The way she was murdered would imply an amateur and a rage killing rather than something planned or professionally paid killer. Also the way she was left, clearly to be found, would imply a quick get away and not much further thinking. Or was it only made to look like an amateur in a rage? Or was the killer feeling so safe and secure? Or was the killer deliberately leaving her body in that country lane to be found, so he would be paid. Was the reason no DNA was found due to police collusion or just down to incompetence? We don't know.

As to all the others, Lyons, Bailey, Hellens, Bolger, maybe Wollney, or any other police officer could have done it. If it was a police officer it would have to have been somebody who would have been of a certain rank to be able to indirectly steer the investigation in the wrong direction, let evidence disappear or tamper with it, let pages of a job book disappear, etc….. So that police officer from Bantry would certainly fit the description. If that police officer from Bantry was in the habit of rustling cattle and sheep and blackmailing others then Lyons, Hellens and Bolger would have come to his attention, as they all had issues with the law before…

Another thing stands out beyond reasonable doubt:

No matter how one looks at it, Sophie's "circle of acquaintances" except the Ungerers, would have had legal trouble or whatever trouble before, either with drugs or violence, rustling farm animals, blackmail, etc… whilst her husband wants her out of his life preferably as "cheaply" as possible.

How much contact did Sophie really have with the Ungerers? As far as I can tell, they rarely met, but she may have shared concerns about the area, confided in him in certain matters, feeling safe at night and alone, like drug dealing, questionable police officers, general security of the area? There isn't much on this in Tomi Ungerer's statement.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 10,150 ✭✭✭✭Oscar_Madison
    #MEGA MAKE EUROPE GREAT AGAIN

Good point around the sexual motive - it’s an historical assumption “of the time”, that just wouldn’t be automatically made today ( you would hope) - I know on the thread we’ve previously discussed cases where sex was the motive but it never took place before the murder - essentially murdering someone fulfilled a sexual need- but such cases are rare and almost always connected with a serial killer - we obviously can’t fully rule out a sexual motive but it seems less likely in this case

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 745 ✭✭✭jesuisjuste

What is demonstrative is that even the gardai can agree that the evidence at least looks like a spontaneous attack. Instead of stretching for a plan, we should heavily consider the simplest answer and indeed Occam's razor would suggest it was spontaneous (1. pursuit and multiple attack locations 2. potential two-phase murder (distinct blood indicators), 3. multiple weapons, 4. primitive weapons, 5. no clean up/tranport of body).

Indeed it is also kind of absurd is that even the two leading premeditated murder theories that people tend to fall back on (Bailey sexual motive, or Daniel financial motive), BOTH rely on the evidence implying spontaneity.

Bailey goes over for a pre planned sexual liaison based on prior relationship/friendship, and gets rebuffed, then spontaneously attacks and murders Sophie!, or

Daniel hires someone who plans to make the scene look like it was spontaneous!

To all intents and purposes, both are far fetched (but of course not impossible), and have zero evidence to back them up, just motives of which there are many more equally or more compelling.

In fairness, the immediate partner of the victim is always considered a suspect including to today, and more often than not they were involved. In fact I would say the statistics and that today are even more clear than they would have known back then. In Sophie's case though it does really seem to be one of those lower likelihood cases, where essentially it opens up to lots of fringe situations being considered.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2, Paid Member Posts: 11,449 ✭✭✭✭J Mysterio

I find it strange that Daniel TDP did not come to Ireland following her murder - most people do, and he had no lack of resources.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 10,150 ✭✭✭✭Oscar_Madison
    #MEGA MAKE EUROPE GREAT AGAIN

if this thread is anything to go by, a lot of people do

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 3,434 ✭✭✭nc6000

It was very strange indeed. I don't recall ever seeing any explanation for it either.

I don't think that Daniel as a suspect is far fetched. He's far to well off after Sophie's death and he didn't even bother going to Ireland if his wife is dead. If he sent a killer, the killer would have to make it look spontaneous and amateur like. Suppose he killed Sophie with a gun and a silencer, then everyone would automatically look at Daniel. Only those who have money can afford to hire a professional, and of all the possible suspects Daniel most likely still had the most.

One thing Daniel could hardly have known or counted on was the either incompetence or corruptness of the Irish police or how easy a French trial could convict a man like Bailey without any evidence. I don't think Daniel knew how the Irish legal system worked or if Daniel even spoke enough English to understand everything. His culture and his thinking was French not English or Irish.

What also speaks strongly against spontaneity at least in meeting and possibly confronting ( not killing) Sophie is that she wasn't too often at her cottage in Ireland. I think it was only one week at a time and that maybe twice or three times a year? So whoever came to her house that night to confront her would at first have known she was there and approximately how long she would be staying.

Apart from Daniel, Finbarr would have known from Josie when Sophie arrived, maybe also Bolger, Alfie and Shirley the last ones, Bailey maybe or maybe not. Since one was taking care of the house and the other one was grazing horses on her land, it's very likely they both knew each other and talked every now and then….

Whoever wanted to meet Sophie and confront her with whatever ( maybe not even murder) must have had a premeditated motive for that quite a while before, - as the wait for Sophie to be at her cottage ( preferably alone ) would have been a rather long one. Something or the motive was worth the wait……

As to Bailey's often speculated sexual motive, he would have had to wait quite some time to have a sexual encounter with Sophie. If he wanted to cheat on Jules that's quite some time of wait and a lot of patience for Bailey. Was he capable of patience? Another good question.

I think you may be confusing my meaning of spontaneity. No one went to confront her at all perhaps, maybe she went out to confront someone herself in fact. Spontaneous, in this case would mean either that someone was there for another reason, nothing to do with Sophie, and then something sparked/escalated into a brutal assault and murder. Similar to how a fight may start outside a pub, or road rage etc. Or alternatively someone was there to meet Sophie for a trivial reason, but then it escalated from some sudden confrontation, like a postman delivering a package or a handyman/plumber doing something around the house for example.

Daniel should certainly have been investigated for due diligence alone, however it just seems a very difficult hit to coordinate imo, and Sophie certainly didn't go down easy. I just don't see it myself, but I understand why people consider it. It would have been impossible for the gardai to completely rule him out without a thorough investigation but yet they did, very early too. I think that he was probably advised by his lawyer not to travel, and in fairness I think it was probably good advice.

Yes I now understand what you mean. Somebody, really anyone, not even related to Sophie could have been to the house at whatever odd or not so odd hour and Sophie confronted him and an argument turned into a violent killing. Not impossible to think.

The problem with investigating Daniel is that it would have to have been some kind of joint Irish-French investigation from the start. Following the money, investigating Daniel's financial background would have been a good start, as you said even if it was just for due diligence reasons. However the corrupt behavior of the Irish police made any decent investigation impossible right from the start.

There are so many unanswered points. All things which can be interpreted either way. Like the time of Sophie's trip, the reason that she wanted to get the heating repaired? Didn't Josie Hellens take care of the house in her absence? Calling a handyman / repairman either from France or Josie doing it, opening the house and locking the door afterwards, and then sending the invoice to Sophie wouldn't be too difficult.

Or would the Irish police really have been so stupid to believe that a statement by a witness ( coerced or even not ) seeing "a man in a dark coat" by a bridge 3 kilometers and more away from the murder site at 2 or 3 am in the morning would prove anything beyond reasonable doubt in a court of law?

Or a man named Martin Graham living as a transient, formerly with the British Army in NI not even remembering where and how he spent his last 18 years and which year he married, was furnished with drugs and motivated with money to get Bailey to confess? Which judge would have believed that story?

Martin Graham also stated once that the Irish police coerced him with the Provos ( a terrorist organization in the UK and an unlawful organization in the Republic of Ireland ) because he served in the British Army in NI, even undercover at some point. Since when is that an agreeable police procedure in a Western country in the EU?

I would still state the two things that do stand out:

1. The misconduct of a corrupt police force in Ireland where coercion and blackmail seems to be part of the norm not having to fear any consequences
    2. Daniel's convenient financial gains whilst moving on to wife number 3 and expecting a child and a kangaroo court in France to cement a decision to frame a man based on "evidence" by a corrupt police force

And the results: One man's life and reputation ruined, one woman's life ended and a crime unpunished.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 3,629 ✭✭✭Mal-Adjusted

Did the guards involved ever get reprimanded or face any consequences for the monstrous balls they made of the investigation from the outset?

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 37,064 ✭✭✭✭odyssey06

No. This was the closest but convenienly the scapegoat was deceased:

"The Garda Ombudsman said that many of the witnesses, including gardaí, to whom it wished to interview had either retired or died, and that in some cases other witnesses had declined to cooperate. As a result, GSOC has said it will take "no further action" on foot of complaints made by Mr Bailey and Ms Thomas. GSOC said it had considered whether the interference of the Jobs Book warranted sending a file to the Director of Public Prosecution, but that it had chosen not to on the basis that one of the main gardaí who had responsibility for the documents had since passed away."-

https://www.rte.ie/news/ireland/2018/0802/982741-sophie-toscan-du-plantier/

A Garda Commisioner resigned indirectly due to the case which put a spotlight on the practice of general recordings of phone calls in some Garda stations

https://en.m.wikipedia.org/wiki/Fennelly_Commission

https://www.newstalk.com/news/report-into-resignation-of-martin-callinan-as-garda-commissioner-delayed-indefinitely-666944

"To follow knowledge like a sinking star..." (Tennyson's Ulysses)

What's particularly interesting about the jobs book, is that information would likely never have gotten into the public sphere. The only reason I can think of is that it was done to either protect an investigating Garda, or another suspect from an internal investigation.

Whoever removed them, it is likely that the other gardai would have known who it was, and decided to keep the head down I would think.

It should be relatively straightforward to work out which Garda they are talking about who had passed away, as most of the attending gardai were still alive at the time of the article (but they could have just thrown a name out as cover also). When and where did that Garda get involved in the investigation?

Wow, I know this article is a few years old but it's some read........

https://www.independent.ie/irish-news/lost-five-files-139-statements-and-one-gate/37185350.html

Very interesting alright. The gate is particularly notable, as aside from being considered a bit of a joke, it was actually probably the best source of potential DNA given that it had perhaps up to a dozen touch points, and also touch DNA testing was becoming particularly widespread in the years leading up to its loss.

Was it ever revealed who the other three 'lost' files were referring to?

It would appear that any evidence which didn't help the "case" against Bailey was lost or went missing.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 1,468 ✭✭✭tibruit

Jeez, you leave this thread alone for a couple of days and come back to find it has returned once more to conspiracy theory nirvana.

• Moderators, Politics Moderators, Paid Member Posts: 43,806 Mod ✭✭✭✭Seth Brundle

You're right! Sure what's the point in considering other possible scenarios when you've already made your mind up based on hearsay and circumstantial evidence that? Discussion of facts should have no involvement!

Wha?? You mean you actually think there is evidence now?

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 4,908 ✭✭✭Day Lewin

Well, there was. That gate was the evidence.

I just can't understand how it was described as having "no evidential value" - and just disposed of.

Well, MAYBE they tested it exhaustively for fingerprints, fibres, blood and DNA. Maybe they did, and found none. Seems unlikely in itself!

Maybe rusty metal gate bars don't carry any fingerprints, fibres, blood or any trace of DNA. But someone had pushed that gate wide open, even though we are told that Sophie paid to have it installed and was fussy about it being kept closed.

Somebody drove through it, leaving a faint tyre mark, according to report.

Where is that vehicle?

Gate has "no evidential value" ?

I just find this too hard to swallow.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 3,382 ✭✭✭tinytobe

I think everyone finds this hard to swallow.

The only motivation I could think of is to hide key evidence.

This could to ha very high degree of speculation have been done by a member of the AGS, and the motive would most likely have been to protect another gard.

Apparently Bailey's DNA wasn't on the gate, neither were his fingerprints……

Spidermanpointingmeme.org. It's funny, after all this time I still don't actually know what you truly believe actually happened, like how did it all go down? Bailey did it! Isn't a theory, it's just a statement. There is no Garda theory written anywhere as far as I can tell, what is the tibruit theory?

I don't expect an answer, because it no doubt involves a conspiracy.

No doubt the randy guard left his prints all over it and as soon as forensics team came down from Dublin and established who the prints belonged to, they liaised with the local boys to disappear the evidence. What other explanation could there possibly be?

As far as I can remember the Gardaí thought he went over there expecting sex and took rejection very badly. Given his violent and narcissistic nature they might be right about that.

I'm afraid that I don't quite believe in this famous "randy guard". Is there a photo of him in action? Is there any actual evidence connecting him with this case? Or is it all someone's pet theory?

In fairness, the police officers who originally investigated this case seem to have thought they were playing Cluedo: you start with "I bet it was so-and-so!" and then try to build a case against Colonel Mustard (he had a library - he could have looked up Murder Methods in a book!!) - instead of reasoning from the available data. Data is very sketchy but there might have been a little more of it, if more care had been taken in securing the scene, etc.

Actually, I think it was "The Mousetrap" where it turns out the policeman dunnit.

But that's not real life detection. This all-too-real murder has never been solved.

Gemma O'Doherty is a well-known crank. Though even a stopped clock is right twice a day. However I would not regard her as a trustworthy source.

Do you form your own independent thoughts about any aspect of this case, or just follow the Garda theories on everything? That's a genuine question I'm not meaning to disparage. I just can't think of one thing you have disagreed with them about (except Marie Farrell, though she had turned against them of course).

At the end of the day whether you like it or not there were over 50 suspects in this case, and it's reasonable to discuss some of them since no one has ever been convicted of the crime. This is a cold case thread after all, there is a whole other thread to chat about Ian Bailey too.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 8,300 ✭✭✭Wompa1

I don't recall it either but seems odd that a husband would be fine with his wife being in another country in an isolated setting alone. Maybe their relationship was on the outs and he was resentful when she died or maybe he just couldn't stomach coming to Ireland. Maybe he was resentful that his wife was killed here.

"Do you form your own independent thoughts"

In the context of this thread I am currently the only poster who thinks that the Gardaí were right all along. There`s an irony there somewhere.

"At the end of the day whether you like it or not there were over 50 suspects in this case, and it`s reasonable to discuss some of them since no one has ever been convicted of the the crime."

I don`t think it is reasonable at all. In fact I`m amazed that these threads have been allowed to continue on their merry way given some of the allegations that have been made about individuals who clearly had nothing to do with this murder and also the implied conspiracies that Gardaí and witnesses have been alleged to have been involved in to pin it on Bailey. It has been reasonable to discuss Bailey from the moment he started confessing his guilt.