Ozzy and Black Sabbath

167891012»

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2, Paid Member Posts: 4,015 ✭✭✭dasdog

That is very kewl. Signature checks out - Zakk was a gent to us 15 year old wanna be guitar players.

image.png

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 5,614 ✭✭✭ShagNastii

Just looking at the BTTB stream. A good few hit and miss performances but fair play to Ozzy.

I didn't know he did an Ozzy set as well as a Black Sabbath set. You could see him feeding off the crowd. As somebody said, he was completely buzzing and you could see him only bursting to get out of the seat and give some old school Ozzy antics.

Mama I'm coming home and the Black Sabbath really were something else.

A wonderful send off.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 41,855 ✭✭✭✭PTH2009

Any reports from those 'no stage view screen only' tickets ?

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 31,814 ✭✭✭✭Wanderer78

watching torrent of full show, tis grand folks, rock on, big ould file at 26gb though

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 7,736 ✭✭✭COH

I remember coming home from Irish college way back when I was a teen - totally depressed because I had just spent weeks away with all my mates having the craic then having to come home to real life, missing everyone and generally just wanting to lock myself in my bedroom for weeks on end.

Thats how I feel after Back To The Beginnng 🤣

My god what a day.

So many highlights I don't even know where to start - but Lamb of God's children of the grave fully blew me away as did Yungblud singing Changes as I had never even heard of him before! I dont like Aerosmyth at all but Stephen Tyler was unreal and Slayer and Metallica were just on another level. Very disappointed in Axl and Billy Corgan's vocals but you cant win them all I suppose.

I spent today rewatching it on VOD - great production but the energy of the crowd doesn't come across anywhere near to what it was.

Not ashamed to say I shed a little tear listening to Ozzy say goodbye - you can tell the whole thing really meant something to him, all involved and the whole city of Birmingham.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 4,682 ✭✭✭Zwillinge

Still coming around from it all.

My Air BnB flaked at the last minute, so it was an all nighter at the airport - think I'm over the worst of the tiredness.

Quite possibly, the greatest day of my life? And I was seated - haha. Very glad I packed some protein bars.

An absolutely amazing day.

I can't even pinpoint highlights.

• I've never listened to Rival Sons before, but was impressed as hell by them.
    • Lzzy from Halestorm has come on leaps and bounds from seeing her in the half empty Academy Dublin. Set of pipes!
    • Did anyone here catch Lamb of Gods shoe?
    • Yungblud finally getting his recognition - I will have to listen to the new album and decide about the 3Arena show now.
    • Gojira's set was immense!
    • Never thought I'd ever see Steven Tyler again - an absolute treat considering his vocal injuries.
    • Poor aul Axl, enjoyable but he's also getting on.
    • Metallica - absolutely pumped for next year now!
    • Poor Ozzy - he came out and asked everyone if they were having a good day. The relief in his eyes, the joy and love, the want - you could tell he wanted to jump out of that throne (and possibly join Jason Momoa in the Pantera pit - I later seen him on TikTok - took 8 men to pick him up)
    • I cried during Mama, I'm Coming Home. I'm not made of stone.

The guy seated next to me didn't say a word, didn't sing along, only stood for Metallica, Ozzy and BS and only left during Tool's set. I respect him knowing what he enjoys.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 564 ✭✭✭pawdee

I was seated in the lower Holte End. Got in very early and sat there until the end. I kept putting off getting beers as it was such a pain in the arse between getting about 12 people to stand up every time I wanted to get out and the queues etc. Apart from that, you couldn't leave your seat for more than 10 mins anyway without missing something.

The upside was I saw the entire show (stone cold sober) and it was just incredible. So much going on it was almost too much to keep up with at times. Did I really witness "Train Kept A-Rollin'" with Travis Barker, Nuno Bettencourt, Tom Morello, Rudy Sarzo, Steven Tyler, Andrew Watt, and Ronnie Wood? And then KK Downing with Billy feckin' Corgan doing "Breaking The Law"? I've been going to gigs for over 40 years but this just topped the lot. I thought Ozzy did great and to hear Tony's monstrous riffs and Geezer's bass one last time was emotional. Never in my wildest dreams did I think I'd ever see Bill Ward with Sabbath again.

One of the many highlights of the day for me was Alice In Chains. William Duvall goes "I gotta tell you how beautiful this is because no matter what kind of madness and division is going on out side these walls, in here it's really simple….we're all just a bunch of headbanging, riff lovin' FREAKS!" before launching into "Fairies Wear Boots". Absolutely brilliant.

I met so many lovely people from all over the world. Met one fella from South Carolina who sold his car to be there. I can fully understand. Saw a Sabbath tribute band on the Friday night. I'd say the singer got his nan to sew white knitting wool tassels on his very ordinary sweatshirt to get the Ozzy look. Gas. A weekend I'll never forget.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 7,277 ✭✭✭furiousox

I see someone has a usb of the show for sale on donedeal.

You are a khaki coloured bombardier, it's Hiroshima that you're nearing.

tis all over the internets for nothing, but shur….

Huge file but I did enjoy it and will go back to it now and again. Very impressed with Halestorm (saw them in 2022 supporting Alter Bridge) and the ozzy performances we're acceptable given his health

Guns n Rose's was a trainwreck

gnr band were pretty good, axl on the other hand

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 7,736 ✭✭✭COH

They weren't great - but in their defence it did sound a bit better live then it does on the stream.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 1,430 ✭✭✭nullObjects

Didn't realise it was that long ago that they played with Alter Bridge, time flies

Someone posted that Axl had a gig the night before and his voice was shot but it was still a tough listen

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 893 ✭✭✭ECookie13

Crazy to see that Ozzy passed away not long ago today, he surely must have just been holding on until he completed this gig 😞

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 1,185 ✭✭✭ledwithhedwith

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2, Paid Member Posts: 4,015 ✭✭✭dasdog

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 7,277 ✭✭✭furiousox

I think the funeral is being streamed on blacksabbathbench.co.uk tomorrow

You are a khaki coloured bombardier, it's Hiroshima that you're nearing.

Im guessing the estate will always be in the Osbourne name because Ozzy is buried there ?

Great send off for him yesterday, you'd almost expect him to hop up out of the casket 😔

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 141 ✭✭Aladdin Sane

IMG_3584.jpeg IMG_3798.jpeg IMG_3799.jpeg IMG_3801.jpeg IMG_3803.jpeg IMG_3805.jpeg IMG_3804.jpeg IMG_3802.jpeg IMG_3806.jpeg IMG_3807.jpeg IMG_3809.jpeg IMG_3808.jpeg IMG_3810.jpeg IMG_3811.jpeg IMG_3812.jpeg IMG_3814.jpeg IMG_3815.jpeg

Gig of the year! No question.