Hello all! Please ensure that you are posting a new thread or question in the appropriate forum. The Feedback forum is overwhelmed with questions that are having to be moved elsewhere. If you need help to verify your account contact hello@boards.ie
If we do not hit our goal we will be forced to close the site.

Current status: https://keepboardsalive.com/

Annual subs are best for most impact. If you are still undecided on going Ad Free - you can also donate using the Paypal Donate option. All contribution helps. Thank you.

Liverpool FC Premier League Champions 24/25 - Talk /Gossip/Rumours

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 10,640 ✭✭✭✭OwaynOTT

IMG_1500.jpeg

do ye think this will have much impact on club finances?

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2, Paid Member Posts: 34,405 ✭✭✭✭~Rebel~

You can't just not include Chiesa because he didn't do well last season. Very arguable that a big part of why he didn't get to play was because we were overstocked with forwards.

We've already brought in two of the most highly rated attackers around - potentially 3 since Frimpong is very much an option there too - and for me that's enough change for now. If we bring in another on top of Mo, Gakpo, Wirtz, Ekitike, Diaz and potentially Frimpong/Chiesa, they're almost certainly going to spend the year on the bench, not playing - same as Chiesa last season. I think the only way we should bring in another is if all three of Nunez, Diaz, and Chiesa go, and for me that's just too much change. The age profile of our attackers right now is great - Mo the only one over 30, then Diaz at 28, Chiesa at 27 and everyone else 26 or younger.

Subscribe to save Boards.ie from closing down: The Bad News

https://subscriptions.boards.ie/

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 13,943 ✭✭✭✭ArmaniJeanss

Honestly seems like nonsense. There's no such thing as a 'preferred destination' from the promoters point of view. All venues are in competition and whichever offers the best deal will 'win'. Everton's new ground is just another competitor for Swift or Springsteen or whoever. It possibly has location advantages, and definitely has a newness advantage. Anfield retains the advantage of bigger capacity.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 4,771 ✭✭✭mormank

No way 5 options for 3 forward positions is enough imo. The only reason you are even considering it is due to Salah's phenomenal injury record since he has been with us. If he ever starts getting niggly injuries you will see how 5 is not enough. There always seems to be at least one option injured at any given time in the season so with only 5 that gives us 3 starters and only 1 option off the bench whenever someone is injured, not to mention when Salah is gone for Afcon.

Post edited by mormank on

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 10,465 ✭✭✭✭hynesie08

Somehow every bit of that is more ridiculous than the bit before…….

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 27,679 ✭✭✭✭noodler

I've serious doubts about 5 being enough as well tbh.

Mo will be gone for AFCON, then one injury or international long haul and youve only the starting 3.

I'm also pretty content to write off Chiesa as an option though some will surely see this as harsh.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2, Paid Member Posts: 13,007 ✭✭✭✭Electric Nitwit

There was some talk Chiesa wasn't travelling as he was moving on, though the club mouthpieces all said it was a minor injury

Realistically I think you're right and we can assume he won't be here. Though the romantic in me still believes he can have an impact

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2, Paid Member Posts: 5,725 ✭✭✭Widdensushi

Frimpong played rw against Stoke, maybe he is being considered a dual position player .

I totally forgot about the 12.30 kick offs after long haul international breaks where often the south Americans would be rested for that fixture after returning back to liverpool relatively shortly before those games. Having said that were we to sell Nunez and Diaz we wouldn't have that issue anymore.

Either way 5 isn't enough for 3 attacking positions anyway. All it takes is 1 injury and you are under pressure right away with 4 left for 3 spots or you have to start weakening options for other positions to cover which has the same affect basically. If we start considering Frimpong as a RW option due to an injury we now only have 1 RB option which isn't enough.

Chiesa is such a weird one. I feel like if he just played he would be a decent option but if Slot just isn't gonna use him again like last year then obviously he can't be considered as one of the 6 in question.

And so what happens when 1 of our front 5 is injured at the same time as Bradley? Which is something we all know will definitely happen multiple times during the season….

We definitely need a 6th option imo and the only thing swaying anyone from thinking that is Salah's imperious injury record. He himself will need his minutes managed more and more tho whether he likes it or not.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2, Paid Member Posts: 1,423 ✭✭✭Dr Robert

Chiesa started one league game.

I'd imagine he'll be back to Italy before the end of the window.

It was a worthwhile gamble given the fee but it hasn't worked out.

Save boards.ie by subscribing:

I'd just kinda worry that any 6th choice guy who isn't a multi-position player will be in the same boat. Slot just seems to hate that level of rotation. Pretty much exclusively used 5 guys for 3 midfield spots, and 5 guys for 3 forward spots.

To make the most of the squad, I could see Szobo and/or Frimpong being used to cover for the wide forward spots in the event of injuries. Frimpong particularly on the right, and Szobo on both. Both play those positions at international level.

It's also interesting to note how much faith he seems to have in the kids Rio and Nyoni. Nyoni might go on loan, but I'd say Rio will stay around at his young age.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2, Paid Member Posts: 5,725 ✭✭✭Widdensushi

We currently have alot more than five options.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2, Paid Member Posts: 1,423 ✭✭✭Dr Robert

Tbf to Slot,he has publicly acknowledged the lack of rotation, so hopefully he will rotate more this season. He had a winning formula last season and obviously won the league so he gets a massive pass.

Salah has AFCON this season and usually drops off after it. We'll need to rotate more regardless,and I've no doubt we will. I just doubt Chiesa will be part of the plan.

Save boards.ie by subscribing:

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 5,278 ✭✭✭The Rooster

I think Ekitike is clearly the biggest risk of all our new signings so far. His stats show that he misses lots of chances, but movement and instincts seem really good. High ceiling and very exciting but we may need some patience and he shouldn't be just judged on his price tag

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2, Paid Member Posts: 615 ✭✭✭Appletart Upsetter

I assume one of the reasons they are willing to spend so much on Ekitike is because of his ability to hold possession, link play with others and his effectiveness at pressing and winning possession back. These were areas Nunez never really got to grips with.

If Ekitike can contribute more to general play and chip in with 10 goals, I think it'll be considered a success.

Sure but we won't if Diaz and Nunez leave along with Chiesa never being chosen.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 29,616 ✭✭✭✭TitianGerm

Question on the ballot folks, I've bought my dad a Lite membership and added him in my friends and family group but when I try to add his name as the person on the second ticket he is greyed out.

Anyone have any idea if I'm doing something wrong?

Edit: got it working after a few refreshes. Hoping to bring my dad over to a game at some stage if I get lucky.

Still really hope we hang onto Diaz. That’s obviously been part of the club’s plan for the window, which makes sense, keeping that bit of continuity while the new lads bed in.

The Chiesa question will answer itself - if he stays it’ll be because Slot thinks he can use him now that he’s up to speed. If he goes it’ll be because Slot doesn’t want to use him. I expect him to be gone, but if he’s there come window’s end I’d be confident it’s because he’ll be used more/better this season.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 12,261 ✭✭✭✭klose

Ekiteke is being signed as our starting centre forward, a 10 goal return would be a poor return even if it is only his first season here.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 7,014 ✭✭✭Talisman

Owen Beck is reported to be going to Derby County on loan so he won´t be getting his name in lights on the next season of Welcome to Wrexham.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2, Paid Member Posts: 615 ✭✭✭Appletart Upsetter

Roberto Firmino, aside from 1 season, averaged around 10 goals each year in all competitions. But he was so important to how we played.

Obviously, if Ekitike can score 20 goals that would be better but I hope he is someone who can be a focal point for the attack and allow the team to be better overall.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 4,591 ✭✭✭tinpib

I see that Ornstein said United made a late move for Ekitike but he had committed to Liverpool. I remember well the days of Silvestre and the great Phil Jones ( LMAO ) choosing them over us. Feels good, man. I'm sure there were others too that I'm forgetting.

Firmino was our starting CF for years and I think he only scored more than 10 league goals three times in his time at the club.

The amount of goals your CF is scoring should all depend on the role he's being asked to do for the team, is he to be a goal poacher, run in behind to collect the ball and focus on cut backs or drop deep to create space for the wide men to exploit?

We don't actually know what we are going to do this season so it'll be very interesting to see what develops in the first few games.

Jesus lads.

Bobby didnt cost 80m and had alot more to his game. Clutch player as well with loads of assists.

He also had the two main men around him, Ekiteke has been bought to be a main man. The price tag can't be magicked away

It doesn't matter how much a player cost, if the manager wants him to run around in midfield then that's what he needs to do. Saying right now he needs to score X amount of goals is pointless until we see what exactly Slot wants from him this season and what way the team is going to set up.

To me it looks like we'll be seeing a change in formation to potentially 4231 where when we attack one of the wide players will will push up beside the CF and Wirtz and the opposite wide man will get close to them but slightly behind while Kerkez and Frimpong/Bradley will overlap.

X amount seems pointless but i have to agree with the poster who says we are extremely unlikely to be satisfied with a 10 goal return unless he actually turns out to be Bobby reborn.

Price tag will always matter because of the opportunity cost.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 7,014 ✭✭✭Talisman

Does the fee matter? At the time of his signing in 2015, Firmino was the second most expensive player in the history of the club. Benteke bumped him from second spot a few weeks later.

But again if Slot wants him to do a job that results in him actually taking very few shots and generally being quiet far from good scoring positions then context should be applied to his goal scoring performance.

If a player is contributing to the team performance as a whole and making them better then I don't really care how many goals they scored.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 21,252 ✭✭✭✭Cyrus

looks like i can get tickets for the forest game on 22 November, maybe a stupid question but how likely or not is that game to be moved from sat to a sunday?