Hello all! Please ensure that you are posting a new thread or question in the appropriate forum. The Feedback forum is overwhelmed with questions that are having to be moved elsewhere. If you need help to verify your account contact hello@boards.ie
If we do not hit our goal we will be forced to close the site.

Current status: https://keepboardsalive.com/

Annual subs are best for most impact. If you are still undecided on going Ad Free - you can also donate using the Paypal Donate option. All contribution helps. Thank you.

Immigration and Ireland - MEGATHREAD *Mod Note Added 14/08/25*

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 1,378 ✭✭✭lmao10

I thought this eye witness account was harrowing. Fair play to the woman here. She made me proud to be Irish.

Maybe someone can embed this

https://www.facebook.com/100007180905033/videos/749826704293423

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2, Paid Member Posts: 18,868 ✭✭✭✭Ha Long Bay

Don't ever remember stating otherwise but I do think the outrage is greatly over speculated on this thread.

I am sure you can comprehend the actions of the far right are also to blame for sabotaging tourism with their actions?

Do you have a figure of how many refugees are currently residing in hotels?

The numbers needing to be accommodated after the post Russian invasion of Ukraine and Covid has flatlined.

1.jpg

https://assets.gov.ie/static/documents/IPAS_Stats_Weekly_Report_short_version_week_ending__22_06_2025_final.pdf

That might explain why less far right types are burning disused buildings which can be welcomed.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2, Paid Member Posts: 92,178 ✭✭✭✭JP Liz V1

Why didn't they just call AGS, no need to take the law into their own hands, this is wrong and the perpetrators should be named and prosecuted

No matter what people tell you, words and ideas can change this World

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2, Paid Member Posts: 2,818 ✭✭✭nachouser

"No need to take the law into their own hands."

What type of law do you think means beating up and stripping

someone semi-naked just because…

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 56,005 ✭✭✭✭Headshot

It''s amazing how much this AS scam weeds into every fascinate of Ireland and just making it worse and worse

You dont realise it until you read about the damage it's doing

Legal Aid Board €1.3m over budget and facing staffing crisis due to increase in asylum seeker cases

Our country is just a joke at this stage

Housing, healthcare, tourism the list is endless to which this scam is breaking our country and this government is doing absolute nothing except token gestures with only 198 people have been deported from Ireland and no deterrents in place to stop the illegals coming in the first place.

This afternoon, Kilkenny County Council passed a motion calling on the Minister for Justice Jim O’Callaghan to withdraw all planning exemptions for IPAS centres in the county.

Fair Play Kilkenny
    Never has there been planning rule done so much damage and making the 1% richer while destroying Communities but this government dont care, they care more about illegals than the Irish citizens

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 642 ✭✭✭DaithiMa

You seem to be insinuating that the burning of buildings that were going to be used for AS/IPAs (which is completely out of order in my opinion) is happening at the same rate that the provos were burning country houses here in the 1920s.

I know there's been a couple of incidents (which is too many) but how many exactly have there been? I presume you have the correct figures to hand seeing as you seem to think it is comparable to the tens of thousands of hotel beds that have been taken out of circulation over the last three or four years.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2, Paid Member Posts: 18,868 ✭✭✭✭Ha Long Bay

How much was spent by the Legal Aid Board on all the cases following the far right stoked riot and looting back in 2023 in comparison?

1.jpg

Forgot to add how much does a LUAS cost to replace as well as busses garda cars, cleanup of the city center etc.

You dont realise it until you read about the damage it's doing

Probably because they knew the guy was completely innocent and it was an opportunistic racist attack? The guards are confident there was no wrongdoing on the part of the poor lad assaulted.

"You seem to be insinuating that the burning of buildings that were going to be used for AS/IPAs (which is completely out of order in my opinion) is happening at the same rate that the provos were burning country houses here in the 1920s"

No I am not.

What a nonsense post. Congrats on defending scum though via whataboutery. Takes a special kind to twist my post like that.

You talk about twisting words and say I am defending scum! Which they are by the way. Complete and utter scumbags.

So how many buildings have been burned?

You tell me " You seem to be insinuating that the burning of buildings that were going to be used for AS/IPAs (which is completely out of order in my opinion) is happening at the same rate that the provos were burning country houses here in the 1920s"

I have no idea about the 1920's and what it has to do with the recent scum.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2, Paid Member Posts: 92,178 ✭✭✭✭JP Liz V1

Over the past four years, ten large tourist facilities in Lisdoonvarna, Ballyvaughan and Doolin have been used to house refugees.

https://clarechampion.ie/action-needed-to-restart-tourism-in-lisdoon/

Is there even any accommodations for tourists in Lisdoonvarna now?

Danny Healy-Rae has spoke about them housed in Kerry, which is ironic as his brother Michael is making money from housing them, affects on tourism especially in Killarney

No matter what people tell you, words and ideas can change this World

There would be plenty if the far right stopped burning it down and protesting against alternative facilities.

Your words in reply to a poster that said using hotels/guesthouses/B&Bs for IPAs was having a devastating effect on tourism in some areas was:

"There should be a fair bit of blame put on the far right protestors who prevented asylum seekers be housed in disused factories and burning down closed down hotels that would not be up to 3* for tourists but a roof over the head for people all the same. You could say they were sabotaging tourism as well"

A 'fair bit of blame' insinuates that the arson attacks carried out by far right scumbags is 'sabotaging the tourism industry as well'. Those words imply that there has been a large amount of tourist beds taken out of circulation due to this spate of arson attacks.

I simply used the 1920s as an example of the last time there was a lot of arson attacks in this country. So, can you tell me how many beds were taken out of circulation compared to how many have been taken out to acommodate AS/IPAs? It's a reasonable question surely.

Using the the year 1920 is moronic off topic whataboutery.

Are you asking me to calculate the number of proposed number of destroyed\disrupted potential refugee beds by the far right?

Don't have an exact figure but 600+.

That would have solved the sabotaging of tourism claimed here earlier.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 2,635 ✭✭✭Mr. teddywinkles

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 7,409 ✭✭✭RobbieTheRobber

Where is your compassion. You were angry at me that I showed no compassion to an unnamed person for an unknown crime.

There is now a man who was here legally on a work permit who has been violently assaulted by racist scumbags.

Whose life will be forever changed as result of the violent assault.

I await the compassionate out pouring for this victim of crime from you and the 21 posters who also agreed more compassion was needed in this thread.

Most self proclaimed free speech absolutists are giant big whiny snowflakes!

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2, Paid Member Posts: 19,013 ✭✭✭✭nullzero
    °°°°°

I never mentioned you.

So I've no idea what you're on about.

Glazers Out!

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2, Paid Member Posts: 9,454 ✭✭✭Backstreet Moyes

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 791 ✭✭✭maik3n

Please don't take us all here for fools, there have been multiple posts on it, (none condemning it I might add and some even casting aspersions on the victim) since I originally flagged it a few pages back.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 1,029 ✭✭✭InAtFullBack

Some have said that European Nations should accept endless migration because of some European Countries colonial past actions.

Then we have:

Using the the year 1920 is moronic off topic whataboutery.

So, it's fine to talk about the past when it suits, but when it doesn't suit it's moronic and whataboutery. The goal posts are over there. Whoa wait, no - they're over here now. 🙄

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2, Paid Member Posts: 9,454 ✭✭✭Backstreet Moyes

I don't have time to read every article on here especially on Monday with work and certainly don't have time to respond to every article on here with work getting in the way.

The only person acting the fool is someone tagging me in a reply to a post from last week accusing me of not showing compassion without saying what he is on about.

If I was directly discussing what happened in that case then it might make some sense, instead it's some childish effort.

I have compassion for anyone who is an innocent victim, unlike others, I don't go around down playing the actions of people.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 723 ✭✭✭engineerws

No, no I am not and it speaks volumes that your interpretation leads you to that conclusion.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 6,279 ✭✭✭eightieschewbaccy

Seems like I'm not the only person who is interpreting it as such...

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 723 ✭✭✭engineerws

I knew you would side with those perpetrating those attacks . 

I did no such thing. .

It appears to me that your love of the motion of helping those abroad and your hatred of Irish people shines through in your every post. I would suggest joining a local Charity because it seems to me you've been consumed by a hatred for Irish people.

As I said already, what happened to the Afghanistan man was appalling.

https://www.irishtimes.com/crime-law/2025/07/20/man-violently-assaulted-and-partially-stripped-by-gang-in-tallaght/

Worth noting O'Callaghan talks about migrants not IPAS. Also, PBP take no responsibility for the issues they have caused by demonizing anyone who didcusses immigration supply/ demand.

• Moderators, Recreation & Hobbies Moderators Posts: 22,997 Mod ✭✭✭✭Brian?

what a stupid pint to try to make. I’m 100% sure Nairobi and Lagos could do with my diversity, and more importantly, inclusion.

But a load of lads debating immigration to Ireland are hardly going to sit around debating that, now are they.

Inclusion is the goal, diversity is a given.

they/them/theirs

The more you can increase fear of drugs and crime, welfare mothers, immigrants and aliens, the more you control all of the people.

Noam Chomsky

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 2,047 ✭✭✭Jack Daw

The entire debate around diversity world wide tends to be Diversity is inherently good and Europe ,America, Australia etc need more of it, however you never hear any mention in the world wide debate around diversity that Africa needs more of it.

The immigration issue in Ireland is not a solely national issue , it's part of a world wide issue.

You're just pretending what I said isn't relevant in the debate because you know that encouraging diversity is a one-way street and it's only Europe and America who are expected to have to embrace it not anyone else.

Mexicans are allowed to protest about Americans emigrating there and it's considered acceptable by large parts of the media but if Americans protest about excessive Mexican immigration they are deemed racist by the same media.

• Moderators, Recreation & Hobbies Moderators Posts: 22,997 Mod ✭✭✭✭Brian?

It isn’t relevant to the debate. The debate is about immigration to Ireland.

You’re trying to use it as a distraction. A more diverse and inclusive Africa would be great.

Now back to Ireland.

they/them/theirs

The more you can increase fear of drugs and crime, welfare mothers, immigrants and aliens, the more you control all of the people.

Noam Chomsky

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2, Paid Member Posts: 19,013 ✭✭✭✭nullzero
    °°°°°

Is inclusion the goal?

If you decide to move to another country permanently the goal should be integration.

The fears people have around immigration stem from the unwillingness of certain people to integrate into their host societies.

We hear a lot about how Irish people went everywhere, and we did, but we also integrated when we got there. There's an acknowledgement of Irish heritage but there's also an acceptance of needing to be part of the society you live in.

Some groups have no interest in integration, they wish to remain separated from general society but still demand the benefits afforded to them for living in developed western societies whilst seeking to undermine the social cohesion but trying to enforce their religious beliefs and laws on the existing populace.

I'm all for good people coming to this country and contributing to our society and economy and embracing our way of life. I know many people like that as I'm sure we all do.

What I'm not for is the other cohort arriving here making demand after demand and trying to reverse the course of the social progress we've made here over decades that have been hard won.

If you come here and you can't chime with our values, you don't respect women or gay people and feel you have the right to impose your beliefs forcefully on others you shouldn't be here.

We've always had people coming to live here, the issue isn't diversity it's managing the numbers correctly and making sure we take in those who are willing to integrate and who won't be a negative addition.

Other nations to that all the time but for some reason the EU has chosen to have no discretion at all over who arrives here, and that's the problem. Not the tired accusations of racism or xenophobia. It's such a lazy argument.

Glazers Out!