Hello all! Please ensure that you are posting a new thread or question in the appropriate forum. The Feedback forum is overwhelmed with questions that are having to be moved elsewhere. If you need help to verify your account contact hello@boards.ie
If we do not hit our goal we will be forced to close the site.

Current status: https://keepboardsalive.com/

Annual subs are best for most impact. If you are still undecided on going Ad Free - you can also donate using the Paypal Donate option. All contribution helps. Thank you.

Where will we go if Boards finishes?

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 24,285 ✭✭✭✭Esel
    Not Your Ornery Onager

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 10,317 ✭✭✭✭DARK-KNIGHT

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 5,824 ✭✭✭Nollog

I don't know how any of you think a discord makes any sense for a board.

All the discords I'm in make me think it would never work, and I'd hate it being tried.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2, Paid Member Posts: 1,384 ✭✭✭Dr Robert

Discord is awful.

Save boards.ie by subscribing:

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 844 ✭✭✭_BAA_RAM_EWE

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 10,317 ✭✭✭✭DARK-KNIGHT

I think discord would be great as a backup option last resort

Have been a part of a few big discords and once fairly moderated should be fine

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 11,676 ✭✭✭✭OmegaGene

I am in a few discords and it works well

Some will like it and others won’t it’s much like Apple and Android, it’s hard to get something everyone will agree on

The internet isn’t for everyone

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 7,133 ✭✭✭DopeTech

Any invites available? Curious to see how it would work. I feel discord is not as mainstream as the likes of boards or Facebook or Reddit so you’d lose many ppl that way and then I’m open to be proved wrong but I think deals would be harder to keep track of in a discord channel. I think a subreddit for IrishBargainAlerts would do the trick. That way deals could be sorted by date or upvotes etc and each deal would have their own thread. I prefer the boards format over Reddit but I don’t see a successful forum coming in to take its place. The few that are going are also fairly quiet and I don’t see everyone flocking to one of them if boards goes dark.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2, Paid Member Posts: 236 ✭✭User567363

if you go to a browser on any device and search for boards bargains, you will find this forum, and can view the latest posts,

there is no need to install an app or create an account, thats why I registered boardsbargains.ie and pointed it to a new instantly readable forum

if a better alternative is found let me know and i can point boardsbargains.ie to that

and of course…if they announce that this site can afford to stay open i will gladly shut my crappy imitation down

If you find my comment funny, useful, interesting or even annoying then please like and subscribe to boards.ie

sold. lock thread before theirs another loop of 5 pages

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 2,858 ✭✭✭Toast

If someone is actually going to run an off Boards web forum.. just be prepared how much annoying overhead you will have to deal with.

I strongly suggest having closed membership, because if it is open, expect a never ending amount of spam bots you need to deal with.
    If you do closed membership, that becomes its own overhead.
    Your forum WILL be constantly crawled by aggressive AI bots that could put you over whatever usage plan you've paid for. Be aware that if you allow video uploads, for some reason, you will require users provide full ID verification to access the site (as of today).
    You will be personally responsible for the safe storage of the data of your users and can be fined if that data leaks.
    There will be constant attempts to hack your forum to get aforementioned data, or just post spam / scams.
    You will have to deal with drama and moderate users in unpopular ways (and you might be liable if someone posts libel or hate speech).
    Users will frequently lock themselves out of their accounts or have other issues accessing the site you will have to provide tech support for.
    If you run Google ads you will frequently get ones that pretend to be the login form for your site, cause people to go off to somewhere entirely different, and trick them into signing up for something which they will then blame on you.

Hopefully after all that, people will usually thank you for your efforts, so after hearing all that if you do want to take one for the team, you'll probably get a warm fuzzy feeling out of it at the end.

source: I'm the admin on a moderately popular Irish web forum for over 15 years.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 16 dobebrief

So i'm the guy who is building stardeals. I did not decide to build it as a replacement for boards.ie. My personal opinion is that the internet needs sites like boards.ie (especially in these AI times where sources of information will become less and less transparent).

I actually decided to build the site as i am taking some time off between jobs (i have been in a pretty intense run of jobs for the last 7 years (hence promotionalcodes.ie becoming horribly outdated).

I've put up a landing page to avoid the "ghost town" situation. I.e. if i just put the site live there are very few deals on there then the first few people won't stick around. The only thing i will do with the emails on the waiting list is to email when the site is ready.

The site is similar to hotukdeals (but focused on Ireland). So it has the usual deal posting, and up/down votes. For it to have any chance of working it will need an active community. I also want to "reward" people who contribute to the site. Hence the points/badge system i put in place. At the moment you can earn points for sharing deals, voting, commenting and reporting deals. These points will then be redeemable for amazon vouchers. As this is something i am running myself on a pretty limited budget i need to make sure i get the balance right here. I want it to be as generous as possible without the site bankrupting me.

The site will also
    * Let you post local deals (by county)
    * Subscribe to categories or stores
    * It has an amazon uk vs amazon ie price checker to quickly see if one option is cheaper than the other
    * Badges to help support local irish businesses.

I'm currently on holiday so development has slowed right down, but i do have a preview link that i can share if anyone is interested. (just send me a DM)

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 4,783 ✭✭✭savemejebus

@dobebrief Fair play for coming on and posting about the site but nothing that you have said encourages me that your site (good luck with it) would come close to being a replacement for the bargains section on boards.

The reason that the bargains section on boards is worthwhile is that people post stuff because they want to contribute to the boards community. Those that don't, that spam, and post referrals to try and get a quick buck used get sent on their way pretty quickly.

The site that you describe, incentivising people for posting stuff with Amazon vouchers, allowing upvoting and downvoting for popularity. That's, in my eyes, a recipe for disaster and you'll end up with people posting all sorts of shite and upvote farming or manipulating to try and maximise their chances.

People post on boards to help everyone, not to help themselves. Your site, and there may be a niche for it, is not like that.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 493 ✭✭Brianb8802

I'd be more positive about what you're up to. I lived in Oz for over a decade and saved a fortune using ozbargain.com.au.

It does most of what you are striving for, and some. There is a very active community on the site and since it's been going for nearly 20 years they have come across most of the pitfalls and have created detailed guidelines to keep any potential abuse of the website or deals in check. The rules around deal up/down voting are also tried and tested.

Of course with any online community with rules there will always be a small % of users who feel mistreated but the vast majority are very helpful and reminded me alot of bargain alerts crew But I have always thought the platform of Ozbargains was streets ahead, in turn this allowed for more community engagement/growth. Again the caveat being that Oz has 5 times the population of Ireland so maybe it's easier to get your community up and going over there.

If you are looking to set up something similar for Ireland it would be well worth reading through the Ozbargain wiki. I know the developers were openly collaborating with the hotdealsuk team a while back as they didn't see it as a conflict of interest since the sites would never compete with each other. Maybe try contact them and see where it takes you, there is probably more on that collaboration in the Ozbargain forums somewhere.

Best of luck with it.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2, Paid Member Posts: 6,710 ✭✭✭archfi

+1 for ozbargain.com.au

• Moderators, Business & Finance Moderators Posts: 7,177 Mod ✭✭✭✭Sheep Shagger

Dumb question, think someone said they set up a proboards version of Bargain Alerts here.

What's the limitation with that, can't deal with so much traffic or active threads?

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2, Paid Member Posts: 840 ✭✭✭Dublin Calling

Probably storage and CPU capacity. These can be scaled up, if advertising money starts coming in. Most forums are run as a hobby, were the owner runs it out of their own pocket. Their payment is building a community and talking to others with the same interests.

https://boardsbargains.freeforums.net/board/1/general-discussion

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 5,977 ✭✭✭daheff

Speak for yourself. this forum has cost me a fortune buying bargains!! 🤣

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 281 ✭✭user060916

Biggest issue would be around who owns the data and the fact they can, and have just deleted forums.

Also UX is pretty poor. Wouldn't be a fan of it at all

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 1,177 ✭✭✭gussieg

jaysus the ads version of boards is pretty relentless and hardcore now , cash flow issue stopping me signing up , hmmm

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2, Paid Member Posts: 6,982 ✭✭✭jj880

🤣 Definitely true for some purchases (fitness watch, projector) although it could be argued quality of life has improved for a lot less than it should have cost. Others are definite savings though. Student prime for 4 years even though Im not student. Big purchases at Christmas. Even bulk shower gel for £1 per litre. All freeing up cash to be spent elsewhere. The bargain forum will be my biggest miss. Hopefully an alternative host can be found.

>>> BOARDS IS IN TROUBLE - SUBSCRIPTIONS NEEDED <<<

Info 👉️ Important News!!

Progress 👉 https://keepboardsalive.com/

Subscribe 👉️ https://subscriptions.boards.ie/

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 19,392 ✭✭✭✭kippy

I think the "best" place to go is here. At least some effort should be put into seeing what options might be available if the current owners are unable to keep the lights on. Despite all the "issues" with the back end software, its still a platform layout that generally works well.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2, Paid Member Posts: 7,992 ✭✭✭The_B_Man
    Something about sandwiches

They 100% won't raise the needed money from user subscriptions. Unless they get an external person to give them a bunch of money then boards is going.

Either it'll disappear or else be given (sold) to the community. But with Google answering all Google searches with it's AI now, most websites will go the way of the dodo...

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2, Paid Member Posts: 1,192 ✭✭✭z80CPU
    Darth Randomer

Well, here.

That said it's a bit like trying to revitalize a city like Sheffield which was once a centre for steel production:

The industry is gone.

Maybe the powers that be here could also study the sad story of Google+ which I was on once touted as an alternative to Facebook.

But Google seriously bungled Google+ good and proper.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 405 ✭✭SharpCoder

discussions [dot] ie

fab looking alternative to all of boards.ie, presume its safe to post a proper link

should be site wide sticky as they are nowhere near 2000 subscribers :(

https://discussions.ie/

Post edited by User567363 on
    If you find my comment funny, useful, interesting or even annoying then please like and subscribe to boards.ie

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2, Paid Member Posts: 840 ✭✭✭Dublin Calling

DOB and Location required. No legal reason to require them, GDPR etc.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2, Paid Member Posts: 10,091 ✭✭✭✭con747

Do the new laws on age requirements for everything not come into play there? Just put any age over 16 on it. Location is no issue really, put anywhere on it. I would still rather here stayed going but I'm not sure which of the other options are best if it goes that way.

Don't expect anything from life, just be grateful to be alive.

Help Keep Boards.ie Alive sign up here

https://subscriptions.boards.ie/ Keep Boards Subscribed To.

luckily my dob is 1st jan 2000, strange as i am turning 50 soon