Hello all! Please ensure that you are posting a new thread or question in the appropriate forum. The Feedback forum is overwhelmed with questions that are having to be moved elsewhere. If you need help to verify your account contact hello@boards.ie
If we do not hit our goal we will be forced to close the site.

Current status: https://keepboardsalive.com/

Annual subs are best for most impact. If you are still undecided on going Ad Free - you can also donate using the Paypal Donate option. All contribution helps. Thank you.

Amazfit Balance Smart Watch Deal Discussion⌚

• Subscribers, Paid Member Posts: 43,703 ✭✭✭✭sydthebeat

Arrived today, amazing piece of kit.

To answer my own question above, it's very simple to input your own work outs through the 'training template' widget. I added my own couch to 5k day.

1000112830.jpg

And went did it this evening

No problem linking with head phones. The ability to do a prescribed, geo located jog with music and without a phone is worth the money alone.

Delighted with this, and I haven't scratched the surface of what it can do. The data available after a work out is exceptional as well.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 1,497 ✭✭✭lucalux

Must check that setting, cheers!

Yeah the nylon straps are a pain if they get wet.

I'm gonna get several silicone ones as theyre just easier.

I've a few elastic nylon ones already. They get grubby as well and need washing so silicone is handy, dries instantly with a wipe

Might get some milanese style metal ones for dressing it up if I ever feel like it

Thank feck for temu

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2, Paid Member Posts: 6,967 ✭✭✭jj880

Button mode with press lower button set to zepp flow is pretty good. The voice commands can screw up sometimes but its very handy for the most part especially for making quick calls.

1 thing I haven't been able to figure out is how to set a sleep / silent timer for the music app. My son wants wave sounds playing on low volume but would it to stop playing after 20 minutes. Maybe it can't be done...

>>> BOARDS IS IN TROUBLE - SUBSCRIPTIONS NEEDED <<<

Info 👉️ Important News!!

Progress 👉 https://keepboardsalive.com/

Subscribe 👉️ https://subscriptions.boards.ie/

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 7,577 ✭✭✭Jeff2

I didn't realise but all those icons can be tapped to open them.

Im still learning new things about this watch every day. Prefer to have the apps in list view.

IMG_20250722_073518.jpg

Settings⇒Preferences⇒App View⇒List View

Info 👉️ Important News!!

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 7,461 ✭✭✭SteM

If you install an app from the Zepp store and you want to remove it you can long press the icon and that will bring up the option to delete it.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 5,821 ✭✭✭Nollog

Silicone straps make my arm hot and itchy, the nylon one feels fine to me wet, metal straps tear hairs off me every time i move.

I got a few more nylon ones that look the same as the one that's currently on it (ye olde pacman boards emote)

I found enabling the bottom button long press to do zepp flow option to conflict with having alexa on the just press the bottom button, so i just have zepp on the top of the swipe left menu and just tap that. Would be nice if it worked, probably them both trying to get mic access at the same time.

I had to hold the top button for 10-20 seconds to force a restart a couple times before I gave up on it.

List view is nice, you can reorder the apps by either long pressing on them and carefully not hitting the little minus, or just in the phone app.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 262 ✭✭Lester_Burnham

Got these straps on Amazon (IE) for €11 or so. Pretty much the same as the original.

17203.jpg

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 2,765 ✭✭✭testtech05

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 3,539 ✭✭✭jamesd

Found with mine, I get into my car in the morning to drive to work and for some reason google maps on the watch starts automatically and does turn by turn direction.

I dont have google maps open on the phone or the car's android auto.

Can I switch this off but easily on again for if Im out walking.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 6,450 ✭✭✭positron

Just a slightly related observation - about "mental recovery".

For years and years, my Garmin complained about my sleep quality, and the "Recovery delayed" notification was just a daily thing. I once tried giving into the watch to tell me what level of activity I should do - and it held me back for a few days to a week with "rest days" and then said "not enough activities" to calculate my fitness plan. :D :D

So with this new Amazfit Balance, the pattern didn't surprise me. Day 2 said mental recovery in 50s, Day 3 took it down to 40s and then 30s. So I actually read the "hints" the Zepp app is providing, and decided to try changing things. I started going to bed at 11 pm (it used to be anytime between 12-1am) and stopped late night snacking and continued getting up at 7 am as normal.

Sure enough, 4or 5 good sleeps later, watch is finally happy with my mental recovery at around 73, but I really don't need the watch to tell me this because I actually feel way better during the day now!!

This bargain has paid for itself many times over now (watch itself is a steal, and then the €60 curve referral and who can put a price on better health from good sleep hygiene!!)

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 3,378 ✭✭✭mr_edge_to_you

You can't. A lot of the practical functions on the Amazfit watches won't work with Apple.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2, Paid Member Posts: 2,820 ✭✭✭nachouser

I was up late drinking with my partner until 5am on Sunday morning and the watch is basically saying "Dude, don't ever do that again." It cares:-)

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2, Paid Member Posts: 10,019 ✭✭✭✭con747

Don't expect anything from life, just be grateful to be alive.

Help Keep Boards.ie Alive sign up here

https://subscriptions.boards.ie/ https://keepboardsalive.com/

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 12,769 ✭✭✭✭Mr.Crinklewood

I was severely hung over on Saturday and it gave me my best mental readiness of the week.

It also wants me to wash the car.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 7,914 ✭✭✭Raoul

I switched it off by changing the notifications in the zepp app

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 8,435 ✭✭✭Esse85

Do ye leave the watch on when going asleep or take it off?

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 45,037 ✭✭✭✭Basq

Depends on your preference but it can't profile your sleep without it.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 3,539 ✭✭✭jamesd

Perfect thank you.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 3,842 ✭✭✭dmc17

Leave it on as it analyses your sleep, resting heart rate etc. and also use it as an alarm

I charged mine today when it was at 15% after 8 days. It took 80 minutes to charge fully. Given all the messing about with it for the first week that's phenomenal battery life.

Regarding sleep, I'm a total night owl. My hours are stressing it out big time. I got a direct warning to go to bed earlier 😂

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2, Paid Member Posts: 2,820 ✭✭✭nachouser

HRV.png

It does not like my HRV, whatever the hell that is.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 647 ✭✭✭Moreilly

Well...... my Watch got marked as delivered by an post ( Enfield DSU ) and never turned up, an post have been no real help at all. Going to start taking a photo of every package that arrives partially open from now on as the wife has also noticed that we often get packages that opened a bit but this is the first time something has gone with a delivered scan. Surely when a delivery scan takes place there is a ID who scanned it as delivered?

A friend had a parcel from there delivered Friday and left at the door at 12.06 pm on video camera, an hour later the same postie called back and took the parcel back. 🤔 They went to the post office in Enfield today and the parcel was found after a search, I wonder if it wasn't on camera to show them would it have been though.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 647 ✭✭✭Moreilly

I have cameras all around the house, the delivery time was hours before I usually get post delivered 8:14am , my post usually comes around 11:30. No post came at all, the only movement was one van that came into the driveway and turned around and left but that was later in the day. I contacted an post and they contacted Enfield DSU - who didn't bother responding to them so basically an post told me to go to Amazon......

I remember An Post telling me to email some department they had to deal with lost packages a few years ago. They said theyd look into it. Waste of time. I followed up but was told tough titty. Its lost (or stolen).

I think as another poster said you can get a few non-delivery / stolen item refunds from Amazon before they flag your account and that seems to be the height of it. I emailed Amazon (who were trying to blame postal service) about my stolen watch to let them know they have someone thieving in 1 of their EU warehouses. Nothing back. Just seems to be accepted that a certain amount of packages will get lost / stolen. Not worth the hassle to investigate.

Info 👉️ Important News!!

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 7,577 ✭✭✭Jeff2

For some reason I couldn't change my watch for a few days but tonight I got to 100%. It seems like a minor problem but understanding how to change it could be made simple.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 10,313 ✭✭✭✭DARK-KNIGHT

This is the greatest bargain I have ever come across. The watch is fantastic.

Where are you lads getting the watch faces from apart from the zepp mobile app?