Hello all! Please ensure that you are posting a new thread or question in the appropriate forum. The Feedback forum is overwhelmed with questions that are having to be moved elsewhere. If you need help to verify your account contact hello@boards.ie
If we do not hit our goal we will be forced to close the site.

Current status: https://keepboardsalive.com/

Annual subs are best for most impact. If you are still undecided on going Ad Free - you can also donate using the Paypal Donate option. All contribution helps. Thank you.

Manchester United Thread 25/26 - Teamtalk/Transfers/Gossip Mod Note in OP 26.09.24

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 14,401 ✭✭✭✭StringerBell

I thought he got 11 when responding tbf but I'll accept 10. Doesn't change my point, I'll have a bet with you if you like that he will get 10 in the premier league if he stays this season - his movement toward the end of the season was very poor he looked fed up and in need of a break. He has shown plenty of good movements up to that point where it looked like he had just given up which obviously isn't ideal but again, at that point he's a 21 year old... Plus even when looking **** he was still making runs even at the back end of the season that were ignored. Cunha instead of Garnacho gives him a fighting chance of salvaging his career alone as Cunha will make things happen. Mbuemo will get the ball across the box.

I'm not saying Hojlund is gonna set the world alight this season but I do think he has a hell of a lot of attributes Amorim likes in his 9 and that he will get the chance to save his United career.

I was against his signing, both on the basis that he relied heavily on his pace in the little I'd seen of him and the fee and expectation on a 20 year old in a dysfunctional attack could break him (maybe it has) but he has shown glimpses that there is a player in there and this season is going to be make or break for him.

I could be wrong, champions league finalists Inter may sign him for example, but I think he stays and if so it's on him to drag himself up to the mark.

"People say ‘go with the flow’ but do you know what goes with the flow? Dead fish."

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 19,066 ✭✭✭✭bucketybuck

I don't understand any defence of Hojlund to be honest.

If Accrington Stanley had a striker who was utter shite for 2 years they would bring in somebody else, but at Manchester United we should give him another chance?

Its not a training academy or make a wish foundation, the clubs mission statement isn't to help Hojlund find his form. He has been terrible in every aspect of play, the club needs to get another striker, how is this a discussion?

Jadon Sancho has more PL goals+assists than Hojlund last season.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 11,946 ✭✭✭✭DrPhilG

Shhh, don't get in the way of the Amorim out brigade.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 7,232 ✭✭✭Iseedeadpixels

I'm honestly on the fence, I was saying after 5 games (if the transfers are good) it should be obvious whether he should be sacked or not, I've changed that to 10 because of the horrific start we have.

Ornstein reporting that Ekitike is almost done for Liverpool. €95m+. So presumably they're out of the Isak running. Still rumours linking him to Saudi which would be kinda mad. Also he was left out against Celtic due to the rumours about his future so he's clearly unsettled.

Sesko, Vlahovic, Watkins, Mateta all potentially on the market still for our consideration. Assuming that Gyokeres goes to Arsenal and Osimhen to Galatasaray as expected.

We've bought well with Cunha & Mbeumo, but without a reliable striker it won't be enough. We 100% need a striker who can reliably put away 15-20 goals. Beyond that, I don't think we'll solve the goalkeeper issue this summer. I think our best hope for the remainder of the window is a striker and a midfielder. Maybe a back up keeper to replace Bayindir if he goes.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 3,845 ✭✭✭AidoEirE

Arsenal, City, Chelsea all within the first 5 games, that's going to be tough.

I've a feeling the bandwagon will well and truly be out within those games.

Tbf top 3 is already wrapped up with Liverpool, City and Arsenal, 4th will be a fight between Chelsea and Newcastle so we need to be at that level.

Honestly you're spot on about a striker, we dropped so many points due to wasted chances though I'd like to see a new GK too, Onana scares me!

Need more games like the Villa one.

I don't think Chelsea are any great shakes Id be happy with 7 points from the first 5 games.

No excuses from then on though.

Think they'll be a better outfit next season compared to last. Like us they have a shakey GK that needs replacing. I prefer our back line but their attack looks pretty decent. If we got a striker in and a CM id b3 fairly confident.

First games of the season is at home to Arsenal, a win would do us a world of good to kick on. Especially after how they've strenghtend so impressively. Zumbamendi would of been ideal in our formation.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 19,716 ✭✭✭✭y0ssar1an22

no its not. want to stamp out player power? dont give them the move they want would be a start.

i'd rather an example was set rather than example for all to follow.

we have kicked a can down the road…..nothing more.

Disagree man. The logistics of it is that Rashford could be pure profit and has shown middle finger to the badge.

Sancho has been absolutely diabolical, a player has never seen so much welfare treatment and still throws it back at the club.

The Two of them can rightly **** out of the club.

Not only is their behaviour disgusting but they are 2 of the top earners showing the least amount of respect.

Out ta **** whatever it takes.

the highlights, better viewed muted. is this the best we can muster?

amorim needs to sort his **** pronto

who's that that just gave up? pathetic. should be dropped.

bout 7.45.

Screenshot 2025-07-20 032556.png

granted, i've only watched the highlights but that was pathetic.

lets keep bruno in midfield will get amorom sacked (plus being generally clueless it seems)

i dont care if only preseason.

• Moderators, Social & Fun Moderators, Society & Culture Moderators Posts: 31,107 Mod ✭✭✭✭Insect Overlord

Has this thread always been so ridiculously negative? Throwing the baby out with the bath water after a meaningless pre-season friendly is pathetic. That's not fandom or support for a club.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 11,065 ✭✭✭✭billyhead

If Bruno doesn't play in midfield where else do you play him and he's got to play.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 4,201 ✭✭✭Jofspring

I watched the match yesterday. Thought Cunha looked decent, creative, direct and put in a few challenges also. Definitely lacking a CF though. Yoro was excellent when he came on too. It was a classic pre-season game with United knocking the ball around trying different patterns of play but lacked the final finish.

Heaton played well in goals also. I think if there wasn't so many changes at HT we'd have won it.

If you added Watkins and a CM to that team I'd be expecting a massive improvement in results.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 2,394 ✭✭✭Quags

It’s got a lot worse recently. Some people just want to moan about United daily

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 4,794 ✭✭✭Robson99

Bruno not going to Saudi will be the rock Amorim perishes on. Doest fit the system and could have 100 mill to spend on a striker / midfielder / GK

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 11,065 ✭✭✭✭billyhead

I would have sold him too. He's not needed anymore.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 1,350 ✭✭✭FrankN1

How is it so negative? We came 15th and played some of the worst football in our history last season, lost a final to Spurs. There should be strong signs of a system in place now which there is not. Yes it's the first preseason game and hopefully it was just a fitness test but the next few preseason games, I am expecting a lot more. The team doesn't magically play **** in pre season and then turn it on for the first game of the season.

All the signs of no progress were there last season. This season, there's no excuses. We need to play better football. And fast. Not first 20 games to experiment. That time is over.

• Moderators, Social & Fun Moderators, Society & Culture Moderators Posts: 31,107 Mod ✭✭✭✭Insect Overlord

Yes, but there's no sense at all in flogging the team all summer if we're expecting them to give 100% every week, and avoid injuries from over-working, for the full season ahead.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2, Paid Member Posts: 6,769 ✭✭✭secman

Said it before, our goalkeeper squad is abysmal and will cause us points over the season. The most reliable of the 3 is nearly 40 years old. Why it's not a priority is beyond me.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 3,744 ✭✭✭el Fenomeno

Honestly, I don't know how you could rank one priority over another this summer.

Our attack was anaemic last year. Whether you're a fan of his "system" or not, we needed number 10s that work in it. That was a priority.

Our striker is one of the worst in the league. An upgrade there is also a priority.

Our midfield has no legs, and there's no apparent 2 man combination that works in this system (there's that word again). So that's a priority too.

Our goalkeeper is a calamity on legs and actively costs us games and points. Agreed that yes, it's also a priority.

That's our problem. We have so many glaring holes - each of which you could make a sound argument for being the biggest priority - and not enough resources to address them.

Mind boggling considering the amount of money we've spent in recent years, not to mention money spent specifically on those exact same areas of the field.

prob since finishing 15th last season.

shall we all sing kum by ya and pretend its all grand?

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2, Paid Member Posts: 8,096 ✭✭✭El Gato De Negocios

BF balked at the move so absolutely nothing the club could do about it. If Madrid, Munich or similar came knocking I'd suspect it would have been a different outcome.

cleary 10, but we just spent 120m on 2 of those.

he doesnt have to play - if the plan was to play him CM, he should have been sold.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 5,464 ✭✭✭Quandary

The main goal for preseason is to get the players up fitness, integrate new players, keep the squad injury free and get them to have a solid understanding of the way the manager wants them to play.

Amorim is going to be under immediate massive pressure to perform come start of the season. Even if the club dont sign a decent keeper and striker he will still be expected show significant improvement. Last season was beyond appalling and shouldnt be hard to improve at least slightly on, or so you would imagine! Considering some of the early fixtures though, I wouldnt be shocked to see a negative momentum take hold, resulting in Amorim getting the boot. If he hasnt gotten the desperately needed reinforcements at striker and keeper then you would have to feel a little bit sorry for him, but he really has to find a way to make the most out of the squad he has.

At the very very least we will see more dead wood shifted and poisonous characters removed from the squad.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 5,203 ✭✭✭paulbok

You can't sell him if he turned down the only offer.