Hello all! Please ensure that you are posting a new thread or question in the appropriate forum. The Feedback forum is overwhelmed with questions that are having to be moved elsewhere. If you need help to verify your account contact hello@boards.ie
If we do not hit our goal we will be forced to close the site.

Current status: https://keepboardsalive.com/

Annual subs are best for most impact. If you are still undecided on going Ad Free - you can also donate using the Paypal Donate option. All contribution helps. Thank you.

Immigration and Ireland - MEGATHREAD *Mod Note Added 14/08/25*

• Moderators, Category Moderators, Science, Health & Environment Moderators, Social & Fun Moderators, Society & Culture Moderators Posts: 42,926 CMod ✭✭✭✭ancapailldorcha

This is why I'm suspicious of linkdumps. More often than not, they're just dumped without the poster having read the article, eg that one about the Central Bank.

The foreigner residing among you must be treated as your native-born. Love them as yourself, for you were foreigners in Egypt. I am the LORD your God.

Leviticus 19:34

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 1,698 ✭✭✭Stephen_Maturin

I did read the article, I quoted “racially profiled” from the article instead of “racial profiling”

The meaning is exactly the same

Hilarious clutching at straws from Robbie here saying I’m lying and making up conspiracies on that basis.
    Bottom line is a rape suspect was apprehended by the Gardaí and the NGO’s first concern is to whinge about how they caught him. That is the truth.

It’s telling that the claim of racial profiling in this context is so laughable that it is embarrassing to those who would routinely use the term, and they are tying themselves in knots to claim it wasn’t used.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2, Paid Member Posts: 22,496 ✭✭✭✭Ash.J.Williams

Confirmation we're screwed

• Moderators, Category Moderators, Science, Health & Environment Moderators, Social & Fun Moderators, Society & Culture Moderators Posts: 42,926 CMod ✭✭✭✭ancapailldorcha

The foreigner residing among you must be treated as your native-born. Love them as yourself, for you were foreigners in Egypt. I am the LORD your God.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2, Paid Member Posts: 22,496 ✭✭✭✭Ash.J.Williams

Nothing, it's about underfunded infrastructure and excessive costs

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 6,456 ✭✭✭emo72

So I wonder what the plan is? "Ehhhh We're not gonna build houses, so it's cardboard boxes for all. Hey it's just the way the free market works. Suck it up plebs." How the hell there isn't a revolution in this country is beyond me.

This specific case, nothing but part of the reasons costs are so high is the local NIMBYs challenging them.

It'd be nice if the person who dumped the link maybe gave some kind of explanation.

It will definitely affect the 50k a year build target 😀

I did. Be nice if you could have actually bothered to make a point instead of crapping out links though.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 4,344 ✭✭✭tabby aspreme

https://www.rte.ie/news/2025/0628/1520774-social-housing-dublin/.

This gives an idea of what social housing is costing

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 5,041 ✭✭✭PokeHerKing

Its becoming rare that people even read posts on this site, let alone links.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 615 ✭✭✭Marcos

You mean the estate built without planning permission and continually expanded after warning letters to stop by Wicklow County Council? Well read that article and you'll see that they have applied for retention planning permission so the matter is in front of Bord An Comisiún Pleanala. In the meantime they are still making money over hand and fist*. Planning laws bedamned.

Regarding the sewage issue, that's one that is extremely concerning and potentially affects more than half the population in Dublin. Currently it produces twice as much waste as permitted by licensing laws, currently this 40,000 gallons of human waste is trucked to Uisce Eireann water treatment plants.

Uisce Eireann has warned that "plans for a sewage treatment plant on the site of an ‘illegal’ refugee village could pollute the drinking water for almost a million residents in the Dublin area."

This is their official response to the application for retention planning permission. Now some might find this concerning that since the Liffey is 110 meters south of the development and feeds directly to the Poulaphuca resevoir which supplies water for a larger part of the greater Dublin area.

So not only are the companies behind this ignoring planning laws, building on state owned land, but the majority of people in Dublin could become negatively affected so they can make a quick buck. I am very concerned if that is the case.

*Seefin Events who lease the estate have been paid €10,444,565 by the Department of Integration to provide accommodation for asylum seekers last year according to the first article by Business Plus above. It also states that the directors are directors of other companies that have been paid a combined €33 million from state accommodation contracts last year. So with money like that being thrown around, even if they keep this in the courts for another year it's worth it while they keep on getting given our money to do so.

When most of us say "social justice" we mean equality under the law opposition to prejudice, discrimination and equal opportunities for all. When Social Justice Activists say "social justice" they mean an emphasis on group identity over the rights of the individual, a rejection of social liberalism, and the assumption that unequal outcomes are always evidence of structural inequalities.

Andrew Doyle, The New Puritans.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 56,015 ✭✭✭✭Headshot

We had Sweden and now Spain

I firmly believe illegal immigration is one of most existential threats to the EU and our values. This is one of the biggest reasons why far right parties are flourishing

This madness just cannot go on

Why am I not surprised? In a functioning country this kind of thing would result in people being sacked. I posted articles a couple of years ago from the security correspondent of the Sunday Times who said that this kind of thing was going on and that a mafia clan from Rome was using this scheme to help launder money.

Edit: This is a reply to Scar100s post on who is getting money for housing migrants. The quote is below.

When most of us say "social justice" we mean equality under the law opposition to prejudice, discrimination and equal opportunities for all. When Social Justice Activists say "social justice" they mean an emphasis on group identity over the rights of the individual, a rejection of social liberalism, and the assumption that unequal outcomes are always evidence of structural inequalities.

Sorry Scar, I thought I had quoted you in my previous reply.

Why am I not surprised? In a functioning country this kind of thing would result in people being sacked. I posted articles a couple of years ago from the security correspondent of the Sunday Times who said that this kind of thing was going on and that a mafia clan from Rome was using this scheme to help launder money.

I know. I was wondering what strange connection the other poster might come up with.

One part of the reason, and a relatively small one. Nothing whatsoever to do with this case though.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 5,456 ✭✭✭enricoh

Jaysus when drug dealers are getting in on this scam the profits must be eye watering.

No guards harassing, no risk of jail , getting shot . No need to pay out on money laundering either.

Mr Trump can you take your billions back as it is just allowing our idiot politicians dig a bigger hole for our kids to pay for. Hey kids, stick around after college it's only 3k a month rent for a 3 bed semi in salubrious balbriggan nowadays!

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 2,133 ✭✭✭TokTik

It’s probably down to the fact that the kids are from the WEST BANK. Even a quick glance at the article would have given you that information.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 7,409 ✭✭✭RobbieTheRobber

So again if you feel this is information in the text why make up a fake quote?

Most self proclaimed free speech absolutists are giant big whiny snowflakes!

I didn’t make up a fake quote

The quote was “racial profiling”, I wrote “racially profiled” - big f’in diff

Amusing that you think this is some kind of gotcha - shows how flimsy whatever you’re clinging to actually is.

Let’s talk about the actual story please. Gardaí arrest illegal immigrant rape suspect, NGO criticises Gardaí methods of apprehension. That is the story, that is what happened.

Does that story change whether the quote is racial profiling or racially profiled? No it does not - the fact that you are trying to make out as if the story is lies and a “conspiracy” on the basis of that is beyond laughable and disingenuous.

Feel free to continue though because you’re making a fool of yourself quibbling over semantics while ignoring the actual content of the news story.

Factually speaking you made up a quote. You the poster put two word that were not in your source material in quotes. That is making up a quote.

Even worse the words you paraphrased and made into a fake quote were not actually a quote by the NGO like you claimed but the author of the article.

The usual conspiratorial waffle is being applied here, how flimsy is your own belief in what you are posting when you have to flat out make up stuff and lie.

The real story is to demonstrate how ineffective the garda effort attempting to police border actually is.

But sure waffle on about NGOs and maybe even blame the green party as usual in this thread.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 5,456 ✭✭✭enricoh

Spain getting on fantastically well with its new neighbours, a real success story like Sweden, Germany etc

No I made an incredibly minor error in quoting the author’s paraphrasing of what the NGO said. And that incredibly minor error, which in no way changes the story, is all you have to cling to. Like I said, laughable.

How is that the “real story”? The police caught the guy?

If they’re so ineffective, what would you see done to address this issue?

Quite rare in this thread that you actually put forward anything that contributes or progresses the discussion of the topic. Sneering and pedantry, yes lots, but actual on topic discussion points in good faith? Hardly ever

Don't forget the Green Party, he always robustly defends the Green Party, even if, as in this case, nobody other than himself mentioned them 😂

You need to realise that the real story here isn't a rapist being apprehended - that's a Bad Thing, because the rapist wasn't a white Irishman. The real story here is that you put the incorrect tense in quotes, and that is far more noteworthy than some poor, misunderstood rapist, who was only fleeing for his safety, as he comes from a country where rapists are persecuted.

Quite rare in this thread that you actually put forward anything that contributes or progresses the discussion of the topic. Sneering and pedantry, yes lots, but actual on topic discussion points in good faith? Hardly ever

Pointing out lies is pedantry now. 🤣

You posted a fake quote and are now trying to blame me.