Hello all! Please ensure that you are posting a new thread or question in the appropriate forum. The Feedback forum is overwhelmed with questions that are having to be moved elsewhere. If you need help to verify your account contact hello@boards.ie
If we do not hit our goal we will be forced to close the site.

Current status: https://keepboardsalive.com/

Annual subs are best for most impact. If you are still undecided on going Ad Free - you can also donate using the Paypal Donate option. All contribution helps. Thank you.

Ireland Team Talk XII: Farrell's First Fifteen

• Hosted Moderators Posts: 9,037 ✭✭✭fitz

@Podge_irl beat me to it. It's exactly the kind of thing that it would be good for World Rugby to organize financial support for...I think it would be a really tangible and effective way to develop the game on the those countries. Won't happen any time soon, though, I reckon.

• Subscribers, Paid Member Posts: 43,711 ✭✭✭✭sydthebeat

Don't think any Leinster fans are too worried to be honest.

So sad to see some Irish fans not being happy for an Irish player to be called up

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 19,040 ✭✭✭✭Clegg

Not really a surprise either though really. We know what the score is at this stage.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 4,167 ✭✭✭Brief_Lives

thats alright kids, you boys keep clapping eachother on the backs and and keep asking, why aren't they happy for us.

just ignore the rest of Ireland.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 7,901 ✭✭✭Former Former Former

As noted above, everyone is happy

Some are happy that a promising young player is getting a great opportunity and experience early in his career

Others are happy to have more reasons to hate Farrell

Win-win

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 5,030 ✭✭✭Paul Smeenus

Pretty facile point.

It's entirely possible to be a genuine fan of the Lions and be sad or frustrated that the Jersey is cheapened every time a "promising young player" the coaches are familiar with is called up rather than the next best player in any position from these islands. I spent a long time giving out about Gatland cheapening the jersey by doing that. If you'd rather I wasn't consistent because it's my national team that's benefitting then that's fine, but I think I'll stick to my principles, thanks.

Gatland's last tour was a joke for this. The "geography six" were an embarrassment. Calling up Clarkson (and, although I understand why, I feel the same about Farrell Jr), isn't as bad, but it's in the same vein. If you think calling up a third-choice international prop that has in no way yet distinguished himself but is familiar with the System(c) is what the Lions is all about, knock yourself out. The whole point of the Lions is that you have willingly self-inflicted hurdles and restrictions that you're trying to overcome with sheer talent. It's really moving away from that, and has been for a while.

To be extremely clear on this, I posted during the week that I would have called up a Welsh player - pretty much any Welsh player - sfahead of Osborne, even if only for the optics of it. Likewise I would much rather have seen someone else get called up ahead of Clarkson. But with these two and with Owen Farrell, the list of alternatives who are hard done by is massively conspicuous by its complete absence.

Is it a facile point? Maybe. But if you want to think this is a genuine opinion that isn’t driven by a long-festering dislike of Farrell, then you knock yourself out.

Should Irish rugby fans be taking any opportunity to dump all over our own (very successful) coach? “That’s fine but I think I’ll stick to my principles thanks”

I don't understand your post. Its not terribly clear. Are you saying my opinion is driven by a long-festering dislike of Farrell? It's not - when people were bemoaning Farrell's appointment when we had a dip for about a year after he took the mantle, I made multiple posts saying that people had unrealistic expectations and that there had to be a settling-in period while we evolved. I've also said on this forum that Farell is the best coach we've had (albeit Schimdt is possibly the most important). So that's not a fair characterisation. Or are you saying other people are posting this?

And I am not taking "any opportunity to dump" on Farrell. I am frustrated and disappointed with how he has taken the reims at the Lions, and I will offer that opinion when that conversation is happening. If I don't get a Farrell Loyalty Badge so be it, but if you think I'm saying this because I just want to bitch about our coach, there's a fair body of evidence to the contrary.

So yeah, I'd characterise your rather reductive take as facile.

• Moderators, Sports Moderators Posts: 13,059 Mod ✭✭✭✭Cookiemunster

Mod: The provincial BS stops now. Lions selections aren't relevant to Ireland selections.

There isn't a single provincial element, reference or point in a single one of my posts @Cookiemunster

I complained about Farrell Jr being called up. What province does he play for?

• Moderators, Sports Moderators Posts: 13,059 Mod ✭✭✭✭Cookiemunster

It's a general thread warning. Not aimed at you.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 2,168 ✭✭✭ersatz

this kind of on the fly calll ups and preference for one home squad is how the Lions has gone and it will continue if home coaches are selected. It’s probably the best model to exploit the fact that there are so many pros who could hold their own these days.

Agreed.

The fact that the disgruntlement comes from Irish sources is very disappointing to be honest. We've all seen how the lions tours operate at this stage. The disgust at Irish players being called up by Irish fans is really disheartening.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 18,058 ✭✭✭✭bilston

We've done something similar to that in the past. However I think we need to separate Georgia from the rest. If a Welsh team drops out of the URC I would like to see a Georgian team replace them. You could have 80% of the Georgian national squad playing URC week in week out (players in France and England can stay there) with a smattering of overseas players to help lift standards. Four or five years of that could help bridge the gap between where Georgia are now and where they want to go. It would expose these players to a higher level of rugby, but not so high that they'd get hammered every week. In fact they'd probably win a solid number of matches at home.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 2,168 ✭✭✭ersatz

Nice idea but it adds a significant travel nut if they’re based in Georgia.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 3,987 ✭✭✭arsebiscuits1

While there's a limited amount that can be learned from the last 2 weeks realistically the lads could only play what was in front of them.

To that end though Darragh Murray did his future international aspirations no favours. At no point did he stand out for me and the stats show a bit why.

Naturally in such a one sided scoreline players are going to absolutely rack up the attacking stats. Murray finished the Portugal game with zero carries over 60 minutes (4 passes - less than the starting second and back rows and less than Izzy). The only Irish player not to carry. Izzy replaced him and managed 8 carries in his time.

As ever, one sided attacking stats don't paint the full picture. Someone like Murray especially would have set piece as his USP. Indeed I believe he was calling the LO. At least he did against Georgia. He's down for no line outs won and none stolen. Ahern, Baird, Kendellen and Prendergast were the starters who claimed ball. Again Izzy off the bench won 2 and stole 1.

And crucially, you couldn't even argue he was in the tenches because his tackle count was also just ordinary. 4 completed and 2 missed places him solidly in the middle of the road. Izzy made 3 of his own off the bench.

Also…. I really didn't want to bring up this point but I really feel it's worth saying.

Was anyone just straight up unimpressed with Sam? I know his brother called out the media for the unreasonable amount of criticism Sam has been subjected to as a 21/22 year old which was heartening to see.

But I think it's absolutely reasonable to critique his waterboy duties.

In that heat the lads need to by hydrated asap. There were times he was ambling on to the pitch. The way he was carrying the bottles they were clearly only half full at best. How can you get the best out of your team if you're only giving them a fraction what they need? I reckon he needs to be given the summer off water boy duties so he can bulk up and carry a full rack of water bottles

And don't get me started on the tee duties. With the reduced shot clock that tee needs to be on the pitch post haste. Sam probably ate 3-4 seconds into the shot clock with a notable lack of pace shown. And then fumbling the tee as it was tossed back to him?? Give over. A professional needs better hands than that.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 11,951 ✭✭✭✭aloooof

Have we entered the twilight zone?

I think it might be more relevant that Murray got two starts on tour whereas Izuchukwu and Ahern got one each. That might indicate that the coaches see something there that is worth looking at further. Only Murray and Baird started two games in the back five forwards.

My take on this tour is that the real value for Ireland was the time that the fringe players got on centre stage in training camp, the matches themselves are less important (Portugal especially).

I would be pretty confident that the pecking order of second and third choices will have shifted a fair bit when they reassemble for the November tests.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 2,537 ✭✭✭sprucemoose

think he managed to miss a few tackles aswell

id imagine your second paragraph is a good example of why alot of people are frustrated with him as ireland coach at times too - familiarity with 'the system' seems to hold more sway than form, or at least thats what it can look like

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 60 ✭✭perverseostrich

It's a shame coombes and ahern haven't seen a bit more international exposure each could really add something a bit different to the lions I think. maby next tour good target for them

It's not even that he missed them per se.

But like the world and it's wife knows that when you're in a team supporting capacity you need to go above and beyond to let the opposition know you're there and you're not here to be messed with. You need to be sending a message.

To that end I cannot for the life of me understand why he didn't shoulder one of their assistant coaches as he left the pitch. Or simply tripped the physio as they rushed on to aid an injured player.

These are the small moments that make all the difference at the highest level.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 480 ✭✭Tommybojangles

What an absolute joke. Sam Prendergast is the best waterboy we have available. If you don't like it, tough.

This is nothing but hatred of Farrell's waterboy selection policy, driven by bitterness and resentment. Nothing more.

Am I doing it right?

or at least thats what it can look like

That's the key thing. Perspective is (obviously) very subjective. What it looks like to you might be very different to how it looks to me, and some other guy might see it completely differently.

Like, there's been absolutely no suggestion from anyone, anywhere that Clarkson was brought in to train with the Lions because of "systems", but that's how it is seen by some posters here, because that's how some posters see every selection.

Maybe if people took a minute to think a bit more about it, they wouldn't be so frustrated. But unfortunately people have made up their minds and they're not for turning.

Squidge did quite a thorough video on why he thought Clarkson was brought in ahead of Heyes because of his familiarity with the system.

He might be right, he might be wrong, you might disagree, but "there's been absolutely no suggestion from anyone, anywhere that Clarkson was brought in to train with the Lions because of "systems" " is just demonstrably inaccurate.

You're making broad generalisations here.

Like, there's been absolutely no suggestion from anyone, anywhere that Clarkson was brought in to train with the Lions because of "systems", but that's how it is seen by some posters here, because that's how some posters see every selection.

What do you expect the coaches to say? They're never going to say "yes it was a cohesion / systems selection decision" for very obvious reasons, even if it was part of the selection decision.

But I'm pretty sure there's been plenty in the media that have suggested the systems element is part of it.

Maybe if people took a minute to think a bit more about it, they wouldn't be so frustrated. But unfortunately people have made up their minds and they're not for turning.

Condescension aside, maybe if you took a minute to think a bit more about it, you would recognise that whatever way you want to slice it, systems, cohesion, partnerships - however you want to phrase it - literally are a selection consideration. Especially so when it comes to a player who is most likely not going to feature in a Test, and will largely feature for training reps.

Not the only selection consideration. But they literally are a selection consideration, however much you want to dismiss it. But unfortunately you seem to have your mind made up on that and are not for turning…

I have no great issue with the Clarkson call up as there were a lack of alternatives (how's that for "not for turning"? Nuance, neat!).

Here's a larger point. In an Irish context, there absolutely have been times when there have been quality alternatives available and the cohesion / systems selection has been favoured. I think that's completely fair to say. But you won't hear of that either.

Squidge? I was hoping for something more authoritative, e.g. someone who actually had an insight into the decision, not just some bloke chatting to his mate on YouTube.

Maybe "Squidge" overlooked the fact that England have a match against the USA at the weekend and both Heyes and Opoku-Fordjour are needed for that, whereas Clarkson is on his holidays and is thus a much better candidate for a training call-up.

That's a far more plausible explanation - and it also fits with why Ashman and Sutherland, who haven't a rashers about "systems" but still managed a call-up, won't arrive until after the weekend.

So that's my point really, there are plenty of alternative explanations beyond the facile "systems" and "familiarity" - but people don't want to consider them because their minds are made up.