If we do not hit our goal we will be forced to close the site.

Current status: https://keepboardsalive.com/

Annual subs are best for most impact. If you are still undecided on going Ad Free - you can also donate using the Paypal Donate option. All contribution helps. Thank you.

Ryan Tubridy ; Has he paid back the Irish Tax Payer ?

• 11-07-2025 06:44AM
    Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 1,636 ✭✭✭

I can’t find the previous thread that I think was in Current Affairs.

I haven’t lived in Ireland for quite a few years so I try and check in every now and then to see if this guy has paid back the Irish people he claims to love so much ?

If he’s hasn’t paid it back yet has he or is he being put under pressure to pay it ?

Post edited by Boards.ie: Mike on

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 1,320 ✭✭✭geographica

no, he hasn’t

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 1,636 ✭✭✭fplfan12345

Absolutely scandalous. All his talk about loving Ireland but he’s not afraid to ‘steal’ €150,000 from them.

Have the Irish people forgotten or is he still persona non grata ?

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 941 ✭✭✭Baba Yaga

😂🤣😂🤣😂🤣 sorry i needed that laugh this morning,laughed so hard at the thought of tubridy paying back the $150 grand or even being pressed to pay it back i wizzed me trousers!

yo! donnie vonredactedpants,vlad putin,benji netanyahu,vic orban..you sirs are the skidmarks on the jocks of humanity!!!

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 3,852 ✭✭✭KaneToad

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 11,966 ✭✭✭✭EmmetSpiceland

It should be noted that Ryan did waive his right to a 130k payment on the ending of his contract with RTÉ.

“It matters not what someone is born, but what they grow to be” - A. Dumbledore

“It is not blood that makes you Irish but a willingness to be part of the Irish nation” - Thomas Davis

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 5,722 ✭✭✭keeponhurling

Ryan Tubridy reveals ‘greatest fatality’ in RTÉ exit and how new life changed him  - RSVP Live

Great interview by Tubs. He is ready to move on and "put that episode in the rear-view mirror" (while holding on to the money). He calls it a "kerfuffle" while also acknowledging that he has "an ego the size of Mount Rushmore.”

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2, Paid Member Posts: 4,217 ✭✭✭StevenToast

Tubridy is despised by most Irish people.....and always will be.

"SUBSCRIBE TO BOARDS YOU TIGHT CÙNT".....Plato 400 B.C

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2, Paid Member Posts: 39,088 ✭✭✭✭Hotblack Desiato

OP did you not hear about him buying a fancy engagement ring and then having the news "accidentally" "leaked" on social media?

https://www.rte.ie/entertainment/2025/0617/1518881-ryan-tubridy-announces-engagement-to-partner/

Not short of a few quid is he?

I'm partial to your abracadabra,

I'm raptured by the joy of it all.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2, Paid Member Posts: 39,088 ✭✭✭✭Hotblack Desiato

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 851 ✭✭✭batman75

Interesting comment. I'm not sure he was 'always' hated. I think we saw him as a talentless gnome who got where he got through connections which is a typical Irish story. How RTE saw fit to pay him the salary he commanded amazes me. How he got the LLS is even more extraordinary. There's more charm and personality in a piece of wood.

At least Pat Kenny was excellent on radio and on tv re current affairs. Chat shows were never his strength due to lack of charisma. He got a gig at another Irish station because he was in general an excellent broadcaster. Tubridy is fluff. There's more substance in candy floss.

His most egregious sins for me came during covid. We're all in this together as work colleagues took pay cuts and he helped himself to monies he never 'earned due to work never done/completed. His lack of self awareness is stunning. But then that comes with circle he comes from where your entitled to be looked after etc.

We used to have people of the calibre of Olivia O'Leary, John Bowman, Gay Byrne, Mike Murphy and Brian O'Farrell. My how standards at RTE have crashed.

He was perhaps not always hated, but disliked - is that ok?

Nobody elected him to his prime time radio shows (reading the fk'in papers out and mouthing off, ffs) or indeed his LLS performances which made Pat the Plank look good.

He's an RTE insider, always was, and that's what got him elevated far above his mediocre talent.

He's hated now as exposed as a grasper of licence fee money above all else, with a truly astounding sense of entitlement, even as the organisation he milked dry for years is now flapping around like a trout in a boat just before it gets put out of its misery.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2, Paid Member Posts: 7,083 ✭✭✭jj880

He has in his hole. Dumped it all into Muff along with Maximus, Ronan Keating, Ed Sheeran and Jimmy Carr:

https://themuffliquorcompany.com/pages/visit-us

muff001.JPG

>>> BOARDS IS IN TROUBLE - SUBSCRIPTIONS NEEDED <<<

Info 👉️ Important News!!

Progress 👉 https://keepboardsalive.com/

Subscribe 👉️ https://subscriptions.boards.ie/

Well, a Muff liquor tasting experience might appeal to some

Previous thread was full of Gladiator muff puns.

"At my signal unleash Muff!" took home gold.

Info 👉️ Important News!!

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 851 ✭✭✭batman75

Howdi I have no bone to pick you please understand. He's always been disliked alright. I get the feeling that Joe Duffy is also similarly disliked. I don't think Duffy is hated but earning over 300k while pretending to empathise with the regular dude on the street was us as an audience being gaslit. RTE are good at that bless.

The Duffster got 450k for at best half a year's work

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 1,092 ✭✭✭StormForce13

I'd love to know how many members of the sanctmonious Lynch mob commenting here would have turned down the salary that Tub's agent had negotiated for him from RTE, if they were offered it. The answer, I suspect, is a big fat zero.

Or indeed how many of them would have repaid it, after being summarily sacked by Bruiser Backhurst in a pretty contemptible (and failed) attempt to make him look credible.

I didn't particularly like Tubs - and I find Oliver Callan (on a much lower salary) a massive improvement - but I applaud him for holding onto the money that he had agreed to repay to RTE before Bruiser peremptorily sacked him.

Another thing: if Bruiser (the taxpayers' friend) believes that RTE have a chance of getting that money back, then why hasn't Tubs been taken to court? Answers, on a postcard, please to Prime Time Investigates, RTE, Bruiser Towers, Dublin 4.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 2,403 ✭✭✭JVince

YAWN

The usual types commenting.

Do you really think

1. He reads boards
    2. He gives a rats ass how your type think

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 784 ✭✭✭BP_RS3813

Some people know that some acts are objectively wrong. They also won't compromise their ethics/moral code just because someone flashed a few grand.

Someone correct me if I'm wrong here but the 150,000 was part of a 5 year deal with renault (the 150,000 being 2 years of the 5, 75,000 each year) in which due to covid 2 years of advertising work was not completed for obvious reasons. Since Renault wasn't paying then RTE picked up the 2 years?

If you do 3 years work you get paid for 3 years work. Not 5 years, 3 years. Its not about the amount - its about the principle.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2, Paid Member Posts: 18,036 ✭✭✭✭elperello

I thought that figure was €120k but I'm not sure and can't find a link.

Also with regard to the €150k as that was paid to his company it would have been taxed.

How much tax was paid and what is the net. sum now ?

1. No.
    2. No.

Id be surprised if anyone is commenting for those reasons. Its just discussion.

What "usual type" would that be thats commenting?

Info 👉️ Important News!!

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 2,411 ✭✭✭deandean

Tubs was paid the package that he & his agent agreed with RTE.

As long as Revenue is happy with the deal he is in the clear.

Tubs has absolutely no obligation to repay any money.

The wolf pack should chase recovery from the eejits in RTE who agreed the pay deal, i.e. Dee Forbes & Co.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 314 ✭✭Quiet Achiever

Real lack of proportionality on this thread. He's not a rapist. Ans actually very well liked by people that worked with him, in RTE or elsewhere.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 37,247 ✭✭✭✭odyssey06

Strawman nonsense. He isnt a rapist so anything he does is ok?

As for very well liked... actual evidence suggests otherwise as below.

If you turn up for work and openly lie to to the people you work with day to day about a fake pay cut, you are amoral and out for whatever money you can get.

https://www.rte.ie/news/ireland/2023/0623/1390808-rte-unions/

"To follow knowledge like a sinking star..." (Tennyson's Ulysses)

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 3,719 ✭✭✭Field east

so are you saying that if the RTE staff had anything to do with his return that they would WELCOME back with open arms!!!!!!!!!!

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 1,156 ✭✭✭Burt Renaults

Not just people who worked with him. I've met him a few times and found him very friendly and genuine. Not at all what I expected. None of which means he was right to accept (or hold onto) that money, but yeah, he's not some kind of monster. And far from the only person who benefited disproportionately from working with RTE.

Some people are just inherently very angry and a bit weird. He's just the current object of their ire.

Nobody genuine turns up to work and publicly lies to their colleagues about taking a pay cut they didnt take

Shows how easy it is to fool people, both colleagues and people taken in by him.

Some people will do anything for money, screw over friends, family, colleagues... and in the long run themselves allowing their short term greed to damage their long term earnings potential.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 11,966 ✭✭✭✭EmmetSpiceland

Apologies, you are right, he waived his right to 120k. Much easier to waive that than to pay back the, contractually obliged payment of 150k, since he wasn’t employed by them.

The tax paid on it, along with whatever pension contributions he might have made from it, would have had to be undone and that would be a headache for RTÉ.

After tax, he’d have taken home less than 120k, even with the most creative accountants on side.

“It matters not what someone is born, but what they grow to be” - A. Dumbledore

“It is not blood that makes you Irish but a willingness to be part of the Irish nation” - Thomas Davis

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 1,156 ✭✭✭Burt Renaults

Thanks, that's a perfect example of exactly what I was referring to.

Yes, the attitide expressed in your post was a perfect example of what I was referring to.