Hello all! Please ensure that you are posting a new thread or question in the appropriate forum. The Feedback forum is overwhelmed with questions that are having to be moved elsewhere. If you need help to verify your account contact hello@boards.ie
If we do not hit our goal we will be forced to close the site.

Current status: https://keepboardsalive.com/

Annual subs are best for most impact. If you are still undecided on going Ad Free - you can also donate using the Paypal Donate option. All contribution helps. Thank you.

Important News!!

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2, Paid Member Posts: 34,321 ✭✭✭✭~Rebel~

I don't really think it should be stickied anywhere except where it's relevant - which is CA (where it's already now stickied in the charter). That's the only place these new 'thunderdome' rules apply. Everywhere else just keeps on keeping on quite happily.

Subscribe to save Boards.ie from closing down: The Bad News

https://subscriptions.boards.ie/

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 1,795 ✭✭✭Mad_Lad

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 18,918 ✭✭✭✭rob316

Ye need some sort of proper banner or something on the site to get peoples attention about this, I found out on Reddit like.

I'd also change the thread title, its a bit more than IMPORTANT NEWS

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2, Paid Member Posts: 3,968 ✭✭✭dasdog

Honestly if you hadn't logged in the past week and saw that you would know nothing about what is happening. A banner needs to be on every page:

*** Act Now to Save This Community ***

This site is at risk of closing very soon and we need your help -- If you can please subscribe at the link below.

Exactly. My guess is they can't even do this on **** vanilla

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2, Paid Member Posts: 2,457 ✭✭✭mossie

I rarely visit CA but there are so many forums / sub forums (the real gold as you put it) on here which have helped me over the years with purchases, research on cars, TV's solar panels etc and others just for the craic that I would hate to lose it. Reddit is too international for stuff like that. I hope it can survive this.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2, Paid Member Posts: 701 ✭✭✭Dogsdodogsstuff

I’ve paid for a couple of reasons:

• I like many of the individual post from people who are here to offer tips or find tips
    • I’m familiar with the setup and while it’s not perfect it feels less like the junk food versions available on other platforms that I never use
    • It’s Irish centric, I’m Irish and like to read about Irish stuff, nothing wrong with wanting to filter out the entire world and discuss relevant things I can relate to
    • Probably don’t use bargains enough but I’ve done well over years
    • It’s definitely not AS narcissistic as some of the other alternatives
    • €50 is nothing proportionate to the time I’ve spent on here. Not sure why people are asking to see accounts, if it goes under next week I will prob of spent more time here then I would paying €50 for some other entertainment and id hazzard a guess many of the whingebags will Spend more for less on other mediums

I’ve come to boards for many years in different clothes (I only ever have had one active acccount) and I haven’t always gotten on with everybody. But unlike alot of the emotionaly immature posters who just suck up all the oxygen in their vacinity, I try to self regulate and to self reflect.

Id say alot of posters don’t realise the absence of a counter argument coupled with “thanks” from similar thinking posters does not equate to you being right. It quite often is people ignoring you , like how I avoid certain people at all costs so I don’t get dragged into their toxic drama black hole.

Honestly, I’d pay more to have a lot of the drama gobsh*tes banned so we could have a forum of civil people who actually could disagree respectfully. Trump supporters and staunch non Trump people actually learning something from each other ? What a crazy idea, people learning to listen to opposing views in a manner that isn’t about showing how wrong and stupid the other side is, fairytale stuff from me I know.

I don’t get involved in high drama stuff for a couple of reasons. One being I like to take some topics from a POV of accepting my limited knowledge and people can think it’s a contrarian view. Regardless of topic , there is propaganda all around us and it’s a case of filtering what’s more likely to be the case instead of jumping to conclusions “because they lied to us before”.

Meh, I’m even getting bored of my own post here so will leave it there. I hope boards survives.

I don’t think it’s fair to name any particular mods at this point, imo it was a mod overreach culture that was either tolerated or encouraged by those higher up, to me it went against everything that the early boards and early internet stood for, absolutely hated the way it was heading. I was 50/50 on whether to subscribe or not but the proposed change swayed me, I’m aware the softening in moderation will bring some challenges and is a culture shock to some folk but I like to think some form of necessary moderation can be organic or built in rather than subjective.

• Administrators, Society & Culture Moderators Posts: 15,986 Admin ✭✭✭✭✭Big Bag of Chips

Hi @~Rebel~

Send me a PM with your details and I'll update your email address for you.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2, Paid Member Posts: 895 ✭✭✭Avatar in the Post

completely unfathomable how you fall foul of discussion rules.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 8 Window Open

💬 Bubbles eventually burst. That is the nature of it. They shouldn't exist. Yet they do for a period, and then they POP! 🗯️

• Site Banned Posts: 28 kurt_angle

you should close your account and feck off and maybe more people would be here

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2, Paid Member Posts: 895 ✭✭✭Avatar in the Post

Subscribed. €50 quid and it goes tits up in a couple months I won't bat an eyelid, I've gotten so much from here over the years.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 10,188 ✭✭✭✭Oscar_Madison
    #MEGA MAKE EUROPE GREAT AGAIN

You’ve just defined the value that many 100s of boardsies at least have got from this site - nice one👍

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2, Paid Member Posts: 87 ✭✭riccol1966

I only found out on about this on independent.ie this morning… occasional poster but long time user so I'm happy to pay. Hopefully enough others feel the same.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2, Paid Member Posts: 10,110 ✭✭✭✭con747

If only they could charge a euro for every re-reg troll they would be minted.

Don't expect anything from life, just be grateful to be alive.

Help Keep Boards.ie Alive sign up here

https://subscriptions.boards.ie/ Keep Boards Subscribed To.

• Moderators, Society & Culture Moderators, Paid Member Posts: 16,039 Mod ✭✭✭✭smacl

Who's to say that most of the users on the site aren't big fans of some of the nastier bickering that goes on in CA and are all for having those who are repeatedly causing aggro for the sake of it kicked into touch?

I just asked because I haven't been on boards nearly as much as I had in the past.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 17,837 ✭✭✭✭MEGA BRO WOLF 5000

Can we have a list of what's deemed offensive now?

I've beyond ridiculous bans in the past for saying the word "chelski" in an arsenal thread because it was deemed offensive if a Chelsea fan stumbled into the arsenal thread. Banned.

Another for saying a particular player would be a "cancer" on the club because of his past attitude, big time Charlie status and his wage demands, BUT because I used the word, the literal noun "cancer" the mod deemed it offensive, a back and fourth ensued on PM where is to pull up websters dictionary definition on the word, ban still upheld.

The soccer forum is a dumpster fire of people tip toeing around each other staying in their own super threads in case you accidentally trigger someone with a word.

I want to know are these absolutely ridiculous north Korean type rules still gonna apply?

What are the limits to our speech.

Some people have issues with moderation, some don’t, some people have issues with site usability, some don’t, some people highly value the right to speak freely, some don’t.

Whilst I agree the vast majority of the site will function as normal there is a mod culture of overreach that has grown over the last few years and how a situation is handled is based on who is handling the situation. I get it that there is a large section of boards folk that have never had a negative experience with mods, it’s actually quite easy to avoid, just never post an opposing viewpoint on any topic, but some people on here do have opposing views to the majority and if you do and post such then it has been increasingly difficult to deal with mods who typically hold strong the an opposing belief.

To some on here a proposed moderation change means absolutely nothing, but to others it means an acknowledgment that it needs to change, and a willingness to do so is appreciated.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 2,591 ✭✭✭JamesBond2010

Thats a laugh a a subscription for a sites that has loads of bugs & never fixed right. Then moderated arseways then,one rule for one person another rule for another & people on power trips banning people & deleting comments when they dont agree with them.

Site loaded halfways so some of these comments never appeared before i posted mine

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 6,667 ✭✭✭Declan A Walsh

An awful lot of posts in this thread are about the CA forum, one that I have never contributed to and very rarely looked at. I suspect there are many users of Boards.ie that have never gone into the CA forum. They might be in the various Entertainment forums, forum of games, sports forums, DIY forums, Work and Jobs forum and so on. In fact, I know quite a few people who have been lurkers in the Works and Jobs forum as they value the sharing of information about competitions. They might PM some users but would not post on them. My point is let's not get bogged down in this thread on one forum which is not for everybody.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 7,133 ✭✭✭DopeTech

I tend to agree, change of ownership is the only way we’ll see boards.ie survive.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 5,638 ✭✭✭Padre_Pio

Most active users are in the CA and AH forums, which is why there's such a focus. The decline is users hit the more niche forums hardest.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 41,392 ✭✭✭✭eagle eye

The amount of whining and moaning in this thread is ridiculous. This thread is about saving the site, not criticism or moaning. I'm sure there's threads for that.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2, Paid Member Posts: 15,491 ✭✭✭✭Arghus

I was in two minds for a while last night about subbing.

I still think that implicitly giving credence to the minority who complain most loudly and vigorously about moderation is a retrograde step for boards overall.

And it could be counterproductive, as that part of the site, which is the busiest and most popular as it is, will inevitably become pretty toxic and off-putting to many. And those who you are trying to appease will still not be happy. I think it sends the wrong message if you are trying to re-kindle a community spirit here.

And there's so many questions about the clarity of future plans. What's the road map for boards? What can we expect? It's a big ask to suddenly appear out of nowhere to ask for people to quickly pay up to change from users to consumers, after two decades of the other way around without much clarity about the plans, or even if there are plans in the first place. Or what we can realistically expect. I realise no-one has a crystal ball, but right now it feels like emotional blackmail: give us money if you want the site to survive, don't ask questions.

I value boards a lot and would like to pay to see it continue - in principle I'm not against the idea - but I don't want to be taken advantage of or taken for a ride either.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2, Paid Member Posts: 10,110 ✭✭✭✭con747

Yeah, but the usual suspects wouldn't get the attention they crave there. I don't know why people can't just be happy the lights are hopefully staying on a bit longer if all goes well instead of constantly bitching about everything.

Don't expect anything from life, just be grateful to be alive.

Help Keep Boards.ie Alive sign up here

https://subscriptions.boards.ie/ Keep Boards Subscribed To.

This sums up what people feel about boards that have left.They can't all be wrong.

https://****/viewtopic.php?f=6&t=2434&p=60015#p60015

Yea I get it, once you have a negative experience with a mod it can leave a bad taste in the mouth, whilst I wouldn’t be a fan of how threads were moderated in the past I also wouldn’t put myself forward to moderate.

Leave a Comment

Rich Text Editor. To edit a paragraph's style, hit tab to get to the paragraph menu. From there you will be able to pick one style. Nothing defaults to paragraph. An inline formatting menu will show up when you select text. Hit tab to get into that menu. Some elements, such as rich link embeds, images, loading indicators, and error messages may get inserted into the editor. You may navigate to these using the arrow keys inside of the editor and delete them with the delete or backspace key.