Hello all! Please ensure that you are posting a new thread or question in the appropriate forum. The Feedback forum is overwhelmed with questions that are having to be moved elsewhere. If you need help to verify your account contact hello@boards.ie
If we do not hit our goal we will be forced to close the site.

Current status: https://keepboardsalive.com/

Annual subs are best for most impact. If you are still undecided on going Ad Free - you can also donate using the Paypal Donate option. All contribution helps. Thank you.

International cricket thread

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 762 ✭✭✭Debub

England all out for 387

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 27,275 ✭✭✭✭Strumms

hopefully we can now have a nice session and a half of cricket that is free of players staying on the field lying down undergoing minutes of treatment…long drawn out tactical yapping and all the other craic.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 2,637 ✭✭✭Gillespy

Dream return for Jofra. Great first three balls.

the wicket ball was actually a brilliant ball….borderline unplayable. Let’s see can he get a few more..maybe he’s upped the focus… probably realises at 30 it’s last chance saloon. Mind you the amount of gold he’s wearing around his neck…

Indian batsmen constantly adjusting gloves, helmets, footwear, bat handles and so on, making the English bowlers wait. Really make it impossible to have a proper regard for them.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 1,479 ✭✭✭VillaMad

Italy scored 134/7 off their 20 overs.

Netherlands are 25/0 after 3. If the Netherlands reach the target before 14.1 overs it will be them and Jersey in the T20 World Cup so I was embellishing Italy's chances a bit, but they should still be good enough to qualify as they can bowl their best bowlers out and keep back the 5th and 6th option.

Netherlands need to just chase that target down.

Italy have qualified for the T20 World Cup. The Dutch will join them as they are easing to victory.

Woakes has got Gill! He has been really struggling and badly needed that.

I judge his body of work for England on these stats…43 test wickets in 25 test innings.

Never called him a deadbeat but you stick to the hyperbole. 😉

India 145/3 at the end of the day 2.

England on top just about you would say but the game is still very much in the balance. A lot will depend on whether Bashir can get something from the surface on days 4 or 5.

Just 72 overs bowled today out of a possible 90. Disgraceful carry on by everyone.

Yep , the umpires included. Cricket fans getting totally short changed....frustrating to watch… have drinks coolers by the boundaries and swap positions if anyone is struggling...

Already 4 breaks in a day's play… lunch, tea and 2 drinks breaks,

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 4,499 ✭✭✭MFPM

England not looking threatening this morning but India not exacly accumulating quickly, though Rahul just hit Carse for three consecutive boundaries.

Idiocy by India, great fielding by Stokes but India in total control have handed England a wicket here. Pant goes for 74 run out.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 9,375 ✭✭✭Royale with Cheese

Time to bring Broad and Jimmy out of retirement.

Rahul gets his century and then out with a poor shot..India doing their best here to aid the English bowling attack which has been broadly ineffectual.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 640 ✭✭✭dohboy

Archer clocking up 94mph. Decent speed for a lad who's "overrated", and, shock horror, 30-years-old.

Yep, after the concussion check / break / treatment… Stokes sprints in and bowls a hip high delivery down leg 🙄. Exactly the delivery Reddy wanted. Shows you how ineffective they’ve been the last while in this innings

I’m just having a look in his wicket column once again, no wickets today when England needed them and just one yesterday but I suppose it’s ok to be impressed by the speed gun. 😉

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 640 ✭✭✭dohboy

You should probably watch more than the wicket column. He looked the most threatening of the bowlers today, and has been the paciest in both teams. Curious how you were full of praise for Josh Tongue who went at 6.20 an over in the second innings the last day, which you classed as "respectable" lol

Ah jadeja, that's bad luck, played so well. India just 11 behind.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 988 ✭✭✭StormForce13

A decent catch by "Smudge" all the same. And Deep's first and third ball "LBWs" have both just been overturned on review. The umpire is losing it!

Time for Joffra to mop up the tail?

Career test averages don't record how threatening or quick bowlers have been. They simply log the wickets taken and runs conceded.

So far, India's top bowler has taken 5 wickets and England's has taken one, and that was over 110 overs ago!

Ahhh think the wicket column is quite important, odd to intimate otherwise 😉, ohhh now also it’s curious how I praised Tongue ? Going into this test..the leading wicket taker in the series….So maybe not quite so curious. Again I’m looking at the wickets column….I’ll leave it there. 🙂

Archer back into the attack and their number 9 hits him for 6 first ball.

In others news, not much happening for England but Woakes gets Jadeja ! Some catch by Smith but a tired looking shot..Woakes almost with another next delivery, DRS saves Deep but next ball again and DRS saves again, great bowling, pure bad luck not to have a couple, close, all happening. 😅

Another sharp slip catch sees Deep exit. But not before he had hit Joffra for a massive six! Scores level.

Only the ninth time in test history scores are level after the first innings.

How will England cope with the third innings. It's a big part of why they like the bowl first.

English stalling, 😅 Indians seriously agitated, verbals and agro big time… finger pointing and kicking off…India hardly can take the moral high ground seeing as they are well known for this craic and various other skullduggery…😂🤪

Crawley acting the clown here, Archer started the day trying to change a ball after 13 deliveries and Crawley finishing the day with similar nonsense.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 351 ✭✭nice bit of green

Great series so far, finely balanced at half way. Crawley was taking the mick there at the end even before his finger was hit.
    For the price of a ticket, the punters are being short changed.

I took lunch ystdy at 11, great timing to see Bumrah work the magic.

Yeah, alot of messing by players and as you say, it's fans losing out.

Final over was great drama. Crawley wouldn't be doing his job if he wasn't trying everything to make it only one over. The neck of Gill to have a go when he himself caused a big physio delay nevermind all his ball change delays.

If - as appears to be the case - the Dukes balls are a crock of utter shite, then neither team can be criticised for regularly complaining to the umpires and, more often than not, succeeding in having the ball changed.

In the pink ball test, the Aussies have managed 50 - 1 from 25 overs at tea.

There is a lot more bat on ball too, bowlers are fitter and stronger bowing quicker, hitting the pitch harder…less leaving so I wonder if that’s all having an impact also…

Cummins gets Anderson with an absolute peach, lovely delivery. Ball is swinging around corners there tonight. 😳

WI are 16/1 in reply to Australia who made 225 having been 157/3. The Aussie poor batting continues - no batter made 50, though Greene finally got a few runs at 3. They'll likely have enough to beat the WI given their own batting issues but looking ahead to the Ashes they need a few players to start finding some form - it's all ODI or T20 from now on.