Hello all! Please ensure that you are posting a new thread or question in the appropriate forum. The Feedback forum is overwhelmed with questions that are having to be moved elsewhere. If you need help to verify your account contact hello@boards.ie
Help Keep Boards Alive. Support us by going ad free today. See here: https://subscriptions.boards.ie/

Giant Bonfires up North 🔥 …. What’s the deal ?

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 1,450 ✭✭✭SupaCat95

Get the full story of what happened not just what the MSM told you. There is another story there.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2, Paid Member Posts: 17,412 ✭✭✭✭elperello

How do you know my sources ?

Feel free to tell your "other story".

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 7,671 ✭✭✭circadian

Other story? I'm sure you're well versed in the complex thought processes of hard-line Loyalism 😂🤣🤣

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 607 ✭✭✭Fishdoodle

The “This is all part of our culture” , just does’t add up. Not even NI tourism promote the bonfires. It seems that beyond those partaking in burning stuff, the cultural celebration ends there. -Seems insular , but I’m open to hearing opinions of anyone who enjoys it …in case I”m missing some semblance of perspective here. 🧐

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2, Paid Member Posts: 23,288 ✭✭✭✭dxhound2005

I'm not going to bother rinsing out the milk cartons any more.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 4,044 ✭✭✭Montage of Feck

They used to built ships, now they burn ****.

🙈🙉🙊

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2, Paid Member Posts: 17,412 ✭✭✭✭elperello

You're kidding that's your "other story".

Did you really think I didn't know about Ballymena ?

Oh so you did know but just choose to ignore it, Grand! carry on.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 3,869 ✭✭✭An Claidheamh

Nowhere else in the world would they be allowed.

Invite the world's media or just CNN/NBC to the North, to be shepherded around by locals :

1. Show the anti-Irish hate marches
    2. The Irish flag burnings, along with various other countries.
    3. The hatred of anything not white anglo-saxon and protestant
    4. Explain that in the British occupied part of Ireland, these British kkk marches, are organised by the British state. Often by British soldiers.
    5. The organisers are descended by immigrants from Britain.
    6. Explain that it is considered a holiday in the UK, funded by them
    7. Explain that instead of embarrassment or apologies to Ireland, the resting narrative of the British state media is that it is "because of the Irish", "religion", "them Catlicks in Eire foighting again".
    8. Explain that never once have they been condemned by anyone in the UK in government, royalty, NGOs, celebrities. Including the so called internet atheists like Fry and Dawkins.
    9. Explain that there is a death count involved in these supremacist displays.
    10. Explain that a number of years ago, British loyalists were in the British government.
    11. Explain that the ff/fg Irish government give funds for these hate marches against Irish people.*
    12. Then, ask if pond life scum (like kkk in the US) were treated like royalty, how everyone else including the BBC would react and what is so exceptional about the orange order that makes it ok - is it because they are British?

Then see how long they continue.

IMO, these are British loyalists, and the British mediasphere like to propagate that it is an "Irish thing" to their population - no matter how absurd it looks (Union jack waving delinquents, royal nonsense, protestant supremacy, not exactly Irish).

We should not.

*Can anyone tell me how Helen McEntee was going to pass a hate speech law, but also quite happy to allow these clear incitements to hatred?

Being honest I am quite happy for the North to remain in the UK. I like the landbridge to the UK for shopping. Problems in the North are Londons problem. There is no manufacturing industry up there. The biggest industry is tourism and an overly bloated civil service we can never hope to integrate.

Best of luck in the near future integrating it into the republic.

That's precisely thanks to the type of people building bonfires.

The British loyalists are London's problem, they caused it, the orange state will never return, likely that SF will be in control there and Dublin soon enough, time for London to take a lead and start telling them what is and is not acceptable in 2025.

As long as the North is in the UK, it will never get out of the 16th century.

Should be interesting if Farage and reform get into power and this comes more into view.

Surely, they'd eff off to Britain in a Reunited Ireland.

Whatever the case, seems cowardly to be intimidated by a few louts, rather silly to stop progress and particularly unfair on the population up there to use that as an excuse.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 17,112 ✭✭✭✭whisky_galore

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 258 ✭✭michael-henry-mcivor

The best of it is is that the Prods themselves came over to Ireland on boats-

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 2,492 ✭✭✭McGrath5

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 1,582 ✭✭✭Stephen_Maturin

Agree with all of that bar point 5, have seen a few people make that point

I wouldn’t exactly call the planters of the Ulster plantation “immigrants” - that suggests they arrived with the consent of the receiving country. They were colonisers, it’s a small but important distinction.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 35,595 ✭✭✭✭NIMAN

A striking image

1000023039.jpg

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 565 ✭✭✭Madeoface

It's not for Helen McEntee to ponder. It's another legal jurisdiction. Tis for Stormont.

Loyalist culture these days seems to involve long term unemployment, cans of tenants, bad tats, Rangers fc and racism. And a makey uppy language that nobody ever spoke or speaks now.

It's time to stop funding all ex paramilitaries (including republicans) and beef up the police with the spare cash. Then crack down on this type of nonsense.

There's no chance of a SF government down here thankfully.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 1,146 ✭✭✭Hyperbollix

“Stop the boats“

🤔 Which boats?

"The migrant boats landing on the coast"

🤔 Where?

"Kent!"

“You're in Moygashel in Ireland lad"

• Moderators, Category Moderators, Science, Health & Environment Moderators, Social & Fun Moderators, Society & Culture Moderators Posts: 42,643 CMod ✭✭✭✭ancapailldorcha

Unionists don't have a culture and they know it. They see how nationalists are so effective not just at nurturing and celebrating theirs but at spreading it around the world and it makes them feel very small and pathetic, hence the threatening displays such as this.

The irony of course is that they practically worship a Dutch man who was almost certainly gay.

The foreigner residing among you must be treated as your native-born. Love them as yourself, for you were foreigners in Egypt. I am the LORD your God.

Leviticus 19:34

You only have to listen to the debates on the bonfires this week on Radio Ulster to realise that the country hasnt really moved on at all.

Yes, they aren't bombing and shooting each other, but not much each has changed.

And listening to loyalists and unionists trying to explain away the overt racism and sectarianism is laughable.

And the fact that the paramilitaries have more power than the police force.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 74,562 ✭✭✭✭FrancieBrady

Then crack down on this type of nonsense.

They passed on the opportunity.

They declared a 'major incident' then were threatened and threw their hands in the air and walked away from that 'major incident'.

Can you imagine what would happen if the London police did similar if a 'major incident' occurred or the Gardai or US police?

Completely unfair given the work done by people to divert people from this activity.
    Bonfires are almost non existent now in areas were they were once common. Cultural activity like Féile has replaced them.

That happens when committed community activists backed by politicians do their jobs.

Which part is unfair @FrancieBrady

This bit.

to realise that the country hasnt really moved on at all.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 30,757 ✭✭✭✭breezy1985

At least we do ours in April when the nights are still nippy. The English have the right idea though with a November bonfire.

The Coolock Say's No culture. I assume they will be up there celebrating with their Unionist brothers.

Yes- and the Irish tricolour was placed on top of the bonfire before the Prod immigrants burnt it-

U think the PSNI would crack down if they had more cash-?- Lol-

Sinn Féin is the main opposition in the 26 and government in the 6- that's some going after the war-

FFG do what the brit says and don't look a mandate in 6 Irish counties-

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2, Paid Member Posts: 979 ✭✭✭DayInTheBog

And still certain groups want a united Ireland. Imagine a bonfire in O'Connell st or the Aras all in the name of culture