Hello all! Please ensure that you are posting a new thread or question in the appropriate forum. The Feedback forum is overwhelmed with questions that are having to be moved elsewhere. If you need help to verify your account contact hello@boards.ie
If we do not hit our goal we will be forced to close the site.

Current status: https://keepboardsalive.com/

Annual subs are best for most impact. If you are still undecided on going Ad Free - you can also donate using the Paypal Donate option. All contribution helps. Thank you.

Immigration and Ireland - MEGATHREAD *Mod Note Added 14/08/25*

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 2,237 ✭✭✭Jizique

And another aspect of this is that many of those who are now giving out about the decision have (i) never coached underage GAA themselves, and (ii) have zero interest in the sport as it personifies everything they detest about "narrow-minded, backward, singular, Catholic, priest-ridden" Ireland

• Moderators, Recreation & Hobbies Moderators, Social & Fun Moderators, Society & Culture Moderators, Paid Member Posts: 19,037 Mod ✭✭✭✭Trigger

Mod: The "No Anecdotes" rule has now been lifted. Also please see OP for current applicable mod notes

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 841 ✭✭✭Hungry Burger

There’s Ukrainians in my town the last 3 years driving around in BMW X5s and Audi Q5s on Ukrainian plates paying no road tax.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 7,409 ✭✭✭RobbieTheRobber

I seen an immigrant driving around in a gold plated Bentley.

Then they parked the Bentley in a disabled spot took a buggy and used it to take their child to get a bus using a free bus pass. When they got on the bus they just left the buggy there and I heard someone ask the immigrant do they not want it.

And they replied no because the social welfare will just give them a new one.

Most self proclaimed free speech absolutists are giant big whiny snowflakes!

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2, Paid Member Posts: 18,873 ✭✭✭✭Ha Long Bay

I was out for a walk earlier in town and came across a guy holding a small irish flag in one hand and tugging the life out of himself with the other on a spot where an asylum seeker had pitched a tent sometime last year. What is happening this country?

I see two usual suspects trying to derail the thread already 🙄

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2, Paid Member Posts: 18,873 ✭✭✭✭Ha Long Bay

Report my post if you think I broke the rules otherwise jog on.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2, Paid Member Posts: 36,970 ✭✭✭✭o1s1n
    Master of the Universe

People getting in the way of your plans to turn it into an anecdotal xenophobia thread?

The cheek of them!

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 56,015 ✭✭✭✭Headshot

All we have to do is just put them on ignore. Just dont give them the oxygen they desperately need

Great idea it would be stupid to listen to other opinions on a discussion site.

Any opinion on the 1.43 billion spent on Asylum Seeker accommodation last year while we have 15,000 homeless Irish people?

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 1,698 ✭✭✭Stephen_Maturin

“It’s legal therefore it’s grand” inbound

We don't have 10000 homeless Irish people. We have 10000 people in temporary Government provided accomadation.

I wish it was reported correctly. The figure was around 100 homeless.

https://www.homelessdublin.ie/content/files/Spring-2025-Rough-Sleeper-Count-Press-Release.pdf?v=1747216634

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 671 ✭✭✭BP_RS3813

I love that the idea of 'take care of yourself before others' applies when you are in immediate life threatening danger and only on an individual basis - not on a societal/country basis apparantly though.

Flight is crashing? Put your own oxygen mask before helping others.

Don't have enough resources for the people currently on the island? Oh well some group are suffering over in a Middle Eastern or African sh*thole therefore we should help them because they have it much worse then we do.

Oh - add in too that other nations don't want them so they want us to take them. We say yes because we want to be the good boys of the EU - we need to grow a pair and just say no, f*ck off.

Its not wrong to not provide aid if you are struggling yourself - this applies on a countrywide and individual basis.

What a money racket, it's just sickening the money spent on the immigration industry from private individuals destroying communities to our own government getting into the game with City West and Clonmel

It's all rotten to the core.

You wouldn’t leave your door unlocked at night for anyone and everyone to come in.

Why do we apply the opposite logic to our country’s door?

Hopefully with the UK/France immigration pact we will see a huge drop off on asylum seekers crossing the NI border.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 2,055 ✭✭✭Jack Daw

700k non eu citizens added to the population in the last 10 years.Its so demoralising, I genuinely feel like giving up on Ireland and accepting its going to become an unliveable shithole , at least I'll be dead in 50 years time is the one crumb of comfort from what is happening to the country.

The politicians of this country are complete scum. They steadfastly refuse to address the housing situation which has stifled the lives of so many Irish people under 40 and then continue to import unsustainable numbers of people .

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 671 ✭✭✭BP_RS3813

I think its because people want to feel good about themselves and pretend they care. How many people who don't have financial interests involved want help to be offered yet won't offer their own spare room in the house? Its up the government to provide these things.

These individuals will then complain that there is not enough housing or resources yet those very same things are being given to the people you wanted offered help.

Either A) Accept we can't help or B) stop pretending to care and just say you don't give a sh*te or C) offer your own support if you feel that strongly about it.

image.png

This is fùcking insane.

We’ve essentially added the population of Dublin City, Limerick city and Waterford city of Non EU nationals to the country in the space of 10 years

What the hell - such an insanely steep growth in population in such a small time. The absolute neck of people to try and claim this doesn’t impact housing availability or prices or those who try and obfuscate that this is just an issue of supply.

Malign, lying ideologues

Not to mention, of all those people, we know very little about their backgrounds.

This is a disaster waiting to happen. Areas of Sweden now are basically no go zones controlled by foreign criminal gangs, violence through the roof.

How long till we have a similar situation here? We seem to be speed running the experiment despite the fact the failures of it are clear to see in other countries.

Something uniquely Irish about that at least.

I was in Sweden for the last month and all I saw during my time there was one some far right lunatic shouting and waving a miniture swedish flag in the town square.

The police came and shot him right there. The country has gone to the dogs.

How long till we have a similar situation here?

You can be as flippant as you want, you just appear immature tbh - this is a serious issue

Sweden are doing a total U turn on their policies in this area, why do you think that is? Is because it’s all been a great success? Or is it actually the exact opposite of that?

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 4,117 ✭✭✭Patrick2010

It was quick alright with two “anecdotes “

Very good.

Anyway here’s a study which shows the rise in violent crime in Sweden directly correlates with the rise of immigration.

Just reporting what I saw there thats all. Am I not allowed share my experiences on this thread?

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2, Paid Member Posts: 19,029 ✭✭✭✭nullzero
    °°°°°

Just engage with people who want to have a reasonable discussion.

It's telling where the immature behaviour is coming from.

Not a knock of work done to improve our infrastructure in that time and a growing housing crisis.

As has been said for a long time, everyone loses in this situation.

Glazers Out!

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 25,105 ✭✭✭✭One eyed Jack

Massive waste of resources going on there too -

The vast majority of public spending on homelessness continues to be directed toward emergency accommodation, with little investment in prevention and long-term solutions, a report has found.

The Focus on Homelessness report shows that nearly €361 million was spent on emergency accommodation in 2024 alone, accounting for 86 per cent of all homelessness-related expenditure.

Meanwhile, only five per cent of total spending was spent on prevention measures such as tenancy sustainment and resettlement support.

The new report, from Focus Ireland and Trinity College Dublin, which analyses public expenditure on homelessness from 2009 through to projected spending for 2025, highlights a trend that despite billions spent, homelessness remains a persistent and growing issue.

Since 2014, the number of households in temporary and emergency accommodation has increased by 258 per cent, rising from 2,419 to 8,669 by mid-2024.

The report reveals that over €1.84 billion has been spent on providing emergency accommodation since 2013, with an increasing share going to private, for-profit providers.

In 2024, for every euro funding for homeless charities, three euros went to private for-profit providers, a dramatic increase from almost equal funding in 2014.

Mike Allen, advocacy director at Focus Ireland and co-author of the report, emphasised the need for a shift in spending priorities.

“This report underscores a simple but urgent point, while emergency accommodation is necessary to prevent people from having to sleep rough, it does nothing to address the root causes of homelessness,” he said.

“We need to rebalance our investment toward prevention and support services that offer lasting solutions.

“Continuing to pour money into temporary fixes without tackling underlying issues is not only ineffective but also unsustainable.

“These figures raise serious questions about the Government’s decision to limit expenditure on tenant-in-situ purchases, one of its most successful homeless prevention schemes.”

Eoin O’Sullivan, from Trinity College Dublin, said that emergency accommodation services are provided by either by the NGO sector or by the private sector.

“The bulk of the expenditure and the growth of that expenditure has been on private sector providers,” he said.

“The private sector spent 11 million in 2013 and it’ll be 270 million in 2024, so an extraordinary increase there.

https://www.breakingnews.ie/ireland/majority-of-spending-on-homelessness-directed-toward-emergency-accommodation-1744246.html

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 17,458 ✭✭✭✭Galwayguy35

Can we get a bit more clarification on this so posters know exactly what we can say.

What I mean is can we mention things that happen in our own areas.