Hello all! Please ensure that you are posting a new thread or question in the appropriate forum. The Feedback forum is overwhelmed with questions that are having to be moved elsewhere. If you need help to verify your account contact hello@boards.ie
Help Keep Boards Alive. Support us by going ad free today. See here: https://subscriptions.boards.ie/

Important News!!

• Boards.ie Employee, Boards Employee 2, Boards Employee 3, API Token user Posts: 188 ✭✭✭✭✭Boards.ie: Odhran
    Boards.ie Employee

Thanks for the support @mike2084 we will be in touch and move your sub over.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 66 ✭✭charlessmith22

Place had been modded to death, that's as much to blame

• Boards.ie Employee, Boards Employee 2, Boards Employee 3, API Token user Posts: 188 ✭✭✭✭✭Boards.ie: Odhran
    Boards.ie Employee

The other lad and Mike wrote the announcement. 100% Mike should have posted it. He runs Boards. He posted - I reply. That was our arrangement.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2, Paid Member Posts: 2,884 ✭✭✭scwazrh

without a doubt .You can’t be a place for people to air their opinions and then censor the opinion when you don’t like it.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2, Paid Member Posts: 6,821 ✭✭✭jj880

Few different colour t-shirts and some other merch would be a winner I reckon. I'd buy it all.

>>> BOARDS COULD BE NO MORE!!! INFO HERE:

👉️ Important News!!

>>> SUBSCRIBE HERE TO KEEP BOARDS ONLINE:

👉️ https://subscriptions.boards.ie/

Boards.ie Employee

Thanks.. We have a cloudflare issue getting a subdomain live with the sub. Should be sorted in the morning - if not we will just post the links to start.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2, Paid Member Posts: 995 ✭✭✭DayInTheBog

So all I get is a smart answer. Glad I don't have much data that hasn't been anonymised in previous iterations of myself.

I would have expected as you're the sites owner and dependant on user engagement that you would engaged since you announced you bought the site but that was just a dream on most of the sites members part.

I think you and @Boards.ie: Mike need to sit down, read through the thread , answer the questions for Monday.

Would be sad to see it go after my being here over 20 years and having had my own threads running for years but I'll move on if it comes to it.

Boards.ie Employee

1. We have engaged with several potential buyers but none interested because they could not see a road to profit. If you do - we are very open to suggestions.
    2. Who would invest and how does that money get repaid? It already carries debt that has not been repaid…

If it was a burn to the ground we would be off line a long time ago.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 2,760 ✭✭✭nachouser

I've no idea how the views are calculated, but the 1st post from Mike has 191 thanks, and the views are nearly 40k. There does appear to be an audience.

Views 1.png

But then I had a look at some other threads to get an idea of how the views stack up re how long the threads have been open, how many pages in the threads etc.

Views.png

You all need to get onto the Guards and get a revenue stream going on one particular thread.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 19,047 ✭✭✭✭bucketybuck

I'd imagine the most likely time a person is going to donate is immediately after hearing the bad news about the site. All those old posters coming in from Reddit, all the less frequent posters who feel gratitude to the place, that is the specific point at which they are most likely to hand over some money.

So it is insane to make this announcement but not have the subscription link ready to go. This time next week all those posters will already have moved on and said their goodbyes.

Boards.ie Employee

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2, Paid Member Posts: 995 ✭✭✭DayInTheBog

Boards went the way of deleting posts initially with GDPR but threads became unreadable as a result m they then went to anonymised posts which worked well and protected the identity of the poster.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2, Paid Member Posts: 18,905 ✭✭✭✭nullzero
    °°°°°

A "You have received a warning" t-shirt would be a winner.

Glazers Out!

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2, Paid Member Posts: 3,652 ✭✭✭Tork

I'd be very sorry to see Boards go, but the timing of this post (i.e. we're about to go under, save us) is typical of the way this site has been run in recent years. The biggest thing boards always had going for it was its community. Yet the new owner(s) just moved it over to Vanilla and fecked off. I was really unimpressed with the way Odhran handled the changeover a few years ago. All we got were hit-and-run posts buried in the middle of threads, and lots of hiding. (Edit: I see he has finally resurfaced) It was left to people like Niamh and Mike and others to carry the can and deal with the sh*t behind the scenes. Goodness knows what they went through.

There was no engagement with the community or any open communication about the way things were going. I think we all knew things were bad but the way boards management just turned their backs sticks in my craw. People offered to help with the site development or by becoming paid members. Nothing came of that. I've seen mods make comments about the complete lack of support they got from boards HQ, and how they were hobbled by having crap modding tools. You can buy an awful lot of goodwill if you are honest and open with people. That didn't happen. Maybe if ye had, boards might be in a better place now.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 30,806 ✭✭✭✭breezy1985

Oh ffs we have moved on now to some big conspiracy to sell everyone's data. Was probably the plan all along. 20 years of farming our brains for the big sell off.

That padraiggg guy was probably Irelands first secret attempt at AI. Or did Wexford Jim on Hoganstand come first.

Boards.ie Employee

• Moderators, Business & Finance Moderators, Recreation & Hobbies Moderators, Paid Member Posts: 26,203 Mod ✭✭✭✭Loughc

A private forum only subscribers used to get access to

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 881 ✭✭✭Mr Disco

I’d advise a complete mass unbanning. May bring some life into the place.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 25,423 ✭✭✭✭My name is URL

Wouldn't be the first time… https://www.independent.ie/entertainment/absolutely-outrageous-completely-fake-tweet-falsely-attributed-to-the-israeli-embassy-goes-viral/30689636.html

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2, Paid Member Posts: 3,594 ✭✭✭antimatterx

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 4,321 ✭✭✭tabby aspreme

I'd be happy to sign up but would like to see less biased modding

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 881 ✭✭✭Mr Disco

it’s actually a disgrace. They’ll still be harping on about fair and unbiased modding in the metaphorical grave of boards.ie

Odhran - any thoughts on the disquiet over modding practices that has killed the site? Don’t say you haven’t been warned over and over…

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 32,478 ✭✭✭✭AndrewJRenko

No one should be running their own server, with their own Internet access these days. Who manages it? Who patches it? Who patches it when the guy who patches it is out sick? Who takes the backup? Where's the offsite disaster recovery site?

They need a cloud service, and they need to pay someone to host it professionally. Vanilla is crap, but I'd be very wary of any alternative solution that isn't based on a detailed evaluation of requirements. That's how you source good software services.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 25,423 ✭✭✭✭My name is URL

Simple auld fact is, if the site is to survive, there needs to be a great deal more transparency and free dialogue between owners/admins/users

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 2,782 ✭✭✭Oíche Na Gaoithe Móire

And the counter was always given oh but they're unpaid volunteers. If you're doing a job it should be done properly, regardless.

Mods should receive some training.

I'm 50/50 re subscribing. I've had so many positive experiences. The laughs on the Late Late Show, Eurovision or Rose of Tralee threads. No bickering and tension.

Rugby has turned into Munster v Leinster, SP v Crowley. No fun in it. GAA can be parochial and there's a few know it alls waiting to pounce on the most trivial things.

Fair City, my silly release, is a lovely thread with a lot of laughs at the acting and plots.

'Where have you gone Joe DiMaggio? A nation turns It's lonely eyes to you.'

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2, Paid Member Posts: 5,188 ✭✭✭blackbox

Any chance the search could be fixed?

It used to be a great resource for diy and technical stuff, but I just can't find things anymore.

It seems to me the complaints about modding are made by a vocal few. Plenty of people wouldn't miss CA if it was dropped.

I'd still be up for paying the fifty.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 91,860 ✭✭✭✭JP Liz V1

I'm not very techy so most of the talk is going over my head but the Vanilla move has been a disaster

What about reaching out to Elon or Garron or others to spread the word #helpsaveboards also who is the media minister now, give RTE's flip flop money to here

No matter what people tell you, words and ideas can change this World

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 17,782 ✭✭✭✭MEGA BRO WOLF 5000

Boards.ie Employee

We have moved to a no code platform. If people are interested in taking the company over with costs etc we are open to discuss but not detailing that in an open forum.

Leave a Comment

Rich Text Editor. To edit a paragraph's style, hit tab to get to the paragraph menu. From there you will be able to pick one style. Nothing defaults to paragraph. An inline formatting menu will show up when you select text. Hit tab to get into that menu. Some elements, such as rich link embeds, images, loading indicators, and error messages may get inserted into the editor. You may navigate to these using the arrow keys inside of the editor and delete them with the delete or backspace key.