Hello all! Please ensure that you are posting a new thread or question in the appropriate forum. The Feedback forum is overwhelmed with questions that are having to be moved elsewhere. If you need help to verify your account contact hello@boards.ie
Help Keep Boards Alive. Support us by going ad free today. See here: https://subscriptions.boards.ie/

Barrow Way

• 30-06-2025 09:09AM
    Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 303 ✭✭

Lads and lassies,

How much of the Barrow Way has been resurfaced? I know Robertstown to Athy is all done, and I know that from Athy there is at least 10km of unsurfaced single track - but what about from thereon to St. Mullins??

Plus - are there any good places or recommendations for grub along the way??

Cycling it later this week.

Thanks in advance.

David

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 8,484 ✭✭✭cletus

As you said there's a good surface to Athy. Having kayaked from there to St. Mullins, there seems to be single track the entire way. I've seen a couple of people cycling it.

Co. B's in Monasterevin do nice grub, but they close earlyish (you'll have to come off the Greenway and into the town).

Nice coffee in Square in Athy (again, you'll have to come off the Greenway and into the town).

Plenty of places in Carlow, but I can't recommend anything particularly.

In Graiguenamanagh, the Waterside Guesthouse does good food (well good breakfasts anyway, so I'm assuming lunches are good too).

There's a cafe in St. Mullins, it's the only option. It's always been closed by the time we've arrived.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 303 ✭✭TooObvious

Thank you Cletus, so single track all the way to St. Mullins from Athy. I imagine nice out of town, but for any long stretches will be potentially overgrown or not quite single track.

Thanks for the tips on the food, plan is to go up and down in the day so we'll need plenty.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2, Paid Member Posts: 5,249 ✭✭✭nilhg

I would imagine that most of the track will be mown by now, WI haven been busy mowing the verges on the Blueway section for the last few weeks. Progress will be much slower below Athy, I'd imagine going up and down in a day will mean an early start and late finish. I'd be interested to see how you get on, thinking of giving something similar a go over the summer, though I'd be starting from Rathangan.

Will let you know how we get on. Early start planned alright, about 5.30am and leaving from Sallins. We've done the Royal and Grand Canal in the one day so no strangers to the suffering, it's just the thought of 50-60km of rough track and then having to go back out onto it after our lunch is not the most attractive.

It'll be well cleared (as far as single track goes) I'd imagine. It always seems very well walked when I'm down that way

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 4,523 ✭✭✭Gerry

Would be considering hardtail mtbs to smooth the journey.

Met a girl doing with with a gravel bike and bike bags (looked like she was camping) and she seemed to be going along nicely

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 4,322 ✭✭✭tabby aspreme

Leighlinbridge to Bagnalstown, is a single track with the grass well cut back, nice coffee just at the bridge in Leighlinbridge and the hotel is the other side of it if your really hungry, coffee and a sauna at Milford weir also

I'll report back on whether a hardtail was required or not! At least there will be a sauna available for us if it gets too much.

• Moderators, Technology & Internet Moderators, Regional South East Moderators Posts: 28,582 Mod ✭✭✭✭Cabaal

Did it on a hybrid about two years back with full camping gear, St Mullins to Athy.

It would be far more comfortable on a MTB, but its still do-able on a hybrid unless there was an awful lot of rain/mud.

Right so, we went from Robertstown instead of Sallins, and glad we made that decision! Robertstown to Athy, about 47km, was virtually all cinder type surface, very rideable, and we had great banter during that section!

The talking ended after Athy, apart from when we stopped to reconsider our choices!

70km of more or less "natural" trail to St. Mullins, tough going particularly where we had just grass to cycle on. We made it to St. Mullins, had a pizza got lauded by the locals for our amazingness and headed back!

Return journey was very tough. 70km of trail again, by Athy we, well I, was fooked. We ate a load of food here, recovered somewhat and pressed on, eventually getting back to Robertstown. Would have hated to have to cycle back to Sallins, that would have killed us.

237km, 22.8kmph moving average, and a lot of foodstops along the way.

The Barrow Way, particularly, from Leighlinbridge to St. Mullins is absolutely stunning, so verdant.

Did we need a hardtail? I think hardtails would have slowed us down, our gravel bikes do have 30mm suspension on the front, so that i'm sure helped, but either way would recommend a gravel bike!

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2, Paid Member Posts: 870 ✭✭✭devonp

@TooObvious

great going

someday i'll take it on

so tyres (width) more important than suspension ?.. i have a hardtail MTB and a Cx bike (can take up to 38/40c)

We had 40mm and 42mm respectively.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 580 ✭✭✭3102derek

Have you a strava link?
    What was the distance from Robertstown to Monasterevin and then to Athy?

Not one for sharing strava links tbh. Lowtown to Athy is about 47km, and Monasterevin to Lowtown was about 16 or 17km, less maybe.

Robertstown to Rathangan - 14.5 km

Rathangan to Monasterevin (bridge at Dublin Rd.) - 12 km

Monasterevin to Athy - 24 km

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 580 ✭✭✭3102derek

sound thanks.
    Take would me it 104k trip for me to Athy and back.
    One for a nice day. thanks.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2, Paid Member Posts: 5,249 ✭✭✭nilhg

OP if ye did it yesterday I think I met ye at Ballykelly on your way down, ye were tipping along at that stage, great spin, well done

That is deadly, I've no idea where Ballykelly is, but we definitely met a few bikes on our journey.

If you remember passing by the back of an old mill, refurbished as a distillery, that's Ballykelly. It would be just before you come into Monasterevin.