Hello all! Please ensure that you are posting a new thread or question in the appropriate forum. The Feedback forum is overwhelmed with questions that are having to be moved elsewhere. If you need help to verify your account contact hello@boards.ie
If we do not hit our goal we will be forced to close the site.

Current status: https://keepboardsalive.com/

Annual subs are best for most impact. If you are still undecided on going Ad Free - you can also donate using the Paypal Donate option. All contribution helps. Thank you.

The 2025 All Ireland Senior Football Championship (Sam Maguire Cup)

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 3,145 ✭✭✭orangerhyme

Kerry were weak from 2015 to 2018.

Donegal, Tyrone, Armagh, Derry, Galway, Cork, Meath etc were all weak in that period. Only really Mayo were strong in that period. If Dublin didn't exist, Mayo would've won a few handy ones.

2019 was when our new team but emerged but we were still young and off the standard.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 14 nippy12

Kerry were still in the final in 2015!

Yeah but we hadn't a hope of winning.

I'm from Kerry and was certain we'd lose.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 16,303 ✭✭✭✭event

Another of Big Jim's followers i see.

Yiz will have plenty to song about in a few weeks, don't worry. Its Donegals to lose now. I imagine there'll be a statue of him built in every town in donegal after it.

But be careful, some of the posters here will say he is only an average manager

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 720 ✭✭✭dog_pig

You do seem a bit obsessed in fairness (not that you're alone in that)

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2, Paid Member Posts: 20,727 ✭✭✭✭Bass Reeves

Cavan had it handy in Ulster until 1960. They won it about 40 time and only converted 5 to AI. If the IRA violence was such an impediment to the six northern counties how come Donegal, Monaghan and Cavan did not benefit from it. At stages Cavan won 5+ Ulster titles in a row. According to the theory you hold they should have 10+ AI's

Slava Ukrainii

Kerry people would prefer a more competitive Munster anyway.

Connaught isn't particularly competitive but they won very few AIs.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 2,488 ✭✭✭Gael85

Not sure if you are on the wind up but Jack McCaffrey is one of the most naturally gifted players to play the game. Watch his performance in 2019 final. Stepped away from inter county and played very little club football for 4 years and slotted in like never away in 2023. Watch his pass to Paddy Small in final 10 minutes in 2023 final.

Dublin had to adapt a certain style in 2017 to break down 15 bodies behind which many a kerry team struggled with too. Was pointless kicking ball when 5/6 covering a full back line.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 20,503 ✭✭✭✭gormdubhgorm

Are the Kerry lads booking the hotel for the final? And have the Sam celebrations planned? Have the rows over which town Sam is going to first started yet?

Guff about stuff, and stuff about guff.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 4,084 ✭✭✭acequion

Ha ha I do like your wit 😂 and you're right those shenanigans do go on, but not until AFTER we've won an All Ireland.

As the last poster pointed out, we're not complacent. And we're not eejits either. The path to the All Ireland is thorny, to say the least, and not one of the four left has any claim to Sam yet. All to play for over the next few weeks and could be any of the teams. Intriguing stuff.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 3,429 ✭✭✭C__MC

Tyrone will significantly need to better their game from Saturday night. They made alot of mistakes skill wise and turned over alot of ball needlessly. Dublin tried to kick early ball in but the delivery was sloppy. Kerry will punish any mistakes and their kicking will be alot more accurate. Kerry probably have given the most devastating 15 mins in football history since dublin in 2019 against mayo. But it is hard to back up a peformance like that. History points to that for example in 2019, Dublin weren't near as hot as the SF. Donegal in 14 as well. I had a good feeling kerry would beat armagh yesterday. They will be hard stopped but I feel it will take Jim in Donegal to beat them. I'd expect kerry to win comfortably enough against the red hand.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 31,151 ✭✭✭✭breezy1985

40 Ulster's with 5 All Irelands and 1 national league. Would be bizarre these days for an Ulster team to have such a terrible return.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 2,956 ✭✭✭50HX

100%

Dublin had great players but were more about the sum of the collective with a sprinkling of naturally talented footballers.

Coupled with Gilroy & Gavin they had managers who were way ahead if their counterparts

Dublin had everything really. An incredible panel. Players on their bench would be the best players in most counties.

I say that as a Kerry person.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 5,140 ✭✭✭RoyalCelt

Kerry we're not weak in 2011, 2012, 2013, 2014. They've never really been weak. Dublin for various reasons just reached a completely new level to the point where great teams like mayo and Kerry couldn't beat. Many other teams further down the pecking order did completely give up especially Leinster counties because they knew they couldn't beat Dublin. But Mayo and Kerry tried so so hard and still couldn't really do it.

I don't agree with the GAA's plan to create the Dublin monster but let's not downplay the teams they beat.

Literally everyone in Kerry would agree that Kerry had a weak panel from 2015 to 2018.

I'd even say we were weak in 2014 but rode our luck that year.

Even in 2013 we had a 35 year old Tomás O'Se marking Diarmuid Connolly

Anybody know why the GAA knocked about 10k off Sundays attendance figure? What are they up to..

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 31,151 ✭✭✭✭breezy1985

What do you mean "knocked off". Did they give a figure and change it ?

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 1,118 ✭✭✭The Moist Buddha

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 3,429 ✭✭✭C__MC

Kerry definitely tailed away from 2013 onwards. They had a serious team from 2000 that kind of wound up in 2011 under jack. Fitzamaurice came using some of that ageing crop mixed with new personal. But it wasn't a kerry to be feared. 2014, I still can't believe they won it but that's kerry. They rode their luck no doubt in limerick and the final. 15, 16, 17 and 18, kerry did struggle and results proved that. People will say it was close in 15 and 16 with dublin, but dublin were much better team. I suppose this current crop emerged in 2019, kerry had serious underage success. They have only picked up one all Ireland, a deserved one mind you. They'll be looking to finish the decade with at least two more youd imagine.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 19 South of the Bann

Not a hope Mayo would have won a few handy ones.

The years they brought Dublin to the pin of their collar in 2016 and 2017 they werent even good enough to win Connacht.

They Built momentum throught he qualifiers but were nearly bet in several occasions. Derry brought them to extra time Cork brought them to extra time; Roscommon to a replay; struggled over Clare and Fermanagh I remember too.

History suggests when Mayo had winnable finals in 2012 and 2021 that they hadnt it in them when it mattered most and were comprehensively beaten.

That Dublin team brought the best out in Mayo; and if they were going to win an All Ireland it would've been against them.

Mayo had great respect from the neutral in that period because they were the only team that could match Dublins Physicality and athleticism. They were most peoples 2nd favourite team.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 1,868 ✭✭✭snowgal

yea I thought it would be higher too. sure only a few hundred seats were left in the Nally on the morning of…..did that many people not turn up? Think official figure was roughly 71k?

They definitely showed up bar the usual few hundred maybe. Every seat was sold. Some dodgy accounting or were they trying to avoid creating a narrative how the dubs have all but disappeared?

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2, Paid Member Posts: 17,831 ✭✭✭✭keane2097

I'm always baffled by the 'weak province' schtick. Fair enough (I suppose) coming from Ulster people especially if you think GAA only started in the 90s. But from the Connacht crowd? 14 All Irelands from that province in the history of the competition. The Munster counties outside of Kerry have won 13.

Cork have lost more finals than any county other than Kerry and were winners in the 70s, 80s, 90s and 2010s, featuring in a couple of finals in the 00s but the sour narrative is they were useless for most of the last 50 years giving Kerry an armchair ride to the semi-final. They're the fourth county in the all time role of honour despite having to contend with Kerry every year.

Imagine how many titles they would have if they were in Connacht.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 2,488 ✭✭✭Gael85

Mod Edit

Warning issued.

Post edited by ShamoBuc on

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 12,572 ✭✭✭✭castletownman

I didn't realise that O'Shea ended up with ten points from play the other day.

To the best of my knowledge, the last player to do so in Croker was Matty Forde when he scored 0-12 (2 frees) vs. Meath. And no two-pointers then!

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 3,303 ✭✭✭overshoot

11 of Monaghan's 16 Ulsters were won before the 1940s, though they dont win again until 79. Antrim won 8 titles 1900s/10s.

the 50s see Tyrone, Down, Derry emerge and get their first win. Armagh got a first title since 1902.

for Donegal, I think (from googling) emigration was the biggest factor, there was zero manufacturing etc to keep people about. What organised GAA there was early 1900s was more hurling (or a variation of it). A County Board was formed in 1906 but fell apart quickly, didnt come back until 1919. Was mostly junior football until we started to emerge in the 60s but Down was in our path.

Finally got the first Ulster title in 72, 25 final appearances since that year has yielded 12 titles (though 12 finals and 7 titles has been since 2011, 6 finals and 5 wins being Jims). Certainly enjoying the stint top dog in ulster, was too young to remember 92 so 2011 was a long time coming!

Fermanagh the only team without a title

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 16,303 ✭✭✭✭event

Not really All Ireland related but Ger Brennan is gone

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 1,808 ✭✭✭Westernview

As a Mayo supporter I have to agree with that. We have had some great players and teams but a culture of accepting final defeats has set in, even subconsciously. Kerry don't have homecoming celebrations after final defeats but we do. We ditch managers instead of demanding more from players and the cycle continues.