Hello all! Please ensure that you are posting a new thread or question in the appropriate forum. The Feedback forum is overwhelmed with questions that are having to be moved elsewhere. If you need help to verify your account contact hello@boards.ie
If we do not hit our goal we will be forced to close the site.

Current status: https://keepboardsalive.com/

Annual subs are best for most impact. If you are still undecided on going Ad Free - you can also donate using the Paypal Donate option. All contribution helps. Thank you.

The 2025 All Ireland Senior Football Championship (Sam Maguire Cup)

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 20,503 ✭✭✭✭gormdubhgorm

There is a woman on RnaG who does radio commentary. Superb she is. Did commentary in Connemara Irish. For the Galway Meath match. Great flow knows her stuff. And no waffling. She was on with Coman Coggins
    Does anyone know her name? Way better than the likes of Ger Canning and Marty.

Guff about stuff, and stuff about guff.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 4,497 ✭✭✭munster87

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 4,621 ✭✭✭tobefrank321

Ok I missed the draw, was expecting it tomorrow morning. Kerry v Donegal final so.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2, Paid Member Posts: 3,099 ✭✭✭Oíche Na Gaoithe Móire

A great year. I think their silverware will be Leinster 2026. But who knows.

From Tailteann two years ago, whipping boys in the championship last year to an All Ireland semi. And a young team.

'Where have you gone Joe DiMaggio? A nation turns It's lonely eyes to you.'

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 3,420 ✭✭✭paul71

Radio 1 did not do the first 15 minutes of Meath Galway, so switched to RNG because I was picking kids up from scouts. She was excellent but don't know who she is.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 4,621 ✭✭✭tobefrank321

Yes there's a lot more to Kerry than Paudie Clifford!

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 75,659 ✭✭✭✭FrancieBrady

No anti Kerry here.
    But Kerry blitzes have been prevented many times and can be again.

They ate a good team and took their chance but stiffer tests await.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 140 ✭✭cgorzy

Agree Kerry were fantastic 2nd half and it was a great watch. I’d much prefer watch a team performing like that and running away with it than a close game that lacks quality. I don’t think it’s beyond the teams left though to stop them in that form. It’s not guaranteed they would dominate kick outs like that for so long against Meath/Tyrone/Donegal and getting on the ball would break the momentum especially if the possession turns into scores.

• Moderators, Sports Moderators Posts: 5,167 Mod ✭✭✭✭GoldFour4

John Fogarty from the examiner saying Kerry - Tyrone for Saturday evening semi.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 20,503 ✭✭✭✭gormdubhgorm

To me final looks a Kerry v Donegal final. Can’t see beyond that. Neither Tyrone or Meath are in the same class as the other two. Danger the semi finals could be onsided.

Guff about stuff, and stuff about guff.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 7,359 ✭✭✭theoneeyedman

I've no idea.

Did ye see Marty introducing the playing of the national Anthem before the first game today...... The anthem is NEVER played before the first of a double header in Croke Park. Fvckin rookie mistake, and typical of the laxadasical lack of preparation and attention to detail that is perfectly acceptable in RTE and RTE Sport.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 3,429 ✭✭✭C__MC

Kerry will hammer tyrone.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 707 ✭✭✭Krazy gang

Lot will depend on who kerry have for the semi final. Paudie got 35 minutes in today and should be flying in 2 weeks. Geaney was a sub so he should be OK. Tom sullivan went off with a knock.

Hard to get away with missing 5 or 6 important play for more than 1 game.

Tyrone will relish taking on kerry. They never lack for confidence anyway. Think I heard Malachy saying mckernan has a chance of featuring which would be massive, as he is quality.

Who all were Kerry actually missing today? D O'Connor, sure, Paudie came in at half time, Geaney…anyone else? Tom O'Sullivan? Would they all start if fit?

To listen to the commentary, Kerry were lucky to field a team at all. They got a huge boost/wild card performance from Micheal Burns, he was amazing when he came on - I've never seen him attach as well as that. A good worker and linkman, but Armagh couldn't handle him at all today.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 1,808 ✭✭✭Westernview

Interesting.Never knew they had a female commentator at all. I guess SBB is retired from it now.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 11,070 ✭✭✭✭billyhead

He's useless. He said during the first game that the match was been played in front of a full house. Sure there were empty seats everywhere.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2, Paid Member Posts: 3,731 ✭✭✭MacDanger

I have a feeling that kerry won't play as well again this year, their efficiency today was off the charts - whether they'll need to be as good or not remains to be seen. Donegal still slight favourites for me

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2, Paid Member Posts: 3,099 ✭✭✭Oíche Na Gaoithe Móire

I wouldn't call it anti Kerry. One swallow never made a summer. How much did Armagh's lack of intensity and ability to win ball contribute to the Kerry win.

Awesome is an American word I hate, no disrespect to you. Mike Tyson looked awesome until he met a proper fighter.

You have to treat the 2 imposters of defeat and victory for what they are. The truth usually lies in the middle. Kerry very good but aided by a poor Armagh.

And Armagh beat that Kerry team with good football in extra time last year. Despite a dull final. I'm not buying the Kerry Harlem Globetrotters yet. No one knows what will happen in sport but we don't know yet if this is the real Kerry or if it's the version that struggled by Cork and lost to Meath.

I'm too long around watching great quarter and semi performances from teams who don't win the final. In 2001 every Meath pass was cheered as they trounced Kerry. They looked leagues ahead. Galway beat Meath by 9 points in the final. Remember Donegal v Dublin 2014, sensational semi win. Fitzmaurice was well prepared for the final. Donegal had shown their hand.

As I said before this isn't a dominant Kerry team. After the 4 minor All Irelands 10 years ago I thought they'd rack up Senior All Irelands.

If I was to pick a team I'd pick Kerry, but to win it they have, you'd expect, 2 tough tests.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 6,679 ✭✭✭windy shepard henderson

what kerry have is a team of grafters , and in the two cliffords sean o'shea and paul geaney is absolute quality and generational talent , thats what kerry are

donegal is the closest team to them because they are the most balanced team in the country , they also have the best defence in the country since the ew rules have come in , their short fall is the bench , darie o'boiles drop in form and the drop in form in both patrick mcbrearty and oisin gallan this year

I wouldn't rate Paul Geaney as generational.

The big question is, this team is on the go since 2018, yet they've only one All Ireland title? Tyrone 2021, Armagh last year aren't as good on paper but have the same number of titles in that period.

paul geaney is quality i think , i would have no fear of them giving it a real rattle this year in fairness , just look at how much the game changed when paudi got into the game , they are a seriously intelligent forward line in fairness

Been a long time since Sean played as well as he did today. He might be not and keep playing this well, buy then again he might not. All to play for.

I wouldn't mind either. Great to watch.

No team has retained Sam since the 6 in a row Dubs in 2020. So hard to get the hunger back.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 1,567 ✭✭✭dunnerc

Cant disagree with that , kerry were indeed awesome

kerry and croke park , they always do this , he will be just as devastating i expect against tyrone although it will be a diffrent game and much closer

kerry in croke park are just different there supporters even are just different when they hit the big smoke , normally when clare play kerry there is a bit of craic between the supporters and everything is good natured , we played them in an all ireland 1/4 final back in 2016 , and while they were massive odds on with the bookies their supporters were in no mood for jokes that day , and neither were the team on the field , we had ran them close a few times in previous years but not that day , and they made sure of it , both players and supporters

don't ever judge them until they hit hq i learned that day

i think its going to fluctuate for a few years too , there is all irelands in tyrone , donegal galway kerry and even meath as they get older it might not happen but it could be a very interesting and open few years between now and the end of the decade

As young lads we were all told 'you're only as good as your last match'! How true it is.

Kerry played brilliantly in the second half. I'm not denying it. Just every day is a new game and no one knows what team is more tuned in on that day.

Who couldn't enjoy that display of gaelic football today. Young kids will have run out trying to be DC or Seanie at 6pm.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 1,567 ✭✭✭dunnerc

Not Dublin 🤒What happened to the 10 in arow ?😂

Gavin White is one of my favourite players of this generation. Has everything.