Hello all! Please ensure that you are posting a new thread or question in the appropriate forum. The Feedback forum is overwhelmed with questions that are having to be moved elsewhere. If you need help to verify your account contact hello@boards.ie
If we do not hit our goal we will be forced to close the site.

Current status: https://keepboardsalive.com/

Annual subs are best for most impact. If you are still undecided on going Ad Free - you can also donate using the Paypal Donate option. All contribution helps. Thank you.

Beef price tracker 2

• Moderators, Society & Culture Moderators, Paid Member Posts: 4,530 Mod ✭✭✭✭Siamsa Sessions

Let's not get side-tracked but…

I was in the IFA for 9 years, sat on national committees, and was secretary for the county executive for 12 months.

There's great ideas and passion among ordinary members. But the full-time execs in HQ kill it all and never represent what they're hearing week-in-week-out from those ordinary members. They keep a lid on farmers rather than represent them.

I don't want to give a cent to support that suppression.

But that's just me and my experience. I'd still recommend anyone to join and go along to the monthly meetings - then make up your mind for yourself.

Trading as Sullivan’s Farm on YouTube

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2, Paid Member Posts: 4,323 ✭✭✭kk.man

If you had cattle going to factory or mart several times a year it would add up.

The fact they didn't support farmers during the strike was the straw that broke the camel's back for me, even verbally they failed to support.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2, Paid Member Posts: 20,731 ✭✭✭✭Bass Reeves

Add to that there stance on convergence ( even though I was above the average,

Slava Ukrainii

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2, Paid Member Posts: 5,257 ✭✭✭bogman_bass

how could they? They had zero control over it yet the second they supported it it became an “IFA protest” with all the risk that comes with that. They never stopped a member going just said not to put their name to it.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 214 ✭✭yewdairy

This isn't true

When the leaders of the beefplan were in the high court the ifa stood beside them.

https://www.farmersjournal.ie/news/news/ifa-utterly-opposed-to-jail-threat-to-farmers-490441

See the link

No need to make stuff up

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 4,347 ✭✭✭tabby aspreme

Very few cattle over 600kg in Tullow today, just about anything over 500kg making fair money, prices can be viewed on Mart Eye

They weren't all singing all dancing in the beginning. The got in at the later stages when beef plan was gaining traction. Not a fan of beef plan either.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 4,901 ✭✭✭mf240

If it's not worth asking for it's not worth taking.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2, Paid Member Posts: 31,005 ✭✭✭✭whelan2

Price of 2 pints. Now I've dougal in my head with 2 pints...

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 4,901 ✭✭✭mf240

If you drove in past a woman shaking a bucket , you could decide whether to donate or not,

However if you came out and she was filling up loose change that she found in your jeep it ,would be petty theft.

Even if she was saving up for a day trip to Dublin .

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 1,854 ✭✭✭morphy87

Chatting to a man this evening, he sold Angus bullocks last Monday morning €7.50 flat, and they were only bought Saturday, he said factory’s very anxious for stock again

I know a man killed heavy continental heifers early last week 7.40 on the grid.

Have a feeling there is didn't think it would be so fast after the price pull.

no but I noticed the past two weeks very little factory cattle in the marts and they have improved, chatting to a man a while back and he knows a lady working in a factory office and a lot of orders in for beef

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2, Paid Member Posts: 20,731 ✭✭✭✭Bass Reeves

Processors used the last of the feedlot castle and got a lot of tied agent cattle in as well to try to force cattle prices down. However hey have slaughtered a lot of forward stores this spring so fit cattle are scarce.

Slava Ukrainii

So you reckon all there feedlot cattle are now gone? If so how are they going to manage supply?

• Registered Users Posts: 389 ✭✭WoozieWu

i think it has turned in the uk

prices up in marts a bit

processors are holding price or rising slightly

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 2,864 ✭✭✭Cavanjack

Wonder what do lads that bought stores in the spring need in September/october to break even? It surely would want to be above 7.50?

They normally would be. In a normal year you would have the grass cattle numbers rising now. But a lot if lads fed on in tge spring becase of the price. Forward stores were slaughtered as well. At present they are looking at a 75k shortfall and IMO less cull cows as well. It could be October before they get above 32/33k cattle per week

The antics of trying to drop prices over the last couple of weeks p!ssed me off anyway. One local factory was stuck for cattle and only got inlyvone double from the feedlots Thursday night. Regular suppliers cattle were slaughtered earlier in the week.

Was it DID electrical had it

" when they are gone they are definitely gone "

Slava Ukrainii

The same volume of grass cattle isn’t there this year

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 7,263 ✭✭✭jaymla627

Neighbour had too go to the mart with 3 empty fr heifers he bought of us in April, was 3 weeks begging to get them killed, in kilbeggan and no luck with the agent, had to Mart them after, still has a few cull cows and the same story they done want them, local dealer had to go to Wexford to get a load killed and at that they'd only take the one load...

You'd think they'd be trying to keep lads half sweet, with lack of numbers but have got the hump instead

There used to plenty of lads buying forward stock in the spring for grass on dry farms and have them gone c 1st week in June, it was very lucrative if you had the cash. The factories cut extremely hard very fast in the last number of years so that outlet has completely dried up for them.

• Moderators, Society & Culture Moderators, Paid Member Posts: 4,530 Mod ✭✭✭✭Siamsa Sessions

That’s some messing around.

But sure they don’t need to look after lads - they know they’ll get the cattle anyway. Same as the co-ops - they know they’ll get the milk no matter how much messing goes on

That's what I was highlighting for a number of weeks. A double of many coming from the northeast to the southeast, all to put manners on lads. I bet the ne lad got up to 10c more and the se lad got 10c less than the quoted price. My loyalty to any factory ceased last year.

Is the price of beef in supermarkets gone up much?

Herself does the shopping here and she says it hasn’t really, as there’s usually some type of offer for different cuts. I guess that’s typical of supermarkets - making it hard for consumers to get a handle on what the real price is.

But I was in the local butchers yesterday and he said demand for beef is down at least 50%. He has no way to hide price increases like the supermarket so higher prices have hit sales.

If it becomes obvious to consumers that beef is getting dearer in the supermarket then this butcher’s experience doesn’t bode well for beef price in the coming months.

But hopefully my crystal ball is way off.

Risk was too great this year, you were competing against feedlots and against factories themselves buying them.

Had he to go to the mart because they just wouldn't book them.in or was it under quoting.

I remember a story from a few years ago, a local farmer was tryng to do a deal with a procurement manager. The procurement manager was at a take it or leave it attitude and at the same time demanding the cattle.

Pat quibed that he had to go home to check somethings about his herd number on agfood. PM asked him why. Tommy replied

" by the way you are carrying on I am not sure is it your or my name on it"

This is new territory for PM, the whip hand they usually have os out of action. This is twice in six weeks they have tried a pull and it has backfired

Slava Ukrainii

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 7,263 ✭✭✭jaymla627

Wouldn't book them in at all, was willing to take what ever they offered has killed 100's of cattle with this factory over the years , rathdowny agent bought the 3 heifers after in the mart, who then himself got the hump as one of the heifers wasn't quality assured, as was transfered into above lads herd from my father's who isn't quality assured

Asked my butcher the same, he saying that supermarkets are getting smaller cuts from the factories in their little packets thus damage doesn't appear too bad to the shopper. Butcher can't do that as easily.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 331 ✭✭grass10

The heifers have to be the last 70 days in quality assured herds for most factories to take them otherwise they'll refuse to take them was this the issue ?

Factory buyer should read the mart board and if a heifer was less than 70 days in qa herd he should not have bought her I cannot see why he'd have an issue

Some smaller factories don't have rigid rules like above but will usually pay less