Hello all! Please ensure that you are posting a new thread or question in the appropriate forum. The Feedback forum is overwhelmed with questions that are having to be moved elsewhere. If you need help to verify your account contact hello@boards.ie
If we do not hit our goal we will be forced to close the site.

Current status: https://keepboardsalive.com/

Annual subs are best for most impact. If you are still undecided on going Ad Free - you can also donate using the Paypal Donate option. All contribution helps. Thank you.

Cold Case Review of Sophie Tuscan du Plantier murder to proceed

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 37,082 ✭✭✭✭odyssey06

I can't believe Mark McCarthy is still being trotted out as proof that Bailey is a "compulsive liar" or credible evidence of a connection.

The Guards spoke to him and went through Sophie's diary, where she kept details of her arrangements meticulously. No mention of going to Cape Clear. They went back to him and suddenly he was all vague weasel words, that it was just someone of her height and complexion i.e. a blonde woman, that he couldn't be sure, that maybe it looked like the woman playing Sophie in the reconstruction on TV, yadda yadda yadda.

You were saying something about knowing the facts of the case?
    It is obvious you don't.
    You haven't even read the thread fully because this isn't the first time the McCarthy claim has been debunked on it.

This was already posted to the thread by irishspiderplant:

"When I gave it I was confused about the woman in Cape Clear. I can’t say for sure it was her. I remember seeing the documentary on the news. There was an actor playing Sophie maybe I became confused by the two. What I mean to say is that I can’t say by one hundred percent that it was her."

The festival was Friday - Sunday 1-3 September. However her diary indicates she dropped Pierre-Louis back to the airport on Friday, visited Blarney on the Saturday and her own flight home was the Sunday. So on the face of she couldn't have gone. Going to Cape Clear is an whole-day affair. It is possible, maybe she rushed back from the airport and caught the 11am ferry, or maybe she didn't go to Blarney. Bailey was known to go to the festival, bang his bodhran, get drunk and generally court attention. If someone finds a photo of Sophie at the festival that would be spectacular but barring that I suspect this is another attempt to fit Bailey into the frame.

"To follow knowledge like a sinking star..." (Tennyson's Ulysses)

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 3,396 ✭✭✭tinytobe

It's because knowing somebody or getting introduced to somebody is never ever proof of murder. Suppose Bailey knew Sophie and spoke to her reguarly every time she was in Ireland, - still it's not proof of murder.

Lot's of people didn't like Bailey, and neither did the Guards, but again the Guards can't be trusted on this one as well given their collusion and corruption.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 755 ✭✭✭jesuisjuste

Even if you take the most generous assumption of how well he knew her, perhaps shook her hand and talked to her a couple of time max (considering this is the first time she came alone), there's still probably a couple of dozen people who knew her better and talked to her more than Bailey in Ireland alone. In fact it doesn't really move him up in the list of people she was familiar with at all. A&S Lyons, the Bolgers, all the Hellen's, Ungerers, Richardsons? postman, tradesmen, barmen at various bars etc. I'm sure there were others too. Even some of the other oddballs around are known to have talked to her more. And that's nothing to say of the perhaps hundreds of other people in her life from France and beyond.

Bailey having known her, and a sexual motive are heavily pushed by those who believe he did it, because if you take either assumption away then it appears exceedingly more likely to be someone else.

• Moderators, Politics Moderators, Paid Member Posts: 43,817 Mod ✭✭✭✭Seth Brundle

…plus there is no indication that Bailey know Sophie was in Ireland, and as she rarely came to Ireland, it would not have been assumed by him. Furthermore, this was the first time she travelled to her house in Cork alone so had it been Bailey out looking for a nightime cuddle, why would he have thought it would be her and not some male companion that would answer the door?

Then you have the unanswerable question as to when the attack actually happened because there does appear to be more indications that it was in the morning rather than during the night. I note that everyone who is convinced of Bailey's guilt refuse to address at this point - strange that!

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 3,213 ✭✭✭Peter Flynt

On the night Sophie was murdered Bailey and Jules were driving back from the pub in Schull and Bailey spotted the lights on at Sophie's place. She routinely travelled alone to Ireland.

• Moderators, Politics Moderators, Paid Member Posts: 43,817 Mod ✭✭✭✭Seth Brundle

Yawn, go on so, tell us what Bailey supposedly then said when they were driving up Hunt's Hill 🙄

If my above sarcasm isn't clear - you're wrong! Again!!!
    It was also supposedly lights in Lyons house, not Sophies house, so you're mistaken on that one.

It has been proven that you cannot see Sophies house from that hill so do please tell us how he saw the lights on in her house.

Also please tell us that Jules has stated that this allegation which is credited to her despite her denials…

So Pete, what easily disproven nonsense are you going to put forwards next?

She routinely travelled alone to Ireland.

I missed replying to that bit.
    As I understand it, in the few years that she owned the house, she had never visited it alone but had arrived either with her son or with a friend so maybe you can enlighten us as to when exactly were the other occasions when she "routinely travelled alone" to it?

I don't know where you are getting your information from, but they seem to be feeding you a pack of lies. And of course, you don't provide any source.

A quick google will tell you this (from the West Cork podcast)

While Sophie Toscan du Plantier did travel to her West Cork cottage on occasion with family and friends, her last trip in December 1996 was the first time she travelled there alone.

And in fact, she had sounded out friends to accompany her.

It's clear you have absolutely zero interest in the objective facts of the case, or anything that would dissuade you from your preformed opinion on Bailey. Even as multiple points you have cited as justifying his guilty to you are completely discredited.

Why do those who believe that Bailey did it always think of a sexual motive? He also never raped a woman, nor were there even accusations, not by Jules, not by any of her daughters, he wasn't even chasing other women around West Cork. But still the sexual motive of Bailey continues on and on till this day. Why?

On another note I'd be interested in this apparently French man, loitering in a dark coat and unshaven and apparently observing Sophie? He could be identified, but was never named? However it was confirmed that he was one of Daniel's friends? If so, what was his relationship to Daniel? A business man, or some friend? I'll be interesting to find out, what the real purpose of his trip to Ireland was, or whether that has ever been confirmed? I also presume he was the man the Guards interviewed during a trip to Paris as part of the cold case investigation.

Regarding the sexual motive, it's because there is no other scenario in which Bailey would even be a whiff of the main suspect. Drugs, access, land, financial, fights/personal issues… none of these motives would point to Bailey, and so they're best avoided talking about if you think it's Bailey. Cart before the horse.

A financial motive could have been one for Bailey. He didn't exactly have money and career choices in this part of Ireland were not good. And a sexual motive is even more unlikely for Bailey, plus any sort of sexual assault has been ruled out. Drugs, don't think so at all, except Bailey's drug was alcohol…..

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 4,942 ✭✭✭FishOnABike

A financial motive wouldn't have made much sense, at least not for Bailey. What would he have stood to gain? At best the tenuous possibility of a handful of freelance articles being accepted by a paper over the preference of their own staff journalists articles and their existing relationships with local and national Garda official and unofficial sources for information.

A financial motive would make much more sense for someone with a far more direct interest, stopping Sophie interfering in a highly profitable but illegal business, a dispute over land or access or a divorce settlement are all far more plausible financial motives.

I was just trying to discuss what motive could there have been for Bailey. A couple of freelance articles wouldn't have helped him financially much. A possible motive maybe, however very very slim and unlikely. And a sexual motive for Bailey same as a drug hustle has been ruled out several times now. So, in reality Bailey had no motive at all.

All the others are motives I have always considered.

Husband and divorce cost would be number one by far. In reality there was very little investigation and line if enquiry into this rather strong motive.

Drugs or other shady dealings going on would only come second, as I don't see any high level drug dealer with excessive luxury in West Cork. Neither Bolger or Alfie or the odd bent Guard drove luxury cars, wore luxury wrist watches, owned a large amount of properties or had big bank accounts. I could only guess Bolger and Alfie and maybe one or the other bent Guard may have had a little "sideline business" here and there, but nothing big.

A dispute over land or maybe animals and who owns what would most likely point to Alfie or Finbarr. But then again, Sophie's son never reported any property ownership issues with the cottage.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2, Paid Member Posts: 4,549 ✭✭✭chooseusername

I cannot understand the irrational obsession of some posters on here to accuse Bailey.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 168 ✭✭Baz Richardson

Some people don't like to admit that they were duped by whatever the source of their claims is I guess. I happily admit that I watched Netflix and thought Bailey may have murdered Sophie, but I am the sort that then fires up Google and finds the DPP report for example.

Others aren't, they are happy to believe the first thing they watch or read and then stick to it rather than change their view. I don't understand how they can compartmentalise their thoughts and ignore the obvious flaws, it is fascinating how their minds work. I am relived not to have such a mind though.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2, Paid Member Posts: 4,549 ✭✭✭chooseusername

"There's a gate behind Sophie's house leading to the Lyon's house." 

There isn't

To be harsh and even offensive to some, it's a question on how smart or how dumb one is.

The dumb ones all believe Bailey did it. The smart ones are looking for the evidence, especially evidence beyond reasonable doubt.

And if there is no evidence, one can start discussing or looking for possible motives.

To date there is absolutely no evidence that Bailey did it, nobody saw him doing it, and it's very hard to think of a motive for Bailey.

No evidence?

Bailey originally lied to the police stating he stayed in bed all night with his partner Jules, the night of Sophie's murder. He changed his story when he was informed that his partner Jules told AGS that he got up. So when the story changed he stated he went to a nearby building (the studio of the Priarie) to write an article.

He had no alibi for the time of Sophie's murder and he arrived back with Jules at 11AM the following morning with his hands badly scratched and a gash to his fore head.

When informed of the murder of a woman at 1.40PM that day he arrived at Sophie's house some twenty minutes later by car. When questioned on why he choose to go there (given that it was likely she wouldn't be there at that time of year) he stated he had a "gut feeling" it was her who was murdered.

Several witnesses noted his odd behaviour in the days after the murder with the distinctive boots he always wore replaced by a pair of runners and never to be seen again.

He then proceeded to write appalling articles about Sophie and her family in the media in order to muddy the waters.

He should have been tried in Ireland.

"He had no alibi for the time of Sophie's murder and he arrived back with Jules at 11AM the following morning with his hands badly scratched and a gash to his fore head"

Bailey is unaccounted for between 2.30 a.m. and 11 a.m., a total of 8 1/2 hours, what do you think he was doing all of that time?

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 971 ✭✭✭csirl

Sleeping?

Potentially anyone who lived within a couple of hours drive of the scene and maybe lived alone and was sleeping is also a suspect if we follow some peoples logic. Could be 10,000s of people!

"When informed of the murder of a woman at 1.40PM that day he arrived at Sophie's house some twenty minutes later by car. When questioned on why he choose to go there (given that it was likely she wouldn't be there at that time of year) he stated he had a "gut feeling" it was her who was murdered."

Bailey lived about 6 minutes drive from where he was seen by Shirley Foster at 2.20 pm, so it took him 30+ minutes to figure out who it was and where it was from when he got the phone call. In a small town in west cork, when he was on a mission and financially incentivised to do so. Seems like he was actually fairly slow to find it if you ask me.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 6,023 ✭✭✭Deeec

It sounds like the extent of your research on Bailey and the murder is watching the netflix documentary . Unfortunately this documentary didn't give a true reflection of events and only wanted to paint Bailey as guilty.

I suggest you do further research. Avoid anything written by Sean Maloney also as he also chooses to ignore certain information.

I was like you and thought it had to be Bailey but changed my mind when I did proper research.

Bailey was the local English, annoying weirdo so the gardai chose him to be suspect number 1 without a shred of evidence pointing to him.

Yes, no evidence. Precisely no evidence.

Even if Bailey had big and long scratches or wounds on his hands and face, he must have gotten them somewhere, right.

His DNA was nowhere at the scene, not on the brambles or briars, not on Sophie, not on the gates, not at the pumphouse or on the cavity block, nowhere, and neither were his fingerprints. The only or all cars in questions were searched and examined, no blood of Sophie's anywhere. So if he did it, he must have walked or stumbled through the nocturnal charms of rural South Western Ireland after many drinks in the pub in hopes a women he barely even knew would open him the door at 2 or 3 am in the morning and have sex with him……

Bailey volunteered DNA early on, maybe he was even the first. He never cheated on Jules, he never raped another woman, or beat any other woman up. Bailey's violent outbursts would have been domestic only and after lot's of alcohol.

There was no evidence to have him indicted in Ireland and tried. If there was they would have. No matter what the police attempted, like giving drugs to transients or coercing a witness is only testimony of their ill-fated and botched up unprofessional work.

Also, a motive was never clearly established for Bailey. We all know he was short of money, or at least not making the kind of money he was used to in his previous career, he also was known to enjoy being the centre of attention. But that was about it.

He wasn't involved in drugs, he wasn't involved in pub fights or disputes over land ownership or animal stock grazing somewhere, he wasn't sleeping around, he wasn't ever attempting rape, nothing.

"Bailey's violent outbursts would have been domestic only and after lot's of alcohol."

Do you even accept that Ian Bailey used to beat up Jules Thomas to the point of her having to be hospitalised?

Or is there no evidence of that either given that he received a three month suspended sentence for assault in 2001?

I read that Bailey also left DNA before his death.

The DPP refused to charge him on the two occasions he was arrested. Have you read their notes on why they refused to do so?

The DPP makes personal decisions on whether a case can be won in court, and not on whether someone is considered innocent or guilty.

Michéal Martin was entirely right stating that Bailey should have faced the courts and those of you who support Bailey should believe the same thing.

He had no alibi for the time of Sophie's murder

What time was she murdered?

IN this case, the DPP published the basis for their decision, and assessment of the evidence presented by the Guards. Due to the high profile \ public interest in the case.

Every point of 'evidence' you cite, none of that is positive evidence of anything, it is weak and flimsy circumstantial evidence - and that's the opinion of the Guards themselves.

Earlier on the thread you said you respected the view of the DPP.

I put to you the DPP's view of the scratches etc where the DPP accepted Bailey's version of events with regard to the scratches. They did not make a decision of Bailey's innocence or guilt, but on specific points of evidence they outlined their reasoning.

You could offer no response to this. You didn't even try. Yet you pop up again repeating the same discredited nonsense about scratches when the DPP outlined that it Bailey's conduct in offering DNA samples is actually indicative of Bailey's innocence.

Why are you bringing up discredited information that contradict your own statements?

Bailey should not have faced the courts due to the risk of a miscarriage of justice because of the malpractice of Guards on the case. There was no sound basis for a prosecution to proceed.

@chooseusername he's made it to D already, what's next on the list E for Eyelets and F for Fire perhaps?

Mod - warned for breach of forum charter

Post edited by Leg End Reject on